Should the great unwashed be banished from this situation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

TheZohan wrote: »
    OP for all you know this guy travelled half the way around the world with crappy stopovers to visit a relative that had been in an accident or was at deaths doorstep. Unless you know the full facts you shouldn't judge people.

Shame on you, seriously.

True, Zohan.

What about the other ones?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

OP for all you know this guy travelled half the way around the world with crappy stopovers to visit a relative that had been in an accident or was at deaths doorstep. Unless you know the full facts you shouldn't judge people.

Shame on you, seriously.

Ewwwwww, you're sooo PC........look, he stank, you would'nt be sooo openminded if his pong was in your space.
    Erica<3 wrote: »
    EVery saturday

so from daily basis to weekly basis, or should that be a WEEK argument;)
    VinnyTGM wrote: »
    Horses don't smell bad.

it seems Erica thinks they do?? ...but they don't. I grew up around them. No smell issues with them, or their shyte/urine in comparision to an able bodied young human who simply could'nt have a wash.

MidlandsM wrote: »
    Ewwwwww, you're sooo PC........look, he stank, you would'nt be sooo openminded if his pong was in your space.

Ditch the "PC". My guess is that it is exactly because he has suffered as a passenger in these situations that Zohan is openminded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I'm not PC but when I was living in Australia a girl I was friends with had to head back to Ireland because her dad passed away. She ended up having to spend the guts of two days to get home as she couldn't afford €5k to get a direct flight at short notice, her family weren't loaded.

She literally booked her flights online in the bar that she worked in and went to the airport, she left all her belongings behind.

If anything stinks here it's your post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Ewwwwww, you're sooo PC........

Nobody hates political correctness in AH more than myself, I'm regularly labeled a racist for daring to suggest immigration should have been limited far earlier than it was, however - what you are classing as "PC" here, is far from it.

It's about having a little respect for another human being ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Ah now, an objection to off-the-chart pungent BO when in close proximity to others is a legitimate one. Maybe the guy is unwell mentally/physically or maybe there was one of many other unpleasant reasons for it, but there's a strong likelihood that he's simply extremely lax about personal hygiene. Difficult one to tackle though - I remember a manager where I used to work telling us about how she was put in the extremely uncomfortable position of having to take a girl aside and advise her to pay more attention to her hygiene as there were so many complaints from those who sat near her. I did not envy that manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭Lust4Life

I can sympathize with your being locked in close quarters with this fella, but what if it was health reasons that made him smell that way? Perhaps he had an ostomy bag.

Sometimes no matter how hygenic a person is, with one of those on you, the smell travels.

I knew a guy who was a cab driver. Had a rider with a bag like that burst in the cab. It took a week to remove the smell.

But if your choice is live with the smell or die.....

If anything stinks here it's your post.

Ahhhh, that one's easy and expected.....I'll let you have it.:D
    OutlawPete wrote: »
    It's about having a little respect for another human being ffs.

Sorry, but I make no apologies for my observations and comments about this clearly able bodied,monied,young man.
    If he was doing a mercy flight,connecting etc, a wash or even a knacker shower in the jacks at the airport would be better than his pungent aroma he thrust upon everyone in his vacinity.

What do you think can be done about it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

when I was living in Australia a girl I was friends with had to head back to Ireland because her dad passed away. She ended up having to spend the guts of two days to get home as she couldn't afford €5k to get a direct flight at short notice, her family weren't loaded.

She literally booked her flights online in the bar that she worked in and went to the airport, she left all her belongings behind.
    Two days without a shower, even without access to deodorant for that two days, isn't gonna cause even a fraction of the pong the OP describes though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭flyton5

On one of those airline shows the cabin crew delayed the flight and sent some smelly bloke for a shower...then they provided him with cheapy clean clothes. I think he was flying with Easy Jet or some low budget plane but every airline should have something like that in place. Why should anyone pay to have to endure that. Yeah if there were extenuating circumstances you'd feel sorry for him but dont just presume he was some unfortunate soul...maybe he was just an unhygenic bastard...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,773 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Thanks OP. Before my next flight I'm not going to shower for two weeks so I can get loads of room around me on the plane.

Top tip.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

Shame on you, seriously.

In fairness, a short burst of smelly stuff under the arms doesn't take too much effort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

OP, you were only acting the big man to air hostess.
    Was there realy a need to refer to someone as a dead body?

Dudess wrote: »
    Two days without a shower, even without access to deodorant for that two days, isn't gonna cause even a fraction of the pong the OP describes though.

Depends on the person and the circumstances. (plus people exaggerate.)
    Einhard wrote: »
    In fairness, a short burst of smelly stuff under the arms doesn't take too much effort.

I agree, but if it was a mercy flight you might not think of it.

I'm not defending the guy but there may be other factors to consider.

I agree, but if it was a mercy flight you might not think of it.

I'm not defending the guy but there may be other factors to consider.

Hmmm, was it you on that flight Zohan?!

Nah, I smell good, real good. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Im with the OP on this one.

Seriously its disgusting & utterly selfish. Is it really asking that much of someone that they have a bit of a wash now & then?
    OP was perfectly entitled to make a few remarks about the stinkin slob. People whinge all the time about screaming babies on planes so being trapped with a smelly pig on a flight is worthy of a moan. Babys cry, they can't help it. Can you say the same for a stinker?
    He's paying money for the flight so why should he have to put up with eye-watering BO?

If it was a place of work like an office the ponger would be taken to one side & told go home & have a shower. Rightfully so.

OP, you were only acting the big man to air hostess.
    Was there realy a need to refer to someone as a dead body?

Yes, I'm a big man, and yes there was. He stank like nothing I ever experienced, I was there, you were not.

Is it really asking that much of someone that they have a bit of a wash now & then?

No it's not too much to ask at all.

However, we don't know that this is the case and so people should be treated with respect.

If he came on the flight and annouced that he hadn't washed and didn't care, then tell him he smells like a dead person and should be fcuking ashamed of himself.
    OP was perfectly entitled to make a few remarks about the stinkin slob.

No she wasn't.

However, we don't know that this is the case and so people should be treated with respect.

True, but that also extends to the other people on the plane, for whom it seems Mr Smelly had none. Although, if he didn't have it for himself, it's probably a bit of a stretch to expect him to have it for those around him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

No it's not too much to ask at all.

If he came on the flight and annouced that he hadn't washed and didn't care, then tell him he smells like a dead person and should be fcuking ashamed of himself.

No she wasn't.

Yeah look we could go round in circles all night.

Why should i respect someone who doesn't respect themselves? I don't care what the reasons are behind the guy's unearthly pong, if he's going to be around other people in a confined environment like a plane he should be a little more considerate & apply some sort of odour neutralising spray on himself. Only takes a second.

Ignoring the problem is not going to help. If i had a stench off me i'd prefer for someone to say hey you stink pal! & at least be able to act on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭JaneLane

A similar incident happened on Dublin bus a last year. I was getting the 78a in to town (I know). Anyway I noticed that downstairs was jammers, so I chanced my arm and headed upstairs. I was three steps from the top when I smelt it... it was vile! There was one lone man sitting up there and the stench was coming from him.

Anyway, fool that I am, I sat upstairs as far away from him as I could but the smell was so bad I could practically taste it! At every stop people were coming upstairs and either baring it or retching going back down.

There were loads of people at each stop too so downstairs got crowded pretty quickly. People were complaining to the driver about the guy and eventually the driver came upstairs and asked the man to get off the bus. It was awful, I felt so bad for the guy! He tried to stay on but the driver was having none of it and he ended up having to walk downstairs dejectedly in front of everyone and get off...

Everyone was happy to see the back of him but I felt so guilty for the rest of the day! :(

True, but that also extends to the other people on the plane, for whom it seems Mr Smelly had none.

Perhaps inside he was mortified, but had no option but to take the flight.

You don't know that he had no respect for the rest of the passengers, but we can be damn sure that the OP had none for him.

JaneLane wrote: »
    A similar incident happened on Dublin bus a last year. I was getting the 78a in to town (I know). Anyway I noticed that downstairs was jammers, so I chanced my arm and headed upstairs. I was three steps from the top when I smelt it... it was vile! There was one lone man sitting up there and the stench was coming from him.

Anyway, fool that I am, I sat upstairs as far away from him as I could but the smell was so bad I could practically taste it! At every stop people were coming upstairs and either baring it or retching going back down.

There were loads of people at each stop too so downstairs got crowded pretty quickly. People were complaining to the driver about the guy and eventually the driver came upstairs and asked the man to get off the bus. It was awful, I felt so bad for the guy! He tried to stay on but the driver was having none of it and he ended up having to walk downstairs dejectedly in front of everyone and get off...

Everyone was happy to see the back of him but I felt so guilty for the rest of the day! :(

ohhhh,but as the WISE Zohan says, there may be other factors to consider?? Maybe he was on a mercy dash to see a dying elderly relative on the Bus, but then connect with 7 airlines and travel intercontinental for 103 hours to get there without a wash?
    ........or he was depressed? or had no money??

Nope, he just did'nt wash.......durty fecker.

but we can be damn sure that the OP had none for him.

to be sure, as I had good cause.
    I treat anyone and everyone else with the same respect they give me so if some piece of filth expects to travel close to me and smell VILE , he'll get no respect.....most right minded people will concur with me.

to be sure, as I had good cause.
    I treat anyone and everyone else with the same respect they give me so if some piece of filth expects to travel close to me and smell VILE , he'll get no respect.....most right minded people will concur with me.

Check mate.

Night all. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

Stinicker wrote: »
    I think we have the culprit

Fattist!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Jeboa Safari

Erica<3 wrote: »
    Seriously OP?

How rude are you? Ok so this man's body odour may have been foul but no need to refer to him as a cretin or a dead body is out of line. How would you feel if you were't able to look after yourself sufficiently, or if you were so deep into depression you couldn't bring yourself to wash, and someone referred to you as a dead body?

Who do you think you are? People are struggling to pay for food, and you're bellyaching about a discomfort on lets guess, a ryanair flight which aren't usually long haul.

Do me a favour and STFU.

That doesn't give him the right to inflict his smell on everyone else, should have some decency and make some sort of effort to clean himself.
    And I don't think you realise how bad someone can smell if you think that horse sh*t is alot worse

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Bob Z wrote: »
    Fattist!!

Fat people smell, and stink very bad, look at all the extra skin they have just oozing out stink.

Shame on you, seriously.

I travelled all the way around the world in July and spending >14 hours in a plane is no picnic, however I still managed to find time to go to toilet and give myself a rub down with some baby wipes and apply some deodorant and put on a clean vest and change my t-shirt. The A380 now has showers on board also but they are only for 1st class!! So money can truly get you away from the unwashed masses, as for the rest of us trapped in economy, a xanax and a clothes peg to the nose looks to be the only escape,

Also having a connecting flight there is showers in airports and you can get fully refreshed and change your clothes (pack wisely in the carryon) there is no need to be stinking and in todays age B.O is totally unacceptable; and I have had to switch seats before on a plane due to smell issues although in my case it was a hasidic Jew with some vile rotten kosher food thing which had me literally gagging.

The op description sounds worse than BO and most likely the culprit had either crapped his cacks or had some sort of fetid open sore on his body. The thought of it being recycled through the AC on a plane then :eek: