Swearing and cursing.

• 22-06-2010 03:56PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭

I was having dinner in this fancy restraunt one evening and when I was cutting through my steak it slipped and half popped on the ground.
    I said “well F**c it ya bas***d” out loud, and then looked around to see people looking at me agastly. One lady muttered “Well I never”

Do you use improper language in public?
    Would you use bad language in a conversation with your boss or work people?
    Do people frown upon this kind of thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

I was having dinner in this fancy restraint one evening and when I was cutting through my steak it slipped and half popped on the ground.
    I said “well F**c it ya bas***d” out loud,

You probably should have shown more restaurant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I use it all the time but never mean to be offensive with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

I was having dinner in this fancy restraint one evening and when I was cutting through my steak it slipped and half popped on the ground.
    I said “well F**c it ya bas***d” out loud, and then looked around to see people looking at me agastly. One lady muttered “Well I never”

it must have been a pain in the bollix sitting in a fucking baby chair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭Speculator

I was having dinner in this fancy restraunt one evening and when I was cutting through my steak it slipped and half popped on the ground.

She never what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

bollix to the other customers, Did ye pick your steak up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,102 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Did you follow the ten second rule with the steak?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,006 ✭✭✭Ann22

My workmates all swear like mad. I find when you spend a lot of time with people who curse you end up doing it too. I do try not to but I do say 'fcuk' a lot... 'ah for fcuk sake' and 'fcukin' hell!' are particular favourites of mine along with 'sh*t':o. My hubbie's always giving out to me for it even though he does it himself. I don't think I curse out loud in public though.

I gave it up for Lent once, I failed miserably but my language did improve a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

It's insane for anyone to be offended by it. Fuck the first person who tries to explain to me why it's offensive :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Im some fúcker for cursing around kids. I...just...forget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

All the time. I do work with someone though that swears that much when talking speaking you have to carefully pick out the words he is actually tring to say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I have to admit that I swear a lot.

Insurgent wrote: »
    All the time. I do work with someone though that swears that much when talking speaking you have to carefully pick out the words he is actually tring to say.

Tourettes?

stovelid wrote: »
    I have to admit that I swear a lot.

me too, ive a mouth like a sailors parrot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

easyeason3 wrote: »
    Tourettes?

No. But that would be funnier!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

I curse like a dock hand.
    I try my best to keep an eye on it when I'm in work all right, but sometimes I don't even notice :o

I think I just end up using the words for emphasis.
    I don't even really see them as curse words, they are just part of the vocabulary that I try not to use in the office..

Curse words are just so great, It's hard to avoid them.
    They give a sentence such feeling..
    Putting fúck into a sentience just adds like three exclamation marks.
    Cúnt
    is another one.. I dont think any other word in english is as expressive as that.
    You can say it with such feeling..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

Reminds me of the time the mother-in-law was in a restaurant giving out to the mrs. and me about some 'Creepy C*nt' of a neighbour. She had her back to the shocked crowd behind so didn't even know - we let her carry on:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭BUNK1982

Obviously you said it on whim so I wouldn't worry - although you shold reign in the volume.

I do make an effort not to swear and if you did the same you'd be surprised how much you pick up on other people swearing. Some people can't make a sentance without dropping in 5-6 swear words.

Thick as **** the lot of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 pabear

its even harder not to curse when your getting grief off customers,
    FFS like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

depends on the venue. fancy restaurant; coats crystal wine glasses and manners. Now a Dive bar, talk trashy to wimmins, crush beer cans on your head, and drink beer from cans to smash on your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,786 ✭✭✭sxt

I kinda like it when a pretty girl curses like a sailor:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Down boy. Down.

stovelid wrote: »

modern toss is class.....

mr-tourette-fact-4.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

I'm awful for it. I can keep a check on it if I need to but generally speaking :eek:

sxt wrote: »
    I kinda like it when a pretty girl curses like a sailor:o

WTF???????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭Cunning Stunt

I use the odd f-word here and there, but I've been told I curse like it's going out of fashion whenever I am drunk - probably the only vocab I can remember...

still, it never ceases to suprise my drinking buddies over here on the continent - oh to be back in Ireland where no one would give a f*ck...:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Yeah I curse like a cúnt.
    School, work, home, in public or anywhere really.:o

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,068 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

My friends try to make me curse. They fail. So when I do swear, it'll have some meaning.

I (almost) never curse. When I do they tend to pretty weak.