Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

[Competition] Mad for Style? Go Doo-Lally.com!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Bright red shoes, bright pink T-Shirt. Never again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭powerfade

A burberry shirt when I was 17, i thought it looked cool, didn't really know what a 'chav' was back then........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

My navy suit with desert boots incident, Germany 2006. Finished packing in the dark leaving home and my alternative footwear was golf brogues with frills :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭ams

Oh god mine is another Confirmation Day disaster. I was beyond jealous of my friends who had gotten to pick out their own outfits (oh how I wanted a maroon Benneton sweatshirt teamed with mustard culottes). However I had to wear something that came out of a parcel from America from my grand aunt. It was a beautiful creation that wouldnt have been out of place on Laura Ingalls on Little House on the Prarie. Farmer girl dress covered in bunches of purple grapes with a beautiful green straw hat to match. Even the massive coldsore that was covering half my face didnt hide my embarassment.

I blame the grape dress for my strong dependancy on wine to this day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,642 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

OK, I have reasons as to WHY the following was my outfit but that will never ever excuse the faux pas that is my shame. Remember that as I am a tad older then most of you that means that I've had more time to make mistakes. However, THIS mistake came in my late 20's as a mature student in University in Brighton.
    Excuse #1: Brighton is a very hedonistic town and flamboyance is the norm rather then the exception so being satorialy 'loud' fits in.
    Excuse #2: I was a student, head in the clouds.
    Excuse #3: I was going through a phase.
    Excuse #4: Mrs.Goat was working in the shop that sold my ensamble hence discount prices.

I have no (surviving) photographs of me at my peak but over an outragous t-shirt from SkinToo (NSFW) I'd wear a jacket similar to this, complete with Chinese coin buttons. I'd (mis)match that up with...harem pants. I had a few pair of those, my shame has no bounds. Put that together with my leather satchel and ropesoled espadrils and I was fupping Garrgous. Did I mention that I kept my ponytail length hair hennaed too?
    Why she said Yes to me is still a complete mystery. :o

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

I don't know. Anything I would consider "faux pas" now would have been in fashion back then. As with most of the answers here! So whatever here is an example of a lovely trousers/sneakers combo when I was a kid :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭unichick

I used to have a pair of flared denim jeans with the Bros logo on them! They didn't fit me at all but I wore them religiously! Also had a denim jacket and ironed on a Bros match! Got some slagging from my school friends but still wore them! A big fashion faux pas!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Workingmom

Purple Dungarees need i say more, ok huge watch, big baggy top!!! it gets worse i also have on a Malcolm X fake leather beanie hat, but not showing that in pic, then ye would see me pretty face heheheheheheh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭thegoodgirl

Eh where do I start. There are so many to pick. But it would have to be a pair of multicoloured strippy leggings with a matching t shirt. I remember thinking how cool I was but looing back the state of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭DYLF

i had a step haircut when i was a kid :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Keea

'What is your worst Fashion Faux Pas?'

Mine has just occured over the weekend. I was in town on Saturday and wanted to buy a nice neutral handbag to use for work over the summer. (I work in an office). I went into a shop and low and behold the sales assistant pointed out this neutral coloured bag to me that had been reduced from €50 to €23. Instead of studying it I just thought, yep great bargain, I'll take it. Brought it home, took all tags etc off it and filled it with my bits. Showed it to my mother yesterday and this is when my worse fashion faux pas occured. She said 'its ok but it's for an older woman'......she wouldn't even use it. She actually said 'you can give it to a charity shop'. It was only then I really looked at it and she's right. Its a fashion disaster, its not me and I wasted €23 on it. Help, I need that €150 to treat myself after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭lynski

i recently bought a pair of bots online that looked a dull silver (i know i know, but i thought they would be good with jeans) anyway when i got them they are nasty shiny silver witha stiletto heel and pointy toes, oh so bad. bottom of wardrobe fo ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 TashaGirl

1997 - a black belly top type thing (very short!), i thought i was looking HOT until the guy i was seeing at the time asked me was it a bra? :eek:, i still cringe when i think of it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭D1976

Has to be the brown leather jacket with the Joan Collins shoulder pads and cream shirt, brown tie and cream chinos and slip on brown shoes, I got for my confirmation. I thought it was the business when I got it, i think I wore it about twice after the confirmation.

