Mindless drunken vandalism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

It must be a nightmare living down there to be honest
    who rang your doorbell at 3am ?

Drunk girl in a GAA top looking for a toilet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,968 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I lived on Clonliffe Rd for two years.

For sure there is an element of "prisoner in your own home" but I knew that before I moved there so I couldn't complain,
    Though this was before they started playing soccer & rugby games so a lot more matches then at first.

One good thing that GAA did was you had to register if you were interested in tickets set aside for residents.
    Before that tickets were given to residents committees, now there was a closed shop and down to who you know!
    The raffle was the fairest way, well done GAA

Without doubt, it's better to be inside the cordon then outside it.
    Far less messing and I can't realy think of any bad issues. No trouble realy but the gardai stayed right by our house and the stewards were across the road.
    Supervised location I guess.
    My friend lives in an apartment block on Clonliffe Rd and people would stand in the car park pissing against the wall. No resident needs that!

Realy the main thing that bothered me was fans, mainly Dublin fans drinking in Fairview Park before games.
    Drinking in a park and leaving cans everywhere isn't on at all but if matchday was sunny, the park got trashed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭ucdmike

LOL at how pathetic the OP's life must be....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

In fairness, round any large gatherings with a lot of alcohol you'll get crap like this. I'm sorry to hear about your friend's car-- that's really sh1tty and God love him-- but I have seen similar going on on the walk back from Slane, with people ringing doorbells or peeing in gardens. I have also seen people doing it on their way home from the pub on a regular night, not just sporting or music events. To say it is a reflection of GAA fans is a bit simplistic and unfair.

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    And how exactly can you know this if you didn't see it?

Because I work shifts and often come home at that time. It's a residential area, and people are in bed at that hour. It's a main thoroughfare to the airport and the North with all-night transport, so there is no transient pedestrian traffic. The only people hanging around after midnight are drunken GAA supporters outside the bars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

OP, wow I'm so sorry about what happened your friend's car, that's such scumbag behaviour :mad: And I can't believe people crap in your garden!!!! :eek: :eek: :mad: :mad:

As for the whole area of Croker, this is one of the reasons why I wouldn't live anywhere near that place. I actually hate Croker. I've stopped going to GAA matches now because I just don't like them anymore. You get a FAR rougher crowd at the GAA than you do at the football at Landsdown (and I go to a lot of games at Landsdown).

The GAA fans always seem more up for the "push / shove" type behaviour rather than just streaming out of the stadium nice and calmly like the footie fans do. And also I just find them more ignorant than the footie fans. Football fans have a bad reputation but I think that's just because of the likes of the crap that goes on at a few select football clubs. Whereas GAA crap just goes completely under the radar. Now I'm not trying to generalise here, not ALL GAA fans are bad but there just is an atmosphere of the whole "oh we're up in Dublin, blah blah blah" whereas with the footie fans, it's more respectful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

Fascinating to see you describe mindless drunken vandalism as 'fun'. Perhaps you might feel differently if it was YOUR neighbourhood.
    As a resident said on this thread, tempers are running high locally. The GAA might easily find itself on the receiving end of another protest akin to the one that met the U2 concert if they do not deal with their supporters coming into the area and p!ssing, vomiting, sh!ting and trashing property.

i mean this seriously...

very best of luck - you will certainly need it.

and for the record, the 'fun' comment was my little dark joke. i do feel sorry for your friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Who says that the people that caused trouble were culchies??? Maybe they were waterford "supporters" from Ballybeg how do you know?

If you try to give the line that anyone from outside Dublin is a culchie then surely everyone in Dublin is one according to people from any medium sized english city?

There is no excuse for the behavior by so called supporters as outlined by the OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Because I work shifts and often come home at that time. It's a residential area, and people are in bed at that hour. It's a main thoroughfare to the airport and the North with all-night transport, so there is no transient pedestrian traffic. The only people hanging around after midnight are drunken GAA supporters outside the bars.

