Murder set to be legalised by xmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Morlar wrote: »
    Wow that inverse godwin didn't take long did it - post #3 ! going for a record ?

This thread title is a dissappointment - I had my enemies list ready and everything :(

Was just trying to succinctly sum up the thread title.

And you can still use the list. Luring them to your home is the hard part. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Wiggum: (Plucks string) Now sideshow bob cant get in without me knowing and once a man is in your home anything you do to him is nice and legal.

Homer: Is that so? (Leans out window and calls to Ned.) Oh Flanders, won't you join me in my kitchen? (Homer waits to pounce Ned and pounds his fist into his hand.)

Wiggum: Uh, it doesn't work if you invite them in.

Ned: Hidely Hey!

Homer: Go home.

Ned: Toodly Doo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Millicent wrote: »
    Was just trying to succinctly sum up the thread title.

And you can still use the list. Luring them to your home is the hard part. :D

I know I am sneaking off to buy a shotgun & a rocking chair and to leave the window ajar after I post this. Come to papa.

Good news, and a good step. But to be honest, it was always legal at my house. If you broke in, you would never get out in one piece. Anyone coming near my home, where my daughter sleeps would never get out in one piece. Ive had enough crap happen to me over the years without anyone violating my home, my sanctuary. Whatever means nessecary.

Theres enough **** on the streets, Ill be damned if it comes to my home .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

murder in your home is legal?!?!

NICE!!

this is gonna make getting the TV remote off my brothers so much easier:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

uwala wrote: »
    As5hole Dermot Ahern once again trying to make a name for himself before he eventually tries for Taoiseach.

imagine his CV:

"increased the profitability of drug dealing and enhanced the product range of gangland criminals.
    made it illegal to take the lord's name in vain.
    ensured that priests faced no criminal charges or investigation in the face of thousands of rape allegations, and made sure the gheys were not allowed to get married."

I can see it now:

"if i were Taoiseach, i would rename the country 'the holy roman catholic republic of ireland', so please, grannies na hEireann, use your vote."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Murder or slef defence using deadly force??

Either way its a win - win for people with the balls to stand up to someone breaking into their homes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Yeah, all those hardened criminals will detest this news that someone has a right to clunk 'em over the head with a hurley stick.. or maybe they'll just arm themselves instead

Really all this is is the judicial system showing its inability to properly and consistently sentence people for such crimes.. they're passing the responsibility to fight crime onto you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Morlar wrote: »
    I know I am sneaking off to buy a shotgun & a rocking chair and to leave the window ajar after I post this. Come to papa.

Might wanna leave a trail of chocolate/heroin/money/naked ladies leading to your house, just to make sure they get there. :D Fairly sure you can't shoot out of the window though. Damn bureaucracy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Millicent wrote: »
    Might wanna leave a trail of chocolate/xxxxxx/money/naked ladies leading to your house, just to make sure they get there. :D Fairly sure you can't shoot out of the window though. Damn bureaucracy!

Hey if I could muster up a trail of those I'd lock that window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

so what? if you go into someones house with the intention of robbing it and probably the intention of hurting the occupiers if they get in your way you deserve everything you get.

you don't happen to be from the criminal loving irish council for civil liberties do you?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

easyeason3 wrote: »
    Santa's gonna be fcuked this year.
    A tune suddenly came into my head "I saw mama sucking..." :pac:

Sucked and f**ked - Santa would be so lucky! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Dr Strange

Santa's gonna be fcuked this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭doncarlos

You also need an unregistered/ stolen firearm to place beside the burgular after you shoot him/ her.

Not at all just stick one of your kitchen knives in his hand. Hey presto you shot an armed intruder! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,102 ✭✭✭easyeason3

doncarlos wrote: »
    Not at all just stick one of your kitchen knives in his hand. Hey presto you shot an armed intruder! ;)

:eek: :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Carlos_Ray

Fantastic news. Its about time the laws in this country protected the law abiding citizens as opposed to the scum. I don't have a shot gun, but I'd love the opportunity to blow the head of some syringe wielding rat breaking into my house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

merry christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Woah. Some scumbag dying by result of you defending your home and family is murder now? Mind = Blown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭tc2010

Was this not brought in because someone broke into someones house, was attacked then sued the house owner for damages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Carlos_Ray wrote: »
    I don't have a shot gun, but I'd love the opportunity to blow the head of some syringe wielding rat breaking into my house.

As we know from a multitude of bad westerns, a shotgun only works outside, on the porch, with the swinging flyscreen door behind you.

Inside you need a pistol or a revolver ...neither of which you will get a permit for easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

And I doubt the law needed to be clarified for those who would be so inclined to attack an intruder.. what has the case been up until now? Someone breaks into your gaf and you sit upstairs muttering a rant about how the law forbids you from doing anything about a situation which may endanger your life? I doubt it.. anyone that would instinctively protect themselves by using force in a scenario like this would do so regardless of any law being clarified for them.

It's a fcuking cop-out by the state

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

tc2010 wrote: »
    Was this not brought in because someone broke into someones house, was attacked then sued the house owner for damages.

It's also happened when a burgler hurt himself breaking into a house. He sued and won against the home owners who were asleep at the time.

My memory of that case is a bit blurry though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭Highly Salami

I think this may have prompted it:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Death_of_John_Ward

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,102 ✭✭✭easyeason3

That's the general gist but if you read between the lines it really says 'Go on lads, take a pot shot at the scumbag in you're house, we'll look after you'.

I want a rifle from Santa :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

It's also happened when a burgler hurt himself breaking into a house. He sued and won against the home owners who were asleep at the time.

What was the case? I'd love to know if one really exists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Carlos_Ray

Yes it happens quite often. The scum bags seem to Know, and demand their rights. One of the reasons why people were calling for a change to the law. The audacity of these sh1ts is unbelieveable...

A scumbag robbed my car and was caught by the guards. The car was returned but it was wrecked. Inside the car I found a typical scum bag bubble jacket. Later that day, the Guards phoned and said that the scum bag wanted his coat back!!! I said that I found no coat and burnt it in my garden when I got off the phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Now all we have to do is get loosen up the gun laws and let the games begin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭peasant

And I doubt the law needed to be clarified for those who would be so inclined to attack an intruder.. what has the case been up until now? Someone breaks into your gaf and you sit upstairs muttering a rant about how the law forbids you from doing anything about a situation which may endanger your life? I doubt it.. anyone that would instinctively protect themselves by using force in a scenario like this would do so regardless of any law being clarified for them.

It's a fcuking cop-out by the state

It'll boost the gun trade though, either side of the fence.

In these recessionary times all trade increase should be welcomed :D:D:D

The minister is just creating new jobs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Thats what happens when you get a knock on the head when breaking in somewhere! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Lemegeton

This progressive society has gone toofar this time. Whatever next? Marijuana? Political correctness gone mad, I tells ya! source:http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/justice-minister-urges-restraint-ahead-of-new-home-protection-laws-466047.html

if a scumbag breaks into your home and threatens your safety and your family then all their rights go out the window and it should be legal to blow their head off, and now thankfully it will be.