Scariest moment of your life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

Being thrown out of a window of a car. For the millisecond I was conscious I was scared! Shít scared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Edgedinblue

When i was 3 i got my tonsils out, surgeon tried putting me on the bed to wheel me up to surgery, was having none of it, big scary man in green trying to take me off. Poor aul daddy had to carry me the whole way up. probably explains why im not too fond of masks.. >.<

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,125 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Sky diving when I was about to jump out of the plane. :eek::eek::eek::eek:

Happiest moment of life: when the parachute unfolded. :cool::cool::cool::cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭Jay Pentatonic

Can't remember how old I was, but I was very young.
    I just finished playing football with the lads, & out of nowhere this dog started legging it towards me!!!:eek:

Stupidly I started running away from it...apparently your meant to stand your ground or something...:confused: (how will that help!!!!)

It started running faster & faster & faster & I could feel the heels of my shoes hitting the dog's jaw quite harshly as it kept getting closer...I think this frankly started to piss it off! :(

Then I noticed I was running on my own, & the dog had completely stopped running...probably because of a sore jaw!!!:o
    I turned around, knackered, & all my mates are pissing themselves laughing...:mad:

still get a bit nervous around dogs!!:(

having a baby in the bath at home with the door locked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,731 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Almost got run over by a car when young, managed to just get out of teh way in time...like 1 inch of space to spare!

As a cyclist, nearly pulled under HGV lorries at different times, and almost hit by a bus, all very fcuking scary times!:eek:

Oh the first few times I got sleep paralysis, like others here have mentioned...that was scary as hallucinations came with it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Let me set the scene. I was just laying around minding my own business, enjoying the peace and calm of my surroundings. I have to say it was probably the most content I'd ever been in my life.

And then it happened.

I felt like I was being crushed. I had absolutely no control over my limbs and felt completely helpless. I think I blacked out once or twice, but the next thing I remember is seeing an incredibly bright light from above, and hearing lots of loud noises. Within seconds I was being held upside down, and I felt a sharp smack to my back. I started choking, but finally was able to breath, allowing me to scream for help.

Yep, being born was a terrifying experience that I'll never forget.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,486 ✭✭✭Redshift

While on lunch today one of the guys brought up the topic the scariest moment of your life. It got us all to thinking and we gave ours. Mine really doesn't seem so scary but at the time it was and the fact it was so long ago makes me think it must have had some impact.

Basically when I was 4 I had to get my tonsils out. Just before I went in my older Brother told me that they were going to put a scissors down my throat and cut them right out and I'd wake up half way through the procedure. I was petrified and remember lying there after getting the gas terrified (being a naive 4 year old).

Anybody any stories to tell???

Tis funny to see this because it actually did happen to me, it was even funnier to see the look on the surgical assistant's face when she looked at me and I was looking back.:pac: It wasn't scary though, I was still waaay out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

I'll never forget being about ten years of age and going to visit my Nan in hospital a rew weeks after she'd had a stroke. The parents had stopped to talk to a nurse or someone in the corridor so I went ahead into her rom only to find it empty with none of her stuff and the bed freshly made. Still to this day makes me feel like crying.

Thankfully she'd been moved to a different room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,581 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

The second during which I realised a van was actually gonna pull out in front of my motorbike, I realised I was going to hit it, and it was going to fúck me right up.

The second or two when I realised the football was going to hit the railing I was standing on top of, hit the railing and I fell onto a spike.

Those two take the biscuit

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Seeing an F1/F2 grade Tornado in Athlone. I was standing under a bridge holding onto a railing for dear life and nearly had a fúcking calf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭xxchloexx

Being told my dad had cancer and the odds were not good. Thoughts of loosing him scared me so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Jennyfer

When I was about 8 my Mam and Dad were out one night at a dinner dance or something in the local community hall and I heard one of them coming in, went down to say good night and my dad was lying face down on the sofa not moving - I started screaming my head off calling my older brother "Dads dead! Oh my God he's dead". I was in such a panic, absolutely hysterical cos as I was shouting he still wasnt moving or reacting or anything. I was sure he was dead. My brother came down and was like "Shut up you eejit, he's just drunk" lol, I get a fit of the giggles everytime I think about it now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Too many to mention but one was jumping out of a perfectly working plane for the first time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

that sleep paralysis thing, why is it once it comes on you get a really bad feeling like something is in the room with you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,731 ✭✭✭✭entropi

bmw535d wrote: »
    that sleep paralysis thing, why is it once it comes on you get a really bad feeling like something is in the room with you?
    Its all part of the hallucinations...a feeling of dread and foreboding evil :(

First time it happened to me, I seen knife-wielding skeletons in my room, telling me they were gonna kill me...i sh*t you not:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭ddef

I actually came on here to post about this.
    it happened not too long ago for me, just woke up in the middle of the night and couldnt move any part of my body and was freaking out so bad!
    if that wasn't bad enough I thought somebody was in the room with me, lurking around. Im not trying to be dramatical, but I did honestly think "this is it, this is how it ends". It passed a few moments later but ill never forget that feeling of pure fear like Ive never felt and my inability to do anything about it. The lack of control I think was the worst part. I could see this man approaching the left side of my bed and all I could do was watch him come closer until he was standing over me.
    not a fun night, But couldve been worse. Ive heard of cases where women feel like their being raped by their imaginary man. god help them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭kielmanator

I think mine has to be when I was at a mates in wexford last halloween. Car pulled right up my ass on the road back to his house, couldn't even see the headlights. Floored it to 190 in a 80 zone, blue lights go on.

After a lot of arguing with the young garda, he let me go because I explained to him how I had been followed before in Knocka and the likes, and why he was driving badly. Let me off with an unofficial warning.:o Think I drank a shoulder of vodka when I got back to the house in about 20 mins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

Its all part of the hallucinations...a feeling of dread and foreboding evil :(

First time it happened to me, I seen knife-wielding skeletons in my room, telling me they were gonna kill me...i sh*t you not:eek:

I had a similar episode, woke up thinking my bed was surrounded by these figures all staring at me, I was never so freaked out in my life, apparently I was screaming at the top of my lungs because these things were going to kill me.

Next thing my parents burst into the room thinking I was being atacked :o. I was drenched in sweat. And I remeber not being able to move at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

I have to say night terrors too. Those hallucinations are just so so real for that second or two before your brain catches up to your body. I "see" really scary things - like medieval torture instruments; maces swung at me, iron spikes coming down from the ceiling and other things like ghosts, snakes, spiders... I used to hop out of bed in a panic or throw my pillow across the room. I'm over tired now from being up late so will probably have one. Wah!

One time when I was living in my Grans, she was asleep downsairs, I was upstairs... a creepy voice started calling me and it was the scariest thing ever. I ran downstairs and had to ring my uncle to come check out the house. Wouldn't go back upstairs on my own. Strange happenings were common enough in her house so I'm sure it was something paranormal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

ddef wrote: »
    I actually came on here to post about this.
    it happened not too long ago for me, just woke up in the middle of the night and couldnt move any part of my body and was freaking out so bad!
    if that wasn't bad enough I thought somebody was in the room with me, lurking around. Im not trying to be dramatical, but I did honestly think "this is it, this is how it ends". It passed a few moments later but ill never forget that feeling of pure fear like Ive never felt and my inability to do anything about it. The lack of control I think was the worst part. I could see this man approaching the left side of my bed and all I could do was watch him come closer until he was standing over me.
    not a fun night, But couldve been worse. Ive heard of cases where women feel like their being raped by their imaginary man. god help them.

i gets sleep paralysis almost on a weekly basis probably to do with smoking hash but im used to it, it doesn't bother me, but iv strangely enough never thought anyone else was there,,,,,,,,,,,,,,i seen a ghost well a mans face over my bed one day but it was not freaky i just presume he was a relative, i can be very nervous at times yet the face never scared me, i thought it was cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Pdfile

Nulty wrote: »
    Punching through a glass panel in a door @ about 15yo. Massive gash across my wrist and half way up my lower arm...blood pumping out everywhere - thought I was going to die.

done this Scary as fcuk !!!

got ganged up on by 8-10 knackers... needless to say their dirty shanks worthed a treat... ive 6-7 scares, only remember chinning one, 3 lads bottling it and getting a blade swong at my chest as a fist hit my temple. Scumbags. Woke up and the gardi foudn the lads who legged it ( pussys eh ? ) and slapped them on the wrist ! :mad: other oens got away :(

spun my car at near 100 rushin to the hospital ( granny dyin, only time id do that kidna speed ) done quite a few 180's before crackin the bumper and denting the Backbox on the exhaust. Shes been running Perfect ever since.

seen my uncle die when i was about 8-9ish Heart attack... didn't fully realise what happened for about 3-4 hours then i felt so bad... :o

the rest of my near calls are fights Tbvh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

Was marshalling at a rally couple of years ago.
    Quiet enough so I started playing with the plastic tape. I was chatting to a guy and had the tape wrapped around my hand. Next car comes bouncing down the road not a chance of stopping. I try to run but its no good. I pull at the tape til I can't feel my hand. Everyone had ran away. So there I was with my hand wrapped around the tape and this car coming head on. Well this is it I thought, I'm fúcked. It was the hand of God that the cars back wheel got caught in an open drain and got stuck. I truly thought that was it!
    My hand has never been the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Nulty wrote: »
    Punching through a glass panel in a door @ about 15yo. Massive gash across my wrist and half way up my lower arm...blood pumping out everywhere - thought I was going to die.

Weird! My brother did that too, in 4th year through a classroom window when he pushed it open.

Gimp. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

that sleep paralysis thing,

Is i weird that I want this to happen to me? Just to see what happens!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

I was 15 years old and playing Enter The Matrix game for the playstation in my friends house, it was getting late so I knew I needed to be home before it got dark, my house was only 15 mins away. I left in a hurry walking with quick legs knowing that I was dead when I got home. That worry changed when I heard someone walking behind me keeping with my pace, so i walked faster and the noise of footsteps behind me didnt fade into the distance. You know that feeling you get deep in your stomach when you know something bad is going to happen well that feeling was right this time cause the whoever was behind me had just grabbed me and tossed me against a railing and my head bounced off it and a rusty nail was resting against my neck! I was terrified! I saw the guys face and when brain realised who he was I froze, this guy was a scumbag who moved to our estate due to witness relocation and a week before he had just stabbed a 13 year old boy after one of the local discos just outside our estate. My heart was kicking in my chest, i thought to myself this ugly c*nt is going to stab me in the neck with a rusty nail. Instead he asked me did I steal his brothers moped, I managed to reply and say no and that was it... he let me go and he walked on without any other questions, my parents shouting at me when I got home didnt seem that bad after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

Is i weird that I want this to happen to me? Just to see what happens!

on no you don't, you seriously don't

think of the worst fear feeling you have ever felt, and multiply it by 10,you can hear horror music like a film,it's happened to me twice, only for around 7 seconds, my father has had it about 10 times,much worse, he see's this black think come over his chest and hold him down,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

Mine was probably last year sometime when flying in bad weather. Plane was going from side to side a lot....look out the window you were looking at earth the next the sky. And then the plane just dropped/fell for a few seconds. Have no idea how far but even the air stewards were terrified.

Second was being in a car crash and the car rolled. Lost me glasses in that so couldn't see a bucking thing when we came to a stop! We were all ok in the end though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭me_right_one

Pdfile wrote: »
    done this Scary as fcuk !!!

got ganged up on by 8-10 knackers... needless to say their dirty shanks worthed a treat... ive 6-7 scares, only remember chinning one, 3 lads bottling it and getting a blade swong at my chest as a fist hit my temple. Scumbags. Woke up and the gardi foudn the lads who legged it ( pussys eh ? ) and slapped them on the wrist ! :mad: other oens got away :(

the rest of my near calls are fights Tbvh...

All the fights you were in! Do you go around wearing a T-shirt with your boards username on it or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭allanb49

Cycling home one night and hit a pot hole, went over the handle bars and in a scene reminisnt of American History X hit mouth first into the ground.

woke up a few hours later during blacking out various times

I had braces so tipped my tongue out sligtly and could feel my teeth dangling by the roots and held in my mouth with the braces.

Wasn't allowed sleep that night had to be monitored

Was a little bit scared at that point, Then got given morphine

Sitting on the end of the bed humming always look on the brightside of life was good though :pac: