Most unappreciated public service workers?

• 03-08-2010 02:59PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭

Who in your opinion has the most unappreciated public sector jobs in Ireland?
    I’m in the private sector myself and think it’s the nurses.
    A lot have to deal with drunken abusive patents at weekends.
    Tending to the sick and dying.
    Then it’s probably the emergency services Fire and ambulance crew.
    After that, the guards.
    Then teachers, yes they get good holidays, but some of the upstarts and parents they have to deal with.
    Who do you think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

teachers? my arse - they work a shorter day than everyone else, week off every six-eight weeks, great salary and huge holidays in a job that's safe as houses and really very easy to do.

nurses? they change bedpans, and go on strike every time they want some time off. "we want more money" strike. "thanks for the money. give us less hours for the money" strike. "give us even more money and even less hours" strike. fcuk 'em.

the fire service do a great job, as do the gardaí, although the performance of the gardaí is hindered by the courts, which the majority of people in this country don't seem to understand.

so yeah, gardaí and firemen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Define unappreciated !!!! ........because if it based on pay relative to their private sector counter part then the answer is none of them are unappreciated ;):p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Banned Account

I think, tough shit to be honest. They all knew what they were signing up to - they are vocations. They get well paid.

No-one feels sorry for me when I have to put up with a load of bollix - it's a job - get on with it or find a new one.

Sorry to be blunt but that's the way I feel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I'd say the medical / emergency services are the most appreciated. It's the probably the street cleaners who go unnoticed and receive little thanks. Imagine the complete shite they have to deal with and see everyday. Puke, syringes, piss, shit, scumbags, homeless etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

The members of the Seanad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,102 ✭✭✭easyeason3

The ones I feel bad for are the ones that go & do a days work & take an interest in the work they do because it's the one or two lazy fools that get them all tarred with the one brush.
    So it must be tough going into work giving it your all even though you know most people think you're living an easy life.

But Guards, Nurses & Emergency services see the worst of it I think.

Street cleaners get loooney pay for what they do, no skills required whatsoever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Mary Harney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭marzic

WindSock wrote: »
    I'd say the medical / emergency services are the most appreciated. It's the probably the street cleaners who go unnoticed and receive little thanks. Imagine the complete shite they have to deal with and see everyday. Puke, syringes, piss, shit, scumbags, homeless etc.

yes, trying to get the scumbags into the bin is bad but trying to get
    homeless guys out is worse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

Janitors are the most highly skilled worksmen of our generation, if I had a little bit more power I would give janitors doctor's salaries and have them in charge of the finance sector of this country, absolute heroes i say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I'd say psychiatric Nurses and Ambulance personnel, more so because they tend to get forgotten about!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

RoverJames wrote: »
    Street cleaners get loooney pay for what they do, no skills required whatsoever.

Aside from the ability to clean a street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Nurses, garda, teachers in "deprived schools"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,038 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

genericguy wrote: »
    teachers? my arse - they work a shorter day than everyone else, week off every six-eight weeks, great salary and huge holidays in a job that's safe as houses and really very easy to do.

nurses? they change bedpans, and go on strike every time they want some time off. "we want more money" strike. "thanks for the money. give us less hours for the money" strike. "give us even more money and even less hours" strike. fcuk 'em.

the fire service do a great job, as do the gardaí, although the performance of the gardaí is hindered by the courts, which the majority of people in this country don't seem to understand.

so yeah, gardaí and firemen.

Your having a laugh, right?

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭JonB

Your having a laugh, right?
    I think the Garda are great. I've never had a problem with them. I always see them respond fast to the happens on the road I live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,038 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

JonB wrote: »
    I think the Garda are great. I've never had a problem with them. I always see them respond fast to the happens on the road I live.

Lucky you, cant say the same about the ones I have had or should I say never dealed with as they never show up.

EVENFLOW

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

I'd be curious to see if there's any out there who, if not appreciated by the public, don't see fair compensation in wages, hours worked, etc. Certainly all those I know are appreciated in some form or another.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Bill2673

For me its the nurses hands down and by a country mile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

The front-line workers that provide useful services, no matter if it's fashionable to sneer: medical, emergency teachers and local authority workers.

That doesn't mean some are immune to criticism, but they do a tough job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭caseyann

Priests
    Emergency services( I think time there was a parade for them) :) they should be paid more than the politicians:mad:,considering they clean up the mess do all the work and save the people.

Ever hear of when they call out the fire brigade and garda and ambulance services just to abuse them.That makes me so angry.Their parents should be given a hiding.

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Aside from the ability to clean a street.

That's not a skill, any one not disabled should be able to do it well from the age of 16 on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Cian92

Emergency services,
    Nurses,
    Teachers.

caseyann wrote: »
    Priests

?

stovelid wrote: »
    ?

Yes priests why?

I wouldn't have categorized priests as public sector workers.

Maybe I'm wrong.

I wouldn't have categorized priests as public sector workers.

Maybe I'm wrong.

I kind of do,as they are there for the public and help them marry them bury them counsel them feed them etc... maybe i am wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,030 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

and local authority workers.

Seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

I kind of do,as they are there for the public and help them marry them bury them counsel them feed them etc... maybe i am wrong.

I'd classify them more as employees of the Catholic Church and as such. very much so, private sector.

*Sigh*
    When I rise to power things WILL change...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

You know if any of these nurses / emergency services workers / guards / teachers etc etc feel unappreciated , they could always quit and get another job ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭hal9000

WindSock wrote: »

I wish Streetcleaners would "cleanup" scumbags in a Al Pacino way