Celtic tiger Kitchen Utencles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭ocokev

After briefly looking at Nevill Maguire on telly you would need the whole household department from Dunnes Stores to boil a feckin egg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭WalterMitty

lucylu wrote: »
    FTW
    The biggest load of Junk we got as a present from my Dad a Cordless Electric Sweeping brush :o
    i have one and its great for small spills. Has to be the GTECH one though. I have a dog and its great at getting up dog hairs etc. Its no good on stairs though. Everyone on amazon gave it great reviews.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

I'm not in the habit of wasting money on things i dont need, so no. essentials only in our kitchen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

i have one and its great for small spills. Has to be the GTECH one though. I have a dog and its great at getting up dog hairs etc. Its no good on stairs though. Everyone on amazon gave it great reviews.
    It's a pain to get dog hairs out of the roller brushes though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Bazzy wrote: »
    The £210 soup maker i INSISTED on getting and used once ... she still gives out about it !

A soup maker? What's one of those do then that a big pot doesn't?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I'm not sure that the Celtic Tiger got rid of these things, but over the years, the following things that used to be very commonplace seemed to have dissapeared from the Irish kitchen;

- Butter dishes

- Tea strainers

- Tea Pots

- Frying pans that were kept solely for the purposes of fry-ups & NEVER washed as it would ruin the flavour of the fry

- Soda streams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Bazzy

A soup maker? What's one of those do then that a big pot doesn't?

No you chop up veggies lash in a bit of stock it boils everything till ready and then you press a button and it blends it all and you can pour your lovely soup

http://www.cuisinart.co.uk/products-detail.php?ProductID=55&ProductCategoryID=0&ProductGroupID=18&DiscontinuedOnly=N

Bit cheaper now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Carra23

Stee wrote: »
    Me two

Maybe you shud use it then ' Me too ' :p Dont mind me I'm bored

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,002 ✭✭✭bijapos

The £210 soup maker i INSISTED on getting and used once ... she still gives out about it !

£210 !! **** me!! :eek:

For that money I'd expect it to come with little wheels on it and head to the shop on its own to buy the veg!

... And wash up after itself.

bijapos wrote: »
    £210 !! **** me!! :eek:

For that money I'd expect it to come with little wheels on it and head to the shop on its own to buy the veg!

... And wash up after itself.

Seemed like a good idea at the time :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

No you chop up veggies lash in a bit of stock it boils everything till ready and then you press a button and it blends it all and you can pour your lovely soup

http://www.cuisinart.co.uk/products-detail.php?ProductID=55&ProductCategoryID=0&ProductGroupID=18&DiscontinuedOnly=N

Bit cheaper now

So...

Like a pot and a blender then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

Mam bought 3 coffee makers a while back,why 3,no idea:pac:

One was one of those "senseo" things that you put the coffee pods in,her sister in Belgium had one and she thought it was amazing,now we have 3 dusty coffee makers and about 30 bags of the coffee pod things..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

biko wrote: »
    Massive food processor, never used it.

can i have it.

and if any one got a mini food blender feel free to pass it on :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

A recent inventory at home of kitchen utensils and appliances threw up some very interesting facts.
    Apart form the necessary kettle, microwave and toaster, we also have a few kitchen appliances that are rarely used.
    1. George Foreman used about 3 times in 4 years.
    2. Electric carving knife used at Christmas only.
    3. An electric can opener that still has the packaging around it hasn’t a clue where it came from.
    Do you have similar items lying around waiting for usage?

The terms "celtic tiger" and "recession" should be banned because people seem unable to to buy or do anything without it being associated with one or the other.

We've had electric carving knives and tin openers for about 25-30 years, nothing to do with the celtic tiger.

People have been wasting money on barely used things the world over for as long as there was money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

A recent inventory at home of kitchen utensils and appliances threw up some very interesting facts.
    Apart form the necessary kettle, microwave and toaster, we also have a few kitchen appliances that are rarely used.
    1. George Foreman used about 3 times in 4 years.
    2. Electric carving knife used at Christmas only.
    3. An electric can opener that still has the packaging around it hasn’t a clue where it came from.
    Do you have similar items lying around waiting for usage?