If you didn't see who did it then you cannot tar most of the country with the same brush. Imagine if you were in court and you were using your arguement as evidence. You would be asked to leave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭carefulnow100

I lived on Clonliffe Rd for two years.

Realy the main thing that bothered me was fans, mainly Dublin fans drinking in Fairview Park before games.
    Drinking in a park and leaving cans everywhere isn't on at all but if matchday was sunny, the park got trashed

well that just goes to prove that all Dub's are scum!:rolleyes:

Seriously people the amount of generalisation and stereotyping goin on in this thread is an absolute disgrace. Its the same as every other problem in our society with there just being a select few who destroy everyone elses good time. Iv been in croker many a time for matchs and when i was younger ( around 12) I was called a "little fat culchie" by a man who was at least in his 40's- basically he should have had more sense but the problem was he was just drunk.
    Does this mean that I now believe that all Dubs are scum?
    Of course not as im educated enought to know that you cant generalise and stereotype.
    OP its very unfair to say that this problem comes from a select few counties from a select sport.
    This happens in every county, in every sport and also in every country, just cause it doesnt happen in your front garden doesnt mean it doesnt happen. I feel for you and your friend, and for all your trying to "keep the thread on track" you helped turn this thread into a culchie bashing thread.

Who says that the people that caused trouble were culchies??? Maybe they were waterford "supporters" from Ballybeg how do you know?

If you try to give the line that anyone from outside Dublin is a culchie then surely everyone in Dublin is one according to people from any medium sized english city?

I used the c-word once in this thread, in the same way Chris Rock uses the n-word: to designate people from a community who let that community down with their behaviour.
    Let's put it to one side now, because I'm fed up with people seeking to derail this thread into some Dublin V Country BS. I'm from neither and couldn't care less.
    What I do care about is people making sh!te of where I live on a regular basis. I'd like it to stop.

There is no excuse for the behavior by so called supporters as outlined by the OP.

Thank you. I'd like to see a zero-tolerance approach from true GAA fans and the association themselves towards this matter.

If you didn't see who did it then you cannot tar most of the country with the same brush. Imagine if you were in court and you were using your arguement as evidence. You would be asked to leave.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=67484562&postcount=103

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭anplaya

or maybe they were tipp supporters from clonmel?dont think the op mentioned where the supporters were from,might even have been dubs.

well that just goes to prove that all Dub's are scum!:rolleyes:

I never said that.
    I just go on my experiences.
    I lived in the area for two years yet you think I'm throwing out a stereotype?

If I see one set of fans mainly responsible for leaving cans all over the park before matches then I'll say it.

When you think about it, most fans coming from the South and West wouldn't go near Fairview Pk or that area.

I never said that.
    I just go on my experiences.
    I lived in the area for two years yet you think I'm throwing out a stereotype?

If I see one set of fans mainly responsible for leaving cans all over the park before matches then I'll say it.

When you think about it, most fans coming from the South and West wouldn't go near Fairview Pk or that area.

I know you didnt say that, I was being ignorant like some others in this thread, and when i say others i mean a minority not evry poster ever to have posted on boards.ie

you see my meaning yet?

I was being sarcastic.

I'm always missing the sarcasm on boards :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,303 ✭✭✭✭klose

Dublin should do what they have in thurlus on match days, a designated get pissed/drinking place i.e the square, its huge can have a heap of guards looking about etc etc...

good craic in the square before a game in thurlus too aswell.

What gets me is Croke Park is a matter of minutes walk from the city centre, which is probably the best-policed and most suitable place in the entire country for large numbers of people to get hammered drunk without causing problems.
    Why won't 'fans' go and do their drinking there if they refuse to go home after games? Why must they remain within a few hundred yards of the stadium, in a residential area of families and the elderly, and make a complete sh!te of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

Don't forget the disappearance of the foreigners from the story.
    people seeking to derail this thread into some Dublin V Country BS

From reading your posts here, lol lol lol.

