another fine job done Mary Harney and D Ahern!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭King Felix

Terry wrote: »
    Denial and diversion in every counter argument there.

All of them?

Where or what exactly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

there.
    More joints will get you higher.

Arghh........ people, people, please learn the difference between a high and a stone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Personal abuse will result in infractions/bans.

thanks for the pre-warning. i was about to let rip, even on this street where i live, drug dealing went up since the head shop ban, from some of the comments i read, i guess ireland will never change, lock up your kids and put alarms on your houses...because its going to get a whole lot worse before it gets better...

think about this......YOU DONT SEE HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE (YOUNG OR OLD) GETTING SICK AND WRECKED EVERY DAY FROM ALCOHOL THAT IS BADLY PRODUCED, MIXED WITH UNKNOWN CHEMICALS, UNKNOWN PERCENTAGE ETC...

charlemont wrote: »
    ALCOHOL THAT IS BADLY PRODUCED, MIXED WITH UNKNOWN CHEMICALS, UNKNOWN PERCENTAGE ETC...

Sounds like a fat frog......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,847 ✭✭✭bleg

think about this......YOU DONT SEE HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE (YOUNG OR OLD) GETTING SICK AND WRECKED EVERY DAY FROM ALCOHOL THAT IS BADLY PRODUCED, MIXED WITH UNKNOWN CHEMICALS, UNKNOWN PERCENTAGE ETC...

Because it's quality controlled and regulated. It also costs a **** load. See my post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,847 ✭✭✭bleg

mikom wrote: »
    Arghh........ people, people, please learn the difference between a high and a stone.

So, Towelie should have said "you wana get stoned?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

read up on the results of portugal's reformation of drug laws terry. i pretty much never disagree with you on a single issue except this, but there is absolutely no argument for alcohol being legal over weed - the simple fact is ireland would take any avenue at all that would generate tax at this stage, but the drinks industry would go tits up due to the expense of having a few pints in a club vs having a fantastic time in a coffee shop, and a shítload of members of the fianna fail party are publicans and the vintners association runs the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

It's their fault for being so stupid as to buy crap from some scumbag, and breaking the law in the process.

Is breaking the law stupid?

Pre-1993 should homosexuals have said "hmmm.....maybe I should supress my urges because to do otherwise would be against the law. I know I'm not harming others but the authorities know best :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:".

I'm not saying drug use is wise, nor am I saying that all drug users are noble freedom-fighters, just that the illegality of certain drugs is not reason enough to condemn their use. In fact it shouldn't make any difference at all.

And as for buying crap, as I said up untill recently the idea of cocaine being cut with chemicals of significant short-term danger was fanciful one. Yes, there have been a few isolated incidents of drugs being cut with nasty stuff, but on the whole the cutting agents were generally not dangerous. To take a more extreme example: Those people in germany who got lead poisining from smoking weed. Do you really think they actually deserved what happened to them? Out of all the millions of weed smokers in the world over the centuries, something new and totally unexpected happened to them. How are people supposed to take into account risks they don't know exist?

To me it's like saying anyone with a house less than 50 metres below sea level deserves to get killed in a tsunami. Strong words, and easy to say from behind a computer screen. But imagine confronting the families of tsunami victims and saying "no, i feel no sympathy. you should have known better living so close to the sea.".... I don't think people truely mean what they say a lot of the time.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

King Felix wrote: »
    All of them?

Where or what exactly?
    Ok. Here's the deal.
    I'm fighting a losing battle. I've been through this a hundred times before, and I know that most people won't listen to me, even though I am more than aware of the addictive properties of drugs.
    FFS, I'm a junkie and an alcoholic. I know what it's like to be addicted to drugs. It's not a nice way to live your life, and I try to quit every day, but constantly fail (my own weakness, and nobody else is to blame).
    Legalising drugs will not cure addiction. I know this because I'm addicted to legal drugs.

It cracks me up when I see people rambling on about the benefits of certain drugs, while completely ignoring the harmful effects of long term use.
    Just like alcohol, most people would not smoke weed every night of the week. Those who do will eventually succumb to the long term effects of it though. To deny that people would not over-indulge in weed is to deny the fact that greed is a very predominant trait in humans.

In your post have basically denied that drugs are both harmful and addictive in some of your points.
    In others you have diverted the point of the harmful qualities of illegal drugs by saying that legal drugs are equally as bad or worse.
    Both are far from the truth

Where do you stop at legalisation?
    Would you just legalise cannibas, or would you go the whole hog and throw in heroin, Crystal meth, Coke, PCP and the like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

More joints will get you higher.
    Maybe one joint is enough for you. That's fair enough. However, most people will not stop at one joint.
    Then there's the mixing it with alcohol or other drugs. Yeah, it happens, and it's not on a small scale either.

Sure they will...same as more booze will get you merrier. Habits and tolerances not withstanding, everyone has their own limits....with alcohol, I personally find it very moreish...as in "Wahey, I'm well on it now, time to get the VnRBs in!", drink to the wee hours and then spend the next two days regretting it and usually regretting what I did/said whilst pissed.
    One joint is fine, another is nice, another great...stoned and even more stoned...to the point where you fall asleep or get bored and decide to go and do something else...and maybe have another spliff later.

I mix them myself...sometimes it's grand, sometimes it isn't...depends how much of one or other you've had and a whole lot of other factors...I tend to try and avoid it if I'm very drunk and haven't had a smoke yet...since it just sends you into a tailspin. On the other hand a few smokes before starting drinking and I'm fine...takes less to get drunk (not necessarily a bad thing)...and I'm less lilkely to be the beligerent eejit roaring in the street and making a nuisance afterwards

Terry wrote:
    Now you can live in denial all you want, but you and I, and most other rational and sane people, know that cannabis is far more potent than alcohol.

If one drink has more of an effect on you than one joint, then perhaps you are smoking too much weed. Just as much as anyone who needs more than Two or Three drinks to get a buzz is over indulging in alcohol.

Yeah we've all made the mistake of smoking and drinking and getting sideswiped...as you say over indulgence...interesting that some people might never think about smoking a spliff and yet if it were offered to them after a few scoops they might have their inhibitions lowered enough to try it, then puke their guts out and blame the weed....in actual fact it's the drink that's making you sick (I've never gotten sick no matter how stoned I ever managed to get...puke my ring up plenty when I go OTT on booze on it's own though) Alcohol is treated like a poinson in the body...too much in your system and the reflexes kick in.

The odd thing with weed and drink is that there are tolerances built up...but I've seen proper alcoholics that tend to get very drunk on a small amount because their system is so awash with the stuff or their body is unable to process it faster than they can consume it, in a cumulative sense.
    Some people will be tolerant to drink...say the people that have the few pints every other night....it's not that they're not affected...it's that they don't notice the effect...others might.
    It doesn't work like that with weed really. Sometimes a spliff hits you strongly, sometimes you don't even notice the buzz...no two are alike and certainly no two strains are alike.

I'd feel perfectly safe cycling after a few joints . I'd feel a lot less safe after a few pints...and I mean safe as in not falling off or being hit by a car...aolchol has a terrible effect on balance and motor function, whilst dope just dulls the senses a bit but in some ways makes you more careful (paranoia).
    I'm not making excuses for one over the other, they're two completely different drugs...but I can definitely "feel" every pint from the first mouthful...same way as I can feel every spliff from the first inhale.

The downsides: dope makes you...dopey, less sociable, less talkative...drink has the opposing effect...mixing the two within reason strikes a fine balance....over indulging in either or both is going to catch you out in the long run. Both of them cost way too much...one because it's taxed out the wazoo, the other because it's supply is limited through criminalisation.

BTW whever said glass added to weed isn't harmful, I'll beg to differ. Know of two people who had bad reactions to it...thankfully the glass was soon replaced with other crap...they apparently spray a type of oil on buds now after they've dried...it makes them wetter, heavier and obviously makes more for the dealers. Got caught out a few times with it. Still better than soapbar though. Funny the way california and Holland don't have this problem with aldulterants when it costs a smiliar price per gram in those places as here...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

YOU DONT SEE HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE (YOUNG OR OLD) GETTING SICK AND WRECKED EVERY DAY FROM ALCOHOL

Not trying to quote you out of context here but ...umm, yes you do. Go to any town/city centre on a weekend night.

