Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Nicolas Roche Tour Diary in the independent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭Beached

Does anyone think that it would have been more worthwhile if Nico targeted the Green Jersey for this years TdF. He did finish 6th in this competition in last years race.
    I think he is a fairly good sprinter, with an ability to get over the mountains.Would the AG2R team not view this as being more prestigeous???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,716 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

I'd personally be interested in telling the grandkids 'I finished in the Top 10, with the best of the best, ahead of about 200 other top pros' than 'I finished over an hour down, but I did win a stage,

In 5 years time no one will remember or care that someone came 9th once in the TDF. They will however recognise a stage winner... It goes on your record...

9th place is not a winner, it's "an also ran...". A stage winner is just that...

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,277 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Beached wrote: »
    Does anyone think that it would have been more worthwhile if Nico targeted the Green Jersey for this years TdF. He did finish 6th in this competition in last years race.
    I think he is a fairly good sprinter, with an ability to get over the mountains.Would the AG2R team not view this as being more prestigeous???

That would be a big ask. It's invariably won by someone who is a good field sprinter.

Yes, a rider like Roche could pick up intermediate sprints and smaller bunch sprints, but the big points are for placings on flat stages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,493 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Bluefoam wrote: »
    In 5 years time no one will remember or care that someone came 9th once in the TDF.

That's harsh. Would you only judge a tennis player by whether they'd won a grand slam, or a soccer team by whether they'd won an international championship?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

Lumen wrote: »
    That's harsh. Would you only judge a tennis player by whether they'd won a grand slam, or a soccer team by whether they'd won an international championship?

Bill Shankly used to say "first is first - second is nowhere":D

That seems to be the way the world works. Not saying I entirely agree with it, but its true...

Can you imagine the wiki - which would you prefer...
    Lumen, winner of stage 3 of the TDF 2011

or
    Lumen, came 9th once, could've come 8th possibly, but his team mate didn't help him much...

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,277 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

"Top ten finisher" in the Tour de France sounds just as good, if not better, as "stage winner" to me.

Then again, different people are impressed by different things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

No. But to get to an international championship the team usually has to 'win' some matches.

Chavenal Vocklert et al - I think that their fans, team and sponsors will view their tour as a success despite their overall placing. I am not sure that Roches isin that category. Its not a performance that would have big teams waving a cheque book at him. After this tour we ate still left with questions as to how good is he really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,493 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

ROK ON wrote: »
    After this tour we ate still left with questions as to how good is he really?

Better than Wiggins, clearly. Chequebooks out at Sky?

After this tour we ate still left with questions as to how good is he really?

A rider who is capable of riding a better Tour de France than Lance Armstrong, Ivan Basso, Cadel Evans, Bradley Wiggins, Michael Rogers, Damiano Cunego and Linus Gerdemann.

One bad day through not eating enough (his mistake, one I doubt he'll repeat) and another because of an idiot team mate (not his fault) and he'd be doing better than a good few others.

Let's not get carried away.

Better than Wiggins, clearly. Chequebooks out at Sky?

I think Sky needs a few out and out climbers. They could do with someone like Martin to help Wiggo in the mountains.
    He would also be handy enough in the hilly classics and that could compliment the classic bent in the team.

I think if I was not Irish and reading about Roche that I would barely notice him over and above other riders.

el tonto wrote: »
    One bad day through not eating enough (his mistake, one I doubt he'll repeat) and another because of an idiot team mate (not his fault) and he'd be doing better than a good few others.
    No one will remember those facts, just his finishing position.

I think if I was not Irish and reading about Roche that I would barely notice him over and above other riders.

I'm not Canadian and I barely notice Ryder Hesjedal above other riders.
    No one will remember those facts, just his finishing position.

The question was how good he is. Whether people remember those facts or not is irrelevant really.

A rider who is capable of riding a better Tour de France than Lance Armstrong, Ivan Basso, Cadel Evans, Bradley Wiggins, Michael Rogers, Damiano Cunego and Linus Gerdemann.

Let's not get carried away.

Fair point up to a point, but many of those guys have won stuff this year. Maybe Nico needs to focus on that and enter races with that intention.
    I really admire Phillippe Gilbert for example. Many of the races he focuses on he places in. He doesn't waste a whole lot of time entering races to make up the numbers or be best of the rest. In an era of cycling specialisation I think that takes courage to admit to oneself.

I think Roche is clearly good enough to be better than where he is. I would like to see him get some reward for that effort. Maybe next year put down a marker of a couple of 3-7day races that he will target honours in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭enoonan

Anyone know how long Roche is contracted to Ag2R for?
    Could he move and if yes any ideas as to where he could fit in?

E

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

enoonan wrote: »
    Anyone know how long Roche is contracted to Ag2R for?
    Could he move and if yes any ideas as to where he could fit in?

