Stephen Gately sculpture to be erected at train station

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭purpur1

When putting up a statue such as this, does public planning permission have to be granted? (I'm thinking obviously not because Boyzone said they'll pay for it so there's probably no problems then..? Just curious?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

*blinks*
    There were six guys in Boyzone?

I thought there were only five.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,102 ✭✭✭easyeason3

*blinks*

Dickie Rocks young lad was in it at the start but then he started taking heroin or something.
    Would you blame the fcuker hanging around with that lot?

Dilynnio wrote: »
    Why can they not just let the poor guy RIP.

The other members of Boyzone ought to be ashamed of themselves for the way they have literally milked this poor fellas passing.

Stephen was a great guy and a great ambassador for young people especially for young gay guys who have struggled with their identity but erecting a sculpture is a nice thought but just let him be.

Those media whores would do anything for attention even on the back of a dead guy.

RIP Stephen.

Either you're misusing that word or the rest of Boyzone have to be immediately arrested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

*blinks*

There was almost a seventh with Colin Farrell.

easyeason3 wrote: »
    Dickie Rocks young lad was in it at the start but then he started taking heroin or something.
    Would you blame the fcuker hanging around with that lot?

The funny thing is, when you click on his link on the Boyzone wiki, you get redirected to here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

With a statue being built at least it gives Boyzone another documentary on how Steo affected their life and how his statue will be a constant reminder of how great he was.

I'm all for naming the lads toilets in the station after him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

mathie wrote: »
    Good work Councillor.
    Country falling to pieces and you waste your time on this 5hite.

No Stephen Gately was in boyzone, not 5. Good man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

VERY OTT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

*blinks*

Yeah, Gay Byrne was kicked out when Loius Walsh caught him snorting cocaine off a groupie's tits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

How many people from Sheriff St have died tragically over the last 30 yrs, and the one they choose to honour is Stephen Gatley? Its a disgrace

Dublin has statues of a prostitute (Molly Malone), a drug addict (Phil Lynott) and I dunno how many murderers (for the cause obviously) but this is taking the piss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

We can all have statutes of ourselves when we're dead... honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

brummytom wrote: »

What exactly did Stephen Gately to qualify him for this?

taking it up the jacksy:cool:

If they put up this stephen gately erection outside the male bathrooms that would be kinda funny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

easyeason3 wrote: »
    Who's paying for this?

You are of course:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

No Stephen Gately was in boyzone

I heard that rumour too. Apparently he was gentler with Ronan than the other three.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

purpur1 wrote: »
    of "any shape"
    Hehe, does this mean that they are taking requests?
    I can think of a few:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭purpur1

Cool_CM wrote: »
    Hehe, does this mean that they are taking requests?
    I can think of a few:D

dont think too "hard" :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

First the train station, now this. There has to be a gate somewhere they could name after him, that would be puntastically AWESOME

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,380 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

ok...if a community feels a former resident deserves a memorial then so be it, who are we to complain, however my blood boiled when i read that this is being pushed by his former manufactured boy band colleagues. It is my understanding also that the people of sherrif st wanted Luke kelly remembered in the same fashion, but it was turned down due to cost issues.
    So surely considering STEO hasn't fully decomposed yet, and Luke Kelly is immortalized in the history of Irish culture, the fairest thing to do is to build the promised Luke kelly statue now, and see how STEO's legacy is in a few years and then immortalize STEO if warrented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Chairman Meow

They shoudl put up a statue to mikey graham isntead, for his phenomenal ACTING TALENT, as witnessed in fatal deviation

skip to 8:20 to see mikeys oscar winning performance. or watch the whole thing if you really want to see if its possible to get cancer from a film

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Jennyfer

Why doesnt Ronan erect it in the grounds of his new mansion he's having built in Malahide or wherever it is, instead of shoving it in the rest of our faces?! Seriously, its utter nonsense..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Will it be a bronze sculpture I wonder.

It should be a hugh tourist attraction for the Sherriff street area one should think,
    You could have the Stephen Gatley Hop On Hop Off Tour Bus, the Stephen Gatley Grill and Spit Good Time Eating Euphonium with all the waiters dressed as Stephen Gately doing Stephen Gately things, the Stephen Gately Pub Crawl. Feck it why not re name the whole area Gatley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Jennyfer wrote: »
    Why doesnt Ronan erect it in the grounds of his new mansion he's having built in Malahide or wherever it is, instead of shoving it in the rest of our faces?! Seriously, its utter nonsense..

There won't be enough room for another statue, not after the 900 feet tall statue of himself is bolted to the lawn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Jennyfer

They shoudl put up a statue to mikey graham isntead, for his phenomenal ACTING TALENT, as witnessed in fatal deviation

skip to 8:20 to see mikeys oscar winning performance. or watch the whole thing if you really want to see if its possible to get cancer from a film

Oh. My. God. Im mortified for all those "actors"..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Chairman Meow

Jennyfer wrote: »
    Oh. My. God. Im mortified for all those "actors"..

Dont worry, im sure they all went on to lucrative careers in porno, or McDonalds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,159 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

brummytom wrote: »
    Yet there's money for a statue of this talentless 'singer'?

What's with the inverted commas? He was a singer, and quite a talented one at that.

So what if he's going to get a statue? Fair play to his mates for wanting to remember him.

But sure, Luke Kelly didn't get a statue and he was a true Irish singer so let's have a moan and put down someone else while doing so :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

I guarantee in 10 years time every single person who walks past that is going to say "Who the hell was Stephen Gately?"

I understand that some people want to commemorate the man's memory, but this is not the right way.
    He wasn't that famous, plain and simple...
    I didn't know his name untill after he died and I'm from the boyzone generation.

This is a pointless waste of money.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

Good to see homophobia and begrudgery operating side by side here. Boardsies are really operating on over drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Wazdakka wrote: »
    I guarantee in 10 years time every single person who walks past that is going to say "Who the hell was Stephen Gately?"

And the statue will probably be wearing a Tesco shopping trolley.