Do students piss you off, or are you just jealous!

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭Nehpets

atari yoke
    I'm just beoming a student! Hooraaw for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

atari yoke
    The first time I was in college I found it a pain in the arse. There were loads of the daddy pays for eveything type, I spent ages getting there and back and because of that I never had time for a part-time job.
    So between hours of traveling and no money I also had no social life which really just made college feel like secodary school.

The type of student that used to annoy me was the super eager SU type.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,418 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

I dont mind students
    Years ago I, along with most of my work colleagues at the time, frequented a well known Dublin city centre pub (that shall remain nameless) on a very regular basis. We were on first name terms with all the staff, got Christmas drinks, had pints put on for us if we were spotted coming through the door, etc., in other words we spent a LOT of time there. Then, unfortunately, completely out of the blue it started to become popular with students. So popular, in fact, that some nights it felt like we had wandered into the wrong bar. The staff complained that the place was constantly full of students but that they never bought anything. Eventually we started to take our business elsewhere as it became impossible to enjoy a pint there. In time the students moved on and we returned briefly, but by this time the bar staff were all new and it just didn't feel like the same old place. I still drop in occasionally as I love the pub, but those occasions are rare enough now.

So, to answer the original question , yes, students piss me off. A lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,372 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I thought that students were great when I was at college.
    For years after college I was sympathetic.
    I don't like them at all now though, hate 'em in fact.

"Dad, can you send me a couple of hundred Euro?...(long silent pause)... My grant's been held up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭angelbaby

I am a student
    dont mind students..in fact im jealous because im taking a year out this year and im missing the student life already!!!:( but hey it wont stop me going out as much and joinin in with them!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

I dont mind students
    I'm jealous as fook of the bastids!!! College was an absolute ball, would love to go back and do it all over again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I am a student
    I'm hoping to be one within a couple of months.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Terry wrote:
    I'm hoping to be one within a couple of months.

Repeating play school for the 22nd year in a row doesn't count Terry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,240 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Blackhall Place, where you're paid to go to college.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

I am a student
    most of the negative posts here seem to be about the few little rich kids who dont work
    if your gonna complain about student remember that most work part time and subsidise themselves.
    i worked every weekend then enjoyed the fruits of my labour during the week....ahhh the joy of not having to get up till home and away(the1.30 one)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I am a student
    I'm on a year out, and I hate the fact that now that college is back I have to get up 30 minutes earlier (and leave my house at 6.30) to make it to work for 8.30 :( Bloody buses full of students >.<

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,372 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I feel sorry for the poor students who get charged big bucks by some tight-fisted landlords for the privilege of sharing a vermin-infested kip with about ten other students. These landlords seem to be the same greedy tax-dodging bas****s who come up with some feeble excuse not to hand back a student's deposit at the end of the let. I also feel sorry for the students who have their belongings and supplies used or lifted by their thieving flat-mates.

That's all for now!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Gingervitis

atari yoke
    Just back in college for final year psychology (it's in the arts course but i dont think i'd fit the stereotype!) Was actually at a party at the weekend full of UCD heads, and guess where half of them had been? Thailand!
    I worked over the summer, but that money'll be lucky to last till Christmas...

It all depends on the type of student, more of them are normal than you think, (although with freshers week in NUIG on at de mo you wouldn't think it!)

Best thing about college is you get what you put in, which leaves room for compromise between getting twisted and working, though it's a fine line for some

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

I am a student
    Terry wrote:
    I'm hoping to be in one within a couple of months.

Thats more like it i think! :D

Don't mind students in general, i just dislike the pretentious ones that are usually in the Students Union and walk around with this air of up their own holeishness.

Oh and first years, mostly because i wish i was back at that age where everything was new and interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Ain'tConFused

I dont mind students
    Enigma my arse, they're annoying *****, all of them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Ain'tConFused

I dont mind students
    PROJECT MAYHEM: the whole idea of "the student" is a huge enigma in society.
    :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

I am a student
    Students are grand mostly, but there are two that stand out that im tempted to punch.

1. Arts students. Not all of them, but the ones who wear the stupid "unique" clothes trying to have a really differet fashion sense, normally working in Topshop. Populate some pubs around town with their **** talk and i swear i wish they'd all get hit by a bus. You know the ones i mean. The kind of students you walk past and think, "what the hell was th....oh wait, it's just a wanker".

2. Most of the computer science students at Trinity. Nuff' said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

Feckin hippie scumbags :mad:, things were different in my day, no paul the octopus to help with exams :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,244 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

atari yoke
    I'm a student and I hate them.

I'm 19 going on 40, I swear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

This is so 2007