Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[Competition] Mad for Style? Go Doo-Lally.com!

• 17-05-2010 4:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,840 ✭✭✭Dav

Are you looking to revamp a tired wardrobe? Do you shop online like it's going out of style? Then you might be interested in our fantastic competition!

Boards.ie has teamed up with Ireland's new online fashion store Doo-Lally.com to offer 2 lucky Boards.ie members a €150 voucher to spend on their website!

Give your wardrobe a makeover with brands such as Vero Moda, Friis & Company, Lipsy, Chica and Olivia Rubin to name a few. With FREE Next Day Delivery to Ireland you'll step out in style in no time!

To be in with a chance to win, just tell us:

What is your worst Fashion Faux Pas?

Good luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭Shamanic

it has to be when i was younger thinking a denim shirt and waist coat along with leggings and desert boots made me look damn cool. It did not. At all.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭foodaholic

Coulottes and a bad perm, need I say more........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Me and my brother who I'm a year older then,had matching bowl hair cuts,matching red tartan trousers with matching red short sleeve shirts which we had to wear every Sunday.The only way people could tell us apart was that I wore blue braces and he wore green! I still resent my mother for that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

One summer, when I was about 11 (i.e. old enough to know better!), I pretty much lived in what I thought was such a cool outfit - lime green denim hotpants, with a faded pink denim waistcoat sort of thing, with buttons down the front of it. Along with big thick white sports socks, and my dirty battered old Asics runners. And my "pageboy" bob, just to complete the look. Nice ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Dublinstiofán

God i really don't fit in for this one.

My Virgin Megastores staff T-shirt from three years ago in San Francisco is still in my regular rotation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭litup

Electric blue lace bellbottom trousers. Seriously. I even had to wear big blue knickers under them as they were completely see through. Like foodaholic I was also rocking a rather fetching perm around the time. It was a fabulous look :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭Galadriel

Picture it - my confirmation day, my Mother decided what I should wear and the result was: 3/4 length navy collotes, white lace tights with bows on them, sailor shirt, 'Lady-Di' hat (complete with lace veil), cut off lace gloves, and to top it all off red shiny patent leather shoes! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭allandanyways

Boyzone belly top, waist-high (but not in the way that's cool now) bright blue flare jeans with a brown suede fringe along the bottom and green jelly sandals, school disco outfits were clearly my forte.

Another favourite was my purple velvet bellbottom trousers with a red fluffy jumper tucked in with high heeled ankle boots (so I could click when I walked).

The worst thing is that these were all outfits I wore only just over ten years ago :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Futurecrook

There were two 'outfits' [read: hideous fashion faux pas that shall never be repeated] I loved as a youngster (As chatterpillar said, I was almost a teenager and should definitely have known better) :

The first was my fake adidas tracksuit bottoms that had two stripes at the side instead of 3, teamed with a lime green wool jumper.

The second was pink coulottes teamed with a wine coloured poloneck. To top it all off, both of these outfits were worn with my beloved electric blue 'bubble' jacket. Oh the shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭Dacelonid

White Denim Jeans.
    /thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭dresstoimpress

ok here goes......
    Aged 16 my favourite outfit was a demin shorts dungree's with red little flowers in the inside of the pockets. :o
    With them I wore bright red tights, with a matching roll-neck jersey long sleve red top and a pair of wine Doc Martan's boots :o:o
    And my long hair in a lovely high, side pony tail!!! :D

Impressive website by the way!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭slowmoe

using food dye as a hair colour in red

the bathroom was covered in red and it rained the second day, the dye ran from my hair into my clothes and even shoes!!! oh the shame :(:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭Eviledna

My biggest fashion faux pas involved something of a wardrobe malfunction...
    A 12 year old me was so proud of a navy and white bodysuit that I wore with almost everything...one morning I decided to finish drying it off on the radiator before wearing it...but I forgot that it had metal clasps at the groin-join...and the pain of it is seared into my memory!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Dolly Dagger

hehe oh god... A spice girls top, multi coloured leggings, runners that lit up as you walked and a spice girls backpack i was always in pigtails back then too and i had a snot green puffy jacket two sizes too big.... i was 7 it in no way reflects my style or musical taste now: rock chick and death metal !

peace bitches :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭cynder

lol Lime green bell bottom suit.... only it was 1995 not 1960.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭doohan

Green Ravers Jeans and Pink Suede Boot Runners....I was da bomb ya'll
    NOT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Wearing my mcsh*t tshirt to mcdonalds.... Wasnt intentional!
    Oh and wearing sandals with socks :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭xxlplease

Well, one girl's faux pas can be another girl's best selling point, it all depends on our style, figure and character, that's why fashion is so fascinating. My biggest mistake must be wearing a lovely coffee colour dress at my friend's wedding and instead of dressing it up with rich red accesories as I had initially planned I went for safer option and dressed it down with black shoes, bag and head piece and it not lost its charm but my face and hair totally lost its shine. Accesories can make or break the look. Won't make this mistake again.

