Most boring job?

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Abrasax

I worked in a flower bulb factory, in Holland, where bulbs would come in from the fields and had to be cleaned and sorted according to size.
    A big box would be emptied on to the conveyor belt and make their way down the end.
    My job was near the top of the belt, just after the bulbs were put on. The lily bulbs would be all tangled up and they'd go onto my machine, 'the Shaker', which consisted of about 8 horizontal bars, the whole thing shaking, and my job was to stand there for a shift, and run my hands continually between the bars to untangle the roots. That was it.
    60 hours a week, with the shaker continually rubbing against your crotch.
    It was nicknamed the 'erection section'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭peasant

another nice one ...ultrasound welding of indicator lenses for cars

Little machine with a carousel. Take finished lamp out of carousel, place and stack in box. Take bottom half of lamp, place in bottom of empty slot. Take top half, place on top. Press foot pedal, carousel rotates, repeat.

The whole thing running at such speed that you looked like Charly Chaplin on the conveyer belt.

Any sort of conscious thought going through your brain would upset the process ...worked on auto-pilot only ...best with a hangover or dead tired.

Wouldn't do to be awake...but the piercing noise of the ultrasound welding wouldn't let you switch off either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Abrasax wrote: »
    That was it.
    60 hours a week, with the shaker continually rubbing against your crotch.
    It was nicknamed the 'erection section'.

Was the Tulip line the one that caused the intense scratching around the groin area, hence the need to wear two pairs of underpants?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭paconnors

taxi dispatcher. bitch of a job working weekends and nights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Bulktohulk wrote: »
    Any 9-5 office job. *shudder*

Ye I agree. I am supposed to have a 'good job' as in an interesting IT job and all. But when you're doing the same stuff for any length of time it just gets boring no matter how interesting it supposedly is I reckon.

Sometimes I wonder does even professional footballer or golf3er or whatever gets boring after time...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Abrasax

Was the Tulip line the one that caused the intense scratching around the groin area, hence the need to wear two pairs of underpants?

Nah, that would be the purple hyacinths, summer season.
    I used to have to them about one day a week in a different factory.
    They'd quarantine our machine and we'd be at it for the day.
    The dust gets on your skin ands it's itchy as feck and as soon as you scratch yourself the itchiness factor increases exponentially and you're lost.
    Mental torture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Boskowski wrote: »
    Sometimes I wonder does even professional footballer or golf3er or whatever gets boring after time...

True, was at a tournament years ago and watching the pro's on the driving range. Each shot was perfectly straight in an almost robotic way.
    My dad just shook his head and said "Jaysus, would it kill them to hit a bad one now and then"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

I had a summer job as a Temp worker one year in college,
    Spent three weeks working on an assembly line making those fake display mobile phones.

Nine hours a day of putting in the same button, or keypad, or chunk of plastic, every three seconds.

After doing that I never failed another college exam.
    It was the most unskilled, and soul destroyingly boring labour you can possibly do and there was no way I was ever going to be in that position again..
    In hindsight, that was probably the best job I could have had that year :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

I used to work in a petrol station that nobody ever came into, except to turn around. I used to sit in the forecourt hut and listen to Atlantic 252 - yes that long ago!

Gave myself imaginary job title out of sheer boredom - fuel injection technician.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

any job in the civil service.

nothing to do and all day to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,698 ✭✭✭tricky D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

toll bridge payment collector

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Static Industrial Security Guard.

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,731 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Had a summer job once that consisted of mixing sand cement for plasterers on a building site...that's all I done, every 10 hour day, for a whole summer...

Most boring job I've ever had :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭mach1982

Working for a bank, i'd go insane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭wijam

worked in a shirt factory years ago sewing collars on to shirts - soul destroying - although there was good banter on the floor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭piby

Thankfully I haven't had too many boring jobs but the one that sticks out was doing security at Jurys (now D4 Hotels) in Ballsbridge when I was 18 or so. It was for conferences so I had to stand outside a door from 9-5. I wasn't allowed to sit down which was made all the more cruel because there were chairs either side of the door. While there were other staff we were posted alone so there was nobody tot alk to and we weren't allowed to move at all, just had to stand like a sentry in the same position. I remember the highlight of my day was getting a glass of water or taking a toilet break. Only did it for a few weeks but never again!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Picking shhtones

Spent many Summers doing the same! Sure tis a country boy dream job! Them fellas in the big schmoke would be jealous!

Telemarketing was pretty bad for me, calls were just queued up and came very fast. 8 hours a day and maybe 4 sales out of 50 or something. :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

How about turning hay, especially the last one before its rowed for balin.
    We have a big field at home, it a little over 1 mile around it driving a MF & PZ haybob in 540 box in 4th low at approx 6.5mph.
    Hay seed and dust sticking onto your sweat cos you broke the back window with the Haybob when you had the toplink too long.
    When you drive around it 3 times you have no idea what you turned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭barryfitz

I am currently working in south africa. I am employed to create the atmosphere in the stadiums, Have to spend 7 hours a day blowing into a big horn, Theres a good crew of us though and the rest of the lads are great craic:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭MonTheBiffy

barryfitz wrote: »
    I am currently working in south africa. I am employed to create the atmosphere in the stadiums, Have to spend 7 hours a day blowing into a big horn, Theres a good crew of us though and the rest of the lads are great craic:D

Is you job title: Complete Head Wrecker ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

Had a summer job once that consisted of mixing sand cement for plasterers on a building site...that's all I done, every 10 hour day, for a whole summer...

Most boring job I've ever had :(

I like that ,I actually like doing boring stuff .:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Bill-e

CD packer.

Or Security for a quiet pub/club.

Or data migration.