Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Retro Night/Swap-meet in Dublin

• 22-07-2010 7:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭

I'm new to the retro boards, so hello everyone! I've only recently started to get into retro gaming in the past year when I found a shed load of game gear and PS1 titles in my attic. It's now becoming a bit of a hobby.

Anyway having read the boards, I realised that there arent too many Retro gaming nights or get-togethers in the Dublin area on a regular basis. So if any of you are interested I happen to work in a pretty big gaming centre in town and can organise a few. I think it would be a great way to get together to play and trade. Let me know what you think.

All the best.

Lee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭Jack burton

Ah I think you should have it down in Waterford :P

Sounds like a good idea though feckhead! I'd go up if I was able to at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭pdbhp

Good idea I'd defo be interested in that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,604 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

We've had four or five retro beers over the last while in Dublin. There's a thread about it. Two have been in apartments playing games. And they were great craic!

What's the story with this gaming centre? Is it one of those Xbox centres?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭martineatworld

Would well be up for this...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭feckhead

o1s1n wrote: »
    We've had four or five retro beers over the last while in Dublin. There's a thread about it. Two have been in apartments playing games. And they were great craic!

What's the story with this gaming centre? Is it one of those Xbox centres?

Yeah we're kind of an Internet Cafe/Gaming Centre. We have about 40 hi-def TVs upstairs with Xbox's and Playstations, but any console can be plugged into them. We normally close at 11 on Saturdays and Sundays so I can organise an after hours session upstairs

Lee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭Scorchio MK7

Is that the X-Treme Game center in Liffy Street?

I'm Part of IT Tallaghts gaming society we book 12 hours game nights there occasionally and we usually bring alot of Retro Consoles along with us.

We would love attend a Retro themed night or get together sometime if your willing to organise it. We have a ton of consoles and games we could bring.

Master of the Universe

feckhead wrote: »
    Yeah we're kind of an Internet Cafe/Gaming Centre. We have about 40 hi-def TVs upstairs with Xbox's and Playstations, but any console can be plugged into them. We normally close at 11 on Saturdays and Sundays so I can organise an after hours session upstairs

Lee

Excellent!

I guess the only problem though is that older games look absolutely rubbish on LCD televisions. Is there any chance of you getting some CRTs for an event like this? Or even some projectors?

Our Society could spare some CRT's I think. Anything on AV doesn't look to bad on the LCD's. Although if we were going to running something through RF we would really need a CRT.

Master of the Universe

Anything on AV doesn't look to bad on the LCD's. .

My RGB only society says otherwise! :P

They wouldn't even need to be big CRTs. I'd take RGB and a small portable over a giant LCD any day.

Anyway, sounds like it could be an interesting night. I'm in. Can bring some stuff too if needed.

Is that the X-Treme Game center in Liffy Street?

I'm Part of IT Tallaghts gaming society we book 12 hours game nights there occasionally and we usually bring alot of Retro Consoles along with us.

We would love attend a Retro themed night or get together sometime if your willing to organise it. We have a ton of consoles and games we could bring.

You got it in 1 good sir. I'll get something organised for the end of next month. It should be significantly less than what you normally pay for the night, I just need to finalise some stuff with the boss. But I'll give plenty of notice.

Unfortunately we only have LCD's here. I could probably source a projector, but it's not a guarantee. Folks would be more than welcome to bring anything they like with them. I'd be bringing my PS1 and Game Gear and my mates, who seem to have an unlimited supply of Gamecube consoles and games, would bring them too.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,679 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

So, we talking Steel Battalion again?
    On a big big screen?

Wonder if the media would be interested in covering such an auspicious event?

Henry McKeen from Newstalk?
    One of the tabloid game pages?

Cool keep us updated with any info about times and dates. I can post them up on our societies face book etc. Should have alot of people interested.

I personally can bring a Atari 7800, Dreamcast, Saturn, Megadrive, N64, SNES and a Retro Duo (SNES/NES). I got a ton of games for each. Some of my friends can bring a Mega CD, Neo Geo AES and other such fun Consoles :D

So just keep us updated on a price and date whenever you get the information.

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    So, we talking Steel Battalion again?
    On a big big screen?

Wonder if the media would be interested in covering such an auspicious event?

Henry McKeen from Newstalk?
    One of the tabloid game pages?

