Its the poor people!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I paid for it with my part-time £2.40 per hour job at Tesco. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭The_Joker.

Teenagers having sex and drinking. shock. horror

The argument of the thread is the little dickweed claimed poor people begrudged them for partying over there, when in reality many poor people couldn't give two sh*ts about what they do over there.
    Use your pea brain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,670 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Oh how I hate the meterialistic spoiled snobs, who have to run to mammy and daddy for money, rather then get a job and earn it. Theses are the type of kids who bully and harass others because A)They think they're better then everyone else, B)They think they can do anything they want, and C) they think they're parents will make sure everything is ok and all they have to do is sit back and wait.

In reality the parents are more to blame then the kids. The parents obviously spoiled them so they grew up with that spoiled state of mind that spoiled snobs tend have. It's sickening really but at the same time, they're more the victims then we think. Poor misguided fools, and i'm not being sympathetic to them either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Must be hard for them. The vast majority will end up living in towns in Meath and Kildare, spending inordinate amounts of money to continue hanging around where they grew up and furiously hoping their parents will die soon so they can get the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 v2

Riddle101 wrote: »
    Oh how I hate the meterialistic spoiled snobs, who have to run to mammy and daddy for money, rather then get a job and earn it. Theses are the type of kids who bully and harass others because A)They think they're better then everyone else, B)They think they can do anything they want, and C) they think they're parents will make sure everything is ok and all they have to do is sit back and wait.

In reality the parents are more to blame then the kids. The parents obviously spoiled them so they grew up with that spoiled state of mind that spoiled snobs tend have. It's sickening really but at the same time, they're more the victims then we think. Poor misguided fools, and i'm not being sympathetic to them either. I'd love nothing more then to gatecrash one of their parties and ruin it, just to bring a little anarchy to their lives.

Now imagine what I said above in the voice of the Joker, and that's what i'm thinking right now.

Mmm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭high heels

How the hell is costa de sol considered aplace the upper class go?? ryanair fly there and its full of irish pubs and brits..

Me I went to barbados for my post leaving cert party.. That was class I tell ya..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭NoHornJan

high heels wrote: »
    How the hell is costa de sol considered aplace the upper class go?? ryanair fly there and its full of irish pubs and brits..

Me I went to barbados for my post leaving cert party.. That was class I tell ya..

Poor little rich guys...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

He is totally correct poor people & AH posters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Piste wrote: »
    Eh, what makes you think these kids so desperately want their opinion to be heard? They didn't seek out this "journalist" (scandal-monger* more like), the writer of this piece specifically sought out the messiest, most drunken people they could find in order to write a completely over the top, sensationalist article. For all we know there could have been loads of people saying "yeah I'm having a great time, drinking a fair but but sure I'm always in control and haven't done anything stupid, I just want to unwind". "MIDDLE CLASS TEENS ENJOY SUN HOLIDAY" doesn't sell papers I'm afraid.

I think it's actually pretty creepy that a journalist (and I use that term in the loosest sense here) was actually standing around in the middle of the night, actively seeking out drunk kids and getting pictures taken of them.

Do you know, that's the journalists perogative, if he/she did indeed seek out the messiest teenage scumbag.
    My contention is this, they are insignificant, nobody gives a fuck.
    You eat a dinner and take a shit, but you don't have to inform the rest of the world about having a shit? Do we need to know how much toilet paper you used? No, obviously not.
    These fucking knobheads could have to told the journalist to go fuck his mother or cousin or a fucking knot hole in a fence.
    They didn't, they gave an "interview" and bullshitted their antics.
    We know they might have money**, we know they have it easier than the rest of us, but we don't need to hear about it.
    Much like taking a shit, we don't care, good for them, we're not envious or jealous, far from it, but I don't need to know. "When I throw a dog a bone, I don't want to know if it tastes good" as Bricktop from Snatch put it.
    I don't or generally nobody else wants to be subjected to what they do, technology as moved beyond the crappy newspaper; use twitter, facebook, the Adrian Kennedy phone show etc... not a fucking newspaper to voice your antics.
    They could have said no, they could have got back to giving each other knob rot or whatever they do. They didn't, now in light of my analogy, we're talking about the origins and smell of their shit. That's the bit that gets on my fucking wick.

*This wont catch on not by a long shot. And personally, if you consider all journalists like this, what do you call the likes of Robert Fisk? A liberal nut job? Fuck sake, sound like fucking FF junior minister from some country backwater.

**It's daddy's money, they'll be riding on his coat tails all the way through the UCD BA and the FE-1's, until they're 35-40 and are eventually made a partner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Terry wrote: »
    If only we had the courage of the French public.

Lexus = wealth?
    That's a new one to me. I see plenty of skangers driving Lexii (that's the plural, right?).

Screw you and your ability to pay for a foreign holiday at the age of 17.
    The rest of us were looking for jobs.

Lexii.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Seriously who really cares?

As long as it doesn't affect me, they can ride what they want, where they want.

I'm sorry, but what planet are you on?
    I just sat my LC. I don't know a single person who got a penny off their parents for a holiday, or pretty much anything for that matter. I personally haven't been given a penny since I turned 17, and I know a good few in the same situation, and I don't exactly live in an area of poverty.

The only parents forking out cash to send their kids out to costa-del-whatever are the ****ers who brought up the likes of the kids quoted in the OP.

They're nearly as bad as pikeys, only they don't steal things. :pac:

I thought the same thing. My parents are quite well off, and no way would they have paid for my post LC holiday for me to go and get drunk every night with their money. It's so typical of posh teenagers in Ireland that they feel like they deserve a holiday after finishing school. Giving grinds for a few years has turned me against spoiled middle class Irish teens forever. They seem to expect rewards for every last thing. Finished the LC? Here's a holiday. Passed first year exams with a 2:2? Here's money for a J1. Graduated from the college you didn't have to pay for, or work through? Here's a car. They're constantly being told they're wonderful for the most mediocre achievements and expect constant praise and rewards. One of my grinds students went into college to complain about having failed a 3000 word essay she started the night before it was due and plastered Facebook with updates about how unfair it all was. No concept of actually earning your grades or working for anything. How are these useless, lazy brats ever going to survive in a job? Their parents should be ashamed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

El Siglo wrote: »
    Do you know, that's the journalists perogative, if he/she did indeed seek out the messiest teenage scumbag.
    My contention is this, they are insignificant, nobody gives a fuck.
    You eat a dinner and take a shit, but you don't have to inform the rest of the world about having a shit? Do we need to know how much toilet paper you used? No, obviously not.
    These fucking knobheads could have to told the journalist to go fuck his mother or cousin or a fucking knot hole in a fence.
    They didn't, they gave an "interview" and bullshitted their antics.
    We know they might have money**, we know they have it easier than the rest of us, but we don't need to hear about it.
    Much like taking a shit, we don't care, good for them, we're not envious or jealous, far from it, but I don't need to know. "When I throw a dog a bone, I don't want to know if it tastes good" as Bricktop from Snatch put it.
    I don't or generally nobody else wants to be subjected to what they do, technology as moved beyond the crappy newspaper; use twitter, facebook, the Adrian Kennedy phone show etc... not a fucking newspaper to voice your antics.
    They could have said no, they could have got back to giving each other knob rot or whatever they do. They didn't, now in light of my analogy, we're talking about the origins and smell of their shit. That's the bit that gets on my fucking wick.

I doubt any of the LC students particularly want the rest of the country to know what they're getting up to. The reason you're being "subjected" to this is because some lazy journalist couldn't be bothered finding some real news and so decided to write an article for people like you to get up in arms about "D4" kids.

El Siglo wrote: »
    **It's daddy's money, they'll be riding on his coat tails all the way through the UCD BA and the FE-1's, until they're 35-40 and are eventually made a partner.[/SIZE]

Actually what will probably happen is they'll do a business-related course in college (or law, or medicine, or another difficult course) and do quite well for themselves, from what I've seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/inverted_snobbery
    inverted snobbery
    A form of snobbery where the practitioner deprecates the target for attributes that would normally be considered desirable (particularly wealth).
    E.G His dislike of the residents of the wealthier neighbourhood was simply inverted snobbery.

Just thought i would bring this phrase to the peeps of after hours and remember this thread is about an alleged quote from one drunken teenager. 5 pages about an alleged quote from an unnamed drunken teenager kinda proves this. Even if this quote is true why is he not allowed voice his opinion on a different social class whilst the working classes are allowed to call this alleged drunken teenager whatever they want. An inferiority complex will get you nowhere in life. The truth is you actually do begrudge (i hate that word) him of his holiday just because his parents paid for it. Thats just stating a fact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

But that's what the guy quoted was saying: "Oh you just hate us because we're rich." If a person's a dickhead, they're a dickhead, rich or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

Dudess wrote: »
    But that's what the guy quoted was saying: "Oh you just hate us because we're rich." If a person's a dickhead, they're a dickhead, rich or not.

If I was off on my holidays and some creep journalist was following my friends and I around with a camera, and writing articles portraying relatively normal Costa del Sol antics as some kind of hedonistic, rich kid, two fingered salute to the rest of society, then I'd probably react that way too. People do read these stories because they begrudge the rich. Nobody would pick up the Mail and read an article about a bunch of working class lads on a stag weekend in Glasgow. So Mail readers and their ilk shouldn't be so outraged when the subjects of their fascination call it as it is.

I doubt any of the LC students particularly want the rest of the country to know what they're getting up to. The reason you're being "subjected" to this is because some lazy journalist couldn't be bothered finding some real news and so decided to write an article for people like you to get up in arms about "D4" kids.

The journalist might be lazy, but they still gave their "story" so they're equally as bad. I know most leaving certs wouldn't want to give out their story to rest of the country, but these are the ones that did it. What the fuck do you mean "people like you to get up in arms about D4 kids"? How the fuck do you know what my background is? Maybe I'm a D4 head, you don't fucking know, so don't fucking speculate without having something to back it up. Wow, lazy journalism and an even lazier retort. Have you not read what I said? I don't care what they do, I just don't want to read about it. Again, the taking a shit analogy explains this. Also, are they helpless? Are they that nieve to think that this would be a good idea? No. They weren't tortured for their story, they gave it willingly. That's the bit that annoys me. They wanted to show off as much as the lazy journalist wanted to parade them. It might be lazy journalism but it's also ineptitude on their part.
    Actually what will probably happen is they'll do a business-related course in college (or law, or medicine, or another difficult course) and do quite well for themselves, from what I've seen.

Nice to see how you reduce every other course down just because they aren't high points courses, because courses like; Environmental Science, Chemistry, Geology, Philosophy, Economics etc... are not difficult because they're not high end points courses?
    Also, the snobs that I've encountered (I went to UCD, I did an arts course) usually lack critical thought because they've spent six years being spoon fed everything, I used to give tutorials and grinds in college and the amount of times I've had to try and nearly spell things out for them is astonishing. Intelligence and wealth aren't related, it just helps when it's the stupid leaving cert.
    Also, if they're so bright, why did they talk to this journalist? What possible benefit could they have garnered from this?

You're putting words in my mouth. Where did I claim to know anything about your background? Where did I mention LC points? I said "another difficult course"...how does that exclude subjects like Chemistry or Philosophy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

Father Jack had a term for the needy. What was it again... ah yes, "they're a shower of bastards".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 v2

Is there such thing as a "poor" person in Ireland? I mean €205 a week + rent allowance leaves you with plenty of drinking money.

v2 wrote: »
    Is there such thing as a "poor" person in Ireland? I mean €205 a week + rent allowance leaves you with plenty of drinking money.

Lenihan is that you?
    You're putting words in my mouth. Where did I claim to know anything about your background?

Words like;
    for people like you to get up in arms about "D4" kids.

Seriously, what do you mean people like me? You're implying that based on my previous posts you assume that I am the antipotal to people from the D4 backgroud.
    Where did I mention LC points? I said "another difficult course"...how does that exclude subjects like Chemistry or Philosophy?

You didn't need to mention points you mentioned courses with high points. It doesn't take much reasoning to deduce that now. Seriously, do you honestly think that you were maybe brushing over arts and science courses here? Why didn't you not mention arts for example which is pretty popular (from my personal experience) among the D4 heads? You went straight into the high points courses. It'd be like me saying I went to a tech and did an arts course, therefore all tech students do arts. This is obviously incorrect, as much as your argument that all D4 students who go to college do "hard courses" and do well for themselves, at best it's a weak inductive argument and at worst a total logical fallacy.

I've an inexplicable pain in my neck for the last two days, it might explain why I'm more annoyed than usual.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

If people don't want to hear these kind of stories they need to stop reading f*cking tabloids.

Have some self respect for f*cks sake, the daily mail or sun are certainly not going to give you any.

I was talking about difficult courses. See where I said "law, medicine and other difficult courses"? Thought that might have been a bit of a hint. Of course these include some arts and sciences courses. I've friends doing theoretical physics, not very high points but Christ that stuff looks hard.

By people like you I meant people who automatically jump on the whole "anti-D4" bandwagon whenever it's mentioned and get so outraged by articles like this.

Also, where did I say ALL D4/South Dublin students do hard courses? A lot of them do from what I've seen, but not all. Again please stop putting words in my mouth. If you can't discuss this without resorting to swearing and creating arguments that I never made then why bother contributing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Anthony Walsh

I'm glad i'm not a stuck up príck like the ones in that article having mommy and daddy paying for everything. Started college at 17 finished just after I turned 21 got a job and an appartment and don't go begging my parents for money. Thats how life is suppose to be not some cake walk . Well at least thats how they see it. There are only so many things that can happen to these ppl later in life.
    1: There parents lose all the money and the prícks who have never worked a day in there life start borrowing too much money.
    2: A life full of Clap
    3: Get addicted to heroin and OD
    4: Get addicted to heroin and spend the rest of there life in Rehab
    5: Become a heroin dealer and go to jail for ten years and then all of the above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Einhard wrote: »
    So Mail readers and their ilk shouldn't be so outraged when the subjects of their fascination call it as it is.
    Picking holes here, but The Daily Mail is actually a middle-market paper. Red-tops like The Sun, The Star et al would be the ones aimed at a working-class demographic.

I was talking about difficult courses. See where I said "law, medicine and other difficult courses"? Thought that might have been a bit of a hint.

You just happened to mention high points courses which are hard, is that supposed to be a coincidence?
    Of course these include some arts and sciences courses. I've friends doing theoretical physics, not very high points but Christ that stuff looks hard.

I like to call this the "some of my best friends are black" argument. TP is very high points and requires something like a B1 in higher level maths. So, argument fail.
    By people like you I meant people who automatically jump on the whole "anti-D4" bandwagon whenever it's mentioned and get so outraged by articles like this.

Jesus Christ monkey balls, I'm not "anti-D4", I just don't want to see or read about them. I know they're generally wealthy etc... but I don't want to hear about it from them directly. (Again, the taking the crap analogy explains this). I'll put it like this, when you're eating your dinner and have the television on and an ad for concern or with the starving children etc... comes on, do you change the channel? Regardless of what you might say, nobody likes to watch starving children when they're eating their dinner, as much as I don't like reading about spoiled brats going on holidays, I don't like reading about it, why should I have to avoid it? I've bought the newspaper, I shouldn't have to avoid something I've paid for.
    Also, where did I say ALL D4/South Dublin students do hard courses? A lot of them do from what I've seen, but not all. Again please stop putting words in my mouth. If you can't discuss this without resorting to swearing and creating arguments that I never made then why bother contributing?

What? Swearing aside (it's not worth discussing, I'm not 15 and this isn't 3rd year), I didn't "put words in your mouth" as you keep retorting. I took your arguments and used inductive reasoning to retort your claims with the odd "straw-man" thrown in for good measure. You still haven't argued anything new, without it being completely contrived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Dilynnio

I bet you all wish you had a Bank of Daddy!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭conorhal

v2 wrote: »
    I'd say the youngsters featured in that article are as middle class as they come. Still, the enraged working class readership love this kind of story precisely because it enrages them. The Daily Mail and Mail on Sunday are selling more copies than ever. There's a new bunch of Trinity/UCD journos/sub-editors who know exactly how to press the buttons of the populace.

TBH I think that the button that's being pressed is the, 'middle class angst' button.

The rich don't care what you think, and the poor, well they're either in the hostel down the road from that resort angling for a 'roide off of a posh burd, dat want's to piss daddy off' or they're too busy shifting Jacinta on Dollymount Strand after their Junior Cert to care.

But don't worry the EU will deliver social justice for all!:

http://www.novinite.com/view_news.php?id=115559

"The European Union plans to subsidise holidays for pensioners, young people and those who are too poor to afford to travel.
    The proposal comes after EU declared that an overseas holiday is a “human right”.

So the outraged poor need not worry, soon enough the social will ensure their right to flaky peeling skin, alcohol poisoning and a ride on a Costa Del Sol brasser too! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Anyone else think that the Daily Mail just made this up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Scráib

Lexus = wealth?
    That's a new one to me. I see plenty of skangers driving Lexii (that's the plural, right?).

Well the term 'daddy-drives-a-lexus' is one I use myself for stuck up brats. That's not to say that all lexus drivers or their offspring are eejits.
    Anyone else think that the Daily Mail just made this up?

I'd say so. The Daily Mail isn't what you'd call a good newspaper.