Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The blonde hair/fake tan brigade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

mojesius wrote: »
    Two words - The Hills

No No My friend the two words you are looking for are

Jersey Shore!

/thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

I think blonde hair and tans are instantly more flashy and us blokes are essentially magpies.

I'd say this is the reason.

If everyone was blonde in Ireland, I think brunettes would stand out more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭ShadowGal

Oh, you're such a stealer. Wish I knew how to link to a post I made in another thread.;)

Personally, I think that blokes are confused (dishonest) about what they find attractive, so it would be wierd if wimminz had a clue.
    I had a very attractive mate who was naturally blonde and she dyed her hair black cos she fancied a change. She noticed that she didn't get half the attention from fellas that she used to get. I argued that this was due to the fact that black wasn't her natural hair colour. A massive debate (read drinking session) ensued and the only thing we could come up with to prove/disprove theories was to get our equally good-looking brunette mate to dye her hair blonde for a couple of weeks and see how it went.
    She noticed a huge surge in interest but not necessarily from the sort of blokes that she wanted a surge in interest from.

Gentlemen prefer blondes? Gentlemen marry brunettes?

I dunno. I do know though that Madeleine Stowe and Audrey Hepburn are probably the two most beautiful women I have ever seen yet it would be Farrah Fawcett or Marilyn Monroe that would make me turn my head if they walked past me on Grafton St.

I think blonde hair and tans are instantly more flashy and us blokes are essentially magpies.

All that glitters is not gold.

Just my opinion.:o

Chocolate

you've probably summed it up the best. in saying that i have no doubt that there are lots of beautiful blonds out there who have the whole package.

its a little bit of the same with women's tastes, some like the tanned muscled type and some dont

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Larianne wrote: »
    You are making a lot of sense in this post Terry. It's a tad scary! :pac:
    I sometimes try to go against the grain. :)

gatecrash wrote: »
    Ah jeez Terry, d'ya not remember your history classes back in the day??

The pale skin thing was IN way back when cos it proved that the woman didn't have to be out in the sun working, she had servants etc for that..... showed she (or her family) had money

Then in the more recent past having a tan showed that the woman (or her family) had the money to head off on holidays on a big ship or more recently again on an aeroplane to the south of france, canaries etc....

Then Mick O Leary came along and said "CHEAP FLIGHTS (before terms, conditions, my cut, baggage charges, wheelchair charges, breathing air charges, not having printed off your tickets at home charges)and made it all a lot more affordable for all!!
    Travers was a great teacher, but he couldn't make me listen or attend classes.
    I was beyond help. :)

ShadowGal wrote: »
    whos proud of being obese ?
    I was. I no longer am.

easyeason3 wrote: »
    People see me for who I am. I am who I am, I could be better & I could be worse.
    I don't pretend to be anything I'm not. In the past I was guilty of that, but not in recent years.
    Your photo actually made me smile. I looked & thought 'there's a man who is out for the craic & doesn't give fcuk'.
    Lot's of wimmin don't like the Calvin Klein men or whatever the advertising companies are using these days.
    So stop fishing for compliments, biatch, you is one CAVE MAN.
    And CAVE MAN is where it's at ho!
    I'm not fishing for compliments. I'm just being honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Chorcai

I always thinks its funny the way some Irish girls are desperate to look as if they have a tan while if you go to India, Japan and parts of South America not having a tan (being pale) is considered super attractive. :confused: Everyone should just swap places :pac:

Same in Thailand. Tan = poor worker. Plus other factors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭spider_pig

Chorcai wrote: »
    Same in Thailand. Tan = poor worker. Plus other factors.

hmmmm..? lady boy :p

im sorry i didnt know you were talking about yourself in your original post

i dont really care if people wear fake tan, i wear the lighter stuff myself, its all tan really. if a girl feels good about herself as shes walking out the door then so be it. i wouldnt delve to far into the reason girls wear fake tan. men wear gel in their and sculpt their beards (we dont all like the george michael beard thing)

its on a different level but in the end your doing something that makes you feel good about yourself. guys dont show as much skin as girls so its not really high on their agenda as to how the color of their body looks with the clothes they are wearing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Chorcai

spider_pig wrote: »
    hmmmm..? lady boy :p

haha never thought about that, it was more to do with Isaan country in the north of Thailand. Were a lot of country people come to the big cities for work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

Terry wrote: »
    Is it true?

I do I do I do mmmm orange soda :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭RockinRolla

Fvck this **** computer...broke again!

I CAN'T SEE ANY PICTURES FFS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I have naturally light blonde hair and I will be very honest and say it does get me a lot of attention. People are always commenting on my hair and it does make me stand out a bit, so I can see why girls would want to dye their hair blonde.

I never dyed my hair and I've never worn fake tan, fake nails, fake eyelashes, extensions or anything like that. For me I like a more natural look on girls. Also I could not be bothered with the money and the effort!

But just because I prefer a more natural look doesnt mean guys do!

I have naturally light blonde hair and I will be very honest and say it does get me a lot of attention. People are always commenting on my hair and it does make me stand out a bit, so I can see why girls would want to dye their hair blonde.

I never dyed my hair and I've never worn fake tan, fake nails, fake eyelashes, extensions or anything like that. For me I like a more natural look on girls. Also I could not be bothered with the money and the effort!

But just because I prefer a more natural look doesnt mean guys do!

ive never wanted to dye my hair blond, brunette all the way baby :pac:

My friend went from brunette to white blonde. It took her 9 months to get to it, going to the hairdresser once a month and it cost €150 a time. And she gets her roots done every month now for €70, 2 weeks after they're done and she has dirty black roots coming through, it looks awful and her hair looks so unnatural and unhealthy. Stay brunette!

ive had one or 2 blond wigs for fun but it would never suit me, i dont have the skin coloring for it. ive got a few friends who have to spend a lot of cash on topping up the blond too, very expensive business i must say, although it does look fab

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

We'll start from the top down

Bleach-Blond hair puffed up and straightened out into a spiky mess.

Orange skin that only gets worse in the face because they've used a snow shovel to toss on the make-up. Plenty of foundation crap, eyeliner, lip gloss blah blah blah

THEN, onto the body. Blotchy patches of orange-brown substances with streaks all over it. Oh no... please. Not a belly top. Yup...:(

Then down onto the legs. Either leggings that show your arse (its fat and we can all see ur underwear) or a tiny skirt of some description you've bough in presumably the childerens section.

Seriously, give me a natural red-hed or a brunette anyday. Anyone think this girl below is way hotter than your average fake-tan brigade trooper?

http://www.dayorama.com/archives/london_irish_girl.jpg

(nb. I just searched for irish brunette)

Dean0088 wrote: »
    Seriously, give me a natural red-hed or a brunette anyday.

What about natural blondes? I'm so sick of people asking me how often I dye my hair. This is my natural colour! You'd think one look at my extremely pasty skin would confirm that. Sorry for the rant there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭aine-maire

That's a brilliantly put argument and I thank you for explaining it intelligently and with such original material. I genuinely never heard that type of classic, witty and funny response before. You go girl.

Family Guy got there first...:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

Dean0088 wrote: »

Seriously, give me a natural red-hed or a brunette anyday. Anyone think this girl below is way hotter than your average fake-tan brigade trooper?

http://www.dayorama.com/archives/london_irish_girl.jpg

(nb. I just searched for irish brunette)

No I don't think she's particularly attractive at all to be honest but thats just my taste :pac:, I'm sure there's plenty (yourself for example) who think she's a looker :). She's no better than the fake tan brigade in my eyes though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Terry wrote: »
    I sometimes try to go against the grain. :)

Travers was a great teacher, but he couldn't make me listen or attend classes.
    I was beyond help. :)

I was. I no longer am.

I'm not fishing for compliments. I'm just being honest.

Ahem.
    Terry I was drunk when I posted my 'rapper' talk the other night. The 'ho' & the 'biatch' were taken from Jerry Springer.
    Sorry Terry, I acted like a lug :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Woohoo for the natural blondes and tanned \o/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Orange tan and blonde hair turns me off women in much the same way as if I discovered they had male genitalia.

Look at Grainne Seoige on telly last night, pale is beautiful....they had some tanned bimbo on beside her at one stage, was quite funny actually the contrast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭eimearcmh

Orange tan and blonde hair turns me off women in much the same way as if I discovered they had male genitalia.

Look at Grainne Seoige on telly last night, pale is beautiful....they had some tanned bimbo on beside her at one stage, was quite funny actually the contrast.

I thought Grainne looked a bit tired last night but she still looked well.
    That was Rozanna Purcell you're talking about i think. She was very much big on hair, big on tan last night.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 390 ✭✭ananas

"It's all about the confidence!"

/*gay twirl

L-O-FRIGGIN-L That is so funny :D

On a side note, when done in moderation fake tan can be a beautiful thing, beautiful! It covers up corned beef skin and it makes you feel better. I hate the orange oompa loompa look with contrasting hair, but a light healthy glow never goes out of fashion!

*ha as I was typing I wrote "gowl" instead of "glow"- thank god for spell check:pac: *

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 390 ✭✭ananas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

ananas wrote: »

Who's he?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

eimearcmh wrote: »
    I thought Grainne looked a bit tired last night but she still looked well.
    That was Rozanna Purcell you're talking about i think. She was very much big on hair, big on tan last night.

Yeah thats her. Seemed like she wasn't very big on brains though :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭_sparkie_

However there is the "barbie" brigade out there that think they look like "Irelands Next Top Model" but they will never cop on as long as there is guys out there to give them what they want...................... an easy lay.

its not our fault that they cant cop on to the fact that we are using them for the night.:p

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

I have a friend who looks like that, bleached hair and always covered in fake tan. I don't think I've seen her natural skin colour for years. She was going out with a red haired guy for a while, with the typical pale skin, when you saw the two of them together it was like inverse colours :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

You may very well like me then Jerry ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Magenta

Let me start off by saying I'm not judging appearances or slagging anyone before the PC police shoot me down. Is there a new cult in Ireland or something? Taking a leisurely stroll through Dublin today I have never seen so many women big, small, average etc with fake tan and blonde hair. Can anyone shed a light on this? Does fake tan and blonde hair give you superhuman sexual powers? Is there a new cult I'm not aware of?

It's been this way for about 6 years now, try to keep up.