Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Joe Coleman on The Late Late Show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭Manc-Red

Camelot wrote: »
    Was it my imagination, or did Mr Coleman actually claim on his recent Late Late appearance, that the Devil (half dog-half man) partially pulled out one of his front teeth, and also covered his body with scratches (presumably while his wife lay asleep beside him) :confused: :rolleyes: :):D :cool:

He said that the Devil didn't want him to go onto the LLS or write a book, so the devil pulled his tooth down.....

I'd say he believes that himself - he done himself no favors with a lot of people (including myself) who had an interest in meeting him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭jimm55

Manc-Red wrote: »
    He said that the Devil didn't want him to go onto the LLS or write a book, so the devil pulled his tooth down.....

I'd say he believes that himself - he done himself no favors with a lot of people (including myself) who had an interest in meeting him.
    You know Joe is not the only one to have claimed to have had a fight with the devil. I remember a story in the papers in North Antrim back in the 80s about a famous man up there known as the Indian Mc. Cooke, who had a fight with the devil. He used to be door man at the danchalls for meny years. As a bare fist fighter, I understand he was pretty good.

Really good post from another site I just found...

Posted by Grumpy Jack - Cheers.

I dealt with Joe Coleman about a dozen years ago and he was just a sad, pathetic, attention seeker with a persecution complex back then. He would ring up newspapers with all sorts of wild allegations against Dublin Corpo, Ballyfermot Gardai and his neighhours in Ballyer.

My favourites were that when the Corpo refurbished his house and all the others in the area - basically rebuilt them from ghastly looking 'shanty town' shacks to full-blown three-bed terraces - the workman were told to deliberately mess up the work on his gaff as revenge for him suing the Corpo over an old work injury.

Then there was the time he claimed the biggest drug dealer in his area of Ballyfermot was a 75-year-old granny in a wheelchair who sold the gear from under the blanket as she sat in the chair on her front doorstep. He also wasted Garda time in Ballyer by constantly calling them that said granny was sending her hitmen after him because he was exposing her activities.

And he also claimed that every publishing company in the country was conspiring to prevent him winning a Nobel Prize for his poetry because none of them would publish his work.

And all this was long before he found God and could see 'visions' of Mary.

The guy is notorious as a whackjob around Ballyer - now more pitied than scorned at.

And the reason he was on the LLS on Friday is because he is plugging his book, I think it's called The Messenger, all about his 'visions'.

To be fair to Tubridy, he didn't need to mock or scorn Holy Joe - the guy makes a complete fool out of himself every time he opens his mouth. Look at the way he launched at the girl who mentioned eye damage from starring at the sun on his urgings. It's just a pity there are so many people out there who are gullible enough to fall for it due to their genuine faith.

And those who doubt he's a conman, just remember he's selling a book and takes 'donations' from people who come to 'consult' him on his visions.

Here's a few pieces that may give a bit more insight.

http://www.tribune.ie/news/home-news...with-holy-joe/

http://www.tribune.ie/news/home-news...-everything-t/

I particularly love this bit after he was hoisted on his own petard after wowing the nation on Liveline. Tis all de fault of de bleedin' meeja!!

Quote:
    "It went very, very wrong for some reason on Joe Duffy. It's the way the media took hold of it," he said. He claimed his messages from Mary were misinterpreted by the public and press alike as a predetermined desire for financial profit.

"I have 101 papers here with all the stories that ran like I had collection boxes in Knock and I stayed in all the top hotels, but I didn't," he said.

"Some girl rang in and said I was charging €40 to have a hearing, but I never charged for a healing. I accept donations but someone told them I made loads of money.

"Then the Revenue got on to me and said I owed them €45,000 and so I lost my healing room.

"I used to have people coming to me from all over the country and they would come in and I would heal them and pray with them and they might leave me €5."

jimm55 wrote: »
    You know Joe is not the only one to have claimed to have had a fight with the devil. I remember a story in the papers in North Antrim back in the 80s about a famous man up there known as the Indian Mc. Cooke, who had a fight with the devil. He used to be door man at the danchalls for meny years. As a bare fist fighter, I understand he was pretty good.

Jimm55, I realy feel that Joe may have a gift, although I've had no dealings with him - from what I've heard from people I know, he has said things that nobody could know & has helped believers in this medium 'believe' he's telling the truth.

However, that act on the LLS on Friday, imo - has led me to believe that if he has a gift..... He's now trying to abuse it and bloat it by going on TV & selling himself out to the media by exaggeration & lies of a meeting with Mary.

Like Derek Acorah.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭marty1985

Even if it was true, what's so special about him that the Mother of God would choose him to be a messenger? There are nearly half a million people in Ireland who would love a bit of work from her at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Onesimus

JimiTime wrote: »
    Not to mention being omnipresent. Also, it goes against EVERY biblical incident of prayer. All prayer was directed to God. The Jews did not pray to Moses when he dies, or Elijah etc. Though when he was on earth, he was their mediator. When Jesus, remember that, Jesus himself, was aked 'How do we pray', was he or was he not concise as to who we pray to?

Also, look at the cult of Mary that has arisen from Marian devotion, and then ask yourself if it does any harm.

Recommended reading for you Jimi
    http://www.catholic.com/library/Praying_to_the_Saints.asp

The following is only part of the article so you should read the rest before jumping in with pre-conceived conclusions. Lmaopml obviously made a Blunder, Nowhere in our Cathechism does the church teach that we worship Mary, but we Honour her and show her devotion. St.Paul in Galations says ''and they glorified God in me'' and thats what we do when we Honour Mother Mary. I'm leaving it at that, from looking at your other posts, I've already taken note that your not ready to hear any side of any argument, and your posts clearly show your just a grouchy old man who has a permanent hate for the Catholic Church, however I pray that your permanent hate for the Catholic church will not always be so.

Can They Hear Us?

''One charge made against it is that the saints in heaven cannot even hear our prayers, making it useless to ask for their intercession. However, this is not true. As Scripture indicates, those in heaven are aware of the prayers of those on earth. This can be seen, for example, in Revelation 5:8, where John depicts the saints in heaven offering our prayers to God under the form of "golden bowls full of incense, which are the prayers of the saints." But if the saints in heaven are offering our prayers to God, then they must be aware of our prayers. They are aware of our petitions and present them to God by interceding for us.

Some might try to argue that in this passage the prayers being offered were not addressed to the saints in heaven, but directly to God. Yet this argument would only strengthen the fact that those in heaven can hear our prayers, for then the saints would be aware of our prayers even when they are not directed to them!

In any event, it is clear from Revelation 5:8 that the saints in heaven do actively intercede for us. We are explicitly told by John that the incense they offer to God are the prayers of the saints. Prayers are not physical things and cannot be physically offered to God. Thus the saints in heaven are offering our prayers to God mentally. In other words, they are interceding. ''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭JimiTime

Onesimus wrote: »
    your just a grouchy old man who has a permanent hate for the Catholic Church, however I pray that your permanent hate for the Catholic church will not always be so.

Juvenile, self-righteous AND lacking any wit. Not to mention completely misrepresentative.
    0/10
    Must do better.

'Satan has blinded you to the truth, I pray that you eventually see the light.'

See, we can all indulge in that kind of nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Manc-Red wrote: »
    Jimm55, I realy feel that Joe may have a gift

After finally seeing him in action on the LLS I feel his 'gift' is like the gift my late uncle had.

My late uncle talked to the walls unfortunately and was as mad as a hatter.

After finally seeing him in action on the LLS I feel his 'gift' is like the gift my late uncle had.

:D:D:D:D:D

I think its a little bit of that alright, but I don't actually believe that he believes himself. He knows he's a fraud, and he knows that he's a liar too. No doubt in my mind about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

JimiTime wrote: »
    I think its a little bit of that alright, but I don't actually believe that he believes himself. He knows he's a fraud, and he knows that he's a liar too. No doubt in my mind about that.

Yeah you could see by his body language that he is trying to convince himself that he's telling the truth. He couldnt even look at tubridy most of the time, a sure sign of a fraud.

keano_afc wrote: »
    Yeah you could see by his body language that he is trying to convince himself that he's telling the truth. He couldnt even look at tubridy most of the time, a sure sign of a fraud.

Yip! My uncle has dementia, and when he says something like 'i know my wife is having an affair'(She's an invalid in a wheelchair), he is convinced, but also confused.

Coleman is a liar, which IMO makes him mentally unsound anyway. He doesn't seem to be the full shilling, but not enough not to know he's a liar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

Onesimus wrote: »
    I've already taken note that your not ready to hear any side of any argument, and your posts clearly show your just a grouchy old man who has a permanent hate for the Catholic Church, however I pray that your permanent hate for the Catholic church will not always be so.

I don't think any of us could be said to hate the Roman Catholic Church.

Disagreement with key areas of Roman Catholic dogma doesn't necessarily mean hatred, it just means that we find a closer reading to the Biblical text to be better and more accurate. I find dissonance between areas of Roman Catholic theology and the theology advocated in the Biblical text. Therefore I find it more reasonable to hold to the latter rather than the former.

There is nothing personal involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭RGDATA!

barrackali wrote: »
    The guy is what I would call a cunning loony, I hope he is going to pay back the welfare department from his book sales.

it sounds like it qualifies for tax-exempt status as a work of creative fiction so that should help him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 DMFT

Hey there,

I am looking to get hold of Joe Coleman - would anyone have a number for him. There is one listed on a Kerrytown website but it doesn't work....thanks.
    T.

RGDATA! wrote: »
    it sounds like it qualifies for tax-exempt status as a work of creative fiction so that should help him.
    Have you read the book ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,555 ✭✭✭antiskeptic

Jakkass wrote: »
    I don't think any of us could be said to hate the Roman Catholic Church.

Hmmm..

The notion of hatred doesn't appear to be denied a Christian:

Hebrews 1:9 You have loved righeousness and hated wickedness; therefore God, your God, has anointed you with the oil of gladness beyond your companions.

The question then would be whether or not the Roman Catholic church is engaged in wickedness. I would suggest it is, teaching as it does the doctrine of salvation by works (or as it was alternatively put by someone recently, the doctrine of "retention of a salvation-which-was-previously-gifted, by works" :(). Such teaching is utterly misleading and must, I can only conclude, belong to that category warned about in wolf-in-sheeps-clothing references. I can think of no greater distortion of the gospel of salvation than such teaching.

As apparently divisive as that might appear.

There is nothing personal involved

With me neither. The hatred is for the wickedness of the teaching. Not hatred of the teacher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭lmaopml

Hmmm..

The notion of hatred doesn't appear to be denied a Christian:

Hebrews 1:9 You have loved righeousness and hated wickedness; therefore God, your God, has anointed you with the oil of gladness beyond your companions.

The question then would be whether or not the Roman Catholic church is engaged in wickedness. I would suggest it is, teaching as it does the doctrine of salvation by works (or as it was alternatively put by someone recently, the doctrine of "retention of a salvation-which-was-previously-gifted, by works" :(). Such teaching is utterly misleading and must, I can only conclude, belong to that category warned about in wolf-in-sheeps-clothing references. I can think of no greater distortion of the gospel of salvation than such teaching.

As apparently divisive as that might appear.

With me neither. The hatred is for the wickedness of the teaching. Not hatred of the teacher.

Antiskeptic, I've often seen this posted about the Catholic faith by some Protestant denominations, and been baffled by the opinion...to my mind the Catholic Church does 'not' teach a 'works' based salvation. The Catholic church teaches that our salvation comes from the Grace of Jesus Christ, but we have to 'work' or choose it freely and continually dwell with grace and not sin, and it should show in our countenance and deeds...In other words 'Faith without it 'showing' is dead faith'...

