Any basketball court open to public?

• 20-08-2010 10:54AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9

Is there anywhere in Galway to shoot a few hoops? Indoor or outdoor... cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,155 ✭✭✭PopeBuckfastXVI

You could shoot some b-ball outside of a school.

Though you'd want to be on the look out for a couple of guys, up to no good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Chirps the Gran

True - wouldn't want my mother to worry about me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭hairyfairy00

There's an outdoor court by the tennis courts in Westside. You should try some community centre's also, you might be able to play in some of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭confuseddotcom

I think there is/used to be Basketball Court(s) near the Playground in Mervue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,677 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

You could shoot some b-ball outside of a school.

Though you'd want to be on the look out for a couple of guys, up to no good.

Same thing happened to be. I got in one little fight and my mom got scared. She sent me to Letterfrack:(

Tennis courts in Westside - are they near the shopping centre?

That's sound cheers lads

ronnie3585 wrote: »
    Same thing happened to be. I got in one little fight and my mom got scared. She sent me to Letterfrack:(

It's grand though - now ya have a degree in contemporary furniture design from GMIT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

I think there's a court in St. Mary's College still...

(near the tennis court)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭hairyfairy00

Tennis courts in Westside - are they near the shopping centre?

That's sound cheers lads

Yup, just across the road from the entrance to the car park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭yfaykya

Theres a basketball and 2 tennis courts in the Doughiska Road park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,083 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

And one that looked to me like a basketball court (I don't play sport and these things all look very similar ;) ) down in Clarinbridge, tucked away in an estate near the cemetery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭Columc

galah wrote: »
    I think there's a court in St. Mary's College still...

(near the tennis court)

Apparently not open to the public, went to play there with a few friends a while back, gardai were called by the grounds keeper.