Mindless drunken vandalism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭IrishZeus

In fairness, its the vast minority of fans that cause trouble... I'm from Tipp originally but am living in Dublin the past few years so have seen both sides of it: living in Dub and being out for the matches and travelling up the odd time when i was younger.

Quinns gets a big crowd not because of the location but because its considered a GAA pub. Half the excitement about coming up for the day is to be in Quinn's. It's where the craic happens! :rolleyes:

I feel genuinely sorry for your friend and his car, that behaviour is a disgrace. But you have no right to assume it was a "culchie". Fair enough, chances are it was a Tipp/Waterford fan but i'm sure there are also Dublin fans that cause trouble at times. (I'm not going down the "tar everyone with the same brush" route as i read your previous comments on this - but you are being very generalist.) My car was vandalised a week after I brought it to Dub and I was in one of the supposedly posh areas!

All in all, put a big crowd (from anywhere) in a pub and there will be some element of trouble from the odd bunch of d!ckheads...

Fookin' wreckin the buzzz dey are... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭the bolt

C'mon. Really, what are the chances of that? With your attitude how do we know any particualr person or group of person has doing anything bad, ever?
    look go into temple bar any weekend and you will see plenty of people pissing,getting sick and more and its doubtfull if they are all country folk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

alexmcred wrote: »
    They were trying to help make Croke park carbon neutral by insuring your friend couldn't drive his car.

hehe. I like your style!

WindSock wrote: »
    It always baffles me as to why people would buy a gaf near Croker.

hehe. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,368 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭IrishZeus

Hammer-time. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Exodus 1811

me wrote:
    Well its better than shooting up heroin like the dubs.. /ignorant stereotyping
    jordan.. wrote: »
    ahahahahaha!! unbelievable! I am embarrassed for you reading this..

Eh.. i think you need to re-read my post, especially the part that says "/ignorant stereotyping"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭uncle-mofo

I'm from Waterford and it goes both ways, plenty of "Jackeens" come down to the likes of Tramore and Dunmore and go equally as mental. What happens to your friends car sucks but it happens everywhere and can't be isolated to "culchies". I was at the match on Sunday and in my opinion there aren't enough gardaí around after the match, saw a brawl straight after the game between supporters visibly on some sort of drugs and it took the few gardaí on duty quite a while to get it all under control, it could have gotten alot messier than it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭thebullkf

danh789 wrote: »
    Jesus, he sounds like a right thug, your mate. Typical Dub I suppose, solves everything with violence.

typical muck savage, making sweeping generalisations.

easyeason3 wrote: »
    The problem isn't the GAA. The problem is a group of 16-20 year old d!ckheads that are let loose for the day & start horsing into pints. Most of them are out of it before a match starts. When they get full up with pints they then move onto JD & coke or vodka & red bull. Which is around the time they start acting like tinkers.
    Most people who go to GAA matches are actually there to support their team & enjoy a good battle on the field so it's a bit silly to paint them all with the one brush.
    And how do you know it was a culchie that damaged your friends car? Unless you have cctv footage of it then you are making wild assumptions.

:rolleyes:yeah thats right.:rolleyes:

Lok pal ...get a bleedin grip.

I'ts hardly fair to blame the GAA fans when the real culprits are the local authorities who do not provide enough public toilets in the vicinity of big stadia.

People will generally drink more than normal on big match occasions and as a result will want to answer more frequent calls of nature..thats hardly rocket science.

Was at a big game myself recently and was short taken on one of the roads leading to Croker....no public toilets so was forced to pop into a nearby garden and drop a sour queefe by the side of the house.

Felt pretty lousey about having to do that and stuck a rolled up 5 euro note in the sh1te as recompense.

Wasn't much elese i could do was there ?

Thought about knockin on the door to ask for bog roll but that might have been too cheeky.

ok, its DCC's fault you took a tom tit in someone's garden (which i doubt btw).

if it was mygarden, you'd be wipin with broken arms. make no mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭Sod'o swords

No need to get personal pal.

It was either that or drop a kilo of runny sour in my breeks.

Now quit bellyaching about your mates banger ...I've got news for you pal ..these things happen.

Beats the sh1t out of me how people rent accomodation near a stadium and then whinge and complain about crowds on match days.

Join the freekin dots pal.....:rolleyes:

Now i know most of After Hours are sleeve chewers, but this just takes it to a new level.

Wow, just wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

Stoopid "sport"....... stopid supporters... in a stoopid stadium.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Over the years myself and my friends have attended many games at Croker-we all enjoyed a few pints(some a few too many) but NEVER felt the need to act like cavemen and wreck peoples property around the stadium.
    We had the misfortune of meeting said "savages" up for the day who's idea of craic was get hammered and make a show of themselves-the match was a sideline and excuse to go wild.
    The train home after the game would be met by the Gardai to take some of them off after they were locked in their own carraige for the safety of other passengers.Scum down at home and scum when they travel to Dublin for a match.Year on year it was the same crowd that were responsible for the trouble and give everyone a bad name.I recently witnessed the same carry on of using gardens as toilets in Ballsbridge before the Man Utd. game at the Aviva but 99.9% of fans were behaved.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Noffles wrote: »
    Stoopid "sport"....... stopid supporters... in a stoopid stadium.......

Stoopid sport...well your entitled to your opinion.

Stoopid supporters.....mmm maybe some.

