Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Pulled with out of date tax/insurance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭CosmicJay

Cabaal wrote: »
    Only if that "other car" also has insurance...which it didn't so thats no good to the OP

Quinn don't require the other car to have an insurance policy on it.

Just that its roadworthy and has tax and nct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

poodles wrote: »
    LOL

Are you for real man?

"Don't back seat moderate"?

sorry but that comes across as very losery

a) Back seat modding is a real thing, and is banned by every Charter on boards

b) Disputing mod decisions on-thread is also banned because it derails the thread

c) Directly insulting other users (i.e. you're a loser) is also against the Charter

Take 3 days off to familiarise yourself with the charter (the link's in my sig), and post a bit more maturely when you come back.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Jo King

Whatever you do, do not admit to the guards there was no insurance. There is a potential defence available given that it was not your own car. You need a good motoring lawyer, and some good luck, to get out of this situation.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Jo King wrote: »
    Whatever you do, do not admit to the guards there was no insurance. There is a potential defence available given that it was not your own car. You need a good motoring lawyer, and some good luck, to get out of this situation.
    facepalm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,730 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

facepalm

I'm sure he's only JoKing................

see what I did there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭tooler7

ottostreet wrote: »
    6 months out?

that was smart.

we have all made mistakes in the past

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,414 ✭✭✭Tefral

Ignorance isnt a defence in court, its the drivers responsibility to ensure that the car is taxed, insured and nct'd (where applicable)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

I can tell you exactly. The vehicle will not be released until the registered owner of the vehicle somebody with insurance turns up to drive it. Once that has been established. the towing and storage charge has to be paid. Usually €110 + (€35 per night calculated until midnight of the night) Seems to be different at every station or else i just forget.
    Then you will be summonsed to court for driving with no insurance, non display of insurance. you didnt say whether you had tax or not, if not the same will apply for the vehicle road tax.
    If convicted you could face a fine (determined by the judge- €250+ and up to six penalty points or disqualification for a period determined by the judge or imprisonment for a period(will only happen if you tell the judge to fudge off).

You will not be able to back date insurance although i have heard stories where Quinn will backdate if there was no accident involved but they will charge you for it.

What you can do for the moment is to get the car back quickly as you will pay storage every day until you do and to be polite to the Guard who seized the vehicle from you. Explain your case and this will make court easier. Most guards don't want to bear heavy on decent people who screw up and will guide you through the process. Anybody who says different are usually rude or obnoxious to the guard.....

Dont pay heed to the advice pleading ignorance, there is no defence for this, you can get a solictor but they usually cost more than the court fine itself.
    Lastly what the fudge were you thinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

Just got pulled over in my sister's car which is very rarely used. Guards seized the car and I have 10 days to produce insurance which I don't possess. I have a full licence for whatever little it matters. What sort of repercussions am I looking at here? I've told them the car hasn't been used in months and I presumed the tax/ins was in date. Unfortunately both are out by about 6 months. Is there anything I can do here, like purchasing insurance right away?

You cannot be serious?

BTW, you will not have your full licence for too much longer. The likes of you (uninsured drivers) are a blight on our roads and the removal of such from the roads is welcomed.

cronin_j wrote: »
    Ignorance isnt a defence in court, its the drivers responsibility to ensure that the car is taxed, insured and nct'd (where applicable)

I never said ignorance was a defence! It is not the defence I was suggesting. There is a defence available which has worked from time to time in the courts. I am not going to say what it is on this thread. People can and do plead guilty of insurances offences which they might have got out of on a daily basis. Some people fight and escape. I would rate the o/ps chances at better than 50% of getting off, if he is properly advised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,234 ✭✭✭✭djimi

I never said ignorance was a defence! It is not the defence I was suggesting. There is a defence available which has worked from time to time in the courts. I am not going to say what it is on this thread. People can and do plead guilty of insurances offences which they might have got out of on a daily basis. Some people fight and escape. I would rate the o/ps chances at better than 50% of getting off, if he is properly advised.

Im not really sure what kind of defense he has tho. What are you suggesting that the OP say in his defense? Whatever they might try and say, it comes down to the car and driver not having any insurance on the car, and considering it is up to the driver to ensure that they are insured properly before getting behind the wheel, Id say there is little that they can say to get themselves out of this one. Like has been said, no matter what route you take, ignorance is not an excuse for breaking the law ("I didnt know the car wasnt insured your honor"), and assumptions do not hold up in court ("I assumed it was insured your honor").

djimi wrote: »
    Im not really sure what kind of defense he has tho. What are you suggesting that the OP say in his defense? Whatever they might try and say, it comes down to the car and driver not having any insurance on the car, and considering it is up to the driver to ensure that they are insured properly before getting behind the wheel, Id say there is little that they can say to get themselves out of this one. Like has been said, no matter what route you take, ignorance is not an excuse for breaking the law ("I didnt know the car wasnt insured your honor"), and assumptions do not hold up in court ("I assumed it was insured your honor").

I am not getting into giving legal advice to the o/p on the thread. I have already said his defence is not based on ignorance. Giving advice on a public forum is highly prejudicial to the o/p. I have seen the defence I am thinking of work on a number of occasions. I have also seen idiot solicitors and barristers ignore it and advise the client to plead guilty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭BeardyGit

cursai wrote: »
    I can tell you exactly. The vehicle will not be released until the registered owner of the vehicle somebody with insurance turns up to drive it. Once that has been established. the towing and storage charge has to be paid. Usually €110 + (€35 per night calculated until midnight of the night) Seems to be different at every station or else i just forget.
    Then you will be summonsed to court for driving with no insurance, non display of insurance. you didnt say whether you had tax or not, if not the same will apply for the vehicle road tax.
    If convicted you could face a fine (determined by the judge- €250+ and up to six penalty points or disqualification for a period determined by the judge or imprisonment for a period(will only happen if you tell the judge to fudge off).

You will not be able to back date insurance although i have heard stories where Quinn will backdate if there was no accident involved but they will charge you for it.

What you can do for the moment is to get the car back quickly as you will pay storage every day until you do and to be polite to the Guard who seized the vehicle from you. Explain your case and this will make court easier. Most guards don't want to bear heavy on decent people who screw up and will guide you through the process. Anybody who says different are usually rude or obnoxious to the guard.....

Dont pay heed to the advice pleading ignorance, there is no defence for this, you can get a solictor but they usually cost more than the court fine itself.
    Lastly what the fudge were you thinking.

If you're going to state that you "can tell you exactly", at least be accurate when you state specifics in terms of fines, points and so on. CharlieCroker is a man 'in the know' and what he has stated is correct in terms of the penalties which may be applied to the OP.

There's a difference between an insurer agreeing to renew a policy which may have lapsed for a period of a few days, on the basis the policy holder had understood it would renew automatically (I've personal experience of this happening with Quinn), and agreeing to back date a policy where the original policy had expired months beforehand.

Quinn Direct will not back date insurance for a new policy application. No insurer will, despite whatever pubtalk you might have heard. Insurance companies won't provide anyone with a way to get around the illegality of having driven with no insurance in place - it's not in their interest to facilitate people that are clearly prepared to take unacceptable risks, which is what the OP did. I'm just calling a spade a spade.

There's no way to avoid a court appearance in your case OP, and it really comes down to the court now to apply whatever penalties they believe appropriate. If the cover on the vehicle was only a few days out, you might have stood a chance of some understanding from the judge in terms of how heavy handed they'd have been, perhaps even avoiding a disqualification if you were suitably represented and had put cover in place immediately. A period of 6 months out of cover is too much though, and I'm pretty sure you realise that yourself.

So in practical terms you're most likely going to have some fines to pay, points on your license and a ban of unspecified duration plus the associated endorsement on your license for 3 years from the disqualification dates. For most people that'll rule out obtaining any kind of affordable insurance, as the loading is pretty severe in terms of premium. Failure to disclose an endorsement or disqualification can be used to void your insurance (and it would, make no mistake) in the event of an accident, so you just have to consider the fact you'll not be driving for a good while after your court appearance, unless you've money to burn.

Again in practical terms this means you've to start considering your own situation. Think about how you get to college/work, the nature of your work in terms of whether you've to travel and how you'll get around, along with the possible impact in terms of limiting your job choices for the short to medium term.

