Katy French "will not get justice" - tabloid headline?!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

r3nu4l wrote: »
    FFS, amazing to see that when some privileged person dies of an OD they deserve 'justice'.

Pretty sure if this was a 24 year old girl from Coolock or Finglas that left school at 16 and worked the checkouts in Tesco, we wouldn't still be hearing about it :mad:

exactly, anthony cambell was from a working class area, was working on a house and sadly was in the wrong place at the wrong time and was murdered by gangland scum.
    where is the justice he and his family deserve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

exactly, anthony cambell was from a working class area, was working on a house and sadly was in the wrong place at the wrong time and was murdered by gangland scum.

Lads do you really think that this is at a more advanced stage than Anthony Campbells case directly because she was a model? Come on now.. wakey wakey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

Lux23 wrote: »
    So should people who sell drugs not be punished? I am a bit confused by what you are all saying, the drugs weren't forced on her but the dealer is still reponsible for supplying dangerous, illegal drugs.

The guy that got off the sentence is not a drug dealer. He took money, went to a drug dealer, got the drugs, and gave them to whomever gave him the money.

He was merely a transporter. And it was apparently only €200 worth, jaysus.

The fact is, Katy & her buddies were party animals, they liked getting off their faces, she took too much of something one night, end of.

I always find it funny that it states 'in the post-mortem, traces of cocaine were found in her system'

Traces??? Typical scaremongering, traces of coke were found = coke killed her.

Somehow, I doubt it.

How about, traces of cocaine, probably some other amphetamines, bucket loads of gargle and god knows what else killed her.

But that headline would be too long. So, coke killed her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,285 ✭✭✭✭walshb

We need a middle ground here. Folks saying she got what she deserved is just wrong and nasty; at the same time she was a junkie and as a junkie these are the risks that are taken. It's terrible that she lost her life at such a young age, but guess what, so do many, and I don't hear a word about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,643 ✭✭✭✭cson

Came there a couple of weeks ago. The guy who ordered the murder of the lad Campbell was working for got murdered himself in Cabra. The lad who murdered Campbell got murdered himself by the latter as far as I'm aware. Street justice; but justice nonetheless.

As I said in another thread; rightly or wrongly street justice seems to be far more expediant and efficent than what we currently have in place. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

Im sure even Katy herself wouldnt want half this tabloid crap knocking about after her death, people need to look at the bigger picture if it sells papers they are going to print it. Im also shocked at some of the "she deserved it" crap that has been put on this thread, she took some drugs and paid the price. She was a young girl and made a mistake. It is a tradgedy no matter who she is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Carlos_Ray

Katy French is the personifcation of everything that went wrong with this country over the past 2 decades.

Idiotic excess off the back of shallow success and then.... kaput.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

I never heard of her until she died.

*shrug*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

Although she didn't deserve to die, she is personally responsible for her own dead, did yer man Duchie not have criminal proceedings brought against him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

I never heard of her until she died.

*shrug*

She was a blond D4 the papers used to tear the p!ss out of.

Seriously - I'd never seen such a turnaround in the popular opinion of someone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Christ almighty.

We have thousand post threads with people defending Headshops and the crap they sell and how people should have the freedom to take what they want as alcohol kills so many .. blah blah fcuking blah.

Then a girl takes cocaine and dies and it's: 'Fcuk her, she deserved it' - yeah, real sense of a belief in a person's freedom to recreational substances now.

You can't blame Katy French because the media sensationalize stories to sell newspapers, she's dead - she has paid the price.

Save your criticism for the editors of these rags and those that buy them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,643 ✭✭✭✭cson

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Kasabian wrote: »
    As a person that dabbled in drugs down through the years I find it harsh that people can imply that she got what she deserved

I wouldn't say she got what she deserved but I don't see where they're going with the whole "getting justice for Katie" thing. I agree she was just very unfortunate but nobody held her down and put it up her nose or in her drink or whatever way she ingested it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

If she had got her equivalent supply from a "Headshop" she would be alive today

What ****ing age are you, a 19 year old student on a crusade? Ive taken everything under the sun bar heroin, meth and crack, and by far my worst nioght of my life was a night on the thankfully now banned BZP. Get over your fcuking soapbox and realise some things are too filthy not too be illegal (with the plus side that filth like BZP would never be sold illegally anyway)
    We have thousand post threads with people defending Headshops and the crap they sell and how people should have the freedom to take what they want as alcohol kills so many .. blah blah fcuking blah.

Then a girl takes cocaine and dies and it's: 'Fcuk her, she deserved it' - yeah, real sense of a belief in a person's freedom to recreational substances now.

The vast majority of these idiots are aged 18- 20 and probably naive students. Maybe in a few years and after a few bad trips they will recognise

a- Most of the stuff head shops sold was rubbish and should be banned, as the likes of Spice Gold do nothing but fleece the buyer

b- Some of the sh1t they sold was positively dangerous, more so than the older illegal drugs. No drug baron in his right mind would organise a large scale import of horrific sh1t like BZP, but head shops were selling it as the legal, probably safer, alternative to ecstasy.

