Your ONLINE name

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭El_Presidente

www.iol.net/~mullent

MAY EL_PRESIDENTE'S REIGN LAST A THOUSAND YEARS!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,921 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

Marcus, Markus, Arkus, Arky

Boss is optional.

• Subscribers Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭Draco

Mine a nickname from school, gotten when I was in first year (jaysus - 10 years ago now!) from a dodgy story I wrote.

Draco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,339 ✭✭✭✭LoLth

from AD&D roleplaying... it's the older way of spelling it, when a new setting came out they changed it around to lloth, or loth to keep the munchkins happy. smile.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭harVee

my name isn't harVee, it's harVey. had to change it ocs someone changed my password and i couldn't use harVey anymore. sad really
    harVey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭2040

HarVee looks better than HarVey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

ahem. well the cm bit should be ignored... i lost the password for tyranny.... boo hoo
    but my dictionary defines tyranny as an evil or despotic abuse of power. which was nice.
    back in the days of doom and descent i was always either jehovah or deus ; g0d is a logical progression from there.
    how i came by tyranny is really too sad to mention, but ummm, theleadsingerfromcradleoffilthsdaughteriscalledtyranny. happy now?

take away the wine, a restlessness plagues me

But whos nick is the best?, thats the question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭Illkillya

you're probably right about the word paladin paladin - most knights are usually associated with kind of holy religious stuff and things... Snaga - isn't that a small orc in tolkien-speech?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭harVee

hey steve, aren't you normally the one who takes away every one else's wine...

and i dunno 2040, think i prefer harVey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Lucutus

Lucutus, Of course it came from Star Trek.

Change the 'O' to a 'U' (Locutus = Lucutus) to avoid copyright infringement from Paramount Studios (It's been known to happen...sometime, someplace, somehow!) As well as that, when I migrated to The Undernet IRC from web chat, (Anyone remember web communities long since disappeared like Atlantic Island, The Emerald Rooom, and The Burren, now known as Seaswans Harbour on Paddynet?), the nick 'Locutus' was a 24/7 bot on a gay channel, (Those buffties love their Picard! wink.gif ), So it had to be changed for that too.

Someone studying latin once told me it was the latin word for 'Speaker', which I liked. (Ties in with the name given to the Borg's ambassodor to the federation and earth, they needed someone to be the borg's spokeperson to earth and the means of assimilation of the human species into the collective.)

Lucutus of Borg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭bubbles

Reading that Lucutis made me tired.... its like your whole life story!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 High_Ping_King

Give a guess.

smile.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

erm, when i was in first year in college in 92 i used skippy coz im from australia. used to spend about 10 hours a da on a talker called foothills on telnet.
    then one day, someone had robbed my nick so i needed a new one.
    i thought long and hard and the only thing i could think of was mario. since ithought he looked like a painter in his overalls and i could only think of white wash paint i thought id call myself whitewash. then i just added man at the end for some strange reason.
    i have to say its on of the few nicks ive seen that is actually original smile.gif

oh and pebble came from the time i was playing hockey and i was called a pebble in defence coz they alreadsy had a rock there smile.gif

and yer'ma comes from a converstion with tincool.

actually tincool used tinfoil for a while coz at one stage, one of the lads in our clan used to spellcheck his mails (?) and it told him the clostest word to tincool was tinfoil, which i think is highly amusing smile.gif

Mine is the most original nick going...

/me remembers inspiration for nick!

phan-sm.jpg

twenty-sign.jpg

[This message has been edited by 2040 (edited 11-04-2000).]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

aaah harvee.... that realllly hurts :P

and snaga is the name of druss' big phallic axe in david gemmels legend series; it is also orcish [in lotr] for "slave" lotr was written quite some time previous to legend but gemmel is still kinda cool.
    do i win a prize snaga?

and its beer i nick not wine; im classy but not that classy wink.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Hmm, no 20-40, I have to say I don't agree with you :P

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭acous

Acoustic

see!!

/me votes himself worst nick...

Just shut it lump - everyone knows my nick is the best!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

I got mine via my stupidity..i thought Sheron was charon...greek underworld blokey....but it alas wasn't and this name stuck with me..so dayer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,676 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

2040 - that suggests nothing!

my name is the best! the meaning is twofold! twofold I tell you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭sutty

ha you all dwarf in comparason to me smile.gif

my name is Ciaran Sutcliffe, and since I started school people have called me "sutty" among other things smile.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭FreaK_BrutheR

burger?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Originally posted by SheroN:
    I got mine via my stupidity..i thought Sheron was charon...greek underworld blokey....but it alas wasn't and this name stuck with me..so dayer

ScreaM told me you misspelled Sharon when you were registering on IRC tongue.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭the celtic tiger

Mine came from ancient egypt and was carried here on the lips of an arabian beauty. She arrived at my door, we made love....we kissed and the name was implanted forever in my brain......PROVIDENCE....providence... She died soon after. (the celtic tiger)....To tell you the truth when I first came to the boards back in September....I was called paddypaddy55 but had to choose new name because the moderaters banned me for spamming! paddypaddy is the first name of a friends (Frances Farmer's) dad (*2). I had to add the 55 cos someone had already taken the paddypaddy one at hotmail!

anyway....That's it!

tct

eek.gif

And with that I stand down as leader of this ancient and very sacred society. I just hope you will treat your new leader with as much love and respect as you have shown me. I bid thee farewell.
    thank you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 540 ✭✭✭silverski

Greetings all,

My nick was in college in the early 80's

I had a passion for long coats and trilbe hats,, Like the gansters in the roaring 20's, But I was more like the KGB, so my friends decided to add ski to my surname *******ski, and so this stayed with me through college and also during that time I was completly addicted to mints, SilverMints
    and so the the nick was born silVerSki and has stayed with me all these years.....

smile.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭Mythago

I got mine from a Robert Holdstock book about
    ancient ghosts or something in a wood!? Cool name(Mythago Wood) average story. Kinda fits since I'm hardly ever on anymore smile.gif. Although
    if ya search the web u'll find a collection
    of nudey pics with the name smile.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭Paladin

Im sorry lads n lass', but it just has to be metalchicken. I dont have a clue why *cough she wants me cough* but it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Asuka

Mythago is pretty good actually smile.gif

Personally i think 2040 is A) Sh!t and B) Pushing it a bit...

2040 doesnt roll off the tongue that well (No comments please!:P) and doesnt suggest anything at all. Its just a number (and not a particularly good one at that smile.gif)

No offence 2040 smile.gif