Mosney

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

I think Butlins/Mosney was used interchangeably. At least, that's how I remember it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭RedXIV

I used to live in Laytown, up around the corner from there. My dad used to be one of the local Gardai and he was given a free pass to the place. used to feckin love the place....miss it now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

pmcmahon wrote: »
    not to mention santa ponza

its true though, we went on our first foreign holiday to majorca for 2 weeks when i was 7, everyone on the road was talking about it! and in school i was hated!

is trabolgan still on the go?? thats the only experience ive had of one of these holiday park things.

theres a few mini indoor waterparks round the country if people are looking to entertain kids for the day. id loved them when i was younger, who doesnt love waterparks!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭Burkatron

df1985 wrote: »
    who doesnt love waterparks!?

I'm sure Michael Barrymore has issues anything swimming pool related?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭caseyann

RedXIV wrote: »
    I used to live in Laytown, up around the corner from there. My dad used to be one of the local Gardai and he was given a free pass to the place. used to feckin love the place....miss it now :(

I loved it also,great experience for kids and fun place.
    Would love to see it up and running again and buzzing with kids.The huge swimming pool with the glass ,I remember it always looked so deep to me and scary:( But was funny to watch legs floating around :D

Friend of mine was living in there when she first came here,and she said it was like a prison,and a horrible experience.I dont see how moving them out of a detention is inhumane.
    Alot of us had to move around for a while before settling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Elevator

couldn't believe this when i heard it on the radio

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/frontpage/2010/0703/1224273904657.html

now I can see their point in a way but nobody is forcing them to stay here occupying what was once the height of a lot of families summer taking their kids to the community games finals up there

if I'm misinformed and the finals still go on up there then I will retract my astonishment at refugees giving out over being fed and housed in this state for free but in my opinion this is another thing that is wrong with this country

I would love to get out of here and be housed somewhere in Europe, wonder where I can go and be looked after as soon as I arrive??

Already a thread about Mosney. It's a well known fact that it has been a refugee centre for years. Have you been living under a rock?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I would love to get out of here and be housed somewhere in Europe, wonder where I can go and be looked after as soon as I arrive??
    Ireland doesn't do war and torture - you won't have much luck.

Let's have a game to see how many times on this thread geniuses (incorrectly) use the ever retarded phrase "PC" and its derivatives...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭messrs

Truley wrote: »
    I vaguely remember going on a family holiday there shortly after the asylum seekers moved in. At the time only a small part of it was cordoned off for them and the rest was business as usual. I vaguely remember a swimming pool with a window under the water so people out side could see people swimming around - did I imagine that :confused:

the underwater window looked into the restaurant - i remember been in there and having food and watching ppl swimming

does anyone remember the vortex (as least thats what i remember it been called) big yellow circle and you stand up in it and have lil chain across you and it lifts up and span you round in circles?

messrs wrote: »
    the underwater window looked into the restaurant - i remember been in there and having food and watching ppl swimming

does anyone remember the vortex (as least thats what i remember it been called) big yellow circle and you stand up in it and have lil chain across you and it lifts up and span you round in circles?

HAHA yes i remember that and the dangling legs:D getting lost looking for the chalet also :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

There's still Trabolgan in Cork...

We were a bit more posh - we went to the English Mosney: Pontins (a poor man's Butlins).

Dudess wrote: »

Did you ever get to mosney? If you didnt trust me when i say you missed something special :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

LOL
    "Special" is one word for it! :D

I (and other staff) had a few others... LOL

Dudess wrote: »

We were a bit more posh - we went to the English Mosney: Pontins (a poor man's Butlins).

I went to Trabolgan too. It was just Mosney-lite.

Elevator wrote: »
    couldn't believe this when i heard it on the radio

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/frontpage/2010/0703/1224273904657.html

now I can see their point in a way but nobody is forcing them to stay here occupying what was once the height of a lot of families summer taking their kids to the community games finals up there

if I'm misinformed and the finals still go on up there then I will retract my astonishment at refugees giving out over being fed and housed in this state for free but in my opinion this is another thing that is wrong with this country

They do fit right into Ireland though moaning about everything they should be given citizenship they sound Irish :D

Lets not go down the road of immigrant knocking please.
    I'm enjoying this thread and any bashing will only get this thread locked.

...lets keep it about the good times.

Biggins wrote: »

Biggins what years did you go there? :)

caseyann wrote: »
    Biggins what years did you go there? :)
    Lets just say it was in the late '70's, early 80's.
    (I'm older than most I suspect here) :)

Lets just say it was in the late '70's, early 80's.
    (I'm older than most I suspect here) :)

My first time i was there was when i was 1 year old :) so 35ish:D

pmcmahon wrote: »
    not to mention santa ponza

ballymun in the sun lol :) great place for a holiday tho, been 3 times from 97 - 99 and always said i'd like to go back again for the laughs and pissups
    dlofnep wrote: »
    Already a thread about Mosney. It's a well known fact that it has been a refugee centre for years. Have you been living under a rock?

not at all, I had 2 friends who got jobs up there cleaning not long after it was taken over, they quit fairly rapid due to finding soiled st's etc under the beds and seeing the refugees throwing their dinners in the bins and taking meal tickets to eat up in the village went against the grain a bit

I going to do a search for some Mosney pics I have and other stuff.
    When I find them, for those interested, I will post them in this thread.

I do apolagise for the merging of my thread into the original,

I never made it to mosney as we couldn't afford to go and I used to be a great runner in the community games n all, would have loved to have made it up for the finals one time but...

I do know what it meant to so many families tho and was shocked years ago when it was taken from our own people

lovin the thread all the same :)

say yon had some laughs there alright biggins

I going to do a search for some Mosney pics I have and other stuff.
    When I find them, for those interested, I will post them in this thread.

Cool love to seem them:) The red coats and the end of holidays dance :cool:

Right, bit of a pain that pics can't be displayed in AH but here we to go begin with a quick sample of stuff I have...

Old poster: 4503f9d0.jpg

Down the narrow streets: mosney29407077.jpg

The outside pool: butlins10.jpg

Dan Lowry's: 57857712.jpg

Early Mosney stuff:

butlins3.jpg

butlins7.jpg

Staff Antics - The clean safe for work versions.

Can you tell which one was "The Wolfman" ? :pac:
    img0041bs.jpg

Relaxing in the Theatre bar in the Miami Vice suit! :o
    img0033ba.jpg

The other side of the counter that you never saw!
    counterbi.jpg

Where some of the rides were: mosney29407096.jpg

Rows of accommodation:

irlbutlinsmosney.jpg

21046619688486ed4cbco.jpg

The Wolfman on the hunt!
    img0036nc.jpg

Would ya dig the dress on the far right! LOL
    img0020ys.jpg

The wolfman gets a victim! :D
    img0044lx.jpg

"Felix The Cat" shall we say "chatting" to a girl on the steps on one of the staff rows. :D
    img0013vc.jpg

No drink was wasted if possible LOL
    (In this case below, its behind the inner wall of the "Theatre bar")
    img0030bu.jpg

If ye only knew the half of it!

I have a whole heap of stuff.
    Some that are NOT safe for work so can't be posted for that and other reasons including some are now more well known faces, doing things they might not like getting out now. :D
    ...and NO - I really cannot post them. Sorry. :o
    PLEASE NOTE.
    The photographic material supplied here is the intellectual property of "Biggins".

Boards.ie has allowed Biggins to be share such material.
    Ths material is for the exclusive viewing of Boards.ie members and the public - however copying and subsequently displaying such material, passing it of as ones own on other sites and/or for monetary gain, is taken SERIOUSLY by myself, Biggins and I will do ones utmost to retain those intellectual property rights and associated revenue to be gained from them.

One Mosney Reunion Facebook site has already tried to steal some pictures from this thread and pass them off as their own.
    That matter is now being dealt with.

DO NOT TAKE MATERIAL FROM MY POSTINGS WITHOUT CONTACTING ME AND/OR SEEKING PERMISSION FIRST.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Earliest memory for me was when i was in Dan Lowrys (kids were allowed in then)summer of 1974,when there was a show on and it stopped, then curtains were drawn on the stage

Next a stern voice said something over the sound system,then all i remember is all panic and mayhem around me,people screaming,then being dragged from the scruff of my neck by an aunt and running back to the chalet

Apparently it was a bomb scare and there were numerous that summer

I think I have photos from Mosney from about 22 years ago. Will see if I can find them, I'll upload too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

Great Pixs Biggins

The second picture . The door on the left

Isn't that where they had the Bingo and the machines where your pennys ans 2p pieces in with had moving shelves that had money hanging over the sides. Everyone tried to bang against them so the money would fall . The alarms used to always go off:o

WIZE wrote: »
    The second picture . The door on the left

Isn't that where they had the Bingo and the machines where your pennys ans 2p pieces in with had moving shelves that had money hanging over the sides. Everyone tried to bang against them so the money would fall . The alarms used to always go off:o

Yep. As you went in through that door, on the left were the adult machines at the back.
    At the windows were the younger people machines and to the right of the door were more younger machines that you stood in front of and even sat in.
    Also inside on the right was the access to the cafe (one of many in the camp) also that was at the other corner of that building.

I learned a lot about life from Mosney I have to say.

I learned how to think quicker on my feet, to rely more on myself and not just other peoples judgements and opinions.
    I learned how to take some knocks and how to react back to them.
    I learned a LOT about the female species and not only what goes where but better "skills" too. :D
    I learned about independence too and how much of a real sheltered life I had been leading untill then, while I was still living at home attending school for many a year before...
    I learned all that and a lot more...

* Imagine 3/10 years of learning experience condensed into 3/5 months. Thats what Mosney was to the young staff that stayed on the grounds.

Mosney for all its many faults, many that the public could see and some they didn't, was a life changing experience and one I do not regret.
    I still to this day miss the "craic" as they say and I miss the then great friends I made there too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Jenroche

I have some happy memories of several day trips to Mosney both with school and the summer project. Once the refugees move on it should be turned into a theme park once again. The UK has Alton Towers, Chessington and suchlike and pull huge crowds every year. We have nothing like that here and I ask why when it would be such a huge attraction, recession notwithstanding.

Jen ;->