Retro Night/Swap-meet in Dublin

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭War Machine 539

Been to many after hours sessions in X-treme, NOTHING and I mean NOTHING ever goes missing! There is always great groups of lads in there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 jetblack1981

Hey everyone
    I'm still defo going to this.
    Fighting games anyone?
    Or bOmberman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭pdbhp

Hey everyone
    I'm still defo going to this.
    Fighting games anyone?
    Or bOmberman?
    Fighting games please especially Killer Instinct.... ULTRA COMBO!!!

a Winner is you

Any one bringing paperboy love to have a bash at that ?
    Also what about some sunset riders on snes has anyone got it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭feckhead

I think I have a copy of paperboy on the gamegear. I'll have to try and find it. If someone doesnt have sunset riders I'll try get it at least emulated.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 54,565 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

The SNES version of sunset riders is a poor port, arcade version is way better and 4-player.

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    The SNES version of sunset riders is a poor port, arcade version is way better and 4-player.

It's not a bad port could be better but beggars can't be choosers.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 54,565 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Well it's not like you have to fork out on an arcade machine when there's mame.

Ah good old MAME where would we be without it!

Ok got a copy of Paperboy on the Gameboy also gonna bring a Supergameboy so anyone with a SNES is my friend

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,881 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

This has gotten a plug over on SF.ie, there may be some fighting game heads showing up.

Unfortunately it is on the night of the biiggest tournament in england so alot of my guys will be abroad at that.

Ok here's some stuff I'll be bringing on Saturday.
    Gameboy Advance SP with link cable.
    MarioKart Super Circuit.
    Metal Slug Advance
    Metroid Fusion
    Final Fight
    Street Fighter 2 Super Turbo

Paperboy
    DoubleDragon 3
    Supermario Land (for speed runs)
    Bomberman
    Supergameboy..

Gonna Bring some PS2 games such as
    Capcom Fighting Jam
    Street Fighter 2 Hyper Anniversary edition (with manga SF movie on it)
    Colin Mcrea Rally 4
    Gran Turismo 4
    Moto GP 3
    GTA 3
    all PS2 and boxed etc if any one wants to trade
    and PS1
    WWf in your house
    Croc
    Grand Theft Auto
    + others all boxed etc.

Alright everyone.
    I bringing Taito legends 1 and 2
    Midway classic 1 and 2
    Sonic gems collection
    Im gonna bring streets of rage, super street fighter 2 and
    the arcade mega drive joystick.
    Do I need a mega drive?

Alright everyone.
    I bringing Taito legends 1 and 2
    Midway classic 1 and 2
    Sonic gems collection
    Im gonna bring streets of rage, super street fighter 2 and
    the arcade mega drive joystick.
    Do I need a mega drive?

streets of Rage rules.!!
    Bring the megadrive just incase there's not enough Sega goodness for us..
    Gonna battle you in SSF2!

No bother man.
    I only have one six-button stick,
    and its an arcade stick.
    Still, I'll bring it with some other games.

No bother man.
    I only have one six-button stick,
    and its an arcade stick.
    Still, I'll bring it with some other games.

I'm sure someone will have a megadrive control pad to use that'll do me

My mate Rob will be bringing a Megadrive. You need a control pad I'm sure he'll look after you :)

You's can't play Street Fighter 2 on a megadrive let alone a PAL megadrive, it's sacrilege!

Really is is total rubbish? I've never played it didn't have a MD when I was younger but looking formard to playing some wild games.

Well it's not total rubbish, it's as good as the megadrive could handle in fairness but it's terrible compared to the arcade version. It looks really drab, there's loads of frames of animation missing and the sound is pretty poor due to the megadrive soundchip. However the worst thing is that since it's a PAL game it feels like you are fighting in treacle since the game is so slow. You can turn the speed up but the timing is still off compared to the arcade version. The SNES version suffers from this as well but has better colours, music but less frames of animation. Best to play it on mame.

Jaysus nothin worse than when a good game is destroyed like that but that seems to be the way it seems difficult to get a good port on older systems, better to stick to console exclusive titles.

The consoles just weren't able for the ports back then. Best stick with mame and newer compilations of games. What annoys me more is stuff like the european Virtual Console and PSN shops putting up the PAL games that play a lot worse than the american ones.

Is this caused by the TV output we use? I heard somewhere years ago that this was the problem and I remember playing American SNES games and they looked crap on my telly all letterbox and black borders it took the look off the games big time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,678 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

PAL consoles (Europe and Australia mainly) = 50hz (they run 17.5% slower) and have letterbox format.

NTSC consoles (US & Japan) = 60hz (run full speed) no letterbox.

NTSC whenever you can. If you have PAL consoles, at least make sure you mod them to support 60hz!

Errr so no mega drive street fighter
    I have capcom collection
    that has arcade style streee fighter 2

Here,
    Im sure theres no problem with a six-pack of bud?
    Or 10-pack in my case.

No of course you cant *nudge nudge wink wink* (in other words yes)

Here,
    Im sure theres no problem with a six-pack of bud?
    Or 10-pack in my case.
    Get yourself down to Lidl and get some noblander 10 bottles for €4.50 and it's pretty drinkable.
    Regarding Street Fighter on the MD bring it anyways Jetblack it's a retro night so being frustrated and playing dodgy games is what its all about or as they say in Canada aboot!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭Scorchio MK7

Right a few of us are coming along, between us we are bringing a Megadrive/Mega CD
    SNES
    NES
    Dreamcast
    N64

With a bunch of games for all of them.

Hope your all up for some Powerstone 2. I know I am :D