Mosney

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,264 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

There is a facebook group called 'Support the reopening of Mosney Holiday Camp' they have some good old pics.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Dub13 wrote: »
    There is a facebook group called 'Support the reopening of Mosney Holiday Camp' they have some good old pics.

I have pics but they can't be made public. ;):D

Many an ex-staff member would not forgive me. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Just found this thread on another site where people are trying to have it reopened as a holiday resort - http://www.butlinsmemories.com/forums/showthread.php?t=7008&page=10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

I remember their was a coca cola slide, and you could swim from an inside pool to an outside pool. Also I think their was a church there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

ah the memories, i for one miss mosney, i spent a few summers there, as im sure most of my generation did.

I want a new mosney.:mad:

ANXIOUS wrote: »
    I remember their was a coca cola slide, and you could swim from an inside pool to an outside pool. Also I think their was a church there.
    In 1946 when the concept of a holiday camp was first mooted, there was very strong resistance at parochial level. I was actually in the church on the day that the parish priest, Father Johnston preached from the altar that Butlin's would be a den of iniquity and that nobody was to work in it. There was a very anti-Butlin feeling within the Catholic Church at that time and it was very aggressively expressed but my father who was the Garda (police) sergeant in Julianstown, the nearby village, had a particular view which he expressed very forcibly, that every one of the objector's children would eventually work in Mosney. And they did!

http://www.butlinsmemories.com/mosney/yourmemories/jimtuohy.htm

The priests of Ireland said it would turn into a den of ill-repute, that god would be forgotten about and Solom and Gomorra would visit.

Well even with the church built (the only holiday camp ever to build one by Billy Butlin) - they still came to visit. :D

Side note 1: They deliberately built the church on the left-hand side of the front gates so that those coming and going would see gods home as the first and last thing they did at the camp!
    Side note 2: When the camp was sold, unknown to Billy Butlin or accounted for, was that in the church had a master piece painting hanging in it. The new purchasers bought the place only soon after to discover they came into possession (through the full sale) of an expensive work of art - at a cheap price! LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

every one of the objector's children would eventually work in Mosney. And they did!

Including the priests children :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭soups05

anyone remember the swan pedaloes? little boats that looked like swans which you could take out on the lake. fun times.

waits for comment about swans being eaten :D

soups05 wrote: »
    anyone remember the swan pedaloes? little boats that looked like swans which you could take out on the lake. fun times.

waits for comment about swans being eaten :D

o god yes, i got stuck in one. stuck on a rock or something, fun times. I also remember the ghost train, that involved goin around in the dark and a piece of rope touching you..:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,537 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

i was never there but looking at this video looking similiar to leisureland in galway or something

but yeah, entertainment facilities and themeparks are badly needed in this country, there is barely any proper recreational establishments for young people in this country, when you think every major scandinavian city has a themepark in or near the city, shows how far from a real first world country we are in more ways than one

Over the years I've collected some very are memorabilia from Mosney.

From original post cards, original newspaper adverts/posters etc, to photos that are also rare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

AlcoholicA wrote: »
    o god yes, i got stuck in one. stuck on a rock or something, fun times. I also remember the ghost train, that involved goin around in the dark and a piece of rope touching you..:rolleyes:

Did it go through the Church by any chance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭caseyann

That is great news:)

Biggins wrote: »
    Over the years I've collected some very are memorabilia from Mosney.

From original post cards, original newspaper adverts/posters etc, to photos that are also rare.

I noticed you didnt mention a collection of ladies knickers

Is your wife beside you

WIZE wrote: »
    I noticed you didnt mention a collection of ladies knickers

Is your wife beside you
    LOL No comment. :pac:
    ...and I'm in one of the pics in that youtube clip up above LOL.

The wise staff in the place as soon as they got paid on a Monday, would put their money into a post office saving account book. Anyone remember the small post office in it? (It was right beside the staff restroom which used to be a fruit shop before that.)
    The rest of the staff would end up spending their money again on Monday night in "Shakers", the staff disco.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Mosney, my arse, it was Butlins!

WIZE wrote: »
    Did it go through the Church by any chance

that explains hearing mass halfway through it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

yeah i used to go abroad,my family never liked mixing with poor peasant scum :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Its a concentration camp nowadays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

pmcmahon wrote: »

Tenerife was sooooo middle class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

pmcmahon wrote: »

Says the man from Tallaght....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭lil'bug

i always wanted to go to mosney we couldn't even afford that when i was a littler bug

lil'bug wrote: »
    i always wanted to go to mosney we couldn't even afford that when i was a littler bug

:(

Says the man from Tallaght....

we have class in tallaght,true class :rolleyes:

Tenerife was sooooo middle class.

not to mention santa ponza

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Anyone remember the really old WWF video game in the games room? With Hulk Hogan & Earthquake? or years ago, like 20+ - they had Atari 2600's in the games room. I remember playing Smurfs.

I remember working with a Dublin chap that we used to call "the Wolfman".
    He had a wolfman type beard that was freeky looking.
    He was totally stark raving bonkers too but great fun.
    When there was a full moon he would go outside and howl upwards at the sky. LOL
    I miss the antics we used to get up to together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

dlofnep wrote: »
    Anyone remember the really old WWF video game in the games room? With Hulk Hogan & Earthquake? or years ago, like 20+ - they had Atari 2600's in the games room. I remember playing Smurfs.
    I remember Sega megadrives when I went there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Am I the only one here who thinks of it as 'Butlins'?.

Or is 'Mosney is bogglerland thing?.

I pass it often and it makes me sad that its not open to our present generation of children.

Although if you get caught up in the African Taxi Driver Grand Prix into Dublin on a Friday or Saturday evening it can be an exhilerating ride :p

I've some lovely memories of school tours when I was in primary, to some mad weeks/summer's as a wild teen (like Biggins they're stories I'm not telling).

Fighting a Northern Ireland lads too :p

Thread brings back some great memories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭gazzer

My family only ever took one summer holiday when we were growing up. (q violins) and that was in 1981 when we went to Mosney. Had a brillant time and would go there for day trips for a good few years after.