Most unappreciated public service workers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭Black Magician

Most of the PS workers are unappreciated, there is a idiotic stigma out there that people who work in the PS are lazy and do as little as possible, a few bad apples do ruin the basket in this case. I think the most unappreciated ones though are teachers, nurses and garda as they provide essential services for modest pay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

Most of the PS workers are unappreciated, there is a idiotic stigma out there that people who work in the PS are lazy and do as little as possible, a few bad apples do ruin the basket in this case. I think the most unappreciated ones though are teachers, nurses and garda as they provide essential services for modest pay.

I would love to know what you would consider good pay if you think the above are on "modest" pay

Tipp Man wrote: »
    I would love to know what you would consider good pay if you think the above are on "modest" pay

about 20 k more. people like the ones i have described above are more essential than the farce that run the country, so, if you take into the equation that our country is in the shiites and those people running it are still employed, while understanding that cops, nurses, teachers jobs are dictated to by these politicians and yet STILL, overall, do a good job, i think its fair to regocnise they are underpaid and unappreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭QuiteInterestin

Teachers, nurses and gardai aren't the only employees of the public service. I think the most unappreciated are those that people seem to overlook, but who carry out essential roles. Nursing assistants also help with patient care within hospitals, occupational therapists work with people following accidents/strokes etc to help them return to normal life and radiation therapists give cancer patients their treatment. These are just the ones I can think of, I'm sure there are many others within the health service as well as other public services.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭murf313

I was wondering when the first "person" from the irish politics forum would come along.....
    do you not spend enough time public servant bashing over there, without coming to AH to do it??

btw i work in the emergency services and imo some people do appreciate the work we do for them. most dont.......... especially the 999 abusers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Seriously?
    Well, not surplus-to-requirement pen-pushing bureaucrats, but there are far more types of local authority workers than them: e.g. fire brigade, street sweepers, technicians, engineers...

Creche workers too (in public offices, e.g. colleges of further education) - creche workers can be awfully dismissed as "babysitters" etc which is just laughable. They're charged with minding someone's else's child(ren) ffs. Unless they open their own business, they'll never earn anymore than 25k.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I've worked nights and seen the state of our local town at 4am.
    Realy your town or city is no better.

Streets covered in bags from chippers, broken glass and all sorts of rubbish.

The council workers are out at 4am and have the streets cleared by 7am, they do a top job and not a lot of people ever see them.
    Out in all weather, cold winter nights and pouring rain cleaning the streets.

Fair play!

about 20 k more. people like the ones i have described above are more essential than the farce that run the country, so, if you take into the equation that our country is in the shiites and those people running it are still employed, while understanding that cops, nurses, teachers jobs are dictated to by these politicians and yet STILL, overall, do a good job, i think its fair to regocnise they are underpaid and unappreciated.

There are 60,000 teachers alone in this country and you want to give them an additional 20k more, so you want to increase the teachers wages bill by 1.2Billion all because you think our politicans are a farce and our teachers are "underpaid"

Then we have have what 15,000 Gardai @ 20k extra so thats an extra 300 million.

Never mind the nurses, however many of them there are.

Apart from the fact that the country can't afford the 1.5-2 BILLION that you would like to dish out to anybody who has even a hint of toughness about their it is pure ignorance to suggest that the 3 professions mentioned are underpaid (there is an arguement for underappreciated if you feel that way inclined)

We have some of the highest pay rates in the world for our teachers, gardai and nurses, some of whom do an excellent job. However I am certain that teachers, nurses and policeman throughout the world have to put up with a lot of s**t (some a lot worse than what our guys have to put up with) yet we feel obliged to pay oursa huge premium on most other countries despite the fact that this country is actually broke compared to most other countries.

amazing

murf313 wrote: »
    I was wondering when the first "person" from the irish politics forum would come along.....
    do you not spend enough time public servant bashing over there, without coming to AH to do it??

btw i work in the emergency services and imo some people do appreciate the work we do for them. most dont.......... especially the 999 abusers

Didn't realise it was a closed shop over here even for a non human species like myself

There are 60,000 teachers alone in this country and you want to give them an additional 20k more, so you want to increase the teachers wages bill by 1.2Billion all because you think our politicans are a farce and our teachers are "underpaid"

Then we have have what 15,000 Gardai @ 20k extra so thats an extra 300 million.

Never mind the nurses, however many of them there are.

