Ivor Callely (take III)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭oceanclub

According to someone listening to the Joe Duffy Show, he defended Callely saying "Hasn't the man been through enough?". Did anyone else hear this? I'd like to get someone to confirm it....

P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,717 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

oceanclub wrote: »
    According to someone listening to the Joe Duffy Show, he defended Callely saying "Hasn't the man been through enough?". Did anyone else hear this? I'd like to get someone to confirm it....

Yeah, he said it.. absolutely ridiculously comment from Joe..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,802 ✭✭✭edanto

There's very little to debate about this one. It's pretty blatantly fraud, and the longer it goes on, the more embarrassing it is for Cowen. I don't expect we'll hear anything forceful from Cowen, to date he hasn't been the kind of leader I'd respect and I don't see why this latest scandal would change that.

For those that are interested in seeing the original documents that Callely signed, declaring that "I hereby certify that the expenses claimed have been actually and necessarily incurred by me in relation to my membership of Dail Eireann", as well as the receipts he provided to back up those claims, and the high court document stating that the same company had been wound up several years previously...

click over to our friends at thestory.ie

http://thestory.ie/2010/08/02/callely-phone-claims-original-documents/

It makes me rage that this smug, arrogant, thief can think he can get away with this. He has to be done for fraud, and all of his other claims have to be examined in detail. The government have to act....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭oceanclub

If you want to tell him how you feel (and believe me, I did):

Call 1850 715 815 and from Northern Ireland 08457 853 333
    E-mail joe@rte.ie T
    text 51551

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,233 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Oh man, looking at the signed claims and fake receipts is really making my blood boil. Sent another, less diplomatic, letter to my FF TD and requested an explanation from him, and what his feelings about the matter are.

FF need to feel the pressure of a million letter and emails. Politicians of all shades need to know that we will start voting for "nutters" if they have principles.

oceanclub wrote: »
    If you want to tell him how you feel (and believe me, I did):

Call 1850 715 815 and from Northern Ireland 08457 853 333
    E-mail joe@rte.ie T
    text 51551
    Sent an email as well. Disgraceful to even think of excusing fraud and theft (on a grand scale). The man was rejected by his Dublin constituents and should never have even been in a position to steal from them like this. Bertie Ahern, hang your head in shame (again!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Send in the fraud squad.

What I'd like to see happen is: any politican found guilty of defrauding the state charged with treason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

dan_d wrote: »
    Interesting idea. Workable too, I would imagine.

Here in the real world, maybe.

But given some of the stuff that our current government view as acceptable (and even vote confidence in) there would be some job getting them to agree to the definition of "disrepute".

Most people would agree that Ahern, O'Dea, Sargent & O'Donoghue did this, but their Government still votes confidence in them.

FFS, Callely even disputes the meaning of the phrase "place of residence", and not ONE of his peers said "Callely, shut the f*** up!".

So defining "disrepute" would be a minefield until after we get an ethical Dáil in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭gazzer

How come the opposition parties are being so quiet on this one?

gazzer wrote: »
    Same reason they kept quiet about O'Donoghue until it became apparent the public were really quite annoyed...they're likely all at it to a greater or lesser extent, so they don't want the whole racket blown open to scrutiny.

I mean, FFS...they are "entitled" to €250 every 18 months to insure and maintain a feckin phone! Why are they allowed spend so much on phones? A decent phone costs €50, no more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭Sulmac

Possibly because some of their own aren't all too innocent either!

That said, they're beginning to talk today:
    FG urge Garda inquiry into Callely

IRISH TIMES REPORTERS

Tue, Aug 03, 2010

The matter of Senator Ivor Callely’s expenses should be investigated by the Garda Commissioner, Fine Gael said today.

The party’s Seanad spokesman on Justice, Senator Eugene Regan, called on Minister for Justice Dermot Ahern to ensure the issue was investigated.

He said reports today outlining measures to tackle social welfare fraud were “in stark contrast” to the Government’s inaction in bringing Mr Callely to account following accusations made against him.

“Reports in today’s media outlining legislative provisions that are being used by the Department of Social Protection to tackle fraudulent social welfare claims, only serve to illustrate that there is one set of rules to deal with fraud among the public and another for Government parties.”

The Irish Times today reports that the Department of Social Protection has targeted taxi drivers, security staff, fishermen and even greyhound owners in its efforts to clamp down on social welfare fraud.

