If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Keen to see what the future may hold!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,176 ✭✭✭Bambaata

See you at Mullaghmore El D! Cant wait for it myself. I'm spending the weekend in that neck of the woods, are you having to drive down specially for it or are you staying locally?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭El Director

Well I'm from north galway anyway so I will head home tonight and from there it is about an hour and a half. So it will be an early start for me, 5:30 or, good job I am used of that!

cool. its good to not have too far to go race morning! sure hopefully catch you down there and if i dont best of luck

Ya cool man, I will keep an eye out for ya and good luck.....u might make it 2 n a row :)

Up at 5:30, not a problem, well used of this now. Sleep well too which is a welcome bonus. Had my usual for breakie and hit the road at 6:15. What a beautiful morning. Don't know if you guys have ever been to the north west but I must say it is majestic, especially on a day like today. As you approach Sligo Ben Bulben comes into view, such a sight to behold. Anyway Mullaghmore is about 30 mins the other side of Sligo. Got there at 7:50, parked in the car park right beside transition, never before have I been able to park so close to my bike position, 20 feet :) Registered and had plenty of time for a coffee and chat with PB ('carrot on the stick' friend). Then saw Bambaata, going by his description, was just putting my shoes on my bike and went to go over to say hello....but he was gone and not seen by me again (prob the closest I got to him all day!!)

Race Report

Swim

We had to run in a god bit before we could actually swim. This can take it out of you and get the HR up. I saw a few of the lads diving in and breaststroking before getting up again to run a few steps and then repeating the action. Really I suppose one should practice these running starts. It was pretty hectic in there, got to the first bouy in one piece, the swell took me by surprise as I didn't think there was much looking from the shore. I was then back to my usual self, zig-zag, zig-zag. The current brought me nearly back into shore, I got totally detached from the main bunch so I was on my own. Eventually I made it back online and my swimming must be improving as a quick glance at my watch showed 0:13:xx.

T1

Into the grassy T1, myself and PB racked our bikes next to each other so we could see who was out of the water first. No repeat of Bray Aqua here, he had come and gone. Was as quick as I could be and off I went.

Bike

The bike course was not flat, a few hills and a couple of drags. There was plenty of wind around too but I couldn't really say which way it was blowing. Road surface was great for the most part. Passed a number of cyclists on the way out of the town, was caught again by one or two going up a hill but got them again. Onto the main road and continued to reel in more. At the turn around I was surprised to see PB only just 30 sec or so ahead. By this stage myself and 2/3 others were having quite a battle. I try not to get sucked in, keep cadence high and save legs for the run I tell myself. Soon we catch Pb and a group that he is battling with, so now there is a group of 8/9, each one as eager as the next. I pull up to PB and roll by (big big moment for me!) didn't know what to say, not my style anyway, so said nothing. At this stage we both know it's game over. PB rolls up beside me and gives me a tap on the ass (number 1) says something and moves on. I laugh (nervous laughter, glad of the release). I go by him again and this time I say "you're not going to make this easy are you?" to which he responds "what do you think". We both laugh. PB is mentally one of the strongest people I know. We both know I will outrun him yet here he is pushing me all the way. I wouldn't expect anything less, respect to the man who inspired me to get involved in this wonderful sport. Anyway.....with two km to go I get a small burst and go ahead of the group, then with 1 to go nearly all of them including PB take me again. This is cool, dismount line now in sight and I am very confident about my run these days. Into T2.

T2

PB just ahead of me and for the first time I see how super quick he is in there, helmet off, runners on, taps me on the ass (number 2) says something like ' whoop whoop' and off he goes. I'm out of there 3 secs later.

