Know your nextdoor neighbours by first name?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭Lust4Life

Neighbour Dan watches my kid and Neighbour Chuck mows my lawn!
    I love my neighbourhood!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Nope - just to say hi to (apartment complex). They're very nice and have always assisted me with girlie car-related trouble. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Lust4Life wrote: »
    Neighbour Dan watches my kid and Neighbour Chuck mows my lawn!
    I love my neighbourhood!:p

If your second neighbours family name is Norris.

DO NOT:
    • Ride his wife
    • wake him when hes asleep
    • steal his drink
    • not laugh at his jokes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Scrambled egg

Know most of the people on my road by their first names and have regular dealings with them. Its nice , and its one reason I never want to live in one of those new housing estates. They lack any real soul and community spirit . Inner city FTW!!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭Cat Melodeon

I live in a village. I know everyone in it. I was born here, moved away for years and then came back again a few years ago. Sometimes when I drive through and I see all the same friendly faces waving at me as I pass by, I die a little inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭pawrick

cant remember my neighbours names but they know mine - been here one year. back home i knew everyone but i grew up there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,990 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

I know nearly my whole road by first name or the older folk by Mr. or Mrs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Einstein wrote: »
    You needed this...

http://wimp.com/wineshoe/

:P

No WAY!

Gotta try this! An excuse for us to have a winey night in tomorrow! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

i know most people along my end of the road. Its nice to have a few people to speak to.

Kinda awkward being secluded from your own neighbours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Yeah, I know both sides by name (and their kids) and would chat to them every few days. Few fools on the road that look the other way. Generally the ones with the most ostentatious cars.

No way near like where I grew up though where I knew the names of every family on the street.

It was all fields there once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭branners69

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

furiousox wrote: »
    Yeah, I know my neighbours by name for about 4 houses on either side of me.
    I actually leave my front door wide open when my kids are outside playing (not unlocked, wide open) I mentioned this at work and was met with disbelief all round.
    Is it that unusual these days?

not weird at all, i leave my door wide open if my little one is playing outside. sometimes i wanna pummel the other kids for wailin in at me though.

i know all the neighbours names around me bar about three houses.

a house two doors down was broken into two nights ago, 06 passat gone, so it has us all out yackin and making sure everyone is being extra safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

not weird at all, i leave my door wide open if my little one is playing outside. sometimes i wanna pummel the other kids for wailin in at me though.

i know all the neighbours names around me bar about three houses.

a house two doors down was broken into two nights ago, 06 passat gone, so it has us all out yackin and making sure everyone is being extra safe.

Suppose ye all call into each others houses now and a gain for a coffee.

snyper wrote: »

eh? eh? =P

no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

I have no idea of my next door neighbours names. Scum to the right and Hungarians to the left that I will say hello to when passing.

Dudess wrote: »

he's one twisted bastard alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I live in a village. I know everyone in it. I was born here, moved away for years and then came back again a few years ago. Sometimes when I drive through and I see all the same friendly faces waving at me as I pass by, I die a little inside.
    http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=self%20loathing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

I'm not big fans of either of my neighbours, "Rock" and "Hard Place" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Im a big culchie so Im on first name terms with everyone around me within a 5 mile radius.

furiousox wrote: »
    I actually leave my front door wide open when my kids are outside playing (not unlocked, wide open) I mentioned this at work and was met with disbelief all round.
    God, what's so unbelievable about it?! Makes sense if they're young - you can keep an eye on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

All my neighbours are ignorant ***** so I am glad I don't know them.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Just noticed, you're in athlone too..

Open your Window, im going outside to scream.. see if you can hear me..

brb

Yo Paulie!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Mine where I grew up were called Anne and Barry, when I was a little kid I used to think the books were about them when they were children.

Don't have a next door neighbour now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

I know the ones on our right fairly well coz they're a nice family.
    Dont want to know our neighbours on the left as they're an inconsiderate noisy bunch of knackers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

I know the neighbours in the left but the neighbours on the right are weirdos that seem to like to watch their telly at a very loud setting I dont want to know them nobody really else does on the street either
    Anyone that has tried to say hello to them they look through them and ignore them noisy cnuts they are and weird :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭Raedwald

House is vacant to the right and would say hello to the ones on the left.

My road is mainly made up of old families so the women tend to gossip about anything and everything that goes on in the neighbours lives.

TBH i have no interest in knowing who lives on my road or what their names are. I'll stick to my life and they can stick to theirs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭monkeypants

Yeah, I know the immediate neighbours on all sides. They'll take in my bins and stuff like that when I'm not around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Agricola wrote: »
    Im a big culchie so Im on first name terms with everyone around me within a 5 mile radius.

It's known as a small genetic pool.

There's Bud, Dos XX, Anchor Steam, and they call me Guinness.