Paul The Octopus

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

laugh wrote: »
    I think we should kidnap him, and finally answer the question that has stumped mankind for a long time,

daddy or chips.

that one's been answered:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

how many germans do you know called paul ffs

Gerhard or Andreas maybe but paul

I am saddened and disgusted to the point of knowing about this kind of crap
    that I am now coming up with a plan to stab the fooker in the liverz :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

me@ucd wrote: »

Gerhard or Andreas maybe but paul

He is an English octopus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Apanachi

Actually quite a few (including my neighbours cat ;)

In fact I know more Germans called Paul, as I do that are called Gerhard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,291 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

I bet ye that Octopus got *SO* much ass last nite

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

laugh wrote: »
    Really I want the lotto numbers but this octopus only seems to deal with binary questions.

I think it's pure fluke... He's got a 50 / 50 chance of getting it right/wrong... It's been shown twice before he was wrong...

Seriously no different then flipping a coin on it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

PAUL BREITNER
    Scored in the World Cup Final for Germany in 74 and 82

PAUL EHRLICH
    Nobel Prize winner

PAUL VON HINDENBERG
    President of Germany

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Pauleta wrote: »

aw no he has retired :( he must be getting old! he is a legend! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭ORLY?

I think it's pure fluke... He's got a 50 / 50 chance of getting it right/wrong... It's been shown twice before he was wrong...

Seriously no different then flipping a coin on it...

It's not the same as flipping a coin. The probability of predicting 8 consecutive matches correctly is 1 in 256.

Now, it still may be pure fluke.

I think it's more likely that there is some bias in his selection that makes it more likely he'll pick the right box e.g. he may have a preference for the German flag, Germany are more likely to win than to lose as they are a good team, so Paul is more likely to make correct predictions than would happen by random chance.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

ORLY? wrote: »
    It's not the same as flipping a coin. The probability of predicting 8 consecutive matches correctly is 1 in 256.

Now, it still may be pure fluke.

I think it's more likely that there is some bias in his selection that makes it more likely he'll pick the right box e.g. he may have a preference for the German flag, Germany are more likely to win than to lose as they are a good team, so Paul is more likely to make correct predictions than would happen by random chance.

But the probability is still 50/50 before each match regardless of what results he has got right before that.

Or maybe they put female octopus pheromones/extra food in the statistically stronger teams food box.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭ORLY?

sesna wrote: »
    But the probability is still 50/50 before each match regardless of what results he has got right before that.

Yep.If there were another game tomorrow, the probability he would get it right (if it is random) is 1 in 2, whether he has predicted 8 or 800 games correct previously.

But the probability of him having had the streak he has had is 1 in 256.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

peanuthead wrote: »
    fair play. I never act on these things. Once got a tip about a 66-1 horse, was gonna put a fiver on him, never bothered. He won.

Just out of curiosity, was that horse Golden Cross and the race in Leopardstown in December 2003?? If so I also didnt have money on him (Ive gotten over it though, honestly)

Oh and maybe they could get Paul to decide who should win the Leinster final!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭onemorechance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,955 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Paul is a real legend. :cool: He'll be remembered for years to come and retiring while he's a the top is the best thing to do.:D Octopeds have been shown to be hightly intelligent - more intelligent than many large mammals.

Maybe we should have this hightly intelligent octopus running the country instead of the current shower of buffoonous bipeds?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

I very much like that he's called "Paul" too. Lends him an air of thoughtful authority.

Oddly, only works because he's an octopus, I mean I don't naturally have more respect for people called Paul.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭blueshark22

I very much like that he's called "Paul" too. Lends him an air of thoughtful authority.

Oddly, only works because he's an octopus, I mean I don't naturally have more respect for people called Paul.

I wonder if the football wasn't so bad for the majority of the world cup , would we have ever heard of Paul?, btw I love him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭TerryTibbs!

Jesus, People are stupid.

Ah , you gotta love him....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭TerryTibbs!

Ah , you gotta love him....
    No I don't. I picked all the winners too, I showed profit for it. Paul lives in a tank in Germany.

I gotta laugh at him.

No I don't. I picked all the winners too, I showed profit for it. Paul lives in a tank in Germany.

I gotta laugh at him.

HeHe so you have the same mental capacity as Paul the Octopus?? I love him anyway , hope the Spanish authorities get to bring him to Spain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

it's funny though.

I gotta laugh at him.

Paul picked 8 outta 8 winners.

You prove yours so :cool: