Ivor Callely (take III)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,911 ✭✭✭donkey balls

this mcgill summer camp of what importance was it to have the minister of transport at it was there not other people from FF at the conference.
    does he not know how to get his diary in order so you have two engagements.
    1, attend some bulls**t conference in donegal
    2, attend a meeting in London that could create employment in Ireland

c,mon lads it's a no brainer on which one takes precedence:rolleyes:thats if your not a FF member/minister.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,662 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Why did he attend the Summer School. If it was nothing to do with government business, why didn't he attend in a personal capacity. Throwing money away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,466 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

He was probably invited.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,717 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

The latest from Callely... from tonight at 20:40
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0807/callellyi.html
    Callely issues statement on expenses

Senator Ivor Callely has broken his silence on the controversy surrounding his expenses. It is alleged that Mr Callely claimed expenses using mobile phone receipts from a company that had ceased trading.

In a statement this evening, the Senator that he submitted to the Houses of the Oireachtas in November 2007, the four receipts to cover the period of January 2002 to July 2006, totalling €1,907.64.

Mr Callely said he did not know how these receipts were issued by a company that had ceased trading and had no reason at the time to believe that they were not in order. He said he received the receipts in good faith and submitted them in good faith for vouching purposes in the belief that they were correct.

The statement said Mr Callely had 'refunded all monies to the Leinster House authorities in respect of the said invoices concerning the amount paid on mobile phone expenses (Total €2,879.45 ).' Earlier this week the senator was suspended from membership Fianna Fáil, pending an internal inquiry into allegations. Green Party TD Paul Gogarty lodged an official complaint with the gardaí about the expense claims.

The Senator's statement indicates that recent media coverage has caused his family considerable distress, and while he regrets the difficulties his expense claims have caused, he has contacted his legal advisors, to assist the investigation and vindicate his position.

I dont think it's good enough that he has refunded all monies just cos he got caught... He sent in a load of fake invoices, so that he could make a few quid by claiming the money back as expenses. This is fraud, and he should leave his position immediately. The fact that he cant be fired is just ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,233 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Oh no, this won't do at all at all. Email sent to my FF TD to make sure he knows I want to see nothing less than Calleley removed from public office and a Garda investigation into his entire affairs conducted. I suggest everyone does the same so they KNOW that we won't accept a mere apology and repaying of this stolen money.

He's a slimy, disgusting creature who is clearly ONLY out for what he strip the public purse for his own gains for. He's a parasite who must be removed and face justice for his actions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭MrDarcy

The guy is an absolute and utter joke, his brass neck should be patented as the hardest material on earth. He is trying to make absolute f*cking idiot out of every single citizen of this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

Media attention has caused his family distress??? I would think the fact that he's a thieving toe rag is what's causing his family distress.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

Callely is pretty stupid if he thinks that over 400,000 unemployed are going to let a thief away with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭Agent J

Oh really asshole?

Just pay back the money and never mind the forged documents to defraud the state?

Fraud squad sent in now.

Every single expense ever submitted by Callely should be examined.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,450 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

He issues the statement on a Saturday when the media rebuttal will be a minimum and claims total ignorance and thinks the public will swallow it, I'm aghast. It's not even a new low, it's the same old spiel and I'm as sick of it as I ever was, it'll not be let slide. I'm fuming yet again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

to be honest i'll not be happy until this wanker gets hung out to dry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 932 ✭✭✭paddyland

One thing that annoys the hell out of me, is the Fianna Fáil damage-limitation machine spluttering into action, trying to twist it to look like Callely is somehow disgracing the honour of politics, and the honour of the Fianna Fáil party. It is Fianna Fáil as a whole who are disgracing politics, and Fianna Fáil have no honour to be disgraced. Callely is just one small symptom of a party that has blackened and rotted through generations of self indulgence. Unfortunately for him, he is a pupil of the Bertie machine that never had the gumption to even pretend to keep it under a threshold that might slip under the radar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭Agent J

Very quick to pay back the 3k

Not so quick to pay back the 90k for the cork address...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

paddyland wrote: »
    One thing that annoys the hell out of me, is the Fianna Fáil damage-limitation machine spluttering into action, trying to twist it to look like Callely is somehow disgracing the honour of politics,

That's my biggest gripe with this aswell ,somehow we'll agree with fianna fail in there punishment of him.

It wasn't fianna fail who brought this to fruitition ,it was a newspaper. If it had been another source of media involved ,I wonder if this thread or the news of it would exist.

bmaxi wrote: »
    Media attention has caused his family distress??? I would think the fact that he's a thieving toe rag is what's causing his family distress.

This is exactly what people like him do time and time and time again... As usual, making out that he is the victim. Same gig when he got his house painted for free, claimed he was victimised because he forgot to go and ask for the bill. Claimed he was a victim again a few weeks ago when he was caught out on a 80K expenses scam. Same deal again caught submitting forged invoices, what does he do??? You got it, "it's someone else's fault and guess what I'm the victim in all of this and my family is too"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,751 ✭✭✭flutered

what about his cohorts, ahem can we say the fiddlers ? 3, no mention of all this on rte news for the last two days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭Dubstar07

bamboozle wrote: »
    as a dublin north central constituent myself it really is a FF strong hold, Sean Haughey continues to get re-elected on his father's name(i've emailed Sean several times over the last 18 months still awaiting a reply) Ivor got 7k votes although he topped the polls previously with over 20k votes, not sure how maybe lots of people around were won over by his family-photo christmas cards we were subjected to on an annual basis.

BTW, Sean Haughey to my knowledge, has never even lived in Dublin North Central.

I was onto my local TD Mr. Haughey too via email about something prior to Xmas. It was to do with an education issue I had (and still have). Him being 'Minister for life long learning', I thought (ha!) he could give the issue some push.

Well, the issue was passed from dept. to dept. but Sean's greatest concern was where I actually lived, so they could confirm I was actually a constituent!! Seeing it was a modern day form of correspondence I didn't feel the need to give my postal address. I think he's due another mail re our dearest Ivor!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭barney4001

i just wonder how many ivor callely types are in the government im quite sure
    he is not the only one putting in for payments that are also ludicrous to say the
    least
    Best thing is to get the seanad done away with, the people can do it with national strikes to get rid of this parcel of freeloaders

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭PopUp

Callely has issued a statement:
    Senator Ivor Callely has broken his silence on the controversy surrounding his expenses.
    It is alleged that Mr Callely claimed expenses using mobile phone receipts from a company that had ceased trading.
    In a statement this evening, the Senator that he submitted to the Houses of the Oireachtas in November 2007, the four receipts to cover the period of January 2002 to July 2006, totalling €1,907.64.
    Mr Callely said he did not know how these receipts were issued by a company that had ceased trading and had no reason at the time to believe that they were not in order.
    He said he received the receipts in good faith and submitted them in good faith for vouching purposes in the belief that they were correct.
    The statement said Mr Callely had 'refunded all monies to the Leinster House authorities in respect of the said invoices concerning the amount paid on mobile phone expenses (Total €2,879.45 ).'
    Earlier this week the senator was suspended from membership Fianna Fáil, pending an internal inquiry into allegations.
    Green Party TD Paul Gogarty lodged an official complaint with the gardaí about the expense claims.

The Senator's statement indicates that recent media coverage has caused his family considerable distress, and while he regrets the difficulties his expense claims have caused, he has contacted his legal advisors, to assist the investigation and vindicate his position.

If he received receipts in good faith, he would not be refunding money. He seems to be trying to imply he did business with these guys without checking their company was still operational, and then they sent him receipts using a company name that had gone out of business some five years previously. But if he received actual goods - and paid them for them - why would he refund the money? Surely all he has to do is have a look at his personal bank statements, find where he made legitimate payments, and show them to the press.

And what the hell is up with releasing a statement at 10pm on Saturday night? Is he hoping to avoid the Sunday papers printing deadlines? Weak, Ivor, weak. It's August. This story's not going anywhere.

Callely is starting to remind of of Basil Fawlty when his wife caught him betting money on a horse called DragonFly...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

PopUp wrote: »
    He seems to be trying to imply he did business with these guys without checking their company was still operational, and then they sent him receipts using a company name that had gone out of business some five years previously.

How do you do business with a company that's - well - not in business ? :confused:

Well, aside from FF's beloved Anglo Irish Bank, that is.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

God almighty we'd look like a right laughing stock if international eyes had any interest in this.

Due process, parallel investigations, committees on members interests, held in private, clarify position, vindicate, ..arghhhh my head is about to explode if somebody does not call a spade a spade with this thief, crook, fraudster.

If Ivor isnt force-ably ejected from the Seanad it my just be the straw that broke the camels back in that I might actually get out there and egg his house or something.......SOMETHING!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭dixiefly

If this was any "normal" organisation or business thre would be a full review of ALL expenses from the person in question and also possibly an overall review.

I havent heard of any such review, would it be the case that the often used excuse of the possibile use of legal action will once again be an excuse for not fully investigating this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,001 ✭✭✭✭thebman

God almighty we'd look like a right laughing stock if international eyes had any interest in this.

Due process, parallel investigations, committees on members interests, held in private, clarify position, vindicate, ..arghhhh my head is about to explode if somebody does not call a spade a spade with this thief, crook, fraudster.

If Ivor isnt force-ably ejected from the Seanad it my just be the straw that broke the camels back in that I might actually get out there and egg his house or something.......SOMETHING!

Which house though?

Better call him and ask which he lives in but which phone to call?

This man is a walking joke and can't be let off with this nonsense.

thebman wrote: »
    This man is a walking joke and can't be let off with this nonsense.

Nonsense is the good word, and added to that barrel of nonsense is the fact the Members Committee is meeting in 'private'.

You'd think that, at every turn from here on those at the helm would be trying to reinstall trust in us, joe public.

Not at all, it's one big lads club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭gizmo555

From today's Sunday Independent:

"I received the receipts in good faith for vouching purposes, in the belief that they were correct. I had no reason to believe that the said receipts were not in order," Mr Callely told the Sunday Independent yesterday.

He was also adamant that the invoices were "original" and he brought his wife Jennifer to Leinster House with him on Friday to verify this.
    "I am not hiding from anything," he said.

But when he was questioned by one associate about who actually supplied him with the invoices, the senator said "nobody is going to own up to that".

So, Ivor says not only that he didn't know the receipts were forged, but that he doesn't know where he got them from . . . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Not only corrupt, but inept at it.

gizmo555 wrote: »
    So, Ivor says not only that he didn't know the receipts were forged, but that he doesn't know where he got them from . . . .

Isnt his signature on them all?

You really pray that these elementary questions are being asked by the Guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭bette

Nodin wrote: »
    Not only corrupt, but inept at it.
    Inept implies a certain degree of competence, albeit low but this guy is plain stupid and arrogant!

On par with the rest of the FF party and their hacks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

From what I can gather there is no mechanism to eject him from the Senate except he goes by his own volition The only way is by a "rolling suspension".
    This, in itself, is a joke. A political appointee, in an unelected assembly purporting to represent the people of the country and we can't get rid of him. This is not democracy as it is preached and is just another example of the farce the Senate is.
    Not hard to see why Ahern appointed him in both his Oireachtas incarnations,
    as Mc Arthur said " Better inside the tent pi**ing out"