But once again, it's socially accepted as all being part of having a good time and keeping the publicans/drinks companies in clover. You don't have to cut it with crap for it to have that effect...it does it all on it's own...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭King Felix

In your post have basically denied that drugs are both harmful and addictive in some of your points.
    I didn't say those things. You're taking them as implicit in my argument. I finished by saying that most people who've taken drugs have seen both sides of the story. I've used drugs in form another since the age of 13, all of 21 years ago, and am well aware of the harmful effects of drug abuse. That aside I still view criminalisation as the worst aspect of the drug problem.
    In others you have diverted the point of the harmful qualities of illegal drugs by saying that legal drugs are equally as bad or worse.
    No, I didn't, Terry.
    Where do you stop at legalisation?
    Would you just legalise cannibas, or would you go the whole hog and throw in heroin, Crystal meth, Coke, PCP and the like?

A hard one. Certainly cannabis.

MDMA, GHB and LSD/psylocybin for those who've completed an educational course in their proper use.

The harder drugs like heroin and coke should be legally available too, but with heavier regulation. I don't know what form that would take.

Drugs like PCP, meth, most of the headshop drugs, crack (though that's a hard one as it's so easily made from coke) I wouldn't allow at all.

All the money saved from policing/taxing should be put in to rehabilitation, education and improving the slum conditions that lead to a lot of drug use in the first place.

I know there'd be losts of holes and leaks but the current situation is beyond ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Misanthrope

Now you can live in denial all you want, but you and I, and most other rational and sane people, know that cannabis is far more potent than alcohol.

Can you quote me some sources with empirical data to prove this garbage you just wrote.You clearly have absolutely no idea whatsoever as to how Cannabinols interact with the human system.It is an entirely different chemical process.
    How did you become so bold as to speak for most other rational and sane people on an issue that can only be clarified through scientific process.

You obviously have not read the Shafer Report or any other comprehensive studies on the matter.
    Nixon commissioned the Shafer Report only to find it told him the opposite to what he wanted to hear.So he tried to sweep it under the rug.
    If you haven't already swept your copy under a rug or into a fire,I suggest you break it out and give it a read over,because it scientifically rubbishes your above statement.

Any luck with those sources and data from 'other rational and sane people', who 'know that cannabis is far more potent than alcohol.'Bring it on.

Is breaking the law stupid?

Pre-1993 should homosexuals have said "hmmm.....maybe I should supress my urges because to do otherwise would be against the law. I know I'm not harming others but the authorities know best :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:".
    Hmm. A natural act between two people and the unnatural act of inhaling smoke from a burning plant. I can see the correlation there. <insert several roll eye emoticons to denote sarcasm/>
    Unless you're telling me that sex between two people of the same gender is not natural, I fail to see what you are getting at here.

I'm not saying drug use is wise, nor am I saying that all drug users are noble freedom-fighters, just that the illegality of certain drugs is not reason enough to condemn their use. In fact it shouldn't make any difference at all.
    No, it's not wise at all. It is also wise to condemn the use.
    The chance of overdosing or having a psychotic episode on the majority of illegal drugs is very high. You only need to look at amount of people who end up in A&E through alcohol related crap to see that legalising other drugs would just lead to a massive increase in the already overpacked waiting rooms.

I'm not denying that there are people who are capable of using certain drugs without dire consequences, but the majority of people on this planet are self-indulgent idiots, and they need legislation to prevent them from killing themselves.

And as for buying crap, as I said up untill recently the idea of cocaine being cut with chemicals of significant short-term danger was fanciful one. Yes, there have been a few isolated incidents of drugs being cut with nasty stuff, but on the whole the cutting agents were generally not dangerous. What about those people in germany who got lead poisining from smoking weed. Do you really think they actually deserved what happened to them? Out of all the millions of weed smokers in the world, something new and totally unexpected happened to them.

To me it's like saying anyone with a house less than 50 metres below sea level deserves to get killed in a tsunami. Strong words, and easy to say from behind a computer screen. Imagine confronting the families of tsunami victims and saying "no, i feel no sympathy. you should have known better living so close to the sea."......

I'd question the reasoning of people living in tornado alley in the U.S., or those living on the coast in Southern California. I actually have done in the past. The answer is usually that they live there due to economic reasons. You can't really argue against that.
    However, comparing people who live in areas likely to be flooded or blown away by hurricanes is not even close to those who choose to consume illegal drugs. Why you would even think there is a comparison is beyond my comprehension.

Buying crap from a scumbag and then later calling his other customers "scumbags" never fails to make me laugh.
    As for the Germans who got lead poisoning from buying illegal products, they really shouldn't have broken the law.

Elevator wrote: »
    I don't drink musc either and can back up the previous poster that one pint can definately hit me good

This is a silly offshoot argument that is completely pointless. Don't even indulge him with it. Whether or not 1 joint will get you high depends completely on how much weed you put in it and how much of it you smoke. Taking 1 or 2 small drags from a weak joint will not get you high (which is a lot of people's first attempt at smoking weed).

One thing I do know though:

1 naggin will get you drunk.
    Coke has been cut with all sorts of nasty sh*t since it's introduction in Ireland. It is almost impossible to get pure cocaine unless you are very close to one of the main dealers in the country (or hide it up your ass on a trip back from Columbia).
    Just because what is being sold as cocaine in this country isn't pure, doesn't mean that it contains truely dangerous substances. Most cutting agents are relatively benign, at least in the short-term.

What''s happening now is that cocaine isn't being "cut", it's being replaced by entirely untested chemicals, some of them apparently quite dangerous in the short-term.
    There was an opportunity with the headshops to provide safe, legal alternatives to street drugs, but it wasn't taken.

I wouldn't call any sort of research chemical "safe". Afaik quite a number of experts stated that if people had to do drugs, they'd probably be safer with the tried and tested street drugs over these complete unknowns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I can some this argument up in two sentences;

Towlie; "You wanna get high?"

Mr Mackey; "Drugs are bad, hmm'kay?"

/thread

We could argue this all night, so I'll just point out now that I'm always right.

Should any of you wish to indulge in the consumption of illegal drugs, then do so at your own peril. You are just being foolish. I can't stop you and nor can anyone else.
    Just remember that you will be taking a massive risk with your health.

I'd offer you all some of the pills I'm addicted to, but they have a tendency to destroy your kidneys and **** with your short term memory. Not that this would stop some of you. After all, you're all only doing it short term and are immune to addiction.

Ok. Here's the deal.
    FFS, I'm a junkie and an alcoholic. I know what it's like to be addicted to drugs. It's not a nice way to live your life, and I try to quit every day, but constantly fail (my own weakness, and nobody else is to blame).
    Legalising drugs will not cure addiction. I know this because I'm addicted to legal drugs.

I think this is a lie.You are a junkie and an alcoholic?And a Boards.ie moderator who spends a lot of time on the web?Already you are nothing like any of the junkies or alcos I know.

Who pays for your broadband?I mean,being a fulltime junkie and alcoholic you obviously don't have a job......... or at least you won't when you tell us what and where your job is.How long have you been deceiving your employers?

How long have you been a junkie?And an alcoholic?At 17 years old you were relying on others to provide cannabis which you couldn't even handle a puff off.

You are in here pontificating to us all about breaking the law.If you are what you say you are you have broken it more than most of us, so what gives you the authority to lecture us on that which you violate

So tell me Terry, when you run out of sugar what do you go for and where do you get it.Do you even know what I'm on about?I doubt it

I think what's really going on here is you've taken an absolute pasting in this thread and are trying to spoof us now to cover up................... and I'm calling you out on it.I think it's BS.Anyone else in here smell it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Just because what is being sold as cocaine in this country isn't pure, doesn't mean that it contains truely dangerous substances. Most cutting agents are relatively benign, at least in the short-term.

Your first sentence is true to an extent, but I know for a fact that a lot of cocaine gets cut with heroin or speed as it's far cheaper for dealers to source than cocaine. You'd be surprised at exactly how much is used sometimes.

They're using a lot of cutting agents these days that are untested chemicals for the exact same reason - they're cheap.

Basically, you're average dealer couldn't give a flying f*ck what the coke gets cut with, as long as people buy it & the profit margins are good. Most people wouldn't know the difference anyway, but if you think that coke is, or ever was cut with "benign" agents in this country, you're being naive in the extreme.

We could argue this all night, so I'll just point out now that I'm always right.

