Irish Taxi Driver stickers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭eightyfish

Sykk wrote: »
    The best ever was Supervalu. Big banner outside the door "Support Irish jobs". Not 1 person working there was Irish.

But the jobs were in Ireland - ie Irish jobs. "Buy Irish - Support Irish jobs" etc has nothing to do with race.

drkpower wrote: »
    Because if you dont, you are enticing the taxi driver into breaking the law and putting his livelihood in danger? You are also breaching the law yourself.

How is he "breaching the law"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

D.McC wrote: »
    You pompous arrogant snob! Your attitude sickens me. :mad::mad:

How big and righteous you must have felt by having these people sell their services to the lowest bidder.

Perhaps if you hadn’t purchased an over priced house in suburbia and used free and easy credit to fill said house with the trappings of wealth, in an effort to impress neighbours, friends and colleagues you might have the means to pay the service provider what the regulator has already deemed to be a fair and reasonable price.

If the other hand your attempt to reduce the cost of your journey wasn’t just to satisfy some perverted power trip, and money is a difficulty for you, then perhaps you should consider the bus.

What the f*ck is your problem - did someone sh*t in your coffee this morning?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭daveyboy_1ie

Don't see the difference between the 'Gauranteed Irish' stamp in products and these stickers. either they are both allowed or both banned IMO.

The consumer/ customer is king, let them have the choce of where they want to spend their money.

Do you execute a written waiver agreement on each occasion you do this with the driver?

Because if you dont, you are enticing the taxi driver into breaking the law and putting his livelihood in danger? You are also breaching the law yourself.

Or are you telling porkies?

I don't sign a waiver. I doubt anybody does & I also doubt that the laws regarding this issue are actually enforced, otherwise taximen would ensure that you signed one.

Don't see the difference between the 'Gauranteed Irish' stamp in products and these stickers.

The difference is that "Guaranteed Irish" just means the company is Irish owned and the product is manufactured in Ireland. By "Irish owned" this means the owner is a citizen of Ireland and pays taxes in Ireland and provides jobs in Ireland. The owner could very well be Scottish born living here providing jobs to Irish people and Indian people, but it is still and Irish company and they are still Irish jobs.

This sticker, on the other hand, basically means "This taxi does not have a black driver."

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

D.McC wrote: »
    You pompous arrogant snob! Your attitude sickens me. :mad::mad:

How big and righteous you must have felt by having these people sell their services to the lowest bidder.

Perhaps if you hadn’t purchased an over priced house in suburbia and used free and easy credit to fill said house with the trappings of wealth, in an effort to impress neighbours, friends and colleagues you might have the means to pay the service provider what the regulator has already deemed to be a fair and reasonable price.

If the other hand your attempt to reduce the cost of your journey wasn’t just to satisfy some perverted power trip, and money is a difficulty for you, then perhaps you should consider the bus.

On the issue of the ‘Irish Taxi Driver’ sticker, the driver of the car displaying such a sticker might well be a racist, but the person choosing this taxi over another because of the sticker is a racist.

One last thing, just because you can choose the taxi you get into, doesn’t mean you have too.I wonder how many of you would mine someone skipping ahead after you’ve had to wait your turn in a queue.
    It's called being smart. How dare he try and save money.
    Do you execute a written waiver agreement on each occasion you do this with the driver?

Or are you telling porkies?
    Uh poeple ask for a fixed fare and nobody signs anything and no nobody will ever get 'caught'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭douglashyde

I Was VB wrote: »
    As for the querys about taking the 3rd or 4th car in the taxi rank, how would you feel if you were in a que and you were next and the cashier says to the person behind you that they're next??

Miffed to say the least, taxi drivers are the same as any business in a downturn all trying to keep thier heads above water.

To those who wanted the 3rd or 4th taxi in the que what was the reason why you wanted that perticular taxi?

Thats like saying that the staff in O2 get upset when people walk into vodafone.

People should have a choice on what car they use - For example, a nice, clean safe looking one.

What isnt fair is for people to choose their taxi driver purely on the colour of their skin.

Just to point out - you are perfectly within your rights to choose whatever taxi you want on a rank & for whatever reason you want - be it price, the cleanliness of the car, or whatever.

To say that you should take the first cab in the rank is like saying you should buy your food in the nearest local shop, even though there is a cheaper, more well stocked & modern supermarket just up the road from it.

There is nothing arrogant or stupid about shopping around - it is simple common sense to look for the best deal & that goes for all goods & services, be it groceries or a taxi ride home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,474 ✭✭✭drkpower

I don't sign a waiver. I doubt anybody does & I also doubt that the laws regarding this issue are actually enforced, otherwise taximen would ensure that you signed one.
    It's called being smart. How dare he try and save money.
    Uh poeple ask for a fixed fare and nobody signs anything and no nobody will ever get 'caught'

Uh.... In order to legally agree a fixed fare, a written waiver agreement must be executed between the parties. Otherwise, the taxi driver (and the customer) are breaching the law which can have significant ramifications for the taxi driver. It is easy to say noone will ever get caught (and the law may well be an ass) but that is not much solace for the taxi driver whose licence is suspended on foot of this. You might say its unlikely that the taxi driver will get 'caught'....; its also unlikely that a doctor would get caught if they gave a pregnant woman an abortifacient, but would you encourage and entice them to do so, in the knowledge that it is illegal?

You might call his/her behaviour 'smart' but it is enticing a taxi drier to break the law, which isnt something I consider that 'smart'. And defending one's actions by stating that you 'doubt' the laws are enforced is no defence at all. Better just to say 'tough sh!t, taxi driver, if you get caught, that's none of my concern' - at least that would be an honest reply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,344 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I was talking to an elderly taxi driver the other week. He was saying alot of the non-national taxi drivers apparently use the same registration number as a colleague in Dublin or where ever. Apparently the only way they could be found out is if the Gardai match their taxi reg number with the chasis number of their car and once they see its a registered taxi they don't bother checking the chasis number..

He also said though that the Irish drivers have also started doing it to compete. So maybe we should just walk :P

Uh.... In order to legally agree a fixed fare, a written waiver agreement must be executed between the parties. Otherwise, the taxi driver (and the customer) are breaching the law which can have significant ramifications for the taxi driver.

I don't see how. It's a verbal contract. The taxi regulator only issues maximum prices.

EDIT: I just looked up the waiver info on the taxi reg site. That's mad.

Uh.... In order to legally agree a fixed fare, a written waiver agreement must be executed between the parties. Otherwise, the taxi driver (and the customer) are breaching the law which can have significant ramifications for the taxi driver.

You might call his/her behaviour 'smart' but it is enticing a taxi drier to break the law, which isnt something I consider that 'smart'. And defending one's actions by stating that you 'doubt' the laws are enforced is no defence at all. Better just to say 'tough sh!t, taxi driver, if you get caught, that's none of my concern' - at least that would be an honest reply.

Until today, I was actually unaware that a waiver had to be signed by both parties to comply with the taxi fare regulations. I doubt that many people who agree fixed fares are aware of this either.

If it is such a big deal & can lead to significant ramifications for taxi drivers, then I would suggest that taximen taking fixed fares, shoudl make their customers aware of this. I would have no problem signing a waiver, but I have never in my life been offered one by a driver.

It's not a case of "tough sh*t, taxi driver", as you put it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Uh.... In order to legally agree a fixed fare, a written waiver agreement must be executed between the parties. Otherwise, the taxi driver (and the customer) are breaching the law which can have significant ramifications for the taxi driver. It is easy to say noone will ever get caught (and the law may well be an ass) but that is not much solace for the taxi driver whose licence is suspended on foot of this. You might say its unlikely that the taxi driver will get 'caught'....; its also unlikely that a doctor would get caught if they gave a pregnant woman an abortifacient, but would you encourage and entice them to do so, in the knowledge that it is illegal?

Pretty sure most taxi drivers would laugh if I talked about this with them. It's their responsibility to make me aware of this or get me to sign it. Nobody would know about this. But anyway, no I don't care if they get caught due to not giving me one(which they won't, I can see eh sting operation now!), if they cared they'd ask you to sign it, if they even know about it, again their business to. Also, ye this changes nothing, I've never followed a law I didn't agree with. If they asked, I would sign for them. I'm good like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

how can you tell a car is "safe" just by looking at it, or is it shorthand for "I don't want no darkie driver"?

how can you tell a car is "safe" just by looking at it,

There's no way of telling for sure how roadworthy a car is, but there are general indicators that even an idiot could spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

There's no way of telling for sure how roadworthy a car is, but there are general indicators that even an idiot could spot.

I'd say most people who do the whole "I don't want to be driven home in a 92 corolla" aren't worried about the standard of the ABS.

Possibly not. However, the oul 92 Corolla as a taxi will soon be a thing of the past as all taxis will soon have to be less than 9 years old.

Pretty sure most taxi drivers would laugh if I talked about this with them. It's their responsibility to make me aware of this or get me to sign it. Nobody would know about this. But anyway, no I don't care if they get caught due to not giving me one(which they won't, I can see eh sting operation now!), if they cared they'd ask you to sign it, if they even know about it, again their business to. Also, ye this changes nothing, I've never followed a law I didn't agree with. If they asked, I would sign for them. I'm good like that.

The use of a waiver only applies to pre-booked taxis; afaik, the ability to charge a fixed fare is not possible when picking up from a rank. However, you are allowed to negotiate a discount off a metered fare in such cases.

You do realise that these laws are there to protect the consumer, dont you? You might have a think about why. If you havent thought about why the laws are in place, it is hard to come to an informed and educated view as to whether you agree with it or not, before you decide that you cant be arsed complying with it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Wheels. Car must have wheels.

Also, doors.

Wheels. Car must have wheels.

Also, doors.

Wheels, yes. Doors however, are a luxury item.

'not possible' - why? Thanks for protecting me guys! If only I hadn't agreed to a million euro fixed fare they would't have to protect others. Is haggling in shops also illegal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

Taxi drivers provide a service, vastly overpriced that it is.

As a consumer, I have no problem choosing which service provider I want to use. I don't care if the cars are in rank, I will pick the car and driver I want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭delta720

eightyfish wrote: »
    But the jobs were in Ireland - ie Irish jobs. "Buy Irish - Support Irish jobs" etc has nothing to do with race.

And after seeing that sign I stopped doing my weekly shop in Slovenia...:rolleyes:
    Your point makes no sense!

delta720 wrote: »
    Your point makes no sense!

It makes perfect sense. I explained it more fully above (post 127). If you're going to say it makes no sense then at least put the effort in and explain why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,468 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

'not possible' - why? Thanks for protecting me guys! If only I hadn't agreed to a million euro fixed fare they would't have to protect others. Is haggling in shops also illegal?

Not possible 'under the law'; i thought that much was obvious. The introduction of metered fare only was a consumer protection mechanism to ensure that unfamiliar customers (usually tourists) were not offered excessive fixed fares. The metered system prevents this and protects them. It is a very sensible law. But if you dont understand it, and why it was brought in, how can you disagree with it? Unless you are doing so from a position of ignorance.

And of course, you are still entitled to haggle by negotiating a discount off the metered fare. If you understood the law, and the reasons for it, you would have known this. But you dont.

The introduction of metered fare only was a consumer protection mechanism to ensure that unfamiliar customers (usually tourists) were not offered excessive fixed fares. The metered system prevents this and protects them. It is a very sensible law.

It is a sensible law in that it protects tourists from being charged excessive fixed fares.

However, it is an ass of a law if it also legally prevents locals from haggling a better deal from a taxi driver on a rank - especially when people have less disposable income & taxi drivers need the money.

eightyfish wrote: »
    It makes perfect sense. I explained it more fully above (post 127). If you're going to say it makes no sense then at least put the effort in and explain why.

Your argument was that Supervalues 'supporting Irish jobs' while not employing any Irish was ok as the jobs were in Ireland. However where else could a supermarket have its jobs? Is it just a business running normally and looking for support for even being in Ireland?

Regarding the stickers, I used to hop in the first taxi at the rank, but around 30% of the time it would end up costing me around a fiver extra because of a foreign born driver not knowing the quickest way to my house and not even asking me the quickest way. While 70% of the time it was grand, it got to the stage where I don't want to be second guessing getting into a taxi am I'm going to get ripped off, not on purpose but by a driver not knowing the area (and it's a large area).
    Now I only get taxi's with the sticker of a local taxi company on it and without fail I've paid the same price every weekend give or take 50c.

Now if I'm in Dublin and I don't know any local taxi companies I'd probably on seeing an 'irish-taxi driver' sticker, get in that taxi.
    Am I racist? No! But when it comes to taking a chance getting into one taxi or, feeling 'this guy knows where he's going' getting into another taxi why wouldn't I take the more reliable option!?!

It is a sensible law in that it protects tourists from being charged excessive fixed fares.

However, it is an ass of a law if it also legally prevents locals from haggling a better deal from a taxi driver on a rank - especially when people have less disposable income & taxi drivers need the money.
    Check out the law, you are legally entitled to agree a price before you begin your journey. The taxi driver doesn't have to accept it in which case you can just get into the next taxi.
    I must really sound like I'm a taxi driver!