Trying to source a nice projector for the night. Steel Battalion on a giant screen would be sweet. I'm sure someone has one laying around somewhere :)

I'll give most of the gaming sites an invite, I happen own a fairly popular site myself so there will be a good bit of coverage/photos/video etc. But I'll do my best to get as many sites there as possible.

I'll get a date and price finalised by Monday, but I'm thinking maybe Saturday 21st or 28th of August?

How does Saturday 21st August sound? €8 PP from 10pm till whatever time you want... :) The IT Tallaght folks can confirm that the owner usually charges a LOT more.

We have a projector but I think the lamp needs to be replaced, so I'll have to test it during the week.

Can also arrange discounts at the local food establishments and the owners Chinese restaraunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭CathalDublin

sounds good, hopefully be in Dublin for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 jetblack1981

hey everyone,
    ill attend also and get some retro goodness.
    Anyone wanna play donkey konga with me?
    You know, the drum periperhal.
    Alsp anyone have samba di amigo
    for the legendary dreamcast.
    Speaking of which, anyone for Soul calibur 1???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭gflood

I don't post often but would love to go to this. Ill bring my Jaguar amongst other things. Can you confirm if it will go ahead nearer the 21st. thanks

How does Saturday 21st August sound? €8 PP from 10pm till whatever time you want... :) The IT Tallaght folks can confirm that the owner usually charges a LOT more.

We have a projector but I think the lamp needs to be replaced, so I'll have to test it during the week.

Can also arrange discounts at the local food establishments and the owners Chinese restaraunt.

August 21st sounds great, and yes it usually is quite a bit more than 8 euro so that price is very good :D. I will spread the word to the IT Tallaght lads and lassies and i'm sure I could get loads interested and get them to bring some stuff along with them. I will be bringing about half the PAL dreamcast library along with me so I pretty much have all the classics (Bar that damn expensive Samba Di Amigo :(). N64 and games should be coming along with me as well, I think anything multiplayer orientated, nostalgic or obscure is a must!

Ive yet to play steel battalion so make sure somebody bring that beast!

IT Tallaght gaming society will be having a game night on the 7th in xtreme so If your around then Lee we can talk about it a bit more.

Well the way I worked it with the boss is that I'm not getting paid for the night, so if he doesnt have to pay a staff member for the night it'll be considerably cheaper :)

I'll be in on the 7th, I'll probably even be looking after the place for the night so we'll chat then.

21st if definately the date so hope to see you all there.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,679 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Its not so expensive to own Samba, you can pick up the game itself cheaply, or use a backup, to keep the original you must have somewhere safe, and get a third party set of maracas, like mine!

Yep 21st is grand for me as im of
    and going out with the mates 20th.
    It be a nice way of introducing meself as
    I'm brand new to these boards.
    Retro intrests are fighting games, scrolling beat-em-ups
    and music games.

Its not so expensive to own Samba, you can pick up the game itself cheaply, or use a backup, to keep the original you must have somewhere safe, and get a third party set of maracas, like mine!

I Mean I own a Japanese Copy of the 2000 version, Ive looked into getting third party controllers though and your right they aren't to dear at all. I was gonna hold off and save for a PAL but I might invest in some 3rd party Maracas.

I'm sure there will be a Ton of Fighting and Side-Scrolling Beat em ups there. They were all the rage back in the day :)

I will be bringing beatmania for PS1, So much better than DJ hero!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,335 ✭✭✭KeRbDoG

I have an old projector which I haven't used in 3~ years - would only be of any use in a very dark room.
    If Ciderman wants a lend of it, just ask.
    Trying to source a nice projector for the night. Steel Battalion on a giant screen would be sweet. I'm sure someone has one laying around somewhere :)

I'll give most of the gaming sites an invite, I happen own a fairly popular site myself so there will be a good bit of coverage/photos/video etc. But I'll do my best to get as many sites there as possible.

I'll get a date and price finalised by Monday, but I'm thinking maybe Saturday 21st or 28th of August?

Sounds good, might try before hand, just to have a chance to stomp tanks in private!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Sounds like an interesting night. Is anyone bringing stuff to trade/sell etc? Or is it just a night of gaming?

No, not interested in selling/trading, the idea of someone I don't know walking out with some of my stuff "forgetting" to pay for it, I'd have to rip their kidneys out through their nostrils and that's always messy.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Lol that sounds painful and did you mean stealing your stuff?. Was just curious seeing as it was also mentioned as a swap meet.

Most meet ups here have been with people who have been posting to these threads for years, something like this is with lots I don't know, so I would have a slight worry in that regard. Sure we'll see how it goes.