But stupid stadium ? How so ......enlighten us pal,,,,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

On the same theme but slightly off topic,I have travelled to Old Trafford on many occassions and open cubicles are all along the streets for fans to relieve themselves-a good idea so no p!ssing in residents gardens.
    However a friend of mine lives there and had a really bad experience when Glasgow Rangers invaded the city-used the cubicles to sh1t in which was a feat in itself considering they're not designed for that.His van was vandalised because it had an Irish name on it-Fenian Bastard painted all over it by the 'fans'-he was well impressed.The city was like the aftermath of a war by the time Rangers left and police and residents swore never to have them back.
    Just goes to show the muck savages are everywhere and have no regard for peoples property but don't tar the all with the one brush.My friend in Manchester who had his van wrecked doesn't hold a grudge against Scotland or Glasgow as he said he welcomes the Celtic fans as by and large they behave themselves,the same can be said for us "culchies"-it's always the minority of morons who feel the need to go on a rampage when let loose in the capital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

I used to live near Croke Park and we used to get people wrecking the place outside our house but we were never stupid enough to leave our car outside the house, my dad would park the car about 10-15 mins (walk) up the road on big match days that way we would have no obstructions on the path outside our house, we would close the gate and never got any hassle, if your friend knew this was going to happen he should of been smart enough to do the same, your not going to be able to stop people getting hammered after gaa games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

zerks wrote: »
    On the same theme but slightly off topic,I have travelled to Old Trafford on many occassions and open cubicles are all along the streets for fans to relieve themselves-a good idea so no p!ssing in residents gardens.
    However a friend of mine lives there and had a really bad experience when Glasgow Rangers invaded the city-used the cubicles to sh1t in which was a feat in itself considering they're not designed for that.His van was vandalised because it had an Irish name on it-Fenian Bastard painted all over it by the 'fans'-he was well impressed.The city was like the aftermath of a war by the time Rangers left and police and residents swore never to have them back.
    Just goes to show the muck savages are everywhere and have no regard for peoples property but don't tar the all with the one brush.My friend in Manchester who had his van wrecked doesn't hold a grudge against Scotland or Glasgow as he said he welcomes the Celtic fans as by and large they behave themselves,the same can be said for us "culchies"-it's always the minority of morons who feel the need to go on a rampage when let loose in the capital.

The celtic fans wrecked his van? i thought it was the huns? Celtic fans are very wel behaved when they travel for games, in Seville there was thousands and no trouble. I remember the Rangers final though in manchester, the completely destroyed the city, scumbags the lot. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭AAAAAAAHHH

The celtic fans wrecked his van? i thought it was the huns? Celtic fans are very wel behaved when they travel for games, in Seville there was thousands and no trouble. I remember the Rangers final though in manchester, the completely destroyed the city, scumbags the lot. :D

You didn't read that did you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

Stoopid sport...well your entitled to your opinion.

Stoopid supporters.....mmm maybe some.

But stupid stadium ? How so ......enlighten us pal,,,,,

Are we "pals"...?

Anyway, to me it just seems like an incomplete stadium, three good sides and one "not so good"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

AAAAAAAHHH wrote: »
    You didn't read that did you?

i read it again after i posted lol

Anyway, to me it just seems like an incomplete stadium, three good sides and one "not so good"...

Mr. Millenium stadium, lauding it over us.

i totally agree

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Ah the OP is one of these... Anyone from outside Dublin is inexperienced in life. Also, of course they were GAA fans because there were GAA matches on and no one from Dublin likes GAA right?.. IMO it should have been your car that got thrashed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Chairman Meow

lol @ GAA and its supporters

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Sykk wrote: »
    Ah the OP is one of these... Anyone from outside Dublin is inexperienced in life. Also, of course they were GAA fans because there were GAA matches on and no one from Dublin likes GAA right?.. IMO it should have been your car that got thrashed.

Uhhh, what?

It's a bit obvious what happened here and i find it idiotic that people are even suggesting that it wasn't a pissed up GAA-head that did this. You can only take coincidence and 'innocent until proven guilty' so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

You can only take coincidence and 'innocent until proven guilty' so far.

Hold on, I've a telegram coming through from the Guildford Four here........

Ahem. The "incomplete stadium", Mr Garrison Game, is so because the Dublin supporters mounted a huge petition years ago to preserve Hill 16. The land behind the stand could easily have been purchased and the railway itself moved (if necessary) had the GAA really wanted it. But Dublin supporters opposed this move from a Terrace to a Stand in huge numbers. And the GAA listened to them.

For all the commercial Sky bullshít that followers of British soccer go on with the biggest stadiums in Europe remain outside Britain, and no stadium in Britain holds as many people as Croke Park holds (Source: http://www.stadiumguide.com/capacityspecial.htm). The chances of the average Irish British supporter of British clubs seeing beyond Britain are slim to none, however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭Payton

Many years ago I used to go to Dublin matches, Stand on the Hill 16 then what do it for me was so called "Dub Fans" pissing on your back, fighting amongst themselves, full of drink and getting sick and that was just the women :D. Hence Ive never gone back to a Dublin match.

Dionysus wrote: »
    For all the commercial Sky bullshít that followers of British soccer go on with the biggest stadiums in Europe remain outside Britain, and no stadium in Britain holds as many people as Croke Park holds (Source: http://www.stadiumguide.com/capacityspecial.htm). The chances of the average Irish British supporter of British clubs seeing beyond Britain are slim to none, however.

Wembley?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,968 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Dionysus wrote: »

That link is from 2007 and doesn't mention Wembley
    The redeveloped Wembley was reopened in 2007 and capacity exceeds Croke Park.

If you are going to post a link then don't post one over three years old