Would you go out by yourself?

• 17-07-2010 11:29PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Just wondering does anybody ever go out drinking etc by themselves? It seems to me to be an odd thing to do by yourself, but if you're in the mood to go out, and have no one to go with, what do you do.

opinions please.

No I've fecked it up, so now can't add a poll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I'd go up to the local the odd time by myself alright-but i go up early and out early,before the place is packed. I wouldn't go to a club or something by myself though no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Dunjohn

No, because I have no friends so there's no point.

I wonder how many boardsies think that this is a sarcastic post...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

No,not here anyway.
    Small town = everyone knows what everyone does every minute of the day.

Dunjohn wrote: »
    No, because I have no friends so there's no point.

I wonder how many boardsies think that this is a sarcastic post...?

You don't go out on your own cos you have no friends?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Dunjohn

alwaysadub wrote: »
    You don't go out on your own cos you have no friends?:confused:
    Mm-hmm.

Dunjohn wrote: »
    Mm-hmm.

But if you're going out alone, you don't need any friends. Hence the 'alone' part...:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭SIX PACK

i suppose if you were off your head you wouldn't mind. yes iv gone out a few times by myself Not sit in a pub on my own. Just to a busy Niteclub

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

SIX PACK wrote: »
    i suppose if you were off your head you wouldn't mind. yes iv gone out a few times by myself Not sit in a pub on my own. Just to a busy Niteclub

And how did it go? would you continue to do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Nemanja91

I wouldn't go out by myself, chances are you would meet someone you know anyway. I would think it is easier to get talking to someone when you are on your own?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Cullen82

But if you're going out alone, you don't need any friends. Hence the 'alone' part...:)

tut tut tut alwaysadub:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Winty

I have to, I dont have many friends

Cullen82 wrote: »
    tut tut tut alwaysadub:o

Yeah ive just gotten that post now:o:o
    I'm a bit tired ya know:pac:

Yeah ive just gotten that post now:o:o
    I'm a bit tired ya know:pac:

I like the way you were halfway down his throat when you realised:D

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I did once in Tenerife.. the person I was with at the time didn't want to go out that night and there was a big Radio1 party on, so I donned my glad rags and gave him the 2 fingers :D great night.. met a hen party from Belfast and hung out with them til the early hours..

Here, no I wouldn't go out by myself.. just too many reasons tbh..

xzanti wrote: »
    I did once in Tenerife.. the person I was with at the time didn't want to go out that night and there was a big Radio1 party on, so I donned my glad rags and gave him the 2 fingers :D great night.. met a hen party from Belfast and hung out with them til the early hours..

Here, no I wouldn't go out by myself.. just too many reasons tbh..

Agreed, It's a lot different here. I'd go down the local alone but I know there'll be someone there no matter the time or day that I'd have a pint with.

Have gone out umpteen times abroad by myself, sometimes nothing of much interest happened but depending on where it was it would usually end up being a randomly good night:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I'm just back from the Irish centre, where I went on me todd. Was hoping I might bump into people I know, but most of them are in drunshanbo at the moment.

Went to see a band, who were class, so it was worth it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,102 ✭✭✭easyeason3

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

When the weather is good, there's nothing better than spending the afternoon sitting outside with a pint, a newspaper, and a fresh pack of smokes. If Dublin had better weather, Grogan's would be my second office. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Used to go to the local every night on my own but more locals would come in plus the bar man was sound and be on for the crack the whole time. Used to be on the road with work staying overnight in different towns so would have a few pints every night cos I would not know anyone from that town but alot of the time start chatting the locals and end up getting hammered drunk. One night I ended up drinking whiskey from a cup at three in the morning after a local darts recruited me to chalk the scores and they won. Jesus I was poluted and gave the worst presention to a client the next day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Only ever gone drinking on my own once, when I was in a hotel for a training conference. I had a pint in the residents bar before I decided to hit the hay, and I did feel a bit weird. Don't think I'd be in a hurry to do it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

Used to go to the local every night on my own but more locals would come in plus the bar man was sound and be on for the crack the whole time. Used to be on the road with work staying overnight in different towns so would have a few pints every night cos I would not know anyone from that town but alot of the time start chatting the locals and end up getting hammered drunk. One night I ended up drinking whiskey from a cup at three in the morning after a local darts recruited me to chalk the scores and they won. Jesus I was poluted and gave the worst presention to a client the next day
    Legend :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Often go out for a few on me tod, would be after work 5.30 ish til about 9-10ish. Best time of the day imo.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

Only ever gone drinking on my own once, when I was in a hotel for a training conference. I had a pint in the residents bar before I decided to hit the hay, and I did feel a bit weird. Don't think I'd be in a hurry to do it again.

You'd make a poor alcoholic.

I would have no issue with going out alone if no-one else was around, and I had nothing better to do. Imagine it gets pretty boring though unless your pretty wasted and willing to strike up alot of conversation with strangers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭t4k30

I'd you can't wait to drink with your friends then you are an alcoholic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

is brunnytom in ireland for trying to find some bummysex?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I have gone to a nightclub by myself a few times... sure why not? Had some good craic too. All you would do normally is go with a few friends and odds are ye wud get separated anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,102 ✭✭✭easyeason3

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    I have gone to a nightclub by myself a few times... sure why not? Had some good craic too. All you would do normally is go with a few friends and odds are ye wud get separated anyway.

Really?
    I wouldn't dream of setting foot in a pub on my own unless I had a paper/ magazine in hand while having lunch.

Going out to a nightclub on my own? No fcuking way!

Wish I had more confidence :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I got out to the shops on my own. I even go to work on my own. Mummy stopped bringing me last year as she said I was getting too old, and needed to be more independent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

do ya still suck the tit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭Reesy

When the weather is good, there's nothing better than spending the afternoon sitting outside with a pint, a newspaper, and a fresh pack of smokes. If Dublin had better weather, Grogan's would be my second office. :p

+1 except for the smokes.