That's me on the right, and no that's not Kenneth Williams in the background but he does look an awful lot like him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

pretty much every outfit i ever wore as a child..
    - i had this LOVELY (:pac:) multicoloured top and culottes (how do you spell them? :confused:) outfit that i thought i looked GREAT in
    - the tying your tshirt to make it into a belly top trick :D twist the end and pull it down the front. so cool :cool:
    - ski pants, cycling shorts, etc

one outfit that sticks out is my junior cert night. i borrowed this lovely lilac dress from a friend, thought it was FAB. and think its actually might have been nice enough.. but instead of nice shoes i wore these awful black sketchers heeled sandal things with velcro straps. i dont know how to describe them.. really chunky wedge type things, looked very rubbery, black, and the lovely velcro straps that had a tendency to open. i shouldve known better at that age.

another school favourite was baby blue bootcut trousers, worn with everything, regardless of the colour. thought i was so cool in them.. :rolleyes:

PS. the site looks lovely, some gorgeous dresses on there! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭florawest

Hi ya,

Mine has to be my graduation one, a borrowed dress from my older sister and to really add style, i cut my own hair well the frindge all up and down i cringe when i see the pics,

florawest

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Oh I don't know :(. One that sticks out is the salmon pink shell suit I was fond of for quite a while :o. I thought it was really comfortable, so I'd wear it out and about quite a bit. This was in the mid-late 90's too, not the 80's!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭marymc

As a younger person, electric pink (even slightly metallic, if memory serves) skintight cycle shorts with a big 90s t-shirt tucked into them.

*shudder*

Gimme floaty pastels and florals any day, baby. Those cycle short pictures are long buried and if they ever resurface, I'm photoshopping a tree in front of me. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 dwalin

When I was 15 I lived in and thought I looked great in a pair of ridiculous BROWN leggings which I then paired with a blue checked waistcoat/ cardigan (it was so horrendous it couldn't even decide what it was!). Add to this ankle boots and frizzy mousy brown hair and you get the picture of how ridiculous the whole look was!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭dancingqueen

I think I was about 11 - I had a red chenille jumper which was mid-thigh length, black "ski" pants with the bit that goes around your foot, and the line down the front, red chenille slouch socks to match (Cringe!) and navy slip on shoes.... oh dear.

navy_leather_naturalizer_harpo_shoe_ec0213506.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 XpenguinX

The shame:eek:.
    When i was on my first ever date (aged 13)
    I wore an illuminous fake yellow D&G t-shirt, Playboy three quarter lengths and white and black platform shoes and yes unfortunately there is more. I...I .... I .... i'm not sure I can even bare to say this! I wore a playboy necklace with matching earrings:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Oral Slang

I used to have a long denim skirt & denim blouse which I later passed on to my mam. Bear in mind that I was aged 14, and about a size 6 and I passed it on to my mam who was size 16 or so, so you can imagine how ridiculously big the outfit was on me... I also wore a yellow banana clip in my hair for about 3 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭enda1

A solid blue Tommy Hilfiger button down shirt with black jeans and runners.

I looked so much like Pa Connors, especially with the red hair and 14 year old scorn: I shudder remembering it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭damoz

Paisley Shirts. It was the 80s though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

Bright pink parachute pants, you know the ones that had all the strings coming out of them. I lived in those for a summer when I was about 12.

That or I had two pairs of flared jeans, one was bright yellow, the others were baby pink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 lalalovely

Pink velour tracksuit with a rainbow stripe down each leg and arm......

And hair that was all knotted up on top like Scary Spice from the Spice Girls.

Together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭warrenaldo

Brown Shoes
    Brown Slacks
    Brown Belt
    Brown Polo-neck - with the sleeves rolled up (of course)

I did'nt pull that night - not sure why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭pollypocket10

oh too many to recall :eek: but heres a few

Johnny Brubaker (Tommy Hilfiger rip-off) super puffy jacket that looked like I was wrapped in a sleeping bag... not a good look, especially when you are 5 foot nothing :P

To a teenage disco I once wore a white crochet belly top( hadn't quite lost the puppy fat so belly was a bit wibbly),it was completely transparent and worn with a black bra(didn't even need it as the boobs didn't start growing until I reached about 17), paired with a short pvc skirt and knee boots... Oh the shame

Back in the late 90's there was a craze for tops with Chinese symbols printed on them which I wore to a friends mothers funeral (RIP). Unfortunately this friends mother was Chinese but I didn't have the cop-on to think that there would probably be a large Chinese community in attendance. God only knows what those symbols actually meant, I was praying it was nothing obscene and my friends wouldn't sit with me because they were so embarassed... oops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭BeatNikDub

Platform lace up shoes, over sized black jeans and an umbro hoodie jumper that was too big for me.
    :(

As a kid I remember my mum letting me pick out a purple and bright orange polka dot ensemble of a leggings and a t-shirt to match.

I also went through a phase of dying my clothes bright colours and writing on them things such as "Barbie is a slut".

Oh and I went through a riot grrrl phase in the mid nineties - baby doll shoes, knee high socks and dresses that I can only liken to nighties. My poor mother used to make me wear a high necked t-shirt under them which I would whip off when I would go out, bra showing and all. Oh, the class.

Now of course I really am classy as ****, but unemployed and need some new clothes rather than constant recession recycling TBH. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭fonda

Orange bomber jacket and bleach blonde hair!
    The photos are horrendous!