Emigration Set to Rise again

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭gollem_1975

fontanalis wrote: »
    I was questioning the capability of Ireland being able to deliver a "nolidj" economy. It reeks of a PR buzzword.

sorry I should have just said

now we have internet, mobile phones, ipods, xboxs, free music,movies etc. available online.. and Boards too of course

not to mention beer adjusted for inflation is probably cheaper now than it was in the 80's.

we've also lots of foreign eye candy on the streets.

but on a serious note we are not a country famous for our natural resources, we have no chance of competing with low cost manufacturing locations.
    whether we are able to deliver a knowledge economy or not is one thing.. but it is probably the only viable strategy that we can pursue (e.g. designing the stuff that is manufactured in the low cost locations ) the alternative is to go back to DeValeras vision of comely maidens at the crossroads :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

easyeason3 wrote: »
    It's like the 80's all over again but without the dodgy clothes & haircuts.

You've never been to inner city Dublin, have you. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Blobby George

Nothing to be afraid of. Ireland will always be there to come back to, should you be so inclined.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

we have no chance of competing with low cost manufacturing locations.
    Nine of the top ten exporters on earth are fully developed countries like Germany and the USA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

sorry I should have just said

now we have internet, mobile phones, ipods, xboxs, free music,movies etc. available online.. and Boards too of course

not to mention beer adjusted for inflation is probably cheaper now than it was in the 80's.

we've also lots of foreign eye candy on the streets.

but on a serious note we are not a country famous for our natural resources, we have no chance of competing with low cost manufacturing locations.
    whether we are able to deliver a knowledge economy or not is one thing.. but it is probably the only viable strategy that we can pursue (e.g. designing the stuff that is manufactured in the low cost locations ) the alternative is to go back to DeValeras vision of comely maidens at the crossroads :)

My smart arsey aside, that was really my point. No good in saying nice slogans if you can't deliver.

fontanalis wrote: »
    My smart arsey aside, that was really my point. No good in saying nice slogans if you can't deliver.

but If we start out with the idea that we can't deliver then we'll definitely prove ourselves right!

Amhran Nua wrote: »
    Nine of the top ten exporters on earth are fully developed countries like Germany and the USA.

I know were in After Hours here but would you mind explaining the relevance of your statement ? do you mean that manufacturing still takes place in these developed countries or that because of their size we don't stand a chance of competing with them ?

do you mean that manufacturing still takes place in these developed countries or that because of their size we don't stand a chance of competing with them ?
    Manufacturing still takes place in them, and will continue to do so for the foreseeable future. All we need to do is find a few specialised markets to compete in and we'll be exporting with the best of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Cumann de Barra

Manufacturing still takes place in them, and will continue to do so for the foreseeable future. All we need to do is find a few specialised markets to compete in and we'll be exporting with the best of them.

That is what this government is doing. Ireland is actually becoming a fantastic hub for online gaming aswell as attracting extra investment from Google, Microsoft etc. This is what the knowledge economy is all about.

Would you go away.

but If we start out with the idea that we can't deliver then we'll definitely prove ourselves right!

When you look at some of the nonsense that went on; overpriced gaffs, , no sign in getting rid of the gombeen/nepotism culture, ridiculous extravagance, keeping up with the Jones' etc it doesn't inspire confidence in me, I guess that's my point. More than happy to be proved wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Cumann de Barra

Would you go away.

I'm agreeing with you

No, you're saying that the government has made the right moves in setting up de nolledge economy. Except they haven't set up a knowledge economy, they pumped billions into SFI for no saleable result, they have yet to even get on top of simple broadband penetration issues which is so basic when it comes to setting up an IT based economy that it would be like concrete for building a house, not to mention that these geniuses didn't stop to think that if de nolledge economy is so cheap its probably going to be even cheaper for developing countries to pour resources into.

So while you might think we're in agreement, we really aren't, and from your posting history supporting the forced emigration of the youth of Ireland and in support of that spiv Ahern, I don't believe this is a conversation you want to continue.

I'm agreeing with you

You any relation of Fionn DeBarra?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

i fall into that 70,000 headin off in 2 weeks. there is no point in staying here as in there's **** all here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Every time there's a wave of Irish emigration, all you have to do is add 50-60 years onto it for the next batch "oh my great-granduncle twiced removed's cousin was Irish" type stuff from all them yanks.

Can't they learn we just don't give a fúck. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

I'm agreeing with you

I see you're back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

thebaz wrote: »
    so where will we put Bertie Allsorts and our high performing Taoseach ?

Any politician found guilty of corruption, or winning money on the horses (wink wink) should be exiled to Haughey's island and made to work the land there to make a living.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,589 ✭✭✭lord lucan

Just been watching Reeling in the years 1985,this song is as apt now as it was then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,354 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

I have 9 friends that have emigrated in the past 12 months. Mainly to Australia, New Zealand and some to England and Canada. Another 5 are leaving next summer to go to Vancouver. I'll most likely be leaving myself next summer to Vancouver also as i'll hardly have any close mates left. My job can be done anywhere with an internet connection and since i have American citizenship i should have no problems entering Canada long term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,636 ✭✭✭maninasia

I can eat cornflakes anywhere at the kitchen table or on the sofa. I have a big sofa so I can sit on that and feel really good about myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭steamengine

In recent years, unfortunately a lot of manufacturing has shifted East due to lower manufacturing costs. Tourism is one industry that could be expanded in this country. The advantage of tourism is that it is in fact equivalent to direct exports. For all the years we have been engaged in tourism there is still no Theme park with for example a World class Big Dipper, such as in Blackpool or Alton Towers. Blackpool alone is worth 0.3 billion/yr to the UK economy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭cardol

These people have turned their backs on Ireland and its values.

Joe.

What are Ireland's values?

Irish Times reading liberal rubbish. Look at all the roads that have been built. You can drive from Dublin to Limerick in 2 hours. It took twice that time in the 80s.

Why build such roads when they are mostly empty? I've been on them. No-one really uses them apart from the odd business person. Everyone still uses the older roads so they can "stop off for a cuppa" somewhere.

Wouldn't the money have been better spent on the communications infrastructure in order to attract more international business?

Iang87 wrote: »
    i fall into that 70,000 headin off in 2 weeks. there is no point in staying here as in there's **** all here

All I can say is "Lucky You!" Best of luck!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,636 ✭✭✭maninasia

cardol wrote: »
    Why build such roads when they are mostly empty? I've been on them. No-one really uses them apart from the odd business person. Everyone still uses the older roads so they can "stop off for a cuppa" somewhere.

Wouldn't the money have been better spent on the communications infrastructure in order to attract more international business?

2 hours, that's pretty impressive. Now to figure out a reason to go to Limerick.

The both of them should be in either prison or a mental asylum.

The sooner people cop on, realise NAMA is the only game in town, Anglo had to be saved despite the moaning, stop the moaning, put the head down and show a bit of entrepreneurial spirit we'll start working our way out of this recession.
    While the pathetic Government is scraping it's knees to NAMA, the country is disintegrating and nothing is being done. Our youngsters are leaving in droves (anyone with half a brain would get out) so what's left? I believe entrepreneurial spirit went out the door along with a lot of people's businesses. You don't seem to fully grasp what is happening...
    All international finance magazines and economists praise the tough action this government has taken. The experts recognise that it was needed. The moaners on the likes of joe duffy and forums such as these need to put up and shut up.
    You have got to be out of your miniscule mind!!!!

Do you really think everyone is praising the Irish Government on their handling of this fiasco? Ireland is the laughing stock of Europe and the Government will go down in history as a lesson in how not to f**k up the country you are running.
    The government has done its part, now it's time for the people to stand up and be counted - cut out this feckin moaning, get positive and help out in their business, places of work, communities, schools etc. grab a shovel lads and we'll be out of this in no time.
    You either work for this shameful Government or have your head buried so far...you haven't a clue! People up and down this country are doing their best to keep their heads above water and get through from one day to the next. Thinking about the wider community is ideal but not very far up our lists right now. Why don't you grab a shovel and locate your brain?