Run

Over the mat and PB says 'go for it man', taps me on the ass (munber 3) and I'm out of there. Serious head wind at first and 3/4 serious climbs in first 2 km. I pass a big muscular guy and it seems he is somewhat a local favorite as everybody along the run route knows his name, this helps me later on. However going up one of the hills he passes me again, he's strong. I say to myself 'no', stick with him, and I do. Just behind his shoulder, he knows I'm there as I am breathing heavily as this point. Water station at 2k, he takes water on, I don't. All of a sudden I feel strong, fit, so I decided to put the boot down. I knew he was strong so I had to go by him and keep going or else he will follow me. Gathered myself and off I go. Soon I can't hear his steps. Now I am focused on a guy 40m ahead. Never narrowed that gap although I passed others as did he. To make up the distance we have to run into a housing estate and around a cone, chance to see who's behind me. Muscle man is closer than I thought so I start moving again. Then with 500m to go I know he is closing again as the locals are shouting him on. I wasn't going to let this happen, not in front of everybody....I don't want to be that guy, not today. I cross the line ahead of the local, my stopwatch says 1:07:38, 4th PB in a row and I am stunned at how well it went.

Shook hands with the big guy and got a bottle of water and sports drink and waited for PB, he came in in 1:12:xx, hilly run route would not have suited him. This was perfect prep for Kilkee, it was a "Kilkee Lite", just like it except shorter.

Could not praise the MSC Tri club enough and the local people too. We got a meal voucher for a lovely chicken curry after, yum yum :D The race was so well run I really cannot think of a negative.

So I was going to have a long run tomorrow but I think I will scrap it and have a rest day. On Thursday I will have another rest day or maybe some sighting practice.

So all in all a great day for me, no splits yet, will post when I get them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭nomadic

Great stuff. It didn't take long to get back in great form. You hammered your mate aswell. I'm sure he'll be upping the training.

Indeed he will. Actually thats part of the problem for him, he is writing a thesis and it's taking up a lot of his time, so come June 30th he is back to it and by Budapest we he will be flying again. Thanks dude.

Time 1:07:39 (25/376) 9th in AG
    Swim 12:37 (85/376); T1 1:34; Bike 33:14 (18/376);
    T2 1:01; Run 19:13 (35/376).

So inside the top 7% overall and for the individual splits: Swim 23%; Bike 5%; Run 9%; Really happy with that, especially the bike and even my transitions.

If I could have spoken to my future self this time last year and my future self told me that I's be top 25 in a NS race, I simply would not have been able to believe it. Amazing what a bit of hard work and commitment can do :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,725 ✭✭✭kennyb3

You re in savage form dude, you ve one great consititution to be putting in the sessions you are and races and taking it all in your stride. fair play, you re defo getting back what you re putting in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Well done on a great race! With finishes like that 650 NS points is a given. The turbo work earlier this year is really paying off in the bike splits. Thanks for the report also, CatW is right Monday is a great day for catching up on race reports. Yours schedule is unreal though, racing 3 weekends in a row. Kilkee and Athlone in the next 12 days :eek: Mind yourself.

kennyb3 wrote: »
    You re in savage form dude, you ve one great consititution to be putting in the sessions you are and races and taking it all in your stride. fair play, you re defo getting back what you re putting in

Thanks Kenny. Thats what I love about the sport, you do get out what you put in...not like team sports.

Well done on a great race! With finishes like that 650 NS points is a given. The turbo work earlier this year is really paying off in the bike splits. Thanks for the report also, CatW is right Monday is a great day for catching up on race reports. Yours schedule is unreal though, racing 3 weekends in a row. Kilkee and Athlone in the next 12 days :eek: Mind yourself.

Thanks dude. You are great for remembering the season goals....reminds me too :cool: The turbo work really must be paying off as I don't really do that much on the bike except perhaps for the last two weeks.

I suppose my schedule does look a bit mad but I really wanted to be race sharp come the big day. And it's working. I will be down to 5/6 hours training this week and next with 3/4 days of rest. The days I do train will start with long easy warm ups and cool downs and short reps at high tempo inbetween. Thanks for the concern and I suppose in 13 days time we will find out if it was too much. Off to the pool now followed by a core workout :)

great racing El D! Im itching like a motherxxxxxx since it with the lovely baby oil induced sunburn!

Its a race i hope to do every year. One of my fav parts of the country which also just so happens to have one of the best organised races of the year.

Warm UP 400m

3 x 200m Pull off 4:15 Bi-lat breathing

3 x 200m FS off 4:15 Bi-lat

3 x 300m FS off 4:00

Cool Down 200m

Felt really good in the pool today. Easily making the repeat times. The most promising thing is I can really see the benefits of bi-lat breathing. I won't employ it just yet in a race but I will soon

Core Session in the afternoon.

Bambaata wrote: »
    great racing El D! Im itching like a motherxxxxxx since it with the lovely baby oil induced sunburn!

Its a race i hope to do every year. One of my fav parts of the country which also just so happens to have one of the best organised races of the year.

Same as Bambaata. I love the north west and I'm planning a weekend of training up the in prep for Groomsport, long cycles, sea swims and nice runs. Already looking forward to racing that course again next year! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

Well done in Mullaghmore. That's a savage performance. See you on Saturday in Kilkee.

pgibbo wrote: »
    Well done in Mullaghmore. That's a savage performance. See you on Saturday in Kilkee.

Col P, looking forward to it and thanks!

Tues Morn Hill Repeats

Forgot to put the garmin going for the first 3 k, no harm no hills there anyway. Did a figure of 8 in and just outside the walls of the Phoenix Park. So for anybody that knows the park (part of the route is part of the DCT which is the National Cup Olympic Distance this year); So first hill is approx. 2k up the S bends, nice gradual inclince, then it's the Kyber approx 1.5k gradual at first before a bit of a kicker at the end then its along Acres Road and out of the park and into Chapelizod. Up the very steep hill coming out of the village towards Castleknock. There is a long, 2.5k drag all the way up to Castleknock College cross, here take a right back into the park and repeat. Did the loop twice, will increase this to 4/5 repeats before Groomsport. Here is a link for anybody in the area interested.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/37760640

thats seems like a nice early morning route! Fancy a companion someday? I live just the opposite side of the park and need to start early morning cycling as ive missed too many evening sessions after work lately!

Bambaata wrote: »
    thats seems like a nice early morning route! Fancy a companion someday? I live just the opposite side of the park and need to start early morning cycling as ive missed too many evening sessions after work lately!

Ya of course man, the more the better! I will be doing it again next Tuesday morning at 7ish. I will PM you my details. Think I will do 3 laps next week.

Warm Up 10 x 50m off 1:05

1,500m FS Time 28 min 28 sec

Cool Down 50m BC

I think I would like at this stage to set a few new training objectives for the year. I know it is half way through the year, is it ok to do this? I think they are well within my grasp.

Here is a reminder of my training objectives set last Feb:

1) Do a 20k TT in under 32 mins
    2) Feel stronger climbing hills by May
    3) Run a 90 min half marathon
    4) Run a 45 min 10k in a triathlon

Updated Version:

1) Do a 20k TT in under 32 mins
    2) Feel stronger climbing hills by May
    3) Run a 90 min half marathon
    4) Run a 45 min 10k in a triathlon
    5) Swim 1,500 in under 26mins (pool) by Budapest
    6) Run a sub 18 min 5k
    7) Run a sub 30 min 8k
    8) Run a sub 38 min 10k

This evening I have a 1,500 track graded run, looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭interested

I think I would like at this stage to set a few new training objectives for the year. I know it is half way through the year, is it ok to do this? I think they are well within my grasp.

All good chief ... one suggestion though - can you start logging the number of hours per day you're getting to sleep ;) ... bloody teachers and their summer training programmes that include naps :) Enjoy !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

interested wrote: »
    All good chief ... one suggestion though - can you start logging the number of hours per day you're getting to sleep ;) ... bloody teachers and their summer training programmes that include naps :) Enjoy !

Do that and you will just sicken us all and we will boycott the log :P

Actully been finding it hard to change my sleeping patterns! I still get up really early and only some days get my nap in! Was reading for a student for the exams, she finished yesterday so now I will have more times for nap ;) but I will not be logging my naps....just like I don't tell my mates that on a Thurs morn I got to visit Boyne Heritate centre on my bike, or the fact I went to the beach on a lovely summers day in the middle of the week to read, relax, swim and spot the babes ;) no, I won't be logging all that info, I like having friends you see!

My second race for the club on the track tonight in Irishtown. What terrific facilities they have there, unreal. Nice to meet a lad from my home village, great runner, in the A grade and came 4/5th.

I was in grade D naturally, it was a 1,500m (3 and 3/4 laps). Totally out of the loop as to how about running this. Decided just before that I would attack it and have no regrets.

