Most unappreciated public service workers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,849 ✭✭✭Valmont

Nurses? Even though we have twice as many per capita of them than France? When they start working like nurses in countries that have less nurses and better healthcare systems then maybe I'll appreciate them more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

ixoy wrote: »
    I imagine it'd be tough working in social services when dealing with kids from broken homes

I know somebody that does and it's heartbreaking apparently.
    Seriously?

Badly phrased perhaps. I meant street-cleaners, bin-men and the like. Obviously you get these workers in private companies too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I imagine it'd be tough working in social services when dealing with kids from broken homes or in abusive situations. Having to deal with the dregs of humanity can't be fun (dunno how well paid they are).

Knew a woman who left it. It was just too emotionally wrecking for her. Couldn't switch of from it at night.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

I imagine it'd be tough working in social services when dealing with kids from broken homes or in abusive situations. Having to deal with the dregs of humanity can't be fun (dunno how well paid they are).

I'm not social services, but I do work in the addiction services, your dealing with lots of historical abuse; as well as children currently at risk. In a lot of cases you are dealing with a large amount of very damaged individual's, then you got the aggressive ones as well.

I don't know about unappreciated, but I find most people cannot get their head around drug treatment in Ireland. It an area when most people become amrchair psychotherapists, believing the have the answer. I enjoy it though, it has to be one of the more complex areas a psychotherapist can work in; as there is so much more to it than just the drug use.

Prison Officers what a ****ty job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Probation officers.

Absolutely essential but so unappreciated most people dont even know what they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

WindSock wrote: »
    It's the probably the street cleaners who go unnoticed and receive little thanks. Imagine the complete shite they have to deal with and see everyday. Puke, syringes, piss, shit, scumbags, homeless etc.

e.g http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055986611

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,444 ✭✭✭Absurdum

You might even say they have a lot of rubbish to put up with :P

Boom boom.......I'll get me coat.....

You're talking garbage :rolleyes:

Prison Officers get my vote!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I wish i went into the public service instead of self emoloyment.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

The Irish Secret Service. So under-appreciated, no-one even knows who they are!

poolboy wrote: »
    Prison Officers what a ****ty job

Are they underappreciated though ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

RoverJames wrote: »
    Are they underappreciated though ?

Im sure the prisoners dont care too much for them

Fuhrer wrote: »
    Im sure the prisoners dont care too much for them

Are you sure or just talking through your arse ? Have you ever been in jail ? Has anyone you know ? Do you know a prison officer ?

If answer is No to all of the three questions above than you are talking through your arse. Many folks in jail are very glad that there are prison officers, think about it ;)

RoverJames wrote: »
    Are you sure or just talking through your arse ? Have you ever been in jail ? Has anyone you know ? Do you know a prison officer ?

If answer is No to all of the three questions above than you are talking through your arse. Many folks in jail are very glad that there are prison officers, think about it ;)

Have you ever seen the rain?

Do you know Tyler Durden?

What is the meaning of life?

If the answer is no to all these questions is no that you are talking out of your arse.

Many more folks in jail are unhappy there are prison officers, think about that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,717 ✭✭✭✭Godge

Have read through this post. The regular categories appear - nurses, teachers, guards, binmen, janitors, special needs assistants, prison officers, social services, psychiatric nurses, firefighters - have I missed anyone?

They all share one common feature - they are very overpaid by European standards. Is that underappreciated??

Actually, must look back at the thread again. Given that so many different ones were mentioned, anyone left out must fall into the category of underappreciated!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

The Irish Secret Service. So under-appreciated, no-one even knows who they are!
    Ah everyone knows Biggins is a member in fairness...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

genericguy wrote: »

nurses? they change bedpans, and go on strike every time they want some time off. "we want more money" strike. "thanks for the money. give us less hours for the money" strike. "give us even more money and even less hours" strike. fcuk 'em.

haha such a stereotypical hyperbolical shambles of an opinion. Funny to see you feel and act that way to a nurse who is looking after a sick relative or loved one or heavens forbid, yourself! Count yourself lucky your significant other isnt one of these 'overpaid moan bags' you seem to lack any respect for.

yea can only imagine having the mental energy to deal with tough situations in a personal and emotional conttext day in day out. Ive a friend of a friend who worked in the social servies sector counselling kids from the age of 14-17 and he found it very tough but also its very rewarding and you feel appreciated just because you know its something good in life to be helping others, even if nobody ever tells you it, much akin to nurses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭mawk

the bar staff in the dail bar. imagine the pain of hearing that shower of wastrels talk when theyre drunk.. the sober talk out of them is painful enough.

poor suffering, under appreciated, pint pulling bastids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭#15

Godge wrote: »
    Have read through this post. The regular categories appear - nurses, teachers, guards, binmen, janitors, special needs assistants, prison officers, social services, psychiatric nurses, firefighters - have I missed anyone?

