Why be a Moderator on boards.ie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

lol at anyone who thinks boards is making a fortune. There simply isn't the ad revenue available in ireland for boards to be making a fortune.

They'd be lucky to be going over €250,000 in gross revenue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 denon

SugarHigh wrote: »
    lol at anyone who thinks boards is making a fortune. There simply isn't the ad revenue available in ireland for boards to be making a fortune.

They'd be lucky to be going over €250,000.

LOL at anyone who doesn't understand what kind of revenue 1 million hits a month brings. Daft.ie bought a 7% stake in boards for €270,000 just for a laugh so?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I heard that if a mod bans their own account a black hole is created which will swallow the universe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭minister poxbottle

Dudess wrote: »
    And the chubby name! My name looks so insipid now...

I can't get cocktails any more - I'm no longer a mod. :(

Do ya get any sort of cock :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

scudzilla wrote: »
    Some mod's however do it solely for the power trip, i know 1 or 2, but of course will not be naming them for fear of being infracted again

Ah the good old days....:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

I hear Mods get laid like rockstars.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Ruu wrote: »
    Oh the power and satisfaction when you hit the button!

I always figured it was a giant lever ye pulled that made a huge CLUNKING noise when ye handed out the bhhhhans

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

denon wrote: »
    LOL at anyone who doesn't understand what kind of revenue 1 million hits a month brings. Daft.ie bought a 7% stake in boards for €270,000 just for a laugh so?
    That does not in anyway suggest what I said was wrong:confused:

The fact boards gets 1 million hits a month doesn't make much difference since there simply isn't the customers to buy their ad space.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Why not? If that's what you wanna do.

Why do people do anything?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Why not? If that's what you wanna do.

Why do people do anything?

reasons!

reasons!

Why do you have your own forum?

Reasons.!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

/gentlemans agreement with starbelgrade was formed that day, never to question each other again

I say nuuuthing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Dudess wrote: »
    The women are the female mods - and at the time, I was the only female on Boards... :(

..and boy did you get a good seeing to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Aye, and Rabies really enjoyed watching ... ;)

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Just curious really... especially on 'After Hours' as it's the busiest forum. I mean why anybody would work for free for a commercially successful website with over 1,000,000 visitors a month and over 220,000 registered accounts. The ads flying all over the place here must be making them a fortune.

You then hear people say .."I wouldn't wish this job on anybody (a mod on AH's), as they get a lot of abuse"; but I reckon they love it as nobody is forcing them to do it, and if it gives them a feeling of self importance, then fine. It's a win-win situation for both boards.ie and the mods themselves.

It's the "It's such as hard job" and "I wouldn't wish it on anyone" etc. crap that gets to me. The admins always and ever agree with their decisions (I would too if they were working for free moderating the place). And nobody is forcing them to do it and they can pack it in anytime they wish. So no more moaning please. :)

For the pussy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Aye, and Rabies really enjoyed watching ... ;)

and you enjoyed the movie :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

The coke and hookers is an advantage;):pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Rabies wrote: »
    and you enjoyed the movie :p

Meh, so I'm a bit of a narcissist ...

/shrugs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Because people want to..

And that's the genius thing about boards.ie..
    It is a LTD company, that is mostly policed and managed for free by it's own users...
    And a lot of people are still falling over each other to become a mod.

The admins are laughing their way to the bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

You know when you work in a factory and be slaving over hot metal and you see the foremen standing outside smoking and laughing? That's the mods.

You only become a mod so you might be chosen to strip for the santa strike force.
    I always knew what dr. bolloko was upto with that name of his.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭derfderf

Has anyone that's been banned in AH ever threatened to wait outside the next AH beers to "fix that mods gimpy knee"?
    Can the mods ban hammer sometimes inexplicably work outside of boards a la neo in the second matrix?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Subscribers are more important than mods - pink stars and italics show up rather than bold and white stars. So if you subscribe, not only is there heroin and strippers but you can never, ever get banned and people will automatically thank everything you post because you own a small part of the site.

It's true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,043 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Just curious really... especially on 'After Hours' as it's the busiest forum. I mean why anybody would work for free for a commercially successful website with over 1,000,000 visitors a month and over 220,000 registered accounts. The ads flying all over the place here must be making them a fortune.

Ah the assumption that this place makes a lot of money, do you know how little the rate for ads on a website is? and what the over heads are now that there is staff? If you are really interested you can get a copy of boards.ie LTD financial report handily enough with the cro.ie
    You then hear people say .."I wouldn't wish this job on anybody (a mod on AH's), as they get a lot of abuse"; but I reckon they love it as nobody is forcing them to do it, and if it gives them a feeling of self importance, then fine. It's a win-win situation for both boards.ie and the mods themselves.

I think that if someone is undertaking being a mod to give them a feeling of self importance that there is something wrong tbh.
    It's the "It's such as hard job" and "I wouldn't wish it on anyone" etc. crap that gets to me. The admins always and ever agree with their decisions (I would too if they were working for free moderating the place). And nobody is forcing them to do it and they can pack it in anytime they wish. So no more moaning please. :)

Most of the time it's grand some times it's a keyboard warrior being a prick and causing aggro which you just don't need, or people who seem to think mods think they are better then posters, which isnt true which piss me off.

As for the admins always agreen with mods, that's a pile of shíte, I have seen the admins demod mods for acting the bollix and calling them out of stuff. Hell I've had Dev and a few others ball me out about a year ago so there are standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,647 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

but you can never, ever get banned
    It's true.

Right, I'm off to troll tLL to test your theory. Wish me luck boys, I'm going in.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Banned Account

Thaedydal wrote: »
    Ah the assumption that this place makes a lot of money, do you know how little the rate for ads on a website is? and what the over heads are now that there is staff? If you are really interested you can get a copy of boards.ie LTD financial report handily enough with the cro.ie.

Often wondered about this to be honest - big name, big reputation, plenty of users. For sure, it isn't even remotely over commercialised which is excellent but I am assuming that over the years there must have been a few offers which caused DeV to have a word with himself ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

OldGoat wrote: »
    Right, I'm off to troll tLL to test your theory. Wish me luck boys, I'm going in.
    Fail in 3... 2...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

While some of the arch 'moderator chat' grates and I have no doubt that a few of the usual suspects like the status and the power (lol), middling as it is - I've no doubt that the majority of people are just being altruistic and giving something to a community that they enjoy being a part of.

Surely It's not completely beyond our ken that people might elect to give their time to help a like-minded collective without seeking recompense?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Aids By Google

My friend is a mod on a not too busy board. Only did it to see the mod board and the inner working as such.

OP I fear you are now on the sh1t list :D