Gun went, and so did I! Led out the 12/13 athletes and felt comfortable and uncomfortable. Comfortable at the pace but uncomfortable that I was on my own and everybody just tucked in behind me. Led it for 2 and a half laps then 3 or 4 went by me and in the last 300m another 3 or 4. Although I did pull back a place or two in the home straight, good to see I still had a kick after leading it out. Time 4 min 51 sec. I think 7/8th place not sure yet.

I know I can run faster but not this evening the way the race panned out. It was silly I suppose to lead the race for two and a half laps but I just found myself in that position and went with it. Next time I will tuck in and be more efficient. That is the key according the coach and more experience athletes. Although I was complemented for my 'bravery' I know I can and will do beter next time. Once again the track has proved a valuable place to learn. It is very cut throat and you are totally exposed, I'm glad to say I wasn't exposed for the triathlete I am ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

Well done El D. You are flying now. All the best for HOTW.

I will be going to Athlone next Sat to do the sprint. Are you in the same race?

Also, I am planning on signing up for my first oly dist in Galway (Ras na Portaigh) on 17th July. Are you familiar with the course, (or CW or pgibbo may also have info on this)?

Thanks dude. Are you in the Open event Mac? I am in the Euro Champs Age Group sprint, in the water at 7:50, ridiculous time especially when you have friends and family coming to see the race.

Thats the Carna race and no I have not done it MAc but mates of mine have and.....I will just say to you what they said to me......"it is tougher than HOTW"! Hope that doesn't put you off. Sorry I can't give you any more info on it. Fair play to you man, I look forward to that report. I hope all the training is going well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

Macanri wrote: »
    Also, I am planning on signing up for my first oly dist in Galway (Ras na Portaigh) on 17th July. Are you familiar with the course, (or CW or pgibbo may also have info on this)?

I have only done one OLY race and it was Carna last year. I loved it. Many people have told me it's harded than the HOTW but I won't comment on that until I get Saturday out of the way. I'm doing Carna again this year as I really enjoyed it last year. It's a beautiful location. Nice swim in the sheltered bay, hillyish bike but nothing major. The wind is more of an issue as it;s quite exposed. And then there's the run - LOL. You'll love it. 8 of us did Carna last year and we are all going back this year so it can't be that bad. :cool:

MCOS did both HOTW and Carna last year. You can get some feedback from him also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭DustyBin

Good luck in Kilkee El D, you're feckin flying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

Thanks dude. Are you in the Open event Mac? I am in the Euro Champs Age Group sprint, in the water at 7:50, ridiculous time especially when you have friends and family coming to see the race.

Thats the Carna race and no I have not done it MAc but mates of mine have and.....I will just say to you what they said to me......"it is tougher than HOTW"! Hope that doesn't put you off. Sorry I can't give you any more info on it. Fair play to you man, I look forward to that report. I hope all the training is going well.

Yea, I was wondering where they going to be done in the same time, cheers. I might catch you after your race before I start.

Need to make up my mind re the Galway Tri so. Yea the training is going very well. I have decided to update the log every few days. I need to devote less time to Boards!

Ya cool, if I don't catch you then, perhaps after your event?

If the training is going well then you should go for the Galway Tri man, it would be good experience. I like to update as I go because it keeps me focused on what I have done and what I have to do. I think reflection is important...plus I've plenty of time on ,my hands. Right out the door now for a short brick befoe tomorrow's business.

Short Brick this morning

Bike Warm Up 13 min; 6 x 45 sec max; Cool Down 16 min

Run Warm UP 7 min; 6 x 30 sec pick ups; Cooln Down 5 min

Didn't feel that great doing this. Felt a bit sluggish, even unfit but strong at the same time if that makes sense. Glad I did it though.

So thats pretty much it. 6 months hard training with plenty of ups and downs. Tomorrow sees me doing my first A race of the season. The aim is a top 33% finish, looking at last years time that means I need t be finishing in 2hr40mn, a whole 30 mins faster than I did it last year :eek: We'll see, I'd actually be pretty happy with 2:50. Getting my stuff together now and will head at about 6. Good luck to one and all and hope to see/meet some of ye over the weekend.