Should any of you wish to indulge in the consumption of illegal drugs, then do so at your own peril. You are just being foolish. I can't stop you and nor can anyone else.

I'd offer you all some of the pills I'm addicted to, but they have a tendency to destroy your kidneys and **** with your short term memory. Not that this would stop some of you. After all, you're all only doing it short term and are immune to addiction.

I thought you said you were a junkie.You're not too well up on the jargon.What pills are you hooked on tell me.And how long for.And who was the nasty man that got you on them?

Obviously we're talking rx here so I guess you must be stealing prescription pads and robbing surgeries and dispensaries.Or is you GP an 'evil' doctor who keeps you hooked.Stick his name up there with a scan of your latest rx, and I promise you he will be investigated thoroughly and most likely be off the registrar.

Then we can get you on the road to recovery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Your first sentence is true to an extent, but I know for a fact that a lot of cocaine gets cut with heroin or speed as it's far cheaper for dealers to source than cocaine. You'd be surprised at exactly how much is used sometimes.
    No. It gets cut with dental anaesthetics, creatine and the likes. They could be selling the speed and heroin.
    I thought you said you were a junkie.You're not too well up on the jargon.What pills are you hooked on tell me.And how long for.And who was the nasty man that got you on them?

Obviously we're talking rx here so I guess you must be stealing prescription pads and robbing surgeries and dispensaries.Or is you GP an 'evil' doctor who keeps you hooked.Stick his name up there with a scan of your latest rx, and I promise you he will be investigated thoroughly and most likely be off the registrar.

Then we can get you on the road to recovery.
    Benzos of some kind IIRC. And I think he's getting them prescribed legitimately .

Hmm. A natural act between two people and the unnatural act of inhaling smoke from a burning plant. I can see the correlation there. <insert several roll eye emoticons to denote sarcasm/>
    Unless you're telling me that sex between two people of the same gender is not natural, I fail to see what you are getting at here.
    Smoking weed is no more or less natural than gay sex. A pathetic attempt at derailing my argument tbh. I'm wondering do actually not get my point or do you just get enjoyment from these debates?

No, it's not wise at all. It is also wise to condemn the use.
    The chance of overdosing or having a psychotic episode on the majority of illegal drugs is very high. You only need to look at amount of people who end up in A&E through alcohol related crap to see that legalising other drugs would just lead to a massive increase in the already overpacked waiting rooms.
    This is completely beside the point, but i dissagree. First of all drugs could be made far safer if legal and second of all you seem to underestimate how easy it is for people to get drugs these days.
    I'm not denying that there are people who are capable of using certain drugs without dire consequences, but the majority of people on this planet are self-indulgent idiots, and they need legislation to prevent them from killing themselves.
    You're not getting my point. My point is that morality has nothing to do with the law. Over the centuries many societies have tolerated immoral acts aswell as severely punishing acts which we would not see as immoral today. If you want to explain why we shouldn't take drugs, you'll have to do better than "because they're illegal".

I'd question the reasoning of people living in tornado alley in the U.S., or those living on the coast in Southern California. I actually have done in the past. The answer is usually that they live there due to economic reasons. You can't really argue against that.
    However, comparing people who live in areas likely to be flooded or blown away by hurricanes is not even close to those who choose to consume illegal drugs. Why you would even think there is a comparison is beyond my comprehension.
    The comparison is that they both involve expecting people to take into account risks that are completely unknown to them. I was taking your logic and applying it to an extreme scenario to see if it still holds. If it doesn't then either you're leaving something out of the equation or it's simply faulty logic.
    Buying crap from a scumbag and then later calling his other customers "scumbags" never fails to make me laugh.

Anyone who uses the word "scumbag" makes me laugh :pac:. I know some people try and apply to word to middle-class people (such as bankers/politicians), but in reality the word "scumbag" is only used to refer to people of low socioeconomic background. If you want to use words that descirbe amoral people go ahead..... But if you decide to use a word that aswell as describing someone's character also draws attention to their background, then it just shows you're a little bit of a snob deep down inside :D.
    As for the Germans who got lead poisoning from buying illegal products, they really shouldn't have broken the law.

Legality has nothing to do with morality. Try harder.

Pace2008 wrote: »
    No. It gets cut with dental anaesthetics, creatine and the likes. They could be selling the speed and heroin.

