Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

My first "blowjob"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Once. Slight reading on the machine thing, twas from a session 24 hours previous :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

5 times in 6 weeks during a massive clamp down on drink drivers about 3 years ago during the christmas period

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

I've haven't been bagged to date.

Ive been in a few friends cars who were stopped whilst driving us home from nights out....

With a drunken smiley head I always offer the Garda to take the test too to make sure his breathalyser works....never been taken up on that offer :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    I dont like being tested but that could just be me.

Not having at go or anything but do you mind me asking why??

Genuine interest:)??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,756 ✭✭✭CR 7

Not having at go or anything but do you mind me asking why??

Genuine interest:)??

I'd say it's just nervousness more than anything. Both times I had to do it, I hadn't drank for weeks beforehand but was still nervous when I was asked to blow into it, for some reason.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Prob 6/7 times, I've broken 2 breathalysers also somehow.

finished football got stopped at a checkpoint, blew in and stopped just before the Gardai told me too, he couldnt get the thing reset. He got another one off the another gardai at the checkpoint. Blew full steam into that but nothing happened. Passed on the 3rd attempt :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,637 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Got my first one the other night..

but she didn't even tell me her name..:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

bazz26 wrote: »
    Got my first one the other night..

but she didn't even tell me her name..:pac:
    how fitting that you should post that in post #69!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Berty wrote: »
    Once in Australia.

I have never even seen one done in Ireland.

Only ever in Oz, but I was drunk when my sober mate got bagged a few years ago here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,674 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Just so ye know.....each Traffic member in the country on average breath tests between 50 -100 motorists....each day.

Somehow that figure doesn't look right to me (although I might be completely wrong of course :))

Let's say it takes a couple of minutes to bring a motorist to a halt, explain the procedure, do the test, (spend a lot of time processing an offender) tell the non-offender to be on their merry way. That means 75 motorists times 2 minutes is 2.5 hours per day is spent per traffic member doing breath tests alone every single day they work. How many members are there? Unless there are a lot less of them than I would have thought there are, the figures don't statistically match the several people in this thread mentioning they never got tested in years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

unkel wrote: »
    Somehow that figure doesn't look right to me (although I might be completely wrong of course :))

Let's say it takes a couple of minutes to bring a motorist to a halt, explain the procedure, do the test, (spend a lot of time processing an offender) tell the non-offender to be on their merry way. That means 75 motorists times 2 minutes is 2.5 hours per day is spent per traffic member doing breath tests alone every single day they work. How many members are there? Unless there are a lot less of them than I would have thought there are, the figures don't statistically match the several people in this thread mentioning they never got tested in years

Suppose about 600 TC members. Two minutes is way too long, delay to motorists is normally 30 seconds (next time you stop at a red light....wait two minutes when the green comes on and you will see how long it is:D)

On an average shift we do two MAT CP's of between 30 - 45 mins each.....aswell as other CP's.

Also be aware that we are now employing the amendment to the act which allows us to breath test ANYONE who allegedly commits an offence.....so most TC members are BT'ing everyone at night and in morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,674 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Cheers for quick reply :)
    Suppose about 600 TC members.

So 600 members times 220 working days times 75 tests per day equals roughly 10 million breath tests are carried out every year in this country. Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭D-Generate

20+ times easily!

Was dating a girl who lived in Mahon in Cork and if I was driving to hers any time after midnight on the weekend there would be a checkpoint between the Mahon Point SC and the Skehard Road at the T-Junction with St Michaels Drive. Every single Friday and Saturday night between midnight and 3 a.m. so it hardly makes it random checkpoints!

One time I drove up, did the breath-test, drove 400m and dropped her home and got breathalysed again coming back no more than 3 minutes later. Same Garda and he even recognized me! "Sorry, have to breathalyze everyone" says he.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,078 ✭✭✭patrickc

Suppose about 600 TC members. Two minutes is way too long, delay to motorists is normally 30 seconds (next time you stop at a red light....wait two minutes when the green comes on and you will see how long it is:D)

On an average shift we do two MAT CP's of between 30 - 45 mins each.....aswell as other CP's.

Also be aware that we are now employing the amendment to the act which allows us to breath test ANYONE who allegedly commits an offence.....so most TC members are BT'ing everyone at night and in morning.

I worked in Dublin for years and saw loads of checkpoints breathalysing, when the gardai on every occasion saw the name on the van they waved me on. only been breathlysed once between dublin and carlow, was grand. but i do an awful lot of driving still with this job see the very odd checkpoint, just a quick glance at the windscreen and waved on, but rarely MAT CP's. mostly Gardai out for speeding etc.

So 600 members times 220 working days times 75 tests per day equals roughly 10 million breath tests are carried out every year in this country. Really?

it seems unbelievable I must admit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭Dublinstiofán

Just once on way home after playin a gig.

Was on the main road about 50m from my front door. They had a checkpoint set up where i turn right to get into my estate. I'm sure it looked to them like i was turning off to avoid them so i was stopped and tested when i made the turn. Zero! The gard looked disappointed assuming he thought he was onto a winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,273 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Now saying that the times I have been tested (including me wearing a full race suit on the way to race at the phoenix parks races) have been very professional and polite (unlike most of my experiences with the gardai) but I still didnt like it. Its nothing against the gardai per say but I just dont like it.

It does sound like you have a bit of a problem with the Gardai though.

I can see how the concept of random breath tests might turn some people off, but for me it's one of those areas where I'm happy to make an exception for what might normally be considered an intrusion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,761 ✭✭✭✭Victor

D-Generate wrote: »
    Every single Friday and Saturday night between midnight and 3 a.m. so it hardly makes it random checkpoints!
    The word "random" has been abused a bit. What it means is that a garda doesn't first have to form an impression the person has been drinking and/or is intoxicated.
    I dont like nanny states
    I disagree that it is nannying. If you are on a public road, you are a potential hazard to other people, more so if you are intoxicated. Since penalty points were introduced, the RSA was formed and Garda Traffic Corps was expanded* road deaths have dropped from a typical 400+ per year to 200-250 per year

* There are also other factors at play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,891 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

3 times and twice over the limit - Nice Gardai drove me home first time and second time , gave me a stern warning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭johndaman66

D-Generate wrote: »
    One time I drove up, did the breath-test, drove 400m and dropped her home and got breathalysed again coming back no more than 3 minutes later. Same Garda and he even recognized me! "Sorry, have to breathalyze everyone" says he.

A friend mentioned to me not too long ago how his uncle had a somewhat similar experience. He had reason to travel back and forth the same road 3 or 4 times within a short period. The third time being tested he mentioned to the Guard in a polite sort of way something along the lines of "you surely remember me at this stage this its your third time testing me in a short space of time". The Guard replied something along the lines of "Oh yes I do but we just need to carry out a certain number of tests and once we have reached that number our job is done for the night". It would have seemed irrelevant that they were testing somebody who passed a few minutes earlier.

Now the Guard may well have being following the rule book when doing his job in this instance (he may not have being either for what I know) but to me it suggests a lack of common sense and logic and even lazyiness on the part of the Guardai or that particular Guard as the case may be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭absolutegroove

Once - on the way back from Oxegen 2007 on the Monday (I passed). There was a whole line of cars pulled over and waiting to be breathlysed.

I drank for the Friday and Saturday then had nothing to drink on the Sunday (that was my plan from the start :D).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,448 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Most of them to me, at that :P

The most common checkpoint location in Maynooth is nearly outside my house, that has to be a contributing factor in how often..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,636 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Just out of interest, if they were stopping people to breathalyse them, would they also check the whole tax, nct, insurance at the same time?

when have been stopped for insurance & tax haven't been breathalised and vice versa.

I reckon they don't as discs are usually on the far side to the driver and too much effort to do both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,636 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

3 times and twice over the limit - Nice Gardai drove me home first time and second time , gave me a stern warning

:eek: and people wonder why there is little respect for the guards. If they are letting people away with drink driving like that, its just taking the piss.

you should be off the road for a few years at the very least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Loveless

4 times in the space of about 3 years, been driving around 10 years. All zero.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

:eek: and people wonder why there is little respect for the guards. If they are letting people away with drink driving like that, its just taking the piss.

you should be off the road for a few years at the very least.
    +1 x a million

You just know if the tax was out by a day they would fine you straightaway. Its ridiculous, if someone is over the limit they should be fined and put off the road. Simple as, theres no excuse in this day and age. What member of AGS could in good conscience let a member of the public fail a breath test and drive off? What if there was an accident involving said motorist 100yards down the road

Actually, the more I think about it, the less I believe that the garda let you off tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭freighter

You were lucky they took me to the station and put me on the machine and i passed barley after 3 times. Just proves that if you dont act the maggot with the cops they are sound. Well 99.9% are:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,194 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

Max Power1 wrote: »
    +1 x a million

You just know if the tax was out by a day they would fine you straightaway.

Nope, got stopped yesterday with my tax out (over two months as well, so they could have seized the bike). As long as you treat them with the respect you'd like they're usually great to deal it. Just told me to produce tax and insurance within 10 days, no points or fine :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

why bring years into it? They don't discriminate.

been breathalised three times in as many years. Twice on the same night, same checkpoint and surprisinginly within 30 mins of previous. (was passing through the area).

Third time was coming home from work (pub) and smell of drink etc etc was breathalised. Naturally results were negative and was sent on my merry way :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

Driving 30 years ..... checked twice

once ... leaving pub in England ... I had one drink about 6 hrs before , got an orange light
    second time 2 pm one Sunday afternoon leaving Dublin in a check , 0 reading

Ill tell you the first one , even though I knew I was under the limit I was kacking myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Tested about 8 times in Dublin mostly in '08, most around Finglas area where its on my commute and there are usual checkpoints for crim stuff. This year, i've been tested just the once on Cathal Brugha st, Dublin.

But I do less evening driving than I used to so that may affect the count :-)