Nope

Electric carving knives are for people who cant use a normal Knife its noit that hard. plus they where around in the early 80s so hardly celtic tiger....
    george formans are handy for cooking chickken in espechilly if its for a salad you can get the chiken peace perfectly MOiST.....

eletric can openers have been out years,

Tho id invite any body to tell me if they got one decenty knife in the house....

So...

Like a pot and a blender then?

In 1 Though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

OP you need to use the Georgie more often, does a killer toasted sarnie. Cheese gets all lovely melted but not volvanically hot so you can actually eat it without burning the mouth of yourself. Georgie toasties rock :cool:.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I have 2 frying pans... and 3 of them flipping yokes...

What more does a man need to serve himself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭gamgsam

I'm not sure that the Celtic Tiger got rid of these things, but over the years, the following things that used to be very commonplace seemed to have dissapeared from the Irish kitchen;

- Butter dishes

- Tea strainers

- Tea Pots

- Frying pans that were kept solely for the purposes of fry-ups & NEVER washed as it would ruin the flavour of the fry

- Soda streams

The only decent fry I ever get is at my nans, and its the best part of my week! Lovely greasy pan too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

The only thing i have that i don't really use is a slow cooker-used it about twice.
    Only got a George Foreman at Christmas, but i use it a lot-my grill in the house is sh1ite so it's very useful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭wobblyknees

Bonito wrote: »
    No seriously! Wait until it's at full temperature and crack the egg on it and it cooks near instantly! If you want the yoke even in the middle and not on the side then just prop the front legs of George up on a book, that's what I do! Then it's flat and nothing can run off! :D

So you turned the George into a frying pan? Interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,894 ✭✭✭GTE

biko wrote: »
    Slow rice cooker

An odd product to have in the hustle and bustle of modern life.
    Super Mega Turbo Rice Cooker FTW!!!

bbk wrote: »
    An odd product to have in the hustle and bustle of modern life.
    Super Mega Turbo Rice Cooker FTW!!!

I think you may have misunderstood him.

Its not a rice cooker that's slow, it a cooker for cooking slow rice. You know. As in special.

I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

Ew, seriously? Would it not get manky really quickly?
    - Soda streams
    I always wanted one of these! My friend had one and I thought it was the best thing ever, my parents wouldn't buy one though

You don't see as many sandwich toasters around anymore, maybe the George Foreman has taken over that niche in the market?

We have a juicer and an ice cream maker somewhere in the house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Fishie wrote: »
    Well, yeah, that's sort of the point. Black deep fried bits were an important food group in the 80s and early 90s. Used to get a serving of them from the chipper and with your fry on a Sunday. Me, I blame their absense for all of modern societies woes.
    You don't see as many sandwich toasters around anymore, maybe the George Foreman has taken over that niche in the market?
    It certainly has in my house!

Bonito wrote:
    No seriously! Wait until it's at full temperature and crack the egg on it and it cooks near instantly! If you want the yoke even in the middle and not on the side then just prop the front legs of George up on a book, that's what I do! Then it's flat and nothing can run off! biggrin.gif
    I see your fried egg and raise you an egg cracked into the middle of a potato waffle!
    I like to crisp up my waffle first though, that's important. :D

Fishie wrote: »

I always wanted one of these! My friend had one and I thought it was the best thing ever, my parents wouldn't buy one though

We have a juicer and an ice cream maker somewhere in the house

Not manky, just well used. Obviously you change the oil now and again, and give it a rub of a cloth occasionally to get the crap of it.

The best pan I have ever used and eaten from was one my ma had. The thing had no handle, was BLACK with burnt bits, but always turned out the best bacon, sausages, eggs, steak, burgers, whatever. Was a brilliant pan.

RE: Soda Streams, never even knew anyone that had one, but saw that Heston Blue Menthol Soda Stream some Blue Nun, and apparently 'twas nice. I really want to give that a go, maybe with some nice whisky or a rum or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭gingelion

Nope

Electric carving knives are for people who cant use a normal Knife its noit that hard. plus they where around in the early 80s so hardly celtic tiger....
    george formans are handy for cooking chickken in espechilly if its for a salad you can get the chiken peace perfectly MOiST.....

eletric can openers have been out years,

Tho id invite any body to tell me if they got one decenty knife in the house....

I have a savage set of knives my sister got me for christmas. They're great, dunno how i ever cooked without them but i tend to cut myself a lot. even cut my finger opening the box