In the spirit of genuine curiosity I would really like to know why you believe this? and are you taught it in school or something, because it's certainly propogated alot which I find very odd???

Are you yourself osas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭patrickk

I think its fascinating how much blood is boiling over one man .I would suggest people step back and see what forces are at work inside ones own self to cause ones blood to boil so much .Something to ponder on for little while eh ?
    Whether people have believed or not about Joe Coleman is irrelevant ,Gods merciful plan has and always is in place .Its up to us to decide how much paint is on the canvas!!!
    The wind of change is starting to cause a very real manifestation in the world from top to bottom of society if there really is a top or bottom.In the eyes of the Lord we are all equal in His eyes and deserve the right to peace and Love and His mercy.His ways are not our ways another thing I would suggest to meditate on .The messages that were ,are and will be given to Joe Coleman are extremely similar to what is reiterated in messages sent through many cultures around the world including different religions beliefs etc.
    Even the native american indians have prophecies going back 1000's years and their culture acknowledges the Great Spirit,a deeply aware and spiritual people who have suffered under persecution.
    As I have posted on many threads here before on boards.ie I have been investigating and listening objectively and passively all apparitions messages for 25 years.The wonder of the modern internet and youtube has made it very easy to view all this information openly and to make choices whether they are true or not .
    Joe Coleman is not a new phenomenon and all you have to do is type in prophecy Ireland ,St. Malachy,St. Colman's predictions to find old saints and scholars and seers of Ireland ,a very devout spiritual ,pure in spirit as you get people who lived simply yet God gave them graces and gifts to see future so as to warn and prepare people for events that would unfold many centuries ahead.Sadly these predictions are starting to come true and rather than focusing on one guy,a messenger like Joe Coleman its far far more important to look within and find peace within ourselves and when we begin to look inside again ,peace will eventually flow like a river .It will happen i guarantee to you that I just hope and pray that young and old in Ireland come back to that realisation of the Truth.
    The Truth will always be the Truth ,evil will be defeated not now not next year but very soon and God will reclaim that which He created for us .
    God will stir hearts of the irish people this year like never before the wind of change is here.Evil is about to run out of steam in this world whichever side we choose ,God or the foolish one Satan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,555 ✭✭✭antiskeptic

Hi lmaopml

See new topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,540 ✭✭✭joseph brand

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2009/1102/1224257902496.html?via=mr

Don't know if this was posted already. Great article by Miriam lord.
    “A minute ago it was beaming, changing from Our Lady to Our Lord,” insisted Jason. And if you looked hard enough, you could indeed discern a face in the play of light and shadows. When I squinted a certain way, I thought I could make out Bruce Forsyth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 fogo2000

We need to keep our focus and trust in God - He is the only one that will never let us down.

All things of this life are temporary - it's our relationship with God that is eternal.

fogo2000 wrote: »
    We need to keep our focus and trust in God - He is the only one that will never let us down.

All things of this life are temporary - it's our relationship with God that is eternal.
    Very well said.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2009/1102/1224257902496.html?via=mr

Don't know if this was posted already. Great article by Miriam lord.

The media will hang their heads in shame some day for twisting this story.What I say to everyone is take what you read in media with a grain of salt.You ask any journalist have they freedom to write what they wish and they will all say "everything is edited".So I also enclose a video we should all watch and before a moderator starts talking about moving it to conspiracy theories section,I would suggest you watch it .Many many innocent people died on 9/11 we all swallowed that day rubbish in media to later look back say how could we have believed that crap they fed us in the media.This video is 1 hour 21mins long and irrefutably shows the pentagon attack was staged and eye witness accounts contradict the official line .Many or maybe some would say this is irrelevant to this discussion about Joe Coleman but the point I'm trying to make is popular opinion does not logically constitute as Truth always and unfortunately we are seeing more of this happening in these days.That been popular opinion as portrayed in media and on street been very very wrong.
    have a look anyhow at this might be the most interesting documentary you ever seen who knows ?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j5FhQc-LJ-o&feature=player_embedded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭IrishTonyO

patrickk wrote: »
    The media will hang their heads in shame some day for twisting this story.What I say to everyone is take what you read in media with a grain of salt.You ask any journalist have they freedom to write what they wish and they will all say "everything is edited".So I also enclose a video we should all watch and before a moderator starts talking about moving it to conspiracy theories section,I would suggest you watch it .Many many innocent people died on 9/11 we all swallowed that day rubbish in media to later look back say how could we have believed that crap they fed us in the media.This video is 1 hour 21mins long and irrefutably shows the pentagon attack was staged and eye witness accounts contradict the official line .Many or maybe some would say this is irrelevant to this discussion about Joe Coleman but the point I'm trying to make is popular opinion does not logically constitute as Truth always and unfortunately we are seeing more of this happening in these days.That been popular opinion as portrayed in media and on street been very very wrong.
    have a look anyhow at this might be the most interesting documentary you ever seen who knows ?

This has nothing to do with this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,240 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

Keep it on topic, patrickk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭barrackali

The man is rightly slagged off in the media because he is an attention seeking loony....he seems quite happy to be organising these crazy sharades. The only thing these people have gotten from these events is eye damage. His appearance on the Late Late was really embarrassing.

I disagree ,hes not a looney and if he was embarassing to anyone it wasnt to me or anyone I know.The media have portrayed this man in wrong light .Any prophet or person who relays Gods message is leaving themselves open to ridicule.This has always been the case down through the centuries.Joe Coleman has and will do nothing wrong he is devout man or prayer if thats his fault in life well theres something wrong with hearts of the irish people .The world is in crisis because we have turned our backs on God until we go back to Him it will continue to get worse here in Ireland and abroad.I can see no fault in Joe Colemans ways there are many false prophets and loonies out there but I guarantee you this Joe Coleman is not one of them .Our lady is appearing all over the world and relaying messages especially in the last 100 years and will continue to do so .All you have to do is type in apparitions in youtube and you will find many videos with proof of it happening .The most famous at the moment is Medjugorje .The messages are the same in all instances.If people have a problem with Joe Coleman I cant change that but I hope people will change their ways its not hard to do if I can do it anyone can .Ireland has a great history of devotion to God and it is happening again slowly but surely Ireland is changing again thats what I see out on the street and it is growing by the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭IrishTonyO

I disagree ,hes not a looney and if he was embarassing to anyone it wasnt to me or anyone I know.The media have portrayed this man in wrong light .Any prophet or person who relays Gods message is leaving themselves open to ridicule.This has always been the case down through the centuries.Joe Coleman has and will do nothing wrong he is devout man or prayer if thats his fault in life well theres something wrong with hearts of the irish people .The world is in crisis because we have turned our backs on God until we go back to Him it will continue to get worse here in Ireland and abroad.I can see no fault in Joe Colemans ways there are many false prophets and loonies out there but I guarantee you this Joe Coleman is not one of them .Our lady is appearing all over the world and relaying messages especially in the last 100 years and will continue to do so .All you have to do is type in apparitions in youtube and you will find many videos with proof of it happening .The most famous at the moment is Medjugorje .The messages are the same in all instances.If people have a problem with Joe Coleman I cant change that but I hope people will change their ways its not hard to do if I can do it anyone can .Ireland has a great history of devotion to God and it is happening again slowly but surely Ireland is changing again thats what I see out on the street and it is growing by the day.

How many prophets through the ages charged for 'spiritual healing'. Do you reckon he pays tax on his 'contributions' while living off the state on disability. And imagine all these things started after falling and hitting his head, what a coincidence.