Kelly Brook snapped with 16-year old Beach Hunk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

RedRebel wrote: »
    To be fair, The Sun is hardly what I'd call 'Gentlemen's Club' worthy. It's a rag. Its stories are rubbish, editorial and journalistic quality is non-existent and the language they use makes my ears cry.

totally agree, and if you'd posted that in the first place, there'd be no issue. But calling another poster a pleb isn't on, and of course, he's free to read any paper he wants whatever you or I may think of it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭RedRebel

tbh wrote: »
    totally agree, and if you'd posted that in the first place, there'd be no issue. But calling another poster a pleb isn't on, and of course, he's free to read any paper he wants whatever you or I may think of it :)

Point taken. Name calling isn't a very gentlemanly behavior :( . Apologies to OP.

I'll rephrase and say that The Sun is imo a miserable rag custom made to be consumed by uneducated plebs and while the OP is of course perfectly free to read whatsoever he wishes I believe he does himself a disservice by reading it.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Is your problem that a relationship between two consenting adults with a large age gap is not being treated as a scandal in this case or that it would be in the reverse scenario?

I personally don't see why it's an issue, or why (as mentioned earlier) it would have been a big deal when Chris Evans was with Billie Piper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

CDfm wrote: »
    Ok reverse the genders and -what would you think.And why is it different??
    I just don't think a woman is capable of taking advantage of a 16 year old boy the same way a man could do it to a 16 year old girl. I'd view the man as a predator and in time the girl would figure out what had happened and may be quite traumatised by it. I do not think this kid will ever feel traumatised by this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

RedRebel wrote: »
    To be fair, The Sun is hardly what I'd call 'Gentlemen's Club' worthy. It's a rag. Its stories are rubbish, editorial and journalistic quality is non-existent and the language they use makes my ears cry.
    If you are so smart why haven't you realised this thread has nothing to do with "The Sun". It doesn't matter if what is printed is true or not because the thread is just a discussion about older women going after young men and being treated differently than when a man does it.It clearly has nothing to do with Kelly Brooke or "The Sun".

SugarHigh wrote: »
    If you are so smart why haven't you realised this thread has nothing to do with "The Sun". It doesn't matter if what is printed is true or not because the thread is just a discussion about older women going after young men and being treated differently than when a man does it.It clearly has nothing to do with Kelly Brooke or "The Sun".

That aspect of this thread is now over. Rebel, don't reply

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

SugarHigh wrote: »
    I just don't think a woman is capable of taking advantage of a 16 year old boy the same way a man could do it to a 16 year old girl. I'd view the man as a predator and in time the girl would figure out what had happened and may be quite traumatised by it. I do not think this kid will ever feel traumatised by this.

I don't agree with you and a boy is capable as feeling just as vulnerable as a girl. Take the difference in suicide rates. The physical difference is penetration and we are talking "consensual" not "forceable" here

Esther Rantzen disagrees with you and she calls it Gender blindness as do Childline.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2009/nov/09/boys-sexual-abuse-childline

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-1228366/I-abused-woman-haunts-day.html

Forget about gender stereotyping here and I am not looking to ramp up the victim culture here.

Women havent had a reason to look at it until now either and I am not saying everyone is vulnerable here but in the same way a guy should refuse a willing consensual underage girl so to should a woman a young boy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

The way I see it, its simple...

the guys 16... when i was 16 i left home simpply because school sucked and well i decieded i thuaght it would be a great idea to chase my dreams I had a good time to..

I say fair play to the chap kelly brooke is hot :), if you were 16 and she asked you to go to the beach with her would you

A: say no

B: say yes....

Personally speaking id be there with in a jiffy my legs would touch the ground....

I'm sorry at 16 your nearly a man no question... you maybe wet behinde the ears but its a fact... any one who say s a 16 year old is a boy needs there heads cheacked because majority of people I know who where 16
    were smoked lot of drug went magic mushroom picking, partyed drank shaged younger girls......

so what hes 16 so what shes 30... granted it appears desperate but sure...
    having said that when i lived in kerry lads at 26 where going out with 17 year old girls....

my grandad was 14 years younger then my granny...

So Snowie & I don't have a pulpit here (is that my 17 y/o daughter I hear knocking from under the stairs) but consensual sex and consent is a nasty subject.

Girls vs boys -I dont see too much of a difference -except the risk of pregnancy rather than the act. More the mans culpability or equal.

Should a boy under 18 get a girl or woman pregnant -should he ever have to pay maintenance??

OT
    why i see it, weather the womans 30 nd the boy 16 or the girl is 17, and the male 30...

If hes man enough to not use a condom then hes man enough to deal with all the consaquences...weather hes 16 or 30 my daughters wellfaire would be my main priority and if that measn setting a rot wiler on him to snap into line so be it...