“The damage Senator Callely has done to the public perception of politics and politicians is immense and he continues to bring politics into further disrepute by refusing to comment on the allegations against him,” Mr Regan said.

“No rational explanation has been provided by the Minister for Justice or the Garda Commissioner as to why a Garda investigation has not been carried out into Senator Callely’s €81,000 expenses claim or the latest revelations [about claims for mobile phones].”

Mr Regan said the suggestion that a formal complaint had to be made to An Garda Síochána before it could take action had “no basis in law”.

He said Mr Ahern had the capacity to direct a Garda investigation into claims of alleged fraudulent practices by Senator Callely and that if he was to fulfil his duty in upholding the law, he should do just that.

Earlier today, Green Party TD Paul Gogarty and Independent Senator David Norris joined calls for the resignation of Mr Callely following controversy about his expenses claims.

Mr Norris said it was not in his nature to “gloat” in relation to others’ misfortune or tragedy. But this was “a tragedy brought upon himself by Ivor Callely”.

“It is now at the point where I think a whole series of principles have been violated.

“If the newspaper reports are true, and one assumes they must be. Then we are involved in what looks certainly like matters that require the attention of the police.”

Speaking on RTÉ’s Morning Ireland , he said if the reports about Mr Callely’s expenses were true and that he had used “bogus” documents to claim for mobile phones, it was “impossible” to see how he could continue.

On the same programme, Fianna Fáil mayor of Galway Michael Crowe said Senator Callely’s behaviour was “completely unacceptable” and that he should resign now.

He said this was the view of party councillors in Galway city and county, but that Taoiseach Brian Cowen would “have to speak for himself” in relation to the matter.

Separately, Green Party TD Paul Gogarty said he had written to the clerk of the Seanad to make a formal complaint about Mr Callely's conduct.

Speaking on RTÉ this afternoon, Mr Gogarty said Mr Callely should "take the honourable decision and step down" until any questions regarding his expenses were answered.

Mr Gogarty said other people in a similar position would have "stepped down straight away", citing former junior Green Party minister Trevor Sargent, and former minister for defence Willie O'Dea.

Speaking at the weekend, TD and former minister Mary O’Rourke said Mr Callely had brought “shame and disgrace” on Fianna Fáil and should be expelled from the party.

“I don’t know how you put a person out of the party, but all I know is he’s bringing shame on the party by his carry-on and the antics of him, and we don’t know what is next,” Ms O’Rourke said.

“He is bringing shame and disgrace on the party . . . he should be just expelled from the party.”

Green Party chairman Dan Boyle, who is deputy leader of the Seanad and a member of the committee that ruled against Mr Callely in a recent travel expenses investigation, said he could not be removed from office. Mr Boyle called on Mr Callely to consider his position at the weekend.

“He can’t be removed from office. It’s either a choice for him or action being taken elsewhere by other agencies,” he said yesterday.

Denis O’Donovan, from Bantry, Co Cork, said there was a “strong possibility” the Committee on Members Interests of Seanad Éireann could be reconvened to investigate the matter. “I’m conscious of the fact if we were asked to reconvene, any comment might prejudice my position.”

However, another committee member, speaking on the basis of anonymity, said on Sunday: “What is alleged . . . should be a matter for the gardaí”.

A Garda spokesman said: “We do not wish to make any comment on named individuals.”

Fianna Fáil has refused to comment on Mr Callely's situation.

Mr Callely, who resigned the Fianna Fáil whip in June, could not be reached for comment yesterday.

Oireachtas documents show Mr Callely was paid €2,879.64 in November 2007 under a mobile phone reimbursement scheme and a “direct purchase scheme”, to purchase telephone hardware and insurance, for which invoices relating to three separate 18- month periods in 2002, 2003 and 2005 were submitted together.

The invoices, referring to the purchase of Nokia mobile phones, car-kit installation and other costs, were on headed notepaper of Business Communications Ltd.

The Companies Registration Office records show this company, with an address in Fairview, Dublin, filed its last annual return in 1993, had a liquidator appointed in 1994 and was later officially dissolved.

Mr Callely was appointed to the Seanad by former taoiseach Bertie Ahern. He lost his Dáil seat in the 2007 general election, having resigned his minister of state position in 2005 over having had his house painted for free, in the 1990s, by a building company.

The Constitution states: “Every member of Seanad Éireann shall, unless he previously dies, resigns, or becomes disqualified, continue to hold office until the day before the polling day of the general election for Seanad Éireann next held after his election or nomination.”

© 2010 irishtimes.com

There should be nothing less than a full inquiry by the fraud squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Did Bertie Ahern appoint this individual to that pointless institution Seanad Éireann?

Why am I not surprised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭youcrazyjesus!

There is almost no political will to push Gardaí to investigate people they don't like to investigate but in this case they will be forced to. If the Gardaí had the resources and their bosses were willing to allow them analyse the expenses of councilors and TDs there would be dozens found guilty. There are a lot of people out there praying Ivor carries the can for everyone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Dionysus wrote: »
    Did Bertie Ahern appoint this individual to that pointless institution Seanad Éireann?

Why am I not surprised.

Yeah, why the hell is he in the Seanad in the first place ?

In fact, why are any of them there ?

Time to abolosh the place altogether.

The place is full of freeloaders, wafflers and failed TDs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,859 ✭✭✭doc_17

Stones/glass houses.....pot/kettle black

Take your average hack who has a political career. With all the claims they made down the years I bet they have skeletons in the closet too. The first one to come out and take the moral high ground will see themselves as a recipient of a FOI request for their own expenses and then possibly end their own trip on the gravy train.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭andrewire

Not true. Both Labour and Fine Gael have called for his resignation. Even the Greens have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭youcrazyjesus!

Lapin wrote: »

Another questionable postscript to Bertie Ahern's career, Callely should have been cut loose. I wonder why he wasn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Lapin wrote: »

In fact, why are any of them there ?

Time to abolosh the place altogether.

The place is full of freeloaders, wafflers and failed TDs.

The same can be said for the Dáil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭MrDarcy

Of course there are another set of reasons why Callely is clinging to his well paid job and these reasons could well be tied into his decision to commit fraud. Callely has been hoovering up property all over Dublin during the last few years. He was obviously caught up in the whole Celtic Tiger obsession with property portfolios and the rampant greed that was a part of that scene...

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/senator-who-got-six-mortgages-in-a-day-counts-cost-of-property-crash-2114892.html

It wouldn't surprise me if his house of cards has come tumbling down, he got caught up in the insane greed that was the Celtic Tiger experiment and now he needs his current income to keep the banks off his back in terms of meeting loan agreement terms. Like so many others, he ignored short term cash flow issues that his bank were probably willing to plug for him with an overdraft. But that was then and this is now, I imagine he is up to his t*ts in negative equity and funding issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,934 ✭✭✭goat2

RATM wrote: »
    There's no way Ivor should have to face a trial for fraud, that just wouldn't be fair.

After all Willie O'Dea didn't have to face one for perjury in the High Court so why should Ivor be treated any different?

Nope, if Willie gets off scot free then so too should Ivor. It' s the fairest way :p

was willie into forgery too

i had thought his problem was, he was shooting off his mouth

one is fraud
    other is not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Olaf

goat2 wrote: »
    was willie into forgery too

i had thought his problem was, he was shooting off his mouth

one is fraud
    other is not

He didn't say it was fraud. He said it was perjury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

RTE eventually get round to reporting on it (must have got the required permission from Brian)

Story

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭Yitzhak Rabin

RTE eventually get round to reporting on it (must have got the required permission from Brian)

Story

Lol'd at this part
    The Fianna Fáil party has said it has reviewed certain matters in the public domain concerning Ivor Callely and have said that the information establishes a possible prima facie case of conduct unbecoming to a member of the Fianna Fáil organisation.

I would have thought it was very becoming for a Fianna Fáiler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭mowhawk

There is no doubt that the Mos has done the hard pressed tax payers an enormous service with this story.

Is it too much to hope that Callely will now do us an even bigger one and f**k off once and for all out of our lives?icon10.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Unusual phrasing. I'd have expected you to be straight and say that you were fuming that this con-man was a member.
    I'm not happy, but I don't have an option but to see him remain for the time being at least.

This may interest you, following a weekeind of what I can only imagine was a raft of phonecalls on the issue.
    ÓGRA Fianna Fáil will move a motion to expel Senator Ivor Callely from the Fianna Fáil party at the next meeting of the Árd Chomhairle.

The motion will ask members of Fianna Fáil’s Ard Comhairle to remove the Senator's party membership "for conduct unbecoming of a party member".

Ógra’s Leas Cathaoirleach Joe O’Neill said: “Ógra has already called for Senator Callely to resign following the findings of the Oireachtas Committee, yet he has failed to take notice of the will of the vast majority of Fianna Fáil members.

"Over the course of the last number of weeks Ógra have received no response to our call for Mr Callely to resign from the Seanad.

"Mr Callely has a responsibility to clear up a scandal which he alone created and one which has dragged down the reputation of politicians ever further,” said O’Neill.

"By claiming illegitimate travel expenses and being suspended from Seanad Éireann he has brought the party into disrepute.”

"Ógra is of the view that his position as a member of the Seanad is untenable.”

"Ógra have held this position since the Oireachtas Committee made its conclusions public and not merely since the more recent allegations at the weekend.

"Ógra can no longer support his continued membership of the Fianna Fáil organisation.”

"Ógra will now be campaigning for Mr.Callely’s expulsion from the Fianna Fáil party,” concluded O'Neill.

Here's a wonderful blog on our dear Ivor complete with an excerpt from his web site headed by him posing with our national flag. Such a patriot, it brings tears to my eyes.

http://gombeennation.blogspot.com/2010/06/ivor-callely-and-larry-butler-expenses.html

Quote "I am determined ‘with every beat of my heart’ to resolve the difficulties this country now faces."

I really hope he means it and gets on his bike and heads off into the sunset instantly, sorry jail, instantly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭MrDarcy

mowhawk wrote: »
    Here's a wonderful blog on our dear Ivor complete with an excerpt from his web site headed by him posing with our national flag. Such a patriot, it brings tears to my eyes.

http://gombeennation.blogspot.com/2010/06/ivor-callely-and-larry-butler-expenses.html

Quote "I am determined ‘with every beat of my heart’ to resolve the difficulties this country now faces."

I really hope he means it and gets on his bike and heads off into the sunset instantly, sorry jail, instantly!

What Ivor seems to miss is that it was people like him who contributed in no small way to this whole sorry mess we are in. People like him who OVER invested in multiple properties, selfishly displacing people who were buying a property to live in. We all know a BMW driving, sharp suited Ivor who ended up with ten or twenty properties to let out to others who couldn't afford to buy the same property because there were simply too many Ivors in the market with their banks sticking their septums up the arses of lads like Ivor.

How dare this scumbag contribute to the biggest crisis that this state has ever had to deal with, and then put himself forward as the solution to the problem. Then on the back of that outrage, tell him we need to get our house in order, but at the same time he is billing the state with forged invoices. I feel so angry about this, I want to take this laptop off my lap and f*ck it through the window in front of me, how dare he, how dare he...

MrDarcy wrote: »
    How dare this scumbag contribute to the biggest crisis that this state has ever had to deal with, and then put himself forward as the solution to the problem. Then on the back of that outrage, tell him we need to get our house in order, but at the same time he is billing the state with forged invoices. I feel so angry about this, I want to take this laptop off my lap and f*ck it through the window in front of me, how dare he, how dare he...

I'm still bemused by the photo of him on his website posing with our national flag. Wasn't it Oscar Wilde that said 'Patriotism - the last refuge of a scoundrel'.

Quote "We are at a point in our history where we have never been able to see more clearly what we can achieve. Ireland has undergone a transformation, we are a small, open and pulsating economy, now energised by some of the most sophisticated industries and services in the world."

I'm also wondering which Ireland that he lives in, certainly not the same one that most of us mere mortals have to endure with a wrecked economy, businesses closing down left, right and centre, hundreds of thousands on the dole and emigrating, multi-nationals deserting us and a bad credit rating etc, etc, etc.

All courtesy of the visionary Ivor and his cronys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭johnnybmac

MrDarcy wrote: »
    What Ivor seems to miss is that it was people like him who contributed in no small way to this whole sorry mess we are in. People like him who OVER invested in multiple properties, selfishly displacing people who were buying a property to live in. We all know a BMW driving, sharp suited Ivor who ended up with ten or twenty properties to let out to others who couldn't afford to buy the same property because there were simply too many Ivors in the market with their banks sticking their septums up the arses of lads like Ivor.

Couldn't have put it better...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭banchang

Joe regularly does this on subjects like this - its called an attempt at balance by the national broadcaster.

Which is fine, but you will notice from the way he puts it that it is truly 'an attempt at balance', after which it is 'release the hounds' again.

In this case, entirely justified.