Would you go out by yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I'm looking forward to moving to a new place and going out on my own, remembering that no one knows me and I can try what I like

But at home... no, nation of f*cking gossips we are

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

I go to the pub on my own quiet often, i guess im used of it having travelled the world on my own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,363 ✭✭✭Barr

Couldn’t do it. Whenever I had to wait on someone I always felt paranoid. I thought people were looking at me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭RoRoCullen

No way in hell would I go out alone lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Barr wrote: »
    Couldn’t do it. Whenever I had to wait on someone I always felt paranoid. I thought people were looking at me.

They're still looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭LilMsss

I have no problem doing a lot of things alone: I've travelled to different countries alone, taken trips, gone for dinner etc. but I draw the line at going out drinking and definitely not to a niteclub alone (then again, I was never a fan of niteclubs even in my younger days!).

When I was younger I didn't even like going to a cafe on my own ... was sooooooo paranoid that people were looking at me or judging me etc. Over the years I've gotten over that and have no problems going for lunch, coffee, meals etc. on my own.

As a woman, it's very difficult to go to a pub alone. During the day I'd have no problem and would probably bring a magazine or newspaper, but once it hits evening time I think you would start getting looks, and hassle from men who assume you're at a bar alone for one reason and one reason alone.

I know plenty of men who have no problem sitting in a pub on their own for the night, and have met a few girls on nights out who have gone out clubbing on their own (new city etc.) but the few I have met were strange in their own way!

It's a pity you're in Limerick OP cos otherwise we could arrange a night out, solving your problem there and then! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,458 ✭✭✭Dartz

No.

I hate myself. I'm terrible company.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Nope, I just go out to have a laugh with my friends

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I can't go out. Someone needs to look after the child, make the dinner & do the ironing. :p

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

what's ironing, you must be post op hmm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

what's ironing, you must be post op hmm

I must've gone mental & ironed my cock off. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

I go to the boozer a fair bit on my own to watch football or cricket. I went to a nightclub on my own once before. I was drinking all day and nobody would go out so i said feck them and went out and sat at the bar for a couple, then got bored and went home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭cat_dog

No, I wouldnt go out at night by myself to a club or something, I'm a girl, and it would feel wrong. I would go to a concert or gig though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,363 ✭✭✭Barr

Fizman wrote: »
    They're still looking.

***looks over shoulder***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,581 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

mink_man wrote: »
    do ya still suck the tit?

Do you still troll? :rolleyes:

I've been to nightclubs on my own before, but for club nights with DJs that I like, not for the typical Irish nightclub/latebar music and drinking. I'll go on my own again if I want to go and nobody wants to come. Same way for going clubbing abroad (in the UK mostly). Great way to spend a night and fly back the next morning shattered but happy :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Do you still troll? :rolleyes:

I've been to nightclubs on my own before, but for club nights with DJs that I like, not for the typical Irish nightclub/latebar music and drinking. I'll go on my own again if I want to go and nobody wants to come. Same way for going clubbing abroad (in the UK mostly). Great way to spend a night and fly back the next morning shattered but happy :)

Fair play.

I wouldn't be able to do that drunk or sober

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭Dermo

I wouldn't go to a club with my friends, I'm more of a band person, so I wouldn't go near a club on my own anyway.

But I have had many a drunken night on my own in a pub that isn't my local. I love meeting new people, random drunken conversations about nothing and everything. If I want to get a bit of writing done I feel that alcohol and randomness helps. I don't do it too often, but any time I'm feeling lonely or in need of inspiration the perfect solution is going for a few on my own, speaking a few words of wisdom with the barman/random folk and it does the world of good.

A lot of my friends thinks it's weird but they understand my reasoning behind it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,581 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

staker wrote: »
    Fair play.

I wouldn't be able to do that drunk or sober

It's tough but in fairness if you go out in Dublin you could spend €100 getting outta your face, taxis, food etc

Flights on Ryanair to London Gatwick late on Friday, early home Saturday - €30.
    Trains - €20 return.
    Tube to Ministry of Sound - €5.
    Entrance - €15.
    Food (breakfast) - €10
    Drink - €50
    Epic night with great music and atmosphere - €0

Total - €130

I know what one I prefer. It's even cheaper if you go to Manchester, which I did on Friday night -- Flights were €35. Train return was €10. Club entry was €15. Drink - €40. Breakfast - €10.

Absolutely shattered arriving home at 9am but a little power nap and it's all good. You'll always meet people around if you're not that shy, I'm fairly shy but it doesn't hurt to say hello.

I wouldn't go out to a regular "best of the 90s/00s" club though. It's not my scene unless I've got friends there to keep me occupied :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

I BRING MY DOG FOR A WALK THEN I GO FOR A FEW PINTS ON MY OWN THE DOG HEADS HOME AS HE PREFERS TO DRINK A FEW BOTTLES AT HOME WITH THE CAT:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Only ever gone drinking on my own once, when I was in a hotel for a training conference. I had a pint in the residents bar before I decided to hit the hay, and I did feel a bit weird. Don't think I'd be in a hurry to do it again.

A pint in the residents bar is not "going drinking".

I have zero problem going out on my own. I wouldn't do it so much at home but will do it when travelling no bother. I sometimes will go out at home on my own if I'm in a mood to go out and noone else is. To be honest some of the most interesting nights I've had have been when I've gone out on my own. If you go out with your usual crew you know how the night goes. Drinks in someones house, usual banter and stories, club, dancing, lads trying to pick up and failing, maybe chipper, home, same as last week. If you go out on your own, especially when travelling you can have the most interesting and random nights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭FunnyStuff

I dont see whats wrong with it really. Like to go out the odd time, have a nice steak, couple of pints and read the paper. We're adults, why the **** would it be wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

mink_man wrote: »
    is brunnytom in ireland for trying to find some bummysex?

Erm... No?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

I get doing it during the day, I wouldn't so much have a problem with that, have a drink read a paper etc. I more so meant having a proper night out by yourself. Purposely going out to drink, knowing no friends are going to be out. I think for some reason I would find it easier to go out when in a different country / on holidays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

easyeason3 wrote: »
    Really?
    I wouldn't dream of setting foot in a pub on my own unless I had a paper/ magazine in hand while having lunch.

Going out to a nightclub on my own? No fcuking way!

Wish I had more confidence :(

Yeah, when my friends don't feel like heading out I will.... not to a pub though, unless there is a match I want to see on.

Nightclubs are grand places to go on your own. If you find it hard meeting new people its good to go alone, cause you kind of have to or else you will have a crap time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

I've been to a few concerts by myself if it's a band my friends don't want to see. It always went well, even made some new friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭jd83

No, wouldnt enjoy going to pub on my one. Especialy a nightclub. Id be bored with no one to talk to.

If you live in a small enough town and head to a busy enough spot you're bound to run into people you know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

FunnyStuff wrote: »
    I dont see whats wrong with it really. Like to go out the odd time, have a nice steak, couple of pints and read the paper. We're adults, why the **** would it be wrong?
    The problem with Ireland is that too many people believe there's only one "correct" way to live your life, and everyone else's business is your own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Roomic Cube

I do sometimes, I enjoy it, usually I meet people I know anyway and end up having a good time with them, If I dont meet people I know I end up getting to know new people so it's all good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Bog

Pace2008 wrote: »
    The problem with Ireland every single country in the world is that too many people believe there's only one "correct" way to live your life, and everyone else's business is your own.

FYP