After Hours - what's your favourite Saw Doctors song?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,537 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

The N17 is a fairly sh*tty road, linking Galway to Sligo. Most of the road has no hard shoulder or any decent stretches for overtaking & it seems to attract "Sunday drivers", seven days a week.

when i was a kid, that stretch of the n17 from tuam to galway was far and away the best road in the west of ireland :o
    It is a short 139km drive, that on a decent road would take less than an hour, but on a bad day, can take over 2.5 hours.

less than an hour to do 139km :eek: thats almost 90mph

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

rossie1977 wrote: »

less than an hour to do 139km :eek: thats almost 90mph

90mph on a motorway is fairly normal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Jeboa Safari

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,537 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

90mph on a motorway is fairly normal.

in germany ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Ive always liked this song from the saw doctors :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Hay Wrap, Red Cortina or Exhilarating Sadness

And no matter how boggery, I'll always love JCCB.

Never Mind the Strangers is nice too..

Ah forgot Red Cortina.

Think everybody who grew up in 70/80's Ireland had a red Cortina at some stage.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

"That Jammy Bastard Won the Lotto, We Had to Struggle On!" is my favourite. :pac:

rossie1977 wrote: »
    in germany ;)

And Ireland. If I'm on a motorway here, I usually stick the cruise control at around 130km/ph and would be overtaken by cars quite regularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

mars bar wrote: »
    "She's a 4th year, dead feek, Presentation Border!". :D

The borders are long gone now though...:(

You can take the girl out of the boarding school but you can't take the boarding school out of the girl. I have fond memories of two year relationship with a lad from the town. My mother kept me under lock and key at home so I had to take advantage of the nuns. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Red Cortina and n17. Mainly cos they remind me of two people.

I actually have a load of their songs on my laptop that were put on it for me, and there are some great songs there, but can't remember the names of them now!

You can take the girl out of the boarding school but you can't take the boarding school out of the girl. I have fond memories of two year relationship with a lad from the town. My mother kept me under lock and key at home so I had to take advantage of the nuns. :D

Ye big durty lezzer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,684 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

mike65 wrote: »
    "That Jammy Bastard Won the Lotto, We Had to Struggle On!" is my favourite. :pac:

Haha! Tony only contributed to one song in regards to songwriting and that song was "To Win Just Once". If that isn't irony, then I don't know what is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Cool Running

So hard to pick a favourite song, changes every day but the ones that are up there are

I'll be on my way

Never mind the strangers

FCA

So hard to pick a favourite song, changes every day but the ones that are up there are

I'll be on my way

Never mind the strangers

FCA

Such a catchy chorus to that song...

• Subscribers Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Has to be N17, but only the older version when he still has the rough edge to his voice, eg on nighthawks in their prime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

n17 for the simple reason that its a great session song drives anyplace into a frenzy of beer and sweat

green and red of mayo
    and red cortina are nice easy listening songs too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

****in great tune

that and Macnas parade

mars bar wrote: »
    Such a catchy chorus to that song...

Bored, Broke, Oblivious:D

What a tune, been in the FCA/RDF 6 years and thats partly why I love that song so much

Bored, Broke, Oblivious:D

What a tune, been in the FCA/RDF 6 years and thats partly why I love that song so much

...so I joined the FCA! :D

I'm gonna be singing that for the night now!

Most Saw Doctors fans will have seen this but for anyone else here is an excellent version of Never mind the Strangers

"We've gone further than we ever dreamt from our County Galway town"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Oh and yeah we Culchies have the Saw Doctors.

Ye Dubs have Christy and Aslan...i always thought of the Saw Doctors as the culchies Aslan, without the heroin!

And this is our "Crazy World"

Hadn't heard that one in a while.
    'Get that wasp off my sandwich' is one of the greatest lyrics ever written.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

Ye big durty lezzer!

In boarding school you take what you can get. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

I know absolutely nothing about The Saw Doctors except that back in the day I sold one of the guys the suit that he wore to his wedding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,731 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Oh and yeah we Culchies have the Saw Doctors.

Ye Dubs have Christy and Aslan...i always thought of the Saw Doctors as the culchies Aslan, without the heroin!

And this is our "Crazy World"
    Do you want Aslan? we dont...they are sh*te:mad: Would take The Saw Doctors over them anyday!

Take Aslan away please!!:D

p.s. I Used'ta Love Her would be my song of choice:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Ahhhh neow, nothin' other than the Joyce Counry Céile Band will do!:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Clare Island < poetry in motion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Bale them, bale them
    hay! hay!
    Bale them, bale them
    hay! hay!

<culchie>I don't know the name of the song but it was savage, lad!
    edit: ah, the hay wrap!</culchie>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭Shoelaces

Shmells like teen spirhit

Jaysus they were a quire dreary bunch a yung fellas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Dudess wrote: »
    So you've never disliked/criticised anything unless you've a flair for the discipline yourself Bonito...? ;)

Generally dislike the Saw Doctors - too culchie-tastic, that's my opinion... but I do admit they take a slightly tongue-in-cheek approach at times, and I'd Love To Kiss The Bangles makes me laugh. :pac:
    Wait. Come to think of it, no. I've never knocked something without trying it. I've also never been overly critical about something I don't like. I tend to stay away from things I don't like rather than look for them and burst in with a "rabble rabble rabble ye're shíte, I'm better rabble rabble rabble I wont prove it, though rabble rabble rabble"

/cue exit left stage and dim spotlight. Return to stage and bow.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,895 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

N17. But then, I'm an emigrant.

NTM