Dumbass Clampers

MidlandsM wrote: »
    Regardless of the wrong doings of the woman, the clampers should not have lifted the car - PERIOD!
    They knew what they were doing but seemed to think they are a law onto themselves. Bad call.

Hello.
    She broke the law here too, by parking in a loading bay, she then tried to take the law into her own hands by stopping the clampers doing what they are suppossed to do when they find an illegally parked car.

She seemded to think she was a law unto herself! :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

MidlandsM wrote: »
    Regardless of the wrong doings of the woman, the clampers should not have lifted the car - PERIOD!
    They knew what they were doing but seemed to think they are a law onto themselves. Bad call.

Not saying they should have but her actions were disgraceful. Plus if she walks away from this and they get sacked: it's a green light for more people to act like the rule of the road don't apply to them.

Reprimand for the clampers and heavy fine and/or long driving ban (and a long chat with the social services about the responsibility of care to your children) for the mother should be the call here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,377 ✭✭✭✭Stark

I'm sick of this attitude. Why, exactly, are clampers the scum of the earth? Because they do their job?

Because in the case of private clampers, it's a completely unregulated industry and the only reason they get away with what they're doing is because of a lack of test cases taken against them (aside from one where the judge ruled that removing the clamp yourself was lawful).
    stovelid wrote:
    As for the idea that clampers are scum, I have no idea. All I know is that I've never been clamped, town away or ticketed because I don't insist on parking illegally like a selfish ****.

Well in my case, I didn't think I was a selfish **** for parking in the driveway of the home that I owned. As far as I'm concerned, they had no right to come onto my property, interfere with another piece of my property and charge me a fee for the privilege of being able to use my car again. Also, in the case of the Cork city clampers, I've often seen clampers wait next to a car in a disc parking space with a stop watch while paying no attention to the cars parked on double yellows and on bends half a kilometre up the road.

For the record, I think the mother was completely in the wrong in this scenario but people's attitudes against clampers and especially the privately operated firms like NCPS and APCOA are justified imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Stark wrote: »
    I've often seen clampers wait next to a car in a disc parking space with a stop watch while paying no attention to the cars parked on double yellows and on bends half a kilometre up the road.

If the driver gets back to their car before the ticket runs out, they'll have no problem will they?

But fair enough, I said I had no idea if they all were or not. I'm talking about the vast number of people who think they can park where they like and bitch about it if they get caught.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

I did 3 days clamping with my father last week as he was stuck for a body. The abuse he had to take off díckheads who were in the wrong was unbelivable. They are doing a job, just like everyone else. Get over it. You park illegally, you run the risk of getting clamped/ticketed.

A couple of euro for a car park etc wont break the bank and you wont have to worry about a clamp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

Well in my case, I didn't think I was a selfish **** for parking in the driveway of the home that I owned. As far as I'm concerned, they had no right to come onto my property, interfere with another piece of my property and charge me a fee for the privilege of being able to use my car again.

I would imagine there is FAR more to this story than you are letting on.

If your car was parked in your DRIVEWAY and not sticking out onto the footpath, then what exactly was there reason to clamp your car?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,102 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Naos wrote: »

If your car was parked in your DRIVEWAY and not sticking out onto the footpath, then what exactly was there reason to clamp your car?

For giggles?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

The job i was doing with my father last week was in a housing estate(apartments). The residents should have had permits to park in a parking spot. Most of them didnt have them(landlords fault), therefore they were clamped. Everyone was giving out saying that it was a disgrace.
    They were all told to get onto the landlords and get the money back as it was their fault. They hadnt paid their fees so hadnt received the permits to give to the residents.

Melion wrote: »
    The job i was doing with my father last week was in a housing estate(apartments). The residents should have had permits to park in a parking spot. Most of them didnt have them(landlords fault), therefore they were clamped. Everyone was giving out saying that it was a disgrace.
    They were all told to get onto the landlords and get the money back as it was their fault. They hadnt paid their fees so hadnt received the permits to give to the residents.

He said driveway - a driveway is defined as a short road leading to a private house.

The situation in your case is a mess altogether and should've been sorted by the landlords.
    easyeason3 wrote: »
    For giggles?

C'est possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭Wossack

wouldnt be surprised if it becomes a child protection issue, and the social services gets called in

daft behaviour by all involved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Lemegeton

the clampers were 100% percent in the right. the stupid bitch should be fined for being a cheapskate and parking illegally and then locked up for putting her children in danger.

They claimed a neighbour rang and asked for us to be clamped (but weren't willing to provide a transcript of the phone call or anything like that). They didn't bother to check with us before going ahead. We were told to send in an appeal, which we did including proof of ownership of the property, proof that we owned the car parked there and photographic evidence that ours was the car clamped and showing the house number and everything but all we got was a PFO form letter in response.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭happymondays

They claimed a neighbour rang and asked for us to be clamped (but weren't willing to provide a transcript of the phone call or anything like that). They didn't bother to check with us before going ahead.

thats exactly why private clampers should be banned from this country.
    Thier sole motivation is $$$$. How ridicolus is it that anyone can just ring up and get someone clamped, And then the clamper will refuse to unclamp it until they have been paid even though your parked perfectly legally in your own driveway.

Its exactly the same as extortion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

She wasn't on double yellows.
    She wasn't parked in front of a fire hydrant.
    she wasn't parked in such a way as to cause an obstruction to emergency services.
    She wasn't double parked.

What necessitated the towing of the car?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Kensington

she wasn't parked in such a way as to cause an obstruction to emergency services.

She was parked illegally?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

She was illegaly parked in a loading bay.

They claimed a neighbour rang and asked for us to be clamped (but weren't willing to provide a transcript of the phone call or anything like that). They didn't bother to check with us before going ahead. We were told to send in an appeal, which we did including proof of ownership of the property, proof that we owned the car parked there and photographic evidence that ours was the car clamped and showing the house number and everything but all we got was a PFO form letter in response.

How does that work exactly? You cannot just ring the company and ask to clamp on no grounds.

Was there a double yellow line in your driveway? No.
    Was there a sign stating "If you park, you'll be clamped"? No.

It was a private driveway - there is zero logic behind that.

Kensington wrote: »
    She was parked illegally?
    She was illegaly parked in a loading bay.

That's why she was clamped.

If she was there and about to move the vehicle anyway, why tow it?
    Simple answer is because they are cúnts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Kensington

She still broke the law.

How does that work exactly? You cannot just ring the company and ask to clamp on no grounds.

Was there a double yellow line in your driveway? No.
    Was there a sign stating "If you park, you'll be clamped"? No.

It was a private driveway - there is zero logic behind that.

Well that's how it works and that's why we badly need regulation for clampers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

its a disgrace that the woman got off without a fine, she used her kids as a tool to break the law fact. clampers imo were wrong to lift the car but in the heat of the moment they lost control of themselves as i say the woman at that point was rude towards them.

on the other topic about clampers, yes they are doing their job but some not all could do their job without the smugness and rudeness. it can be quite sad what little power can do to people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

The car wasn't clamped at any point. When they returned to their car, it was already on a harness ready to be lifted. Reasonable discourse leads one to the conclusion that the lads said "We'll release this for you but the fine is €___" and yer woman said "I'm not paying that" and the lads said "Grand, we'll hoist it outta here so." Just because someone returns to their illegally parked car before the clampers raise it onto their truck doesn't mean that they didn't commit a crime and shouldn't be held responsible. That much is up to the discretion of the clampers on scene.