It's a tough situation to face into, but it's not the end of the world. Make a few practical plans now to limit how much of an impact it has on your day to day plans.

In relation to the car being impounded, get it out today if you can. You'll either need to back tax the car and have a properly insured driver collect it for you, or you can have a recovery company take it home for you. The costs can mount up quickly if you don't act now.

Hope that's some practical help and advice for you.

And I know it goes without saying, but don't ever take the chance again. You're being penalised now on the basis of the very real hardship and damage you could have caused and done to other people on the roads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭Mary Hairy

RoverCraft wrote: »
    I
    There's no way to avoid a court appearance in your case OP, and it really comes down to the court now to apply whatever penalties they believe appropriate.

the o/p has to be convicted before the question of penalties arises.

Driving of servant not covered by insurance - Complaint against servant dismissed - Whether master guilty of offence - Road Traffic Act, 1933, s. 56 (3).

P.R., a servant of the defendant, on the orders of the defendant, drove the defendant's motor car into the town of Boyle. At that time P.R. was not the holder of a driving licence, and had never been the holder of such a licence, and the driving of the motor vehicle was not covered by insurance. The defendant, having permitted the said vehicle to be driven at a time where there was not in force an approved policy of insurance, contrary to section 86 of the Road Traffic Act, 1933, was charged with an offence under the provisions of sub-section 3 of the same section. Held: R. having driven the vehicle at a time when it was not covered by insurance, had acted in contravention of the prohibition contained in section 56 of the Act, even though he was entitled to the benefit of the special defence provided by sub-section (6) of the section, and that, accordingly, the defendant, in permitting the driving of the vehicle when it was not covered by insurance, had acted in contravention of the section and had committed an offence under the provisions of sub-section 3 of section 56 of the Act.
    Attorney-General (Hayes) v. Downes
    (H.C.)
    93 I.L.T.R. 121 93 I.L.T.R. 121

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 FeetMagicII

RoverCraft wrote: »
    If you're going to state that you "can tell you exactly", at least be accurate when you state specifics in terms of fines, points and so on. CharlieCroker is a man 'in the know' and what he has stated is correct in terms of the penalties which may be applied to the OP.

There's a difference between an insurer agreeing to renew a policy which may have lapsed for a period of a few days, on the basis the policy holder had understood it would renew automatically (I've personal experience of this happening with Quinn), and agreeing to back date a policy where the original policy had expired months beforehand.

Quinn Direct will not back date insurance for a new policy application. No insurer will, despite whatever pubtalk you might have heard. Insurance companies won't provide anyone with a way to get around the illegality of having driven with no insurance in place - it's not in their interest to facilitate people that are clearly prepared to take unacceptable risks, which is what the OP did. I'm just calling a spade a spade.

There's no way to avoid a court appearance in your case OP, and it really comes down to the court now to apply whatever penalties they believe appropriate. If the cover on the vehicle was only a few days out, you might have stood a chance of some understanding from the judge in terms of how heavy handed they'd have been, perhaps even avoiding a disqualification if you were suitably represented and had put cover in place immediately. A period of 6 months out of cover is too much though, and I'm pretty sure you realise that yourself.

So in practical terms you're most likely going to have some fines to pay, points on your license and a ban of unspecified duration plus the associated endorsement on your license for 3 years from the disqualification dates. For most people that'll rule out obtaining any kind of affordable insurance, as the loading is pretty severe in terms of premium. Failure to disclose an endorsement or disqualification can be used to void your insurance (and it would, make no mistake) in the event of an accident, so you just have to consider the fact you'll not be driving for a good while after your court appearance, unless you've money to burn.

Again in practical terms this means you've to start considering your own situation. Think about how you get to college/work, the nature of your work in terms of whether you've to travel and how you'll get around, along with the possible impact in terms of limiting your job choices for the short to medium term.

It's a tough situation to face into, but it's not the end of the world. Make a few practical plans now to limit how much of an impact it has on your day to day plans.

In relation to the car being impounded, get it out today if you can. You'll either need to back tax the car and have a properly insured driver collect it for you, or you can have a recovery company take it home for you. The costs can mount up quickly if you don't act now.

Hope that's some practical help and advice for you.

And I know it goes without saying, but don't ever take the chance again. You're being penalised now on the basis of the very real hardship and damage you could have caused and done to other people on the roads.

Thanks very much for the advice. Just with regards the tax, is it likely that they will back-tax the car? Was trying to ring all day but no answer so I will go into the office tomorrow.

This isn't a legal discussion Hairy Mary, but the question of penalties is most certainly open for discussion and comment before a court may find the OP guilty of whatever charges he faces. He's in trouble and wanted to know how best to deal with it in practical terms.

So, what's your point? That someone got off before because they as a servant were ordered by their master to drive the car? Do you think that sets legal precendent that would actually apply to the OP? Do you think that'll suffice to get him off whatever charges he may face?

I hate to burst your bubble Hairy, but that's not going to cut it. The district court is where the case will be heard, judgement made and penalties applied. The OP can of course appeal it, take it to a higher court and so on where a barrister may argue his case referring to precedent (and at not inconsiderable cost), but even that's a bit thin, all things considered, isn't it? He wasn't a servant. He wasn't ordered to drive the car. He was driving the car of his own free will, on his own terms, without adequate insurance..... That's nothing like the case to which you refer.

Those are the facts. He knows it. The Gardaí know it. And the judge will know it. You might want to encourage him to pursue some form of legal defense, and he might indeed want to do so.

And if the OP's paying attention, he'll go speak with a solicitor for the legal advice bit, rather than pinning his hopes on your particularly weak suggestion of a defense.

The rest of us, your good self excluded I reckon, will give the laypersons guide based on our own experiences.

Best of luck OP, I'm done.

Thanks very much for the advice. Just with regards the tax, is it likely that they will back-tax the car? Was trying to ring all day but no answer so I will go into the office tomorrow.

The one thing you'll never have trouble doing in this country is getting revenue to take your money ;) That said, you will need an insurance certificate covering the vehicle to allow you tax it I believe - The motor tax office will advise you I'm sure....

If the car has been off the road for the interim period, and I mean that - ONLY if it's been off the road, get a declaration filled in and signed in your local Garda station for the complete months during which it wasn't on the road. If it was out and about at all during that time, either in your hands or anyone elses, don't get yourself in further trouble by making a false declaration....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 liamodr

You need an insurance policy number in order to get motor tax. The insurance must be current on the first day of the tax renewal period. You may then pay motor tax arrears for the 6 months. Looks like you need to get insurance sorted first in order to get the car taxed so you can get the car released (AFAIK).

Precedent can be argued in the District Court. I quoted that precedent to show rthat it is not automatic for the driver of an uninsured car to be convicted. The o/p should of course go to a solicitor and get one who will instruct a competent barrister. I know a guy who drove hios mothers car uninsured and got off in the District Court using the servant argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,450 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Hairy Mary, get it right. He will be summonsed for an offence under the Road Traffic Act 1961 -2006!!! That supercedes anything before that, such as the Road Traffic Act 1933.

All the proofs are there for a conviction
    -driving
    -mechanically propelled vehicle
    -public place.
    - failure to provide proof of insurance.

It is (i think) the only offence where the proof of innocence rests with the alleged offender. (i.e. production of insurance cert)

Cabaal wrote: »
    Only if that "other car" also has insurance...which it didn't so thats no good to the OP

Why is there so much confusion over this in general??

Every policy has an accompanying cert which outlines what exactly is covered

If it doesn't categorically state that the "other car" must have insurance on it, then surely someone with their own policy is covered (3rd party) to drive uninsured cars?

For instance, I read my cert and policy cover to cover and at no point does it mention that the "other car" must have insurance on it. But I'm still not convinced that I will be 100% covered (3rd party), should I have an accident driving another uninsured car (thats not my main car)

I asked a garda once, he referred me to the insurance company

Spoke to a young girl in the insurance co office and she told me check the policy! :mad:

When you take out a policy, what exactly is covered? You, a driver, or your car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

she'll be a tray of beer cans soon enough me thinks
    sorry op. My tax was outta date since start of this month. I reluctantly paid after passing 8 checkpoints this month without hassle

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

congo_90 wrote: »
    she'll be a tray of beer cans soon enough me thinks
    sorry op. My tax was outta date since start of this month. I reluctantly paid after passing 8 checkpoints this month without hassle
    Eh, I thought all tax discs expire at the end of the month?