E

Do you think anyone else would want him as a team leader - or do you mean just as a team member ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭enoonan

Not sure about team leader but he would be a good fella to have, I would imagine, in any team.

E

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

"Top ten finisher" in the Tour de France sounds just as good, if not better, as "stage winner" to me.

Then again, different people are impressed by different things.

I agree, I hate the way sprinters target the first week of a grand tour then barely keep in front of the broomwagon for the rest of it. Like Cav last year won a bunch of stages then buggered off "to concentrate on the Olympics/Worlds" or whatnot.

enoonan wrote: »
    Not sure about team leader but he would be a good fella to have, I would imagine, in any team.

E

He calls himself an opportunist so he may have little specialism to offer a team leader of another team.

Hungrycol wrote: »
    I agree, I hate the way sprinters target the first week of a grand tour then barely keep in front of the broomwagon for the rest of it. Like Cav last year won a bunch of stages then buggered off "to concentrate on the Olympics/Worlds" or whatnot.

Cavendish won the final stage and got his sixth stage win in Paris last year.
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/othersports/cycling/5912827/Tour-de-France-2009-Mark-Cavendish-makes-history-in-Paris-as-Alberto-Contador-seals-win.html

You may have been referring to the year before - his first attempt at the tour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭Junior

Look if Roche went for stage win's people would be asking why isn't he going for GC placement, he picked his goal, he aimed for it, due to circumstances slightly outside of his control he's going to miss that goal.

however that's what competitive cycling is all about setting goals and going after them, not trying to please some lads on the internet because they think you should do something.

greendom wrote: »
    Cavendish won the final stage and got his sixth stage win in Paris last year.
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/othersports/cycling/5912827/Tour-de-France-2009-Mark-Cavendish-makes-history-in-Paris-as-Alberto-Contador-seals-win.html

You may have been referring to the year before - his first attempt at the tour

My bad, but also proves my point because he came 131st out of 156 in 2009, 6 stages or no 6 stages.

Hungrycol wrote: »
    My bad, but also proves my point because he also came 176th out of 180 in 2009, 6 stages or no 6 stages.

Yeah, the lazy gob****e :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

If you ain't first, you're last! - Ricky Bobby

p.s. Nico has two years left on his AG2R deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭on_the_nickel

Fair point up to a point, but many of those guys have won stuff this year. Maybe Nico needs to focus on that and enter races with that intention.
    I really admire Phillippe Gilbert for example. Many of the races he focuses on he places in. He doesn't waste a whole lot of time entering races to make up the numbers or be best of the rest. In an era of cycling specialisation I think that takes courage to admit to oneself.

I think Roche is clearly good enough to be better than where he is. I would like to see him get some reward for that effort. Maybe next year put down a marker of a couple of 3-7day races that he will target honours in.

So a placing is ok then? :D

I see your point, wins are important, and maybe would give him the confidence he needs?

One other thing, he was out injured just before the Tour, while it may have given his legs a rest, far from ideal preparation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭kerryscoob

His dad reckoned the rest because of the injury was going to be a help to him.

Missed him wearing the National jersey this year, at times found it difficult to spot him, made even harder by the fact Europsort rarely mentioned him.

Delighted to see him having a good Tour, he's probably disappointed he's lost some ground over the last 2 stages but look it's a learing experience, a bit of luck and maybe he would have finished a bit higher. Here's hoping he'll give it one last lash tomorrow.

Well done Nicolas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Junior wrote: »
    Look if Roche went for stage win's people would be asking why isn't he going for GC placement, he picked his goal, he aimed for it, due to circumstances slightly outside of his control he's going to miss that goal.

however that's what competitive cycling is all about setting goals and going after them, not trying to please some lads on the internet because they think you should do something.

Or perhaps, he went for stage wins in the past, didn't get them so is now, on name reputation some completely unknown reason, team leader. Once again, he proves not up to the task ... maybe that's the complaint. That he's not actually an elite rider????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

A top 20 finish in the Tour de France would be nothing to be sneezed at. Only 2 other Irish cyclists have ever achieved that, and he's still very young.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭alibabba

greendom wrote: »
    Nonsense - it was the actions of an individual and so a bit unfair to damn a whole nation - as there are plenty of French riders in most teams how do team rules work at all ?
    Let me see .... He is french, it was very arrogant of him to disrespect the team leader like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

In 5 years time no one will remember or care that someone came 9th once in the TDF. They will however recognise a stage winner... It goes on your record...

9th place is not a winner, it's "an also ran...". A stage winner is just that...

Disagree with this. Lots of sh1te riders have won stages. How many times do you see the Peleton let a bunch of nobodys go 20 minutes down the road.

It's much more impressive to be in the Top 10-20 than it is to win the odd stage in a breakaway when most of the Peleton are taking it easy that day!