Seriously, even when I was that age I wasnt that thick. If headshops were selling a product that for 4 hours produced an ecstasy like high and for the following 8 produced a comedown which left users in a psychotic state where they wanted to attack anyone around them and harm themselves, would you want it banned? Really, half the head shop posts on the other thread are borderline retarded sh1t by D4 "Im a rebel" types.

And bringing the alcohol comparison into it is the mark of the wanker being honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,285 ✭✭✭✭walshb

xzanti wrote: »
    I wouldn't say she got what she deserved but I don't see where they're going with the whole "getting justice for Katie" thing. I agree she was just very unfortunate but nobody held her down and put it up her nose or in her drink or whatever way she ingested it..

Hey, not trying to be pedantic here, but who knows what happened on the night? Katie is dead and cannot explain what happened, so to me, anything is possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Waaaay lets all talk about it again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

walshb wrote: »
    Hey, not trying to be pedantic here, but who knows what happened on the night? Katie is dead and cannot explain what happened, so to me, anything is possible.

No

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

2.5 years suspended sentence for setting up the "deal"? Sweet fcuk, people have gone to jail for less time for rape, murder and child molestation. (Yes I know it's suspended, but still).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

I have an idea if Irish people stop buying the tabloid newspapers they will go out of business and we wont have to be subjected to their rubbish.

Reminds me of something my sister said to me the other day , I asked her did she watch the news , she said no , I asked why , and her reply was that it's on the same time as the Simpsons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭mailforkev

I wouldn't wipe my arse with the Indo/Sindo or Herald, so hadn't heard of her until she croaked it either.

By all accounts (allegedly) she was fond of hanging around with some unsavoury characters and liked a bit of drugs and it all caught up with her in the end. Tough luck for her family, no-one else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Christ almighty.

You can't blame Katy French because the media sensationalize stories to sell newspapers, she's dead - she has paid the price.

Save your criticism for the editors of these rags and those that buy them.

Great post , some of the hypocrisy on this site is astounding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,267 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Im sure even Katy herself wouldnt want half this tabloid crap knocking about after her death, people need to look at the bigger picture if it sells papers they are going to print it. Im also shocked at some of the "she deserved it" crap that has been put on this thread, she took some drugs and paid the price. She was a young girl and made a mistake. It is a tradgedy no matter who she is.
    I actually have to disagree, i'm sure would want it in the tabloids, that was exactly how she lived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Christ almighty.

There's no hypocrisy.

A lot of people who take a libertarian view of the head shops would say that giving people the freedom to take these substances gives them the freedom to abuse them - I'm not pro-drugs but I'm pro-choice when it comes to them, and if people choose to overdose I don't really care or feel sympathy because they brought it on themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭muffy

The vast majority of these idiots are aged 18- 20 and probably naive students. Maybe in a few years and after a few bad trips they will recognise

Wow you are SUCH like a total hard man ...:rolleyes:

Why are you assuming these people are students? Why, are people only naive when they are currently undertaking a programme of study?

She took drugs and died. If I take so much Ket/Vodka/Headshop Mephedrone and I die it will be my fault. Hence, i take responsibility for myself and try not to shove to much powder up my nose or drink to much vodka...maybe thats just cos I'm naive though
    It is sad that she died, she was young etc. But it pisses me of when she is treated like a darling and a victim by the media, she obviously wasn't either of these things! Doesn't mean she deserved to die however.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I actually have to disagree, i'm sure would want it in the tabloids, that was exactly how she lived.

Exactly so, French was Irelands 21st century version of an "It" girl. Her whole persona was driven by the trashier end of the media and low rent "events" where, if female your worth is measured on the "glitterometer". All of which helps explain why I like so many was only vaguely aware she even existed until her death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Dead junkie, nobody should be giving a damn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

What ****ing age are you, a 19 year old student on a crusade? Ive taken everything under the sun bar heroin, meth and crack, and by far my worst nioght of my life was a night on the thankfully now banned BZP. Get over your fcuking soapbox and realise some things are too filthy not too be illegal (with the plus side that filth like BZP would never be sold illegally anyway)
    It probably wouldn't have killed her though, just given her a horrific comedown. There haven't been any deaths attributed solely to BZP yet. The skag is actually something of an inbuilt safety feature as it puts most people off ever trying the **** again.

Just had a chuckle at the thought of all these high-flying socialites having extravagant BZP parties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,267 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

mike65 wrote: »
    Exactly so, French was Irelands 21st century version of an "It" girl. Her whole persona was driven by the trashier end of the media and low rent "events" where, if female your worth is measured on the "glitterometer". All of which helps explain why I like so many was only vaguely aware she even existed until her death.

I mean no disrespect at all, but she came to my attention a week before she died, some young fellas in Waterford had a very cruel death due to what was alledged to have been badly stored coke. These were only kids in my book, and the pics in the paper of them on life support was a real shock to see..
    Enter Katie French and her big "i used to do coke story" .. it's a while ago now, but i remember being sickened to the core, by that article. There was no doubt in my mind she was piggy backing on the back of those guys deaths to further her profile.She joined them a week later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

Poly wrote: »
    What about young Anthony Campbell and Shane Geoghegan?
    I'd be more concerned about their families getting justice.

It's an ugly truth that Katy and her "pals" were feeding the criminality that got these young men Killed.

What Ash said above!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

IShe joined them a week later.
    And nothing of value was lost.