I need to stay awake for 4 days. How?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

OP do NOT go out on Monday after your exam, obviously! I've left things till the last minute before but that is just plain stupid.

You are not going to stay awake for 4 days! You can do an all-nighter before your exam on Monday if you need it but you should probably rest after the exam for a bit and then get stuck into your project work. I've done all nighters a few times, personally they do help me as I'd rather be working right up until I go into an exam to remember things better. Energy drinks will help you stay up but they wont give you any magical powers. Being realistic you are most likely going to get more work done if you get your rest in-between, obviously you will be skimping on this but staying up straight for that long is not going to help you.

The only way to do it is just do it and don't be fooling yourself with sourcing magical exam strategies.

Good luck to ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

AdMMM wrote: »
    I'm going out on Monday...

Hey there's a plan. Get completely wasted and then you wont give a sh*t!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

You could of prepared for it at the start, laid out what you were going to do and then do it and be on time to pin point percision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Voltex

OP...what you need for this perfectlably achievable task is
    1. feck redbull...a couple litres of Mountain dew will get ya started.
    2. get yourself a divorce....thatll keep ya awake for months
    3. if you cant achieve "2"..get your self bankrupt. it will have the same effect.
    4. Ignore the hallucinations and convultions...theyll pass.
    5. get yourself a tight fitting pair of waterproof underwear.
    6. an ice machine
    7. Tony Blairs memoirs
    donr forget to tell us how you got on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭piby

I've left a few college projects on the proverbial long-finger and now find myself in the sticky situation of having to sit one exam on Monday and needing to submit two 36 page projects for Thursday. I also need to teach myself the subjects in this time.

You know when you think you're absolutely screwed because you have so much work to get done in a short space of time and then you come across somebody who is far more ****ed than you? This is one of those times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

speed......by that I mean rent the movie speed and procrastinate some more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭Dj

I spent six years in college and never done an all nighter. I think staying awake for 4 days is pointless and counter productive.

Instead of looking for ways to stay awake for 4 days maybe there is someone on boards that can help ye out, what are the projects on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭poppyvalley

I've left a few college projects on the proverbial long-finger and now find myself in the sticky situation of having to sit one exam on Monday and needing to submit two 36 page projects for Thursday. I also need to teach myself the subjects in this time.

I figure that the only way I can manage this is to have a few sleepless nights. I'm going out on Monday, after my exam so figure I can drift off for a few hours when I come back in and wake up early to make some headway on the projects.

How do I best go about this? Should I binge on coffee or red bull, or should I eat in any particular way? The projects don't have to be particularly well done, just meet some minimum criteria so some zombification will be okay.
    You didint say what the project was about. If it's a political project...do NOT worry.... you are doing just fine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭2manyconditions

Hey OP are you doing the repeats by any chance?

KeithAFC wrote: »
    You could of prepared for it at the start, laid out what you were going to do and then do it and be on time to pin point percision.

Do not think like this for sure!
    Ye you've messed up, no point thinking about it now or no point trying to make yourself forget that by going out drinking.

Maybe you should consider cutting your losses OP, you have time before Mondays exam, concentrate on that for now. But 2 36-page projects sounds a feck load to do between Tuesday and Thursday, I can't tell you what to do or not but if it was me I'd be considering cutting one of them. Sometimes you can have so much work to do that you get nothing done if you try and do all of it, there's no point kidding yourself in these situations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,395 ✭✭✭AntiVirus

Hey OP are you doing the repeats by any chance?

He will be next year! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭lintdrummer

College exams and assignments in August? Have you failed the Summer exams and you're repeating them now? If so you need to cop on man.

Not sleeping is about the worst thing you could do. Drinking energy drinks isn't much better. You'll just have to work hard for a change! Get up early, go to bed when your brain stops working.

Don't go out on Monday.

Mainly just cop on ya luder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 776 ✭✭✭sellerbarry

Just pay for a paper off the net. Go out Monday too. Sorted;)

http://www.directessays.com/

or here

http://www.abcpapers.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭Dj

Just pay for a paper off the net. Go out Monday too. Sorted;)

http://www.directessays.com/

or here

http://www.abcpapers.com/

Just done a search for my thesis topic no luck :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

First things first, have a coffee.

Have something to eat too maybe..........CAFFIENATED COOKIES

Then maybe have a shower? WITH CAFFEINE SOAP

Then make sure your breath is fresh....WITH CAFFEINATED BREATH SPRAY

And enjoy a caffiene lollipop while you ace your test on Monday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

Get other people to do your projects for you or get deferrals. Two 36 page projects in four days, not a chance. Cheating is only bad if you get caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

OP what have you been doing all summer? Better yet what have you been doing all year that it has come to this situation?

Best of luck OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Drugs.....then more drugs.

And then a few drugs. Weeeeeeeeeeeeee!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,586 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Pray for a snow storm so you have more time to study

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Stink on the inside

The coffee will stop working after a day or so...and any level of intelligence will shut down temporarily.

Dont go out..

Try have a 'look' at your mates projects to speed up completion of your own ones. Dont copy them...

Try get some sleep each night..

you could also try get an extension.

either way im well interested how this will fare out,

keep us all posted..

OP what have you been doing all summer? Better yet what have you been doing all year that it has come to this situation?

Best of luck OP

Now is not the time for the OP to be thinking back kicking themselves for messing up, although I would have more sympathy had they not been considering going out after the first exam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

You're going to fail.

However, if you bear in mind that college is for losers especially the ones who need to repeat exams because they're too lazy to study.

Once you accept this basic fact you can leave college safe in the knowledge that you can still have a long and rewarding career in scrotum scratching on the social welfare with no qualifications.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭The Agogo

Einstein regularly stayed up for periods of 4 days without sleep.

But that was more to do with his undying interest levels...

...and later he became insaneish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭craggles

Literally your only way of doing this is to get a hold of some speed or meth.

That's it. That's the only way you can get it all done in time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

Staying awake for 4 days is less useful than it sounds, after the first 48 hours you have the intellectual power of a carrot. You would be better off getting 2 or 3 hours every night and working your hole off for the rest of the time. Best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Definitely passed my exam this morning. I had failed it by 1% before and the study I did paid off as it all seemed to come up on the paper. Didn't ace it by any means but certainly passed it. Have 11 pages or so to do tonight for one of the projects and then I'll just try get whatever I can done in my remaining time for the final project which I can afford to fail as it can be carried onto next year, so long as I submit something resembling an attempt at it. Not ideal, but perhaps a good outcome considering the mess I got myself into.

At this rate I probably only have to pull one all-nighter. Plenty of time for more in future though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Cialis and Hookers FTW! failing that get someone to waterboard you.

You remind me of me OP and for that reason, I hope you get through this.. Get of boards though till Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Definitely passed my exam this morning. I had failed it by 1% before and the study I did paid off as it all seemed to come up on the paper. Didn't ace it by any means but certainly passed it. Have 11 pages or so to do tonight for one of the projects and then I'll just try get whatever I can done in my remaining time for the final project which I can afford to fail as it can be carried onto next year, so long as I submit something resembling an attempt at it. Not ideal, but perhaps a good outcome considering the mess I got myself into.

At this rate I probably only have to pull one all-nighter. Plenty of time for more in future though.
    What?!? No!! You're supposed to learn from **** like this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭AAAAAAAHHH

Am I the only one who noticed that the OP seems to think there are 4 days between Tuesday and Thursday?