What gets me is Croke Park is a matter of minutes walk from the city centre, which is probably the best-policed and most suitable place in the entire country for large numbers of people to get hammered drunk without causing problems.
    Why won't 'fans' go and do their drinking there if they refuse to go home after games? Why must they remain within a few hundred yards of the stadium, in a residential area of families and the elderly, and make a complete sh!te of it?

well if your to look at it like that why do pubs stay open there? why dont they sell up and move into the city centre?
    Its not one single thing that happens in order to cause this to happen its a number of things including the fans, the pubs and the passion. I honestly do feel for you and your friend and im in no way condoning anyone that behaves like that but you said you got a knock on your door at 3 o clock at night.
    What time do the pubs close up and stop serving drink at?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭jordan..

Well its better than shooting up heroin like the dubs.. /ignorant stereotyping

ahahahahaha!! unbelievable! I am embarrassed for you reading this..

Dublin should do what they have in thurlus on match days, a designated get pissed/drinking place i.e the square, its huge can have a heap of guards looking about etc etc...

good craic in the square before a game in thurlus too aswell.

And where would you put this designated area! Thurles is pretty small compared to the biggest city in Ireland

well if your to look at it like that why do pubs stay open there? why dont they sell up and move into the city centre?
    Its not one single thing that happens in order to cause this to happen its a number of things including the fans, the pubs and the passion. I honestly do feel for you and your friend and im in no way condoning anyone that behaves like that but you said you got a knock on your door at 3 o clock at night.
    What time do the pubs close up and stop serving drink at?

Too late is the answer. Quinns goes to half two some nights. Some of the others too. And the local Garda superintendant ignores all resident appeals to refuse the late licences, because the bars claim they'd go under without the late night trade, which is exclusively GAA and students. Which is nonsense. They could make a decent living during normal hours from local trade, especially with the influx of people to the games. But in fact, most locals I know refuse to drink in any of the main 'Croker' bars now on principle.

jordan.. wrote: »
    ahahahahaha!! unbelievable! I am embarrassed for you reading this..

Im pretty sure that when he wrote "/ ignorant stereotyping" that he was being sarcastic??:confused: well id take that as an admittance of being sarcastic like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭th3 s1aught3r

Could they not close the pubs in and around Croker after the game?. No booze, no drunk GAA supporters , simples ;)

Too late is the answer. Quinns goes to half two some nights. Some of the others too. And the local Garda superintendant ignores all resident appeals to refuse the late licences, because the bars claim they'd go under without the late night trade, which is exclusively GAA and students. Which is nonsense. They could make a decent living during normal hours from local trade, especially with the influx of people to the games. But in fact, most locals I know refuse to drink in any of the main 'Croker' bars now on principle.

I understand your upset at the fans who done this but I think you would get better response if you were to maybe protest(as a last resort) on a match day outside one of the offending pubs? we all know it would be harder to get a response if you protested at the GAA.

Could they not close the pubs in and around Croker after the game?. No booze, no drunk GAA supporters , simples ;)

If only. Like I said, the super won't even consider shutting them before midnight, so I doubt there's any mission he'd consider closing them entirely.
    But that would be a dream result. Anything that moved GAA drunks out of the area straight after a match would work, to be honest. They're not considerate and they're not welcome.

Why should the publican close up shop. These wild hillybillys would get locked one way or another!

I understand your upset at the fans who done this but I think you would get better response if you were to maybe protest(as a last resort) on a match day outside one of the offending pubs? we all know it would be harder to get a response if you protested at the GAA.

My mate's called the cops on Quinns umpteen times. The amount of crap that goes on outside there is unbelievable. They may have a load of burly Eastern Europeans on the door, but once the drunks are outside they don't give a sh!t. And as I previously said, the Gardai won't come near the area. Too much like doing some work.

yes but if you and your community go out, with notice to the garda of course, and protest with signs at the door after the match people would not go into the pub, and if they did they would be in alot less numbers