where's all this talk of College been a non stop party

• 11-08-2010 12:39AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭arsenallegend

I'm going back in september to college after a few years after my last degree, i lost my job so instead of sitting on my backside i taught i do something productive instead.

Anyway there's something that always bothered me about the Social side to college life which is that there's this myth that seems to be passed down that College is full of parties, lots of casual sex and other fun stuff which when i was a 18 year old lad hearing this was like a dream come true. To my disappintment its never came true which was sort of a letdown after all the talk my brothers and mates talking it up that it a non stop party.

I just want to know is it a load of B.s or Did anyone had the total opposite time to me that it was full of parties and other stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

you must've been one of them losers. i'm heading into my third year of full-time debauchery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I'm sure that there are people who go to college and party the whole time and have casual sex.
    I can't imagine these are the people who do well in college though.
    Certainly anyone I know who goes out drinking the whole time and doesn't show up for classes does fairly terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

I had great craic throughout all three years. It's no myth, college is full of sex, drugs and rock n roll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Its a great Rollercoaster of a party! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭arsenallegend

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    I'm sure that there are people who go to college and party the whole time and have casual sex.
    I can't imagine these are the people who do well in college though.
    Certainly anyone I know who goes out drinking the whole time and doesn't show up for classes does fairly terrible.

Your right Hank i wasn't looking for it to turn into somethign like Withnail and I but at least a bit of fun.

I wasn't expecting a party every night but like on a friday night after a tough week in college to head for a few drinks. I felt like a Ass trying to get them to come out for a drink at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

It was somewhat true in 1st year, Rag week mainly but you get sick of parties, nightclubs in no time. Waking up and missing college after partying all night makes you feel sick (and thats not from the alcohol). Going out regularly to drink in college was a complete waste of time and money for me in first year. Not gonna happen this year. I don't want to end up like one of those wasters that graduate college with the bear minimum and a sh*t degree to show for it.

Your right Hank i wasn't looking for it to turn into somethign like Withnail and I but at least a bit of fun.

I wasn't expecting a party every night but like on a friday night after a tough week in college to head for a few drinks. I felt like a Ass trying to get them to come out for a drink at least.

Never had that problem.
    Suppose it all depends on where you go to college really.
    If you go to college in Dublin, people are less likely to go out as much as things are far more expensive.
    Go to college in a town down the country, money isn't as much of an issue (rent is cheaper, drink is cheaper) so people are freer to get pissed more.

Did you go to college in Dublin?

bluto63 wrote: »
    I had great craic throughout all three years. It's no myth, college is full of sex, drugs and rock n roll

sadly i didn't sample some of those delights although i did do a lot of rock n roll:D

i 'm just worried i'm in my late 20's now and i don't want to look like the older guy in glass trying to relive his missed spent youth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

If you go to college in Dublin, people are less likely to go out as much as things are far more expensive.

In fairness, that's complete b*llox.

Never had that problem.
    Suppose it all depends on where you go to college really.
    Go to college in a town down the country, money isn't as much of an issue (rent is cheaper, drink is cheaper) so people are freer to get pissed more.

Did you go to college in Dublin?

yep i did and that was one of the things running through my mind a vast majority of the students lived in Dublin, so its not like they were far from their Friends and home . I suppose down the country you will have people from other parts of the country who can't get home at weekends and you have to make mates to have a good time.

Not really, as the majority of people going to college are from Dublin.
    Therefore they would have groups of friends from home and then groups of friends from college in Dublin.
    So it would be harder to pull money together for partying with both groups.

Plus in towns down the country, college accommodation is more clustered, so it is easier for college friends to get together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Ah Belfield Bar.

Who could forget it. There used to be some legal loophole back in the 70's that stopped the cops from coming in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

Don't mean to sound like a douche but you make your own fun dude. College does require work, for some more than others, but on the whole I would say it is a time to enjoy yourself.

As my local pervert says: "There's always places to go and people to feel! G'is some spare change?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

College is nothing like ye see in the films.. if it were it would explain why Americans are fairly stupid!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I'd imagine it's best if you're living away from home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭The Agogo

To be honest I always had more fun just doing the extra-curricular stuff. This business of going out to a nightclub, spending over €100 a night, and having "fun" in a loud sweaty ****box got tiresome really fast.

I really can't believe that this way is considered fun for the majority of students. I'll never get my head around it...different folks, different strokes.

There was plenty of sex though thank god.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

No it isn't. I paid €65 a week rent but my mates in Dublin paid €110.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

i get what the op is saying in that the image of college, portrayed by such films like american pie, that no matter where the party or what kind of a lad you are there will be a smoking hot woman sitting on a table rubbing another smoking hot womans gee and just waiting to have a threesome with ya.

nonsense, i only ever experienced that twice

SugarHigh wrote: »
    No it isn't. I paid €65 a week rent but my mates in Dublin paid €110.

My mate pays €50 a week.

I was paying €75, hoping to get something cheaper this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,537 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

college was great and yes if you want it can be a whirlwind of partying. a few of the lads in my class used to go out every night getting drunk/high, one guy kept a massive journal of his conquests and he still passed his degree

i do agree about the smaller the town the crazier the party, when i moved to galway for my postgrad it seemed a little more relaxed but still great craic there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

I went to University in England so I was away from home living in Halls of residence at the age of 19 surrounded by other 18 and 19 year olds who where also living away from home for the first time.

There was a lot of drinking and partying and all that goes along with it and it was a really fun time in my life. I think a lot of people miss out on the full experience of going to university by living at home. I was lucky enough to qualify for a grant and also worked part time to pay my way through.

I was studying architecture so it was no easy ride workload wise but we still partied all the time. I think the fact I joined one of the sports teams for the University helped with the amount of parties and fun I had as well. In second and third year I had moved in with friends and things got a lot quieter but there were still always parties to go to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,924 ✭✭✭✭RolandIRL

Parsley wrote: »
    you must've been one of them losers. i'm heading into my third year of full-time debauchery.
    must be an arts degree then :pac:

The University of Spoiled Children is not a party school!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Feu

sadly i didn't sample some of those delights although i did do a lot of rock n roll:D

i 'm just worried i'm in my late 20's now and i don't want to look like the older guy in glass trying to relive his missed spent youth.

well, late 20s is still a young maturie, so you can go out with the kids, and not look like too much of a perv :D Up to you how much you go out. Coppers 4 nights on the trot gets a little old tho
    whiteman19 wrote: »
    must be an arts degree then :pac:
    my first time around was and it was very very crazy! Now i'm doing a science, and i've like 35 hours a week of classes or placement, so there is little to no partying mid week. Just the weekends. Few times been out with the kids mid-week, but you don't want to be feeling ropey in anatomy or it gets messy!

rossie1977 wrote: »
    college was great and yes if you want it can be a whirlwind of partying. a few of the lads in my class used to go out every night getting drunk/high, one guy kept a massive journal of his conquests and he still passed his degree

i do agree about the smaller the town the crazier the party, when i moved to galway for my postgrad it seemed a little more relaxed but still great craic there

i really can't afford the going down to the country to study right now the funds are low. I really wanted too when i was younger but i was a bit scared off cause i'm a mummy's boy who as the youngest was a bit spoiled by having everything done for him so having to cook and clean for myself wasn't something i looked forward too plus going somewhere you don't know people for some its great for others like me it scared me a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭cc87

Ive had 2 years of college living at home and 2 years of college living away from home.
    College at home will never live up to college away.

The amount of completely random stuff, with or without alcohol, you get up to cos you have nothing else to do is ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

I never really partied that crazily in college, which in retrospect I regret.

In my case its not so much its bug me my whole life(i have party hard with friends and family so i haven't missed out) but its more partying with people you have something in common with and wanting to see if you can build friendships from it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,371 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

People need to realise that having fun in college requires, at first at least, that you put just as much effort into making friends as you would into studying. In the first term, your social life should take precedence. You've the rest of the year to catch up on stuff you missed.

Join a society which meets up at least once a week. This means a party at least once a week. Then, you'll get to know people from said society, which means people with which to party on other days of the week. Then, get to know people in your class. Yet more people to go out with. Aaaand voila, more parties and booze than you can shake a rusty stick at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

The Agogo wrote: »
    To be honest I always had more fun just doing the extra-curricular stuff. This business of going out to a nightclub, spending over €100 a night, and having "fun" in a loud sweaty ****box got tiresome really fast.

I really can't believe that this way is considered fun for the majority of students. I'll never get my head around it...different folks, different strokes.

There was plenty of sex though thank god.

What student has €100 to spend on a night out? I'd be lucky to have anything near that for the week.