Benzos of some kind IIRC. And I think he's getting them prescribed legitimately .

So his GP is prescribing drugs to an addict and alcoholic.Any idea of how dangerous that is, not to mention unethical and un lawful.And this guy is worried that stoners are breaking the law.I'd LOL but I'm 100% sure that this Terry is full of BS.

I'm still waiting for his response.

So his GP is prescribing drugs to an addict and alcoholic.Any idea of how dangerous that is, not to mention unethical and un lawful.And this guy is worried that stoners are breaking the law.I'd LOL but I'm 100% sure that this Terry is full of BS.

I'm still waiting for his response.
    He seems to be offline, and you might be better off PMing someone about drug addiction since it's a kinda personal topic.

Yup, that's it, open and shut. The world exists in black and white with nothing in between, and all illegal drug users are ignorant, naive, self-righteous **** who have no idea what's in store for them, having never suffered an addiction of any kind - not for long though!

I think this is a lie.You are a junkie and an alcoholic?And a Boards.ie moderator who spends a lot of time on the web?Already you are nothing like any of the junkies or alcos I know.

Who pays for your broadband?I mean,being a fulltime junkie and alcoholic you obviously don't have a job......... or at least you won't when you tell us what and where your job is.How long have you been deceiving your employers?

How long have you been a junkie?And an alcoholic?At 17 years old you were relying on others to provide cannabis which you couldn't even handle a puff off.

You are in here pontificating to us all about breaking the law.If you are what you say you are you have broken it more than most of us, so what gives you the authority to lecture us on that which you violate

So tell me Terry, when you run out of sugar what do you go for and where do you get it.Do you even know what I'm on about?I doubt it

I think what's really going on here is you've taken an absolute pasting in this thread and are trying to spoof us now to cover up................... and I'm calling you out on it.I think it's BS.Anyone else in here smell it?
    I'm self employed.
    At 17 I had all but given up smoking weed, but just happened to meet a friend that night.
    As for sugar, I have diabetes :)

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055054940

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Bit late to throw this into the topic I suppose but might as well.

Before I do, I don't want the anti-drug brigade giving me a lecture on "drugs are bad", I know they are, but I enjoy them so fúck off please.

I said many a time before the ban came in, in many of these headshop debates that this would happen if they were banned. People like myself, who like the headshop products, would end up taking our business to the local scumbag drug dealer which the government spends millions a year of taxpayers money on attempting to combat. Instead of this option, they could have kept these products legal and regulated which would then have led to government making an income on these products rather than a loss.

Suppose you'll lump eating cookies or brownies into the unnatural acts as well.
    Keep digging....... you're nearly in Asia, home of cannabis.

RMD wrote: »
    Bit late to throw this into the topic I suppose but might as well.

Before I do, I don't want the anti-drug brigade giving me a lecture on "drugs are bad", I know they are, but I enjoy them so fúck off please.

I said many a time before the ban came in, in many of these headshop debates that this would happen if they were banned. People like myself, who like the headshop products, would end up taking our business to the local scumbag drug dealer which the government spends millions a year of taxpayers money on attempting to combat. Instead of this option, they could have kept these products legal and regulated which would then have led to government making an income on these products rather than a loss.

But the Elliot Ness/ Barry Galvin approach is the only proven way.Don't even get them for drugs, get em on tax evasion.As long as they don't set up a front to pay tax on discernible assets, we have em.
    It's what has kept Ireland drug free since the late 80s.Why change course now?You don't see the yanks just ditching the War on Drugs, do you?If we don't do this ,mark my words, the young people of Ireland will be doing drugs.................................... DRUGS !!!!!!!!!!!......... Aaaaaaaaaagh!!!
    ............. I've read 'Go Ask Alice'......... I know what can happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

What drugs do you take, Terry?
    A few pints? Nice g+t? Maybe you've had the odd tranquiliser or anti-depressant in your time from your legal dealer doctor. Ever had a major operation? You might well have had diamorphine as a painkiller. (Street name, heroin.) What about some dentistry? Novocaine, jabbed straight into your jaw there.
    When you can start explaining why two of the most dangerous drugs to human health and society (Lancet study, 2007 - http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/17760130/ ) should remain legal while much more benign substances should not, I'll start listening to you.