Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jaguar XK8 and MPG??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭kurant

my Lexus LS V8 bigger and have averaged 11.5 liters per 100km mixed driving, which is vvery good ;)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,951 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Max Power1 wrote: »

Incidentally I rang the dealer where the Jag I listed earlier is, and they seemed reluctant to budge from the asking price :confused: - its been there 8 months at this stage ffs.

He probably doesn't believe you are serious.

Phoning/e mailing/texting will not negotiate a reduction. You have to turn up, in person, and duke it out face to face. Be nice but firm. He's dying to offload the car.

A ball of cash often makes a seemingly hard nosed negotiator just cave in.

p.s. Have you got ins. quotes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

He probably doesn't believe you are serious.

Phoning/e mailing/texting will not negotiate a reduction. You have to turn up, in person, and duke it out face to face. Be nice but firm. He's dying to offload the car.

A ball of cash often makes a seemingly hard nosed negotiator just cave in.

p.s. Have you got ins. quotes?
    It wasnt that he said that the price was non negotiable, twas the way he said it - almost laughing at me for asking!

What sized "ball of cash" would you reccomend :P

Insurance as I said is €1500-€1600 so thats grand (once I pass my test that is)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,951 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

What sized "ball of cash" would you reccomend :P

Enough to buy it.

such as...

such as...

The $64 question. Is it the car you have linked in the first post? What do you think it's worth?

They always say when buying a classic - buy the very best example you can afford and then put money away for repairs.

Reading between the lines - c. €3000 for tax/ins. on a €5500 car is a really heavy level of fixed costs. Running costs other than those will be heavy too.

If something serious went - engine/box/drivetrain, suspension, brakes/tyres or similar would the cost of repair break you financially?

There's a reason few early 20 year olds run such cars.

Think carefully, because if you make a mistake reselling an XK8 will be next to impossible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭Kersh

OP - I wont be lowering any asking price in 2 months. Go buy the 6k one, and ill keep an eye out on the forums for your post about the thermostat housing breaking up, and the consequent overheating if you dont catch it soon enough. Then the plastic pulley will break, taking the serpentine belt with it. Then finally, if the chain tensioners have not been upgraded to the new type they will most likely break, taking the v8 with it.. Very expensive. Buy an XK8 very very very carefully. Going for the cheapest will end in heartbreak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I've never dealt with Declan Gill but have spoken to him a good few times through work and he genuinely seems like a really nice chap who tries hard - sure you know that yourself OP if you bought your last car from him.

Looks like a good enough deal to me and I'm sure he would take €4,750 face to face on a straight deal. Do you plan on trading your present cat back in to him?

From looking at his stock I would say a lot of it is priced to sell as opposed to sticking an extra 20% on top of what you would actually let it go for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,667 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Kersh wrote: »
    Buy an XK8 very very very carefully.

Sound advice.

@Max Power1 - if I were you I'd organise for someone who knows these cars well to check the car over before you buy.

I wasnt just referring to yours Kersh, keep it at your asking if you want ;). Theres two in the naas road at €6k currently, a 98 and a 97 both with FSH and new engine/gearbox and both are around the 6k mark with dealer warranty. Might wait for a few months and see if either/both are still there. Also i'll be better placed to buy then anyway.

Lads it seems like you're trying to talk me out of buying a jag! Some petrolheads ye lot are :P On a lighter note, one of my all time favourite cars, the Toyota Carina E diesel is for sale at 300E. Might give up on the Jag pipe dream and keep on the sensible motoring!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,667 ✭✭✭✭unkel

one of my all time favourite cars, the Toyota Carina E diesel

I'm outta here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,995 ✭✭✭Johnny Storm

My one gets around 15mpg in Dublin traffic and the best mileage it is capable of is 28/29mpg on a long run from Dublin to Limerick.
    Servicing and repairs are expensive.
    I've had mine for about 10 years and I still love it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

one of my all time favourite cars, the Toyota Carina E diesel is for sale at 300E

You just made Baby Jesus cry with that remark.

Confab wrote: »
    You just made Baby Jesus cry with that remark.
    Ah come on - the carina E is a classic! Ive wanted to own one and bring the mileometer to a million since I was about 12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Bumpstop

Sorry if this a huge picture.
    A must have for the prospective secondhand Xk8 owner. These are expensive cars to run.
    The maintenance is not beyond a diyer though for the most part. Using it for low mileage and doing your own work is a must, unless you are rich in which case you would probably buy a new one.

These cars are cheaper than many of their same spec counter parts, there is a reason for this. A bad Xk8 will bankrupt you.

I am a Jaguar addict so this doesn't come easily, but they are very prone to many terminal faults. The floorpan is the old XJS with some modifications, they suffer gearbox, engine, suspension, corrosion, electrics, cooling, just to count a few problem areas.
    But if you are carefull and get a good one, what a car for the money eh ?