Apart from the fact that the country can't afford the 1.5-2 BILLION that you would like to dish out to anybody who has even a hint of toughness about their it is pure ignorance to suggest that the 3 professions mentioned are underpaid (there is an arguement for underappreciated if you feel that way inclined)

We have some of the highest pay rates in the world for our teachers, gardai and nurses, some of whom do an excellent job. However I am certain that teachers, nurses and policeman throughout the world have to put up with a lot of s**t (some a lot worse than what our guys have to put up with) yet we feel obliged to pay oursa huge premium on most other countries despite the fact that this country is actually broke compared to most other countries.

amazing

it really is amazing, amazing to read a post like yours, Firstly, yes our politicians are a farce, if you cant recognize that then you must be one of them. If you count the billions lost via nama, thanks once again to our politicians, and compare it with the figures you quote above, you can see were the REAL money has been wasted and WERE the real money should be invested. but of course why run a proper PUBLIC SERVICE and pay them an appropriate wage when you can screw them, and screw them even more when the buble bursts as it has done.The country is broke but your post suggests it the fault of the ordinary person on the street, the teacher, the policeman, when in FACT its the unscrupulous idiots who run the country and who have been runnin g the country for the last 12 years. Wasting MILLIONS of tax payers money on electronic voting machines and leaving generations of irish people broke to the tunes of nama millions. Get real will you and post something that has logic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Nonone called you non human species
    It was a positive thread

And it's going to descend into arguments over overpaid staff, unions and their power and ministers would wont take strong action

Just like every other thread in politics forum.

Do you know any under appreciated public service workers?
    If you do, post away. :)
    If not, why post here on this thread? Address the OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Thread must have come up on the "Public Sector worker" thread searchers red alerts.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Healthcare assistants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Who in your opinion has the most unappreciated public sector jobs in Ireland?
    I’m in the private sector myself and think it’s the nurses.
    A lot have to deal with drunken abusive patents at weekends.
    Tending to the sick and dying.
    Then it’s probably the emergency services Fire and ambulance crew.
    After that, the guards.
    Then teachers, yes they get good holidays, but some of the upstarts and parents they have to deal with.
    Who do you think?

Translation:

Rabble rabble rabble rabble rabble

Congrats OP - the rabble-rousing appear to have worked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭J.R.

genericguy wrote: »
    teachers? my arse - they work a shorter day than everyone else, week off every six-eight weeks, great salary and huge holidays in a job that's safe as houses and really very easy to do.

If their conditions & holidays are so good & the job is so easy to do how come you're not doing it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭_sparkie_

those bin men get horrible abuse all the time, they get my vote.

Retained firefighters are under appreciated imo. These guys have to drop every thing when the pager goes and attend fires/rta's etc. It takes alot to pretty much give up any chance of a normal social life.
    Many rural firefighters are also trained in cpr and are first on scene at cardiac arrests, as it may take us in the ambulance service a while to get to rural areas!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

_sparkie_ wrote: »
    those bin men get horrible abuse all the time, they get my vote.

You might even say they have a lot of rubbish to put up with :P

Boom boom.......I'll get me coat.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,182 ✭✭✭dvpower

Who in your opinion has the most unappreciated public sector jobs in Ireland?
    I’m in the private sector myself and think it’s the nurses.
    A lot have to deal with drunken abusive patents at weekends.
    Tending to the sick and dying.

The nurses are under appreciated? How?
    I would have thought that our nurses are probably the most appreciated workers in the country (and very well paid by European standards too).

it really is amazing, amazing to read a post like yours, Firstly, yes our politicians are a farce, if you cant recognize that then you must be one of them. If you count the billions lost via nama, thanks once again to our politicians, and compare it with the figures you quote above, you can see were the REAL money has been wasted and WERE the real money should be invested. but of course why run a proper PUBLIC SERVICE and pay them an appropriate wage when you can screw them, and screw them even more when the buble bursts as it has done.The country is broke but your post suggests it the fault of the ordinary person on the street, the teacher, the policeman, when in FACT its the unscrupulous idiots who run the country and who have been runnin g the country for the last 12 years. Wasting MILLIONS of tax payers money on electronic voting machines and leaving generations of irish people broke to the tunes of nama millions. Get real will you and post something that has logic

Well of course our government is a pharce but what your saying is even more idiotic, in fact it's straight from the Bertie school of economics which states throw as much money as possible at the public sector without getting any rewards for the taxpayer

The facts is the government (so the taxpayer) is spending a pure fortune annually on wages of the public sector and we still haven't got a proper public service

To put the Nama/banking mess into perspective, the total bill for that mess is the same as the annual public sector wage bill and the current annual budget deficit, so next year we have another Nama which is current spending, and the year after and the year after that, so until we get government spending into something resembling control then we are going to have a Nama ever year

So I ask again why are our public servants deserving of such a huge wage premium over their counterparts in other countries? And where the he'll is the money supposed to come from to pay the huge annual public sector bill??

J.R. wrote: »
    If their conditions & holidays are so good & the job is so easy to do how come you're not doing it?

Let's have the entire adult population work as teachers shall we?

Nonone called you non human species
    It was a positive thread

And it's going to descend into arguments over overpaid staff, unions and their power and ministers would wont take strong action

Just like every other thread in politics forum.

Do you know any under appreciated public service workers?
    If you do, post away. :)
    If not, why post here on this thread? Address the OP

I certainly don't know any underpaid public sector workers, that's a phrase that is very rarely used nowadays

As regards under appreciated I suppose it has to be doctors and what they can do nowadays

Well of course our government is a pharce but what your saying is even more idiotic, in fact it's straight from the Bertie school of economics which states throw as much money as possible at the public sector without getting any rewards for the taxpayer

The facts is the government (so the taxpayer) is spending a pure fortune annually on wages of the public sector and we still haven't got a proper public service

To put the Nama/banking mess into perspective, the total bill for that mess is the same as the annual public sector wage bill and the current annual budget deficit, so next year we have another Nama which is current spending, and the year after and the year after that, so until we get government spending into something resembling control then we are going to have a Nama ever year

So I ask again why are our public servants deserving of such a huge wage premium over their counterparts in other countries? And where the he'll is the money supposed to come from to pay the huge annual public sector bill??
    maybe you should come out on a 12 hour shift with me on a frontline ambulance. you might get to see a fatality after a road traffic accident or a cot death. Maybe you might get to see a cardiac arrest or someone after hanging themselves...... then you might see what we get paid for.

But in your mind we just sit on our holes counting our wads of cash and eating caviar plotting the downfall of the country......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

murf313 wrote: »
    maybe you should come out on a 12 hour shift with me on a frontline ambulance. you might get to see a fatality after a road traffic accident or a cot death. Maybe you might get to see a cardiac arrest or someone after hanging themselves...... then you might see what we get paid for.

But in your mind we just sit on our holes counting our wads of cash and eating caviar plotting the downfall of the country......

actually i, a much-maligned public service worker, prefer to spend my time in a jacuzzi bath sipping champagne

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭Pittens

paramedics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭jessiejam

Definately the frontline emergency services staff

Ambulance personnel
    Fire personnel and A&E staff.

On another note, why is it that the public sector only became the target of abuse since this crisis.
    I hope people understand that this mess is not the average joe soap public sector workers fault.
    No one gave a sh1t about the public sector workers on sh1t wages, till the country started going bust.
    No one wanted those jobs because the wages were crap.

Its like as though people have to blame someone.

Blame the government not the PS workers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

Special Needs Assistants.

Their job is demanding, both physically and emotionally (often the children they are looking after will have very short life-spans).

Also, for some crazy, unknown reason, they were not included in the Croke Park Agreement (useless union) so their numbers are being slashed, while the same number of kids that need this extra help are still there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

jessiejam wrote: »
    Definately the frontline emergency services staff

Ambulance personnel
    Fire personnel and A&E staff.

On another note, why is it that the public sector only became the target of abuse since this crisis.
    I hope people understand that this mess is not the average joe soap public sector workers fault.
    No one gave a sh1t about the public sector workers on sh1t wages, till the country started going bust.
    No one wanted those jobs because the wages were crap.

Its like as though people have to blame someone.

Blame the government not the PS workers

In fairness, the pay bill was an issue before the crisis, pointed out by many.

As for no one wanting the jobs, the public service increased significantly for the 10 years before the crisis, so yes, people did want the jobs!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭caseyann

J.R. wrote: »

Perhaps because he didnt hear his calling for teaching and chose a profession he does like? Dont figure

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

I imagine it'd be tough working in social services when dealing with kids from broken homes or in abusive situations. Having to deal with the dregs of humanity can't be fun (dunno how well paid they are).