A couple months ago, I was illegally parked (well legally parked and then after 4pm, the area turned into a clear way. Didn't realise this until I) returned to my car to find a sticker on the window and a clamp on the wheel and two clampers standing by the car. One of them says "Is this yours?", I say "Yeah sorry, I didn't see the clearway sign til just now" and he goes "Ah sure no bother" and removes the clamp for free. He didn't have to do that at all, I was clearly in the wrong but he did it anyway. If he hadn't? I woulda paid up and not complained. He was doing his job and I was being negligent. Shít happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Lemegeton wrote: »
    the clamper's were 100% percent in the right. the stupid bitch should be fined for being a cheapskate and parking illegally and then locked up for putting her children in danger.
    She didn't put them in danger, she allowed them into her own private motor car. The clampers put them in grave danger by illegally lifting the car with them inside.

According to recovery vehicle regulations they are not supposed to lift any vehicle with someone inside.

If one of the children panicked, opened a door fell out and cracked his skull off the ground the company would be up for manslaughter.

Clamper's are horrible people and I hope the HSA and Gardai carry out a full investigation and sack these thugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

Simple answer is because they are ***** get more money.

FYP

ok...both parties are wrong here - she illegally parked in a loading bay and should have been removed from the parking spot to allow for other users to legally use the space (if it was a disabled bay the same procedure should follow, if it was a double yellows she should have been clamped)

I'm by no means a fan of the clampers but they almost did the right thing - just didnt work fast enough - if they had gotten it off the ground before the "Happy Shoppers" returned then mum would have learned a valuable lesson.

like others have said there needs to be proper regulation and enforcement:
    A car illegally parked in a space needs to be removed from the space to allow others to legally use it (this includes when time is up on your parking ticket, parking in disabled bays and parking in loading bays) .... parking on double yellows - unless it causes and obstruction car should be clamped and towed after 24hrs.

I used to get clamped fairly often in Dublin - until one of the clampers made a snide comment to me indicating next time I'm parked in a loading bay (I have a commercial vehicle) he's gonna clamp me straight away ..... basically I used to have the van in a loading bay in excess of 30mins at a time - regularly...and it often coincided with the clampers patrolling the area. .... Needless to say I searched for some free spaces near where I used to park and now just drive around until I find a suitable free spot ...and sometimes run the risk by not paying (if I get clamped it will be my fault - but given how often some sections of road are patrolled ....I reckon I'm safe)

...the clampers in dublin have a number of hot-spots where you will always see them driving around for several reasons:
    1. the signs are different to normal (ie. clearway from 3pm-7pm)
    2. the people in the areas they check - will pay a clamping fee (no bother)
    3. less chance of being assaulted/spat at and verbally abused.

Kensington wrote: »
    She still broke the law.
    Great.
    Shoot her in front of her kids then rape her corpse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,476 ✭✭✭markpb

Clamper's are horrible people and I hope the HSA and Gardai carry out a full investigation and sack these thugs.

Your arguments would be a whole lot more convincing if you weren't so openly biased.

Do you disagree that the woman a) broke the law and b) used her children to try to avoid the penalty?

markpb wrote: »
    Your arguments would be a whole lot more convincing if you weren't so openly biased.

Do you disagree that the woman a) broke the law and b) used her children to try to avoid the penalty?

She was parking on a loading bay, not a clearway. A fine would have been sufficient.

If she had allowed her childern into the car the clampers should have immediatly stopped the lifting process and called the Gardai to settle the dispute.

Instead of that they decided to take the law into their own hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,476 ✭✭✭markpb

She was parking on a loading bay, not a clearway. A fine would have been sufficient.

The RTA doesn't specify any gradients of parking offences - just parking offences. She broke the law and then used her children to avoid the punishment.
    If she had allowed her childern into the car the clampers should have immediatly stopped the lifting process and called the Gardai to settle the dispute.

Agreed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭eightyfish

She didn't put them in danger, she allowed them into her own private motor car. The clampers put them in grave danger by illegally lifting the car with them inside.

Grave danger? Really?

She's a bint who used her kids to try to get out of a parking fine that she should have paid.

That's all there is to the story, really.

eightyfish wrote: »
    Grave danger? Really?

She's a bint who used her kids to try to get out of a parking fine that she should have paid.

That's all there is to the story, really.

she could still have recieved a parking fine without this but the thugs wanted more.