• When I was about 10 I had this outfit I thought was so unbelievably cool. It was an orange bodysuit worn with these matching orange/red/blue print trousers with a high elasticated waist. They were baggy at the top and tapered in at the ankles, at just the right place to show off my lovely Hi Tec trainers with extra large tongues. I accessorized this outfit with a pair of large pearl clip on earrings I had found in my friend's mother's jewellery box and a multicoloured floaty scarf I thought was really chic. As it was my favourite outfit, I'm wearing it in every picture of me that year which is why I keep the photo albums well hidden from boyfriends who come to visit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Regina Phalange

Bright Orange Stirrups, a black Tee-shirt with all the Spice Girls faces on it and sandals WITH socks......

I was stylish! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 skate

Yellow ribbed sky-pants/leggins....... a lovely white shirt with a big black belt around it..... topped off with a bright yellow TIE.....ouch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭lynski

wow i lived through the eighties as as teenager, i can beat you all.
    ankle length bright yellow tube skirt, oversized black shirt, bright yellow belt over the shirt, yellow cardi, yellow lace madonna style floppy bow in hair, yellow tights and black and yellow shoes. layered over all that was 6 different lenghts of faux pearls from waist length up, a faux pearl broach and dangling earrings. all combined with 'scrunch dry', 'sun-in' brassy hair and thick glasses
    wow even i am not sure what i was thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

My mother ought me a set, a pair of Jeans and a Jumber and exblazend on both was these guys..........

e-gall-goss-twins.jpg

I think i have a picture of me wearing it somewhere. I'll post it if i find it

OH THE SHAME!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

When I was about 8 or 9 an older friends sister gave me some clothes she didn't want. One of my favorites in this "goody bag" was this play suit. Luminous green of course, gaudy big black belt around it. I thought I was so cool in it. Worst fashion disaster EVER! I wore it with white runners with white socks pulled up underneath. Oh god. At least my fashion sense is more co ordinated now! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭GirlOfGlass

Bicycle shorts (they weren't actual bicycle shorts, but that's what I called them, they were just really tight stretchy shorts, basically), one leg being neon green and the other was neon pink.
    With those, I would wear my favourite Flinstones t-shirt. Which was baby pink and yellow. COMPLETE clash with neon colours. :)
    Then for footwear I would wear these crazy platform type runners. They were denim, with a massive white platform. Complete with knee high white socks that I more than likely still had on from school.
    And to top it all off, a bubble bag. Yep, a blow up bag. Oh and a Boyzone hairband. Stylish or what!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 gleoite82

Bright pink velour track suit pants & matching zippy top with baby pink tank top with something like 99% angel 1% devil on it in grey/silver sparkled writing and uggs with fur trim!!

Makes me want to cry thinking of it but at the time i felt like Jordan (minus the big boobs)!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

My biggest fashion faux paux was when I went to a school disco when I was about 14. I decided that a black halter neck top with diamantes all down the front, a 50's poofy skirt with a picture of a woman wearing a hat, patterned black tights and knee high black leather boots would be a good look. As I walked into the yard to queue up I heard someone shout "Jesus... look at her" I thought it was because I looked great but when I think back now....:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

Got to be the Blue shiny tracksuit bottoms I had that and a white t-shirt and a mohawk in the style of David Beckham, I wish I could say it was when I was younger but it wasn't that long ago :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭lonestargirl

I had this pink suade jacket which was teamed with a knee length denim skirt (which was ok) and then the top I wore under it was pink + green with purple sequins. You could see me coming a mile away!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Tazz T

Cowboy boots with skintight 'paint-dyed' trousers and a St John's Ambulance jacket.

Hey, it was the punk era.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Bright red shoes, bright pink T-Shirt. Never again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭powerfade

A burberry shirt when I was 17, i thought it looked cool, didn't really know what a 'chav' was back then........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

My navy suit with desert boots incident, Germany 2006. Finished packing in the dark leaving home and my alternative footwear was golf brogues with frills :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭ams

Oh god mine is another Confirmation Day disaster. I was beyond jealous of my friends who had gotten to pick out their own outfits (oh how I wanted a maroon Benneton sweatshirt teamed with mustard culottes). However I had to wear something that came out of a parcel from America from my grand aunt. It was a beautiful creation that wouldnt have been out of place on Laura Ingalls on Little House on the Prarie. Farmer girl dress covered in bunches of purple grapes with a beautiful green straw hat to match. Even the massive coldsore that was covering half my face didnt hide my embarassment.

I blame the grape dress for my strong dependancy on wine to this day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

OK, I have reasons as to WHY the following was my outfit but that will never ever excuse the faux pas that is my shame. Remember that as I am a tad older then most of you that means that I've had more time to make mistakes. However, THIS mistake came in my late 20's as a mature student in University in Brighton.
    Excuse #1: Brighton is a very hedonistic town and flamboