First Holy Commotion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,002 ✭✭✭bijapos

4 years ago, at the height of the madness to make First Holy Communions "special" my then GF's nieces school made an agreement with the parents that it would be school uniforms at the FHC to keep costs down. Everyone agreed.

The weekend before the FHC one of the mothers (call her Anne) was seen by two other mothers in Galway in a shop selling FHC dresses. Cue a week of frenzied shopping by all parents who didn't want their kids being "shown up in public" by having the FHC in a school uniform. Panic buying, renting of limos and so on.

Day of the FHC, 25 kids, 19 of them in FHC dresses and suits, 6 in school uniform, including the aforementioned Annes kid. When asked what she was doing in the shop she pointed out she was with her sister (whom the two women knew) and were buying a dress for her sisters daughter who goes to another school.

The look on the faces of the parents when they realised they had fecked €500+ on a load of unnecessary ****e was priceless. :pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Biggins wrote: »
    True but they are not helping themselves by their own actions also.

Not sure where you are going with this. The Catechism is fairly clear on receiving communion after eating. The priest in question did the right thing.
    bijapos wrote: »
    4 years ago, at the height of the madness to make First Holy Communions "special" my then GF's nieces school made an agreement with the parents that it would be school uniforms at the FHC to keep costs down. Everyone agreed.

My local PP at home tried to do the same thing. The number of objections by parents forced him to reconsider although I think he might have gotten his way this year funnily enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

FFS! If this is what a childs communion is like then what the hell is their Debs/21st/wedding going to be like!
    It goes right up there with children being preened like 20 year olds, tanned, false lashes, fake nails etc. What the hell, where are the proper well behaved kids lol

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

prinz wrote: »
    Not sure where you are going with this. The Catechism is fairly clear on receiving communion after eating. The priest in question did the right thing.
    Sorry you don't get it.
    There are made-up rules based upon this superstitious stuff - then there is just daftness in the carrying out of them when they are pushed to the extreme as in the case mentioned by a poster.

Sorry you don't get that and its going over your head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

My local PP at home tried to do the same thing.

Surely his kink was sated by seeing them in uniform during school hours?

Sorry you don't get it.
    There are made-up rules based upon this superstitious stuff - then there is just daftness in the carrying out of them when they are push to the extreme as in the case mentioned by a poster..

Except it's not "pushed to the extreme". It's one of the first things you learn preparing for your Communion. Would you pass a driving test if you'd forgotten how to put a key in the ignition?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Thepones

Do they seriously get fake tan put on? That is crazy!!!

My GF works in a salon, definately asking her if she has any parents bringing kids in for their FHC spray tan.

Except it's not "pushed to the extreme". It's one of the first things you learn preparing for your Communion. Would you pass a driving test if you'd forgotten how to put a key in the ignition?
    Bad comparison in every respect.

The priest given his mentality and reaction, over-reacted most would concede.
    There are "rules" - then there is fairness in enforcing them. Clearly this muppet of a priest took it to the extreme by segregating the boy.
    Spin it any other way but its still daftness and a poor reflection in the muppet that did it.

...And by the way - if there was a god - he/she would be I assume, looking at the mortal soul and actions of a person as how to judge them.
    Not by the way that they are dressed on a particular one single day.
    One is a more respectful way of assessment, the other is just pure commercial and pretentious!

Bad comparison in every respect.

The priest given his mentality and reaction, over-reacted most would concede.
    There are "rules" - then there is fairness in enforcing them. Clearly this muppet of a priest took it to the extreme by segregating the boy.
    Spin it any other way but its still daftness and a poor reflection in the muppet that did it.

He over reacted because this kid had basically spent a year learning about something and decided to ignore it all on the big day? Important lesson learned by the kid that day I'd hope.
    ...And by the way - if there was a god - he/she would be I assume, looking at the mortal soul and actions of a person as how to judge them.
    Not by the way that they are dressed on a particular one single day.
    One is a more respectful way of assessment, the other is just pure commercial and pretentious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

I'd have absolutely loved a Cinderella carriage when I made my FHC. It would have been exciting beyond belief but it wouldn't have gone with my bloody friar's habit inspired dress with the completely out-of-it's time round veil. My mother ruined my Communion day with her quest for sophicated simplicity in my attire. It is to date the one thing she has ever done to me that I can't forgive her for. It didn't make me any more money than the other kids with their nylon, petticoated, shorty dresses. We all netted about 11 pounds, 6 shillings and a few pence plus or minus. Good money for those days though.

However, I apparently ruined my own daughter's day because I forced a nice simple dress on her instead of the organza creation she lusted after. What goes around, comes around. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭bossa_nova

jaysus all the limos and stuff is waaay over the top

and the amount of money they get :eek: makes me wonder .... are they tracking down every reletive in ireland ?? 1000 quid seems like the norm nowadays :eek:

i remember i got a 150 ish for my comunnion which bought me a sega mega drive:D

He over reacted because this kid had basically spent a year learning about something and decided to ignore it all on the big day? Important lesson learned by the kid that day I'd hope.
    Aye, I'm sure he did.
    Priests can be muppets and not infallible ...even say a couple of popes about themselves.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

WindSock wrote: »
    Back in my day, our communion treat was to get to sit in the front seat of the car. And that was good enough for us! :mad:

I got Ultra Magnus.

It was better than Christmas.

I only got Ratchet for Christmas!

Aye, I'm sure he did.
    Priests can be muppets and not infallible ...even say a couple of popes about themselves.

Priests are never infallible. Only two instances of papal infallibility have occured. I am not sure what your point is tbh. Clearly the priests can do no right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mr Magners

I heard the story about the little girl who's mother was aked on the Monday after the FHC why the little girl had not attended. The mother replied that the hairdresser was running late so "they decided to skip the church part and head straight to the hotel"
    I love that they decided to skip the church part. It just goes to show that people do treat it like a wedding!!

Priests are never infallible. Only two instances of papal infallibility have occured. I am not sure what your point is tbh. Clearly the priests can do no right.
    O' yes, they can do right and I will stand up for many a good priest whom I know do good work.
    Its the ones that over-react as in the case mentioned above that do themselves no good in the long run.

I'm taking this thread off topic so I apologise for it and simply say (on topic) that the daft spending of money that is going on for these things is madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭irishconvert

Saint_Mel wrote: »
    No, and why would they ... Communions stopped being about religion years ago. There as bad a weddings, its all about having the most extravagant day!

So why are the priests speaking up and telling the parents to cop on? They would gain so much more respect if they did this instead of pondering to what they consider to be popular opinion.

They have done, and they are doing this. Except they don't get any respect. Instead they get Mrs Byrne up in arms about how little Mary should be allowed wear whatever she wants to wear etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭irishconvert

They have done, and they are doing this. Except they don't get any respect. Instead they get Mrs Byrne up in arms about how little Mary should be allowed wear whatever she wants to wear etc.

They wouldn't like me if I was a priest. I would have a strict door policy on the church! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

There's enforcing ...and then there is pure outlandish stupidity too.

I blame my grandad personally....why go up and tell the priest...who on earth would have known? :D

It should actually be early teens at least.

Then they'd never fit into the dresses ;)

I blame my grandad personally....why go up and tell the priest...who on earth would have known? :D
    True. Should have said nothing.
    Talk about bringing it upon oneself. Doh!

It's not those on earth he'd have to worry about

<.<
    >.>

:pac: nyom nyom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

Yup definitely a pikey communion

Yep its true, the rules are clear and even I remember it being hammered home by the school before FHC....don't eat for an hour before hand. He was seven though and was used to having his breakkie in the mornings...what's a kid to do *shrugs* :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Luno

These days I don't think it's little Mary more like little Tequila or little Brittany etc..

Back for my communion I wore a dress which had been worn by two of my cousins and the white shoes I bought were then dyed brown and worn to school....

Hey! That's my dad you're talking about :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭gazzer

At a communion here in Cavan last weekend (Sat 15th) two mothers started battering each other before the service started. One of them told the priest to f**k off when he asked them to stop fighting. Lovely example for the kids present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭gazzer

Does everybody here remember how much they got for their first communion? I made mine in 1979 and got £27. £10 of that went back to my mother and father as they wanted me to learn about sharing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

gazzer wrote: »
    Does everybody here remember how much they got for their first communion? I made mine in 1979 and got £27. £10 of that went back to my mother and father as they wanted me to learn about sharing.

Got about £100 in 1991. In proper D24 fashion, I bought a tracksuit and runners. :pac: