camping...

• 29-05-2010 12:30AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 527 ✭✭✭

I am away camping in tramore next weekend for the imelda may gig...in these days of recession, surely camping is on the rise...:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

I'll be camping it out on inishmore tomorrow night. Not because I'm broke, but because I'm a stingy bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I love camping, going tomorrow night wiht a load of friends! :) Gonna be fun, gonna make sangrea in the morning and everything! :)

I camp all the time anyway! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I love camping too. Had even booked a camping holiday in the U.S for the summer but i had to cancel.
    I'm heading off camping in two weeks though for the weekend. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 527 ✭✭✭shuvly

Ah class, you gotta hire a bike for the first day, dun angus a must..(if i have the right island..)..and then u can just go to the pub on the pier and look at everyone else and say "I did that" for the rest of your stay...you will b bought drinks alll night..(well it worked 4 me..and I did do both!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Going camping with friends from college in Achill during the Summer.:)

Cheap and great craic. Bonus if the weather is nice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I love camping & myself & the missus spend 4-5 weeks every year doing it (camping that is). I've got all the gear too... huge tent with seperate living & sleeping spaces, camping stove, mini BBQ, double air-bed with an adapter that inflates it via the car lighter socket, seperate cooler boxes for the beer, food & wine, wind breakers, camping lights, camping table & chairs, wind-up radio, inflatable pillows... the works!

And there's nowt like it in the world when the sun is shining. ;)

I love camping, going tomorrow night wiht a load of friends! :) Gonna be fun, gonna make sangrea in the morning and everything! :)

I camp all the time anyway! :)
    Where r ye going mini? (can't crash on ye as am working till 8pm sunday so fecked!..(and you will be safe in the knowledge that a AH bird/feck...em female...will not be on your tail...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

shuvly wrote: »
    Ah class, you gotta hire a bike for the first day, dun angus a must..(if i have the right island..)..and then u can just go to the pub on the pier and look at everyone else and say "I did that" for the rest of your stay...you will b bought drinks alll night..(well it worked 4 me..and I did do both!)

Im playing a gig in the american bar so drinks shall be drank.
    Im just doing a bit of research on the place now. Think I will hire a bike out as you said and just wander around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

as a kid i spent a night in a tent. had to curl around a big fcuk off rock that me dad must have obviously missed. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

Ugh I hate campers, they ruin the game! :pac:

K4t wrote: »
    Going camping with friends from college in Achill during the Summer.:)

Cheap and great craic. Bonus if the weather is nice!

Achill is a beautiful spot - was there last summer, but had terrible weather the first night & ended up staying in a hotel that was without doubt the sh*ttiest place I've stayed in in my entire life. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I hate camping and try to avoid it at all cost, although if it were a proper set up like described earlier I may be tempted.

I camp on my own, at least 3 times a year. Tramore first this year for imelda may, then willie clancy down in spanish point..a field with a view of the sea when I wake up...and about n twentty cows...then onto doolin..then I have to go to Cavan in august...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,522 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

The term always sounded too much like a sexual practice to me, so I never got into it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I never camped as a young 'un and then in the last year I spent about 3 motnhs camping. Great craic though, especially if you're on the move and decide f*** the campsites, just find a 'quiet spot'

I have yet to come across a 'quiet spot' where you can actually hammer down all the pegs of your tent, it usually tries to blow away but thats half the craic

Oh, and an obligatory moment in every camping trip is firing a tin of beans into the fire to try to recreate that 'Into the West' moment :D

Ah God/Gord ...am sure you would take to it if ye got the right pole...its all in the hammerin...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

Just got a new tent today on ebay

vango_beta350.jpg

After 2 years with a single skin halfords cheap job. I cant wait to get out fishing with this with my 6 year old son in it

nice clean west coast beach. small pit fire, BBQ and beer. Perfect.

gsxr1 wrote: »
    Just got a new tent today on ebay

vango_beta350.jpg

After 2 years with a single skin halfords cheap job. I cant wait to get out fishing with this with my 6 year old son in it

nice clean west coast beach. small pit fire, BBQ and beer. Perfect.

I've a similar one to that - you can't beat a decent tent! Best of luck with the fishing!

Class moment from willie clancy festival last year..we were all in a field with no bogs...there was a bog down the road in a caravan site..but feck that..so | put on my miners lite..like a thingy strapped to me head...was majorly drunk after doing the riverdance with a group of swedish bikers..anyhoo, got cut short..needed a was and went outa the tent, lite on, then as was doing the was...turned it off..feck..words gone funny,,NYHOW,this lad decided 2 take a WAz near my tent ....have just read this back and it is terribly boring...I wud love to tell you that I just gave birth to his child....but wtf at myself!

shuvly wrote: »
    Where r ye going mini? (can't crash on ye as am working till 8pm sunday so fecked!..(and you will be safe in the knowledge that a AH bird/feck...em female...will not be on your tail...)

AH girl? Thouhgt there were only 3 and we shared them? :D Wuhoo, new one.

We are going to James Fort, near Kinsale in Cork! :D

It's gonna be LEGEN-wait for it-DARY!

Gonna make Sangrea in the morning and buy a bottle of Vodka before I go! :D

Mini , take me there! Unfortunately 4 my kids that I am looking aftefr in the am..I am with you in spirit..but maybe we should do a camping AH...I think that would be CLASS!

AH camping trip sounds interesting.....on a beach somewhere...problems lie in the fact that we have at least 7 serial rapist (Hai snyper, I know you haven't raped in 15 months, but still) and 3 killers on here waiting for such an even to occur.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Can one just camp anywhere? Within reason. Say take off into the Mayo Bog and pitch a tent or some random place by the sea?

Grimes wrote: »
    Can one just camp anywhere? Within reason. Say take off into the Mayo Bog and pitch a tent or some random place by the sea?

On any public land really as long as you don't obstruct traffic.

On private land it's not illegal unless they decide randomly it is TBH.

Yes. But you gotta remember that someone owns the land, so you could be moved on by the owner / council.

Also - no toilet or shower facilities! (besides the bushes & rain)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

I found on the east coast there is to many bylaw preventing this and that. conservationist stopping the public from enjoying the nice bits. Hill walkers alway walking by . And even the nice bits are really badly polluted with dirty sea water or burnt out cars. There is just to many people.

Go west. Sand dunes or bog. Pick the right area and you are guaranteed the best views, no public and clean beaches. the craic we have had in donegal over the years has been the best days ever.

I always found that a knock on a door of the nearest farm house requesting to camp has never been refused. As long as you leave it like ya found it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Stay camp OP.