And a girl of the same age -is she too mentally feeble to understand the situation about sperm being contagious.

So for that matter if you have a sexually active girl by her own choice -who has adequete contraception and barrier protection all should be equal then or is it??

And just say our 16 y/o gets a 30 year old pregnant -how should maintenance work if she initiates the sex.

And a girl of the same age -is she too mentally feeble to understand the situation about sperm being contagious.

So for that matter if you have a sexually active girl by her own choice -who has adequete contraception and barrier protection all should be equal then or is it??

And just say our 16 y/o gets a 30 year old pregnant -how should maintenance work if she initiates the sex.

It doesnt affect me im not in that situation. :pac:

Hey hey Snowie - you are sitting on the fence quite expertly there ;)

But really, it is a difficult question & it is a moral and ethical question for women but can be a criminal prosecution for a man.

Now I am not making light of the consequences for a woman which could include pregnancy and/or abortion but a woman taling advantage of a boy could put him in all kinds of bother he is not emotionally equiped to handle.

It goes beyond the sex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

But really, it is a difficult question & it is a moral and ethical question for women but can be a criminal prosecution for a man.

Now I am not making light of the consequences for a woman which could include pregnancy and/or abortion but a woman taling advantage of a boy could put him in all kinds of bother he is not emotionally equiped to handle.

It goes beyond the sex.

Surely a man taking advantage of a girl also puts her in all kinds of bother she may not be emotionally equipped to handle too? And how is a young man any less the father of any baby he makes than an older man? Or any young girl any less a mother for that matter?

If a young man should be exempt from maintenance if he gets an older woman pregnant, what exemptions should a young girl get if she get pregnant by an older man?

No exemptions apply really. If you're over the age of consent, you take the consequences like a man/woman.

The ethical and moral considerations apply to both genders, and a man can't be crimminally prosecuted if the girl is over the age of consent.

Which the young man is, by UK law, in the OP.

Giselle wrote: »
    Surely a man taking advantage of a girl also puts her in all kinds of bother she may not be emotionally equipped to handle too? And how is a young man any less the father of any baby he makes than an older man? Or any young girl any less a mother for that matter?
    ................................................................................................................

Which the young man is, by UK law, in the OP.

Exactly, but a young lad faced with kelly brook in the nip may not make the rational choice.I am saying the rules should apply accross the board as should the morals and ethics. The story looks bogus to me.

I know a few guys who have settled down happily with older women and are together years later.

The issue is a big issue in the USA with the female teacher thing poping up a lot -excuse the source of the link.

http://www.wnd.com/?pageId=33895

Age of consent is not the only issue at play as you say -you have financial and legal responsibilities too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

Exactly, but a young lad faced with kelly brook in the nip may not make the rational choice.I am saying the rules should apply accross the board as should the morals and ethics. The story looks bogus to me.

I know a few guys who have settled down happily with older women and are together years later.

The issue is a big issue in the USA with the female teacher thing poping up a lot -excuse the source of the link.

http://www.wnd.com/?pageId=33895

Age of consent is not the only issue at play as you say -you have financial and legal responsibilities too.

I don't see any relevance there to my post, or the post I was addressing.

There's no comparison between two people above the age of consent and a teacher abusing their position of authority and trust with a minor.

Male teachers do it too btw, but the female ones are more newsworthy and sensational I suppose.

And I hate all this business about lads not making rational choices when faced with beautiful women in the 'nip'. Its just too close to the old argument that men can't help themselves and are slaves to their instincts. It just sells all men short.

Giselle wrote: »
    I don't see any relevance there to my post, or the post I was addressing.

There's no comparison between two people above the age of consent and a teacher abusing their position of authority and trust with a minor.

Male teachers do it too btw, but the female ones are more newsworthy and sensational I suppose.

And I hate all this business about lads not making rational choices when faced with beautiful women in the 'nip'. Its just too close to the old argument that men can't help themselves and are slaves to their instincts. It just sells all men short.

What I am saying is that there is a school of thought that it does matter.I put the link in to show what was happening in other countries.

Men teachers do it too. You are right that men are often portrayed as helpless. Also a young guy may be more influenced and is human too.It is not without consequences.

Now put a young guy with a determined older woman and who knows what might happen.So as a society the issue is avoided or put to one side when a young guy is involved. That is probably the point the OP was highlighting.

So Giselle -how do you see the differences between boys and girls in that comtext ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

A lot gossip pages and websites heavily hint at her being in the closet so that in mind with stories about her. A lof of it is clearly PR.

I heard a radio interview with an ex-model who said the best paid job in modeling in the UK in the early 1980s was George Michaels girlfriend -so rovert you have a point and homosexuality in an entertainer is a hard sell .

Good point -she would be caught between the devil and the bright blue sea denying this. They could be attempting to out her.Which would be wrong.

That is as it is, but on the face of it there is a double standard with older women getting sexually involved with boys who have reached puberty or are in their mid teens and some women don't seem to think it is wrong.

I heard a radio interview with an ex-model who said the best paid job in modeling in the UK in the early 1980s was George Michaels girlfriend -so rovert you have a point and homosexuality in an entertainer is a hard sell .

Good point -she would be caught between the devil and the bright blue sea denying this. They could be attempting to out her.Which would be wrong.

That is as it is, but on the face of it there is a double standard with older women getting sexually involved with boys who have reached puberty or are in their mid teens and lots of women don't seem to think it is wrong.

lots of people don't seem to think it is wrong, and lots of people do. Your gender doesn't predispose you to have one opinion or the other.

CD, lets not turn this into another "men vs women" thread.

tbh wrote: »
    lots of people don't seem to think it is wrong, and lots of people do. Your gender doesn't predispose you to have one opinion or the other.

CD, lets not turn this into another "men vs women" thread.

Sorry, I worded that too loosely and didn't mean to imply anything about gender.

I have changed it to some women as that is more accurate.

Sorry, I worded that too loosely and didn't mean to imply anything about gender.

That's cool, you know how it is :)

Hey hey Snowie - you are sitting on the fence quite expertly there ;)

i like my fence i get 360 views..... :)

yeah but hes 16 and or over.... that means bye law he has a certain amount of leeway to a degree he needs to begin making dessions and learning how to except the consaquences...Imo to many people wrap there kids up in cottin wool Its partly why so many people are so crayxy because there parent have sheltered them its not healthy for a child.

at 16 i decided i wasnt going back to school I told my parents i smoked hash I started making my own dessions and you no what my old man encouraged it which in turned forced me to seek his council which is nothing short of genious and at 28 years o age there no one else council i hole in higher standered then my fathers he wasnt an athority figure he reinvented him self as a father as me and my brother grew older. thast the job of a father.

It goes beyond the sex.

again, he should be when hes 18 granted daddys credit card wont run out but if he cant deal with simple things like women issues what good he going to be, i think that kinda experence will effectivly be more befitoul then unbenaftiol hes ina privilged place to learn how to talk with stunning older women sorry in my views..

there s no better way for a young man to learn..

Hi Snowie - at one level I agree with you but at another my view is well hey she is the grown up and he is the child.

So I have to go with that and say that the older person needs to be the more responsible.

Hi Snowie - at one level I agree with you but at another my view is well hey she is the grown up and he is the child.

So I have to go with that and say that the older person needs to be the more responsible.

hes not a child im sorry but thats the wrong veiw to take teangers are not children there teenagers.. They maybe wet behinde the ears but thats how we all where to many parents try the hole thing your still a child it doesnt work....treat a teenager like a child watch them rebell, treat a teanger like and adult watch them gain a little cop on..

yeah but what happend they walked on the beach played ona jet ski thats hardly grounds to say she have any sort of sexual leasons with him is it ?
    thats the thing this thread has been braught up on that classic, statement whihs is betta known as

IF

hes not a child im sorry but thats the wrong veiw to take teangers are not children there teenagers.. They maybe wet behinde the ears but thats how we all where to many parents try the hole thing your still a child it doesnt work....treat a teenager like a child watch them rebell, treat a teanger like and adult watch them gain a little cop on..

thats hardly my point -just that sperm is contagious and causes pregnancy and when you have a 16 year old bloke and 30 year old woman there is hardly any doubt who is in charge here and it is not him.

what i am saying is that should a pregnancy arise them I would think that while he is the Dad as becoming a parent happens with her as an adult and he a juvenile I would have little doubt that the financial responsibility to raise the child should be hers.

the other thing is if this was Ireland the age difference would constitute statutory rape.

The other point I raised is that some women seem to be ok with having relationships with underage boys and I am questioning whether it needs to be looked at as a crime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

the other thing is if this was Ireland the age difference would constitute statutory rape.

the guy with kelly brook is 16, which is the age of consent in england.

anyway, we dont know whether or not they have had sex

sam34 wrote: »
    the guy with kelly brook is 16, which is the age of consent in england.

anyway, we dont know whether or not they have had sex

We dont know & the speculation is that she was not that way inclined and given that she is a family friend and the story was written to fit the pictures in true tabloid style.

The OP brought up the hypocracy of the coverage especially if the genders were reversed.

I couldnt see it being portrayed different to any "hot totty" story but wondered about how barely legal relationships get covered and are they harmful & consensual. Do they damage the younger partner male ir female ?