They all share one common feature - they are very overpaid by European standards

Not true in every case.
    Don't let facts get in the way though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭#15

teachers? my arse - they work a shorter day than everyone else, week off every six-eight weeks, great salary and huge holidays in a job that's safe as houses and really very easy to do.

nurses? they change bedpans, and go on strike every time they want some time off. "we want more money" strike. "thanks for the money. give us less hours for the money" strike. "give us even more money and even less hours" strike. fcuk 'em.

A fine example of a fact-free post.

#15 wrote: »
    A fine example of a fact-free post.

Yours?

Yeah, I suppose it is.

Teaching and nursing easy? What a load of tripe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭portumna

The most under appreciated has to be a traffic warden. Sh!te pay and even worse working conditions but if they weren't there you'd all be complaining that you have no where to park even though people abuse them worse than referees!

After that i'd put retained firefighters. Having to work at the drop of a hat, being penalised with the pension levy as thay are public sector even though they don't receive a pension, not being able to live a normal life as they are always on duty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭PKen

In answer to all the "Unappreciated" public sector workers. Ye all got Benchmarking. What a joke that was. Imagine in the private sector: your boss telling you, "I'm giving you a huge payrise and if you feel like it, give us a bit more productivity". Stange, isn't it? You're supposed to do the extra up front and then get the payrise! What an upside down way of doing things.
    Also, there's the (criminal) "Croke Park Deal". In effect, the public sector are immune from the reccession untill 2014. No job cuts, no pay cuts and of course, no increase in productivity. A perfect example was the recent Passport Office disgrace. The "Backlog" caused was deliberately and systematicaly created by a Go Slow.
    Sorry, if my heart doesn't bleed for the "Unappreciated".

What about the job itself? Does job toughness go out the window when there are perks?
    As for teachers getting holidays and working short days - that's for the pupils not the teachers, unless it would be a good idea for kids to be in class from 9-5 and all year round bar standard workplace holidays.

portumna wrote: »
    The most under appreciated has to be a traffic warden. Sh!te pay and even worse working conditions but if they weren't there you'd all be complaining that you have no where to park even though people abuse them worse than referees!

But there still isnt anywhere to park!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭bryaner

Saab Ed wrote: »
    You know if any of these nurses / emergency services workers / guards / teachers etc etc feel unappreciated , they could always quit and get another job ;)

And then you could be a nurse tomorrow.

Must be great to be so qualified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭Dr. No

PKen wrote: »
    In answer to all the "Unappreciated" public sector workers. Ye all got Benchmarking. What a joke that was. Imagine in the private sector: your boss telling you, "I'm giving you a huge payrise and if you feel like it, give us a bit more productivity". Stange, isn't it? You're supposed to do the extra up front and then get the payrise! What an upside down way of doing things.
    Also, there's the (criminal) "Croke Park Deal". In effect, the public sector are immune from the reccession untill 2014. No job cuts, no pay cuts and of course, no increase in productivity. A perfect example was the recent Passport Office disgrace. The "Backlog" caused was deliberately and systematicaly created by a Go Slow.
    I used to work in the public service in Ireland but my job was cut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭bryaner

teachers? my arse - they work a shorter day than everyone else, week off every six-eight weeks, great salary and huge holidays in a job that's safe as houses and really very easy to do.

the fire service do a great job, as do the gardaí, although the performance of the gardaí is hindered by the courts, which the majority of people in this country don't seem to understand.

so yeah, gardaí and firemen.

Why did you not study to be a teacher or a nurse so?

I'm interested seeing as you think it's so easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

PKen wrote: »

We are not talking about wages are we? Benchmarking was supposed to bring me in line with people in the same position as in the private sector. I still could earn more in the private sector if I wanted to. Since the cut backs I have done small amounts of private work.

Why because I'm a qualified skilled employee, the service I provide for the State is sought after in the private sector, where the pay is better. I pass the entry qualification by my position by a few levels, and I'm still working on that mostly for my State clients.

I post that most people don't under the various aspect of my job, losing clients to OD's, HIV related infections. Unappreciated does not equate to one's salary.

It seems to me that posts like this come from people who are just jealous at what the perceived to be so called perks. We provide a service to the citizen of Ireland, we pay tax on our wages, in certain cases we do jobs that other people do not have the ability to do, this often does not equate to academic qualification, in my case lots of people leave my service as the are not able to deal with the impact of dealing with various psychological/emotional cases.

As /I said most people become armchair psychologists and yeah they delude themselves in think the have the answers. The only criminal thing about the croke park agreement was the level of misunderstanding and misinformation about it.

As I said I still can earn more in the private sector and may take up full time work there is there are further cuts, I would rather not, if was just about the money I would have been gone a long time ago.

If you ever find yourself in need of my service or a family member does, you will expect a top quailty service, pay peamuts and you will get monkey's.