I think he means since the end of last month, which is also the start of this month.... :D

Hairy Mary, get it right. He will be summonsed for an offence under the Road Traffic Act 1961 -2006!!! That supercedes anything before that, such as the Road Traffic Act 1933.

All the proofs are there for a conviction
    -driving
    -mechanically propelled vehicle
    -public place.
    - failure to provide proof of insurance.

It is (i think) the only offence where the proof of innocence rests with the alleged offender. (i.e. production of insurance cert)

Get it right yourself. The relevant provisions of the 1961 Act are a direct re-enactment of the provisions of the 1933 Act. The proofs may be there. So are the defences!
    The failure to produce a certificate of insurance or exemption on a proper demand simply creates a presumption of no insurance.
    It is not the only offence where proof of innocence rests with the alleged offender. The defence of insanity is one. Drink or drug driving is another. Failure to give a sample is an offence. The alleged offender has to prove good reason for the failure or be convicted.

Don't you mean the defenses may be there?

You've made your point, for whatever it's worth, however unlikely it is to be effective.

This is pretty black and white stuff though in all fairness. There are a number of scenarios where most folks would be prepared to accept someone inadvertently driving an uninsured vehicle, life and death stuff and even some less serious circumstances.

To put things in perspective - I'm not a keyboard warrior. I've had my own 'brush with the law' in terms of driving without insurance, albeit it ultimately without the consequences of a prosecution.

I had an accident about 10 years ago in a friends car where I had been given my own set of keys to the car, where I had supplied my license number to him on the basis of a request from the insurance company so they could add me to the policy, and it turned out in the end up that my name was never added to the insurance certificate as a named driver by the broker.

It cost me the guts of €9k, as the insurance company were instructed to pay out on the resultant claims (only for damage to third party vehicles, and thankfully no injuries) as their was a policy in effect on the vehicle and to pursue me through a civil case to recover their costs. The broker got no more than a scathing email or two from me.

The gardaí didn't prosecute me for driving without insurance as we could provide copies of the emails sent to the insurance broker with the request to add me as a driver, along with a reply from them stating they would do so. We'd made the request, and received a response indicating it would be actioned..... It was pretty clear that we'd done what would typically be required to add a driver to a policy.

The insurance company in that case were AIG, and while the broker had indicated cover would be put in place, AIG had never altered the contract/policy that was in effect, as they say they never received such a request/instruction. Without an insurance certificate with either 'open driving' or my name as a named driver, I was ultimately to pay the cost they incurred as a result of a court instruction.

The Gardaí could have prosecuted me, as in the strictest sense I wasn't insured, but the Garda I dealt with was pragmatic in his application of the law. He knew my friend and I had done what most folks would do to arrange insurance cover, and he could see himself that while I wasn't in effect insured, we'd made reasonable efforts to put the cover in place.

Ignorance is no defense or so they say, but common sense thankfully prevailed.

So, no prosecution in my case, very luckily. But it's taught me to be particularly cautious about what cars I'll drive and to ensure any policy I've had since them on my own vehicle will cover me on someone elses should I end up behind the wheel. I'd never again take it from someone that I was insured unless I checked the policy/certificate to be certain.

The above is simply to illustrate that the enforcement of the letter of the law in Ireland can sometimes be tempered with the application of some common sense, where an honest mistake has been made or a system has broken down.

Common sense in the OP's situation would have been to leave the car at home and take a taxi or a bus or whatever. Unfortunately for him he'll have to deal with the legal ramifications, but as I've said before, it's not the end of the world. Worse things can happen, and it's a lesson better learned where nobody's hurt or out of pocket.

I did not mean defences may be there.

The reason you were not prosecuted is that you were covered by insurance but your own ignorance meant you did not and still do not know it. the broker was negligent. You could have sued him and been indemnified by his professional indemnity insurance. The result therefore is that there was a opolicy of insurance covering your driving. No offence under S56 of the Road traffic Act 1961 as amended.
    The fact that you failed to sue the broker and paid up yourself is your own fault. You should refrain from advising other people on the basis of your own experience. It did not make you an expert.

I was advised by a solicitor and barrister at the time. Both had extensive experience in successfully representing clients for rather serious motoring offenses, in many cases getting their clients out off on technicalities on insurance, drink driving, dangerous driving charges and so on. I spoke with them specifically in relation to what obligation if any the broker would have had. The facts: No contract existed to insure me as a driver on the vehicle. The Gardaí elected not to prosecute.

I could have pursued the insurance broker, sure. But the outcome wasn't certain and I wasn't going to pump money into a legal practice to take my chances.

You make an awful lot of assumptions Hairy. Suggesting it was my own 'fault' that I had to pay only serves to reinforce my perception that you are ill informed and viewing this from the perspective of a legal practitioner alone, when such parties views will only ever be one of many relevant in a situation such as the OP's, or mine for that matter.

We could argue this and go round and round in circles. You believe the OP could get off at least the more serious charges he faces. I don't believe he would, nor would I think it a good idea for him to pay the professional fees a solicitor and barrister would levy, given the fairly cut and dried nature of his offence.

I know, I know - You disagree. So what? All I'm doing is referring to my own experience, something people are inclined to do day to day. I'm drawing contrast to put perspective into my contribution. You on the other hand have done nothing more than suggest there's a possible defense and try to rubbish any contribution that differs with that opinion. Whether professional or not, your opinion is yours to share, but I think most folks will recognize that you're seeing this from one angle only.

BTW, well done on taking this one way off topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭?Cee?view

Mary Hairy wrote: »
    I did not mean defences may be there.

The reason you were not prosecuted is that you were covered by insurance but your own ignorance meant you did not and still do not know it. the broker was negligent. You could have sued him and been indemnified by his professional indemnity insurance. The result therefore is that there was a opolicy of insurance covering your driving. No offence under S56 of the Road traffic Act 1961 as amended.
    The fact that you failed to sue the broker and paid up yourself is your own fault. You should refrain from advising other people on the basis of your own experience. It did not make you an expert.

Mary Hairy, you're not really doing yourself any favours or helping in advancing your point by accusing a fellow poster of ignorance.

You appear to be some sort of legal professional or perhaps training to be one and one of the things you will have learned or indeed, possiblity are in the course of learning is that it's not usually advisable to give definitive advice when you're not in possession of all of the facts.

In relation to RoverCraft, you state that "there was a policy of insurance covering your driving." How can you know this? RoverCraft states here that his broker told him the policy would be effected. Did he tell him that it would be done by a particular time? Did he state that it was subject to some conditions? Who knows? However, based on what RoverCraft has said here, he didn't state that the policy had been effected. If he had, then you'll know that under good old Law of Agency, the policy would be in place, and yes then he could indeed sue the Broker. Additionally, AIG would have had to indemnify.

Do you think this might have crossed the mind of RoverCraft's solicitor and counsel, and indeed AIG's legal team?

In relation to the discussion on the OP's defence, the assertion of some sort of vacarious liability (servant/master) is tenuous to say the least on the basis of the facts that the OP has come up with. If you came up with this in an exam, you'd have to come up with some other less creative answers to pass!

Now, believe it or not, in substance I agree with the spirit of what you're saying in general, if not the abusive and condescending tone that's being used. The OP should not be too quick to admit guilt. Gardai are not always the best people to take advice from on matters such as this. They are trained to apply the law, and ultimately their function naturally predisposes them to lean towards knowledge of the law which tends to convict. The OP should get some advice, where he can thrash out the matter fully, and such preliminary advice won't cost much - you can then decide if you want to go ahead with a defence or not. However, I don't want to raise false hope here; on the basis of what's been said here about the circumstances, it doesn't seem like there's really much of a way out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Mary Hairy wrote: »
    You should refrain from advising other people on the basis of your own experience. It did not make you an expert.

On behalf of everyone.....right back at you:D