Thats understandable, I'm always a bit cautious with my stuff as well around people I don't know.

I will be going for gaming more so than trading/selling. I don't really have many doubles of games so I wouldn't really have anything to trade bar the usual doubles of Sonic, Chu Chu Rocket and Mega Games which everybody already has anyway.

So I shall be all gaming for me.

No you dont have to trade but the option is there if you want. If it gives you any peace of mind you're ALWAYS on at least 4 cameras in the place and to be honest the only people that will be there are people from here(boards.ie), IT Tallaght who are regulars, and my friends who will be there to play some games with me.

The shop will also be closed at 11, so generally no scumbags/junkies/drunks will be anywhere near us.

If you are going to trade or sell, just make a list of what you have with you. I can then lock up any gear you have in our office and can accompany anyone who wishes to retrieve anything.

At the end of the day we're all just out to have a good night and nobody should have to worry about anything going missing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭War Machine 539

Been to many after hours sessions in X-treme, NOTHING and I mean NOTHING ever goes missing! There is always great groups of lads in there!

Hey everyone
    I'm still defo going to this.
    Fighting games anyone?
    Or bOmberman?

Hey everyone
    I'm still defo going to this.
    Fighting games anyone?
    Or bOmberman?
    Fighting games please especially Killer Instinct.... ULTRA COMBO!!!

a Winner is you

Any one bringing paperboy love to have a bash at that ?
    Also what about some sunset riders on snes has anyone got it?

I think I have a copy of paperboy on the gamegear. I'll have to try and find it. If someone doesnt have sunset riders I'll try get it at least emulated.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,407 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

The SNES version of sunset riders is a poor port, arcade version is way better and 4-player.

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    The SNES version of sunset riders is a poor port, arcade version is way better and 4-player.

It's not a bad port could be better but beggars can't be choosers.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,407 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Well it's not like you have to fork out on an arcade machine when there's mame.

Ah good old MAME where would we be without it!

Ok got a copy of Paperboy on the Gameboy also gonna bring a Supergameboy so anyone with a SNES is my friend

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

This has gotten a plug over on SF.ie, there may be some fighting game heads showing up.

Unfortunately it is on the night of the biiggest tournament in england so alot of my guys will be abroad at that.

Ok here's some stuff I'll be bringing on Saturday.
    Gameboy Advance SP with link cable.
    MarioKart Super Circuit.
    Metal Slug Advance
    Metroid Fusion
    Final Fight
    Street Fighter 2 Super Turbo

Paperboy
    DoubleDragon 3
    Supermario Land (for speed runs)
    Bomberman
    Supergameboy..

Gonna Bring some PS2 games such as
    Capcom Fighting Jam
    Street Fighter 2 Hyper Anniversary edition (with manga SF movie on it)
    Colin Mcrea Rally 4
    Gran Turismo 4
    Moto GP 3
    GTA 3
    all PS2 and boxed etc if any one wants to trade
    and PS1
    WWf in your house
    Croc
    Grand Theft Auto
    + others all boxed etc.

Alright everyone.
    I bringing Taito legends 1 and 2
    Midway classic 1 and 2
    Sonic gems collection
    Im gonna bring streets of rage, super street fighter 2 and
    the arcade mega drive joystick.
    Do I need a mega drive?

Alright everyone.
    I bringing Taito legends 1 and 2
    Midway classic 1 and 2
    Sonic gems collection
    Im gonna bring streets of rage, super street fighter 2 and
    the arcade mega drive joystick.
    Do I need a mega drive?

streets of Rage rules.!!
    Bring the megadrive just incase there's not enough Sega goodness for us..
    Gonna battle you in SSF2!

No bother man.
    I only have one six-button stick,
    and its an arcade stick.
    Still, I'll bring it with some other games.

No bother man.
    I only have one six-button stick,
    and its an arcade stick.
    Still, I'll bring it with some other games.

I'm sure someone will have a megadrive control pad to use that'll do me

My mate Rob will be bringing a Megadrive. You need a control pad I'm sure he'll look after you :)

You's can't play Street Fighter 2 on a megadrive let alone a PAL megadrive, it's sacrilege!

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    You's can't play Street Fighter 2 on a megadrive let alone a PAL megadrive, it's sacrilege!

Really is is total rubbish? I've never played it didn't have a MD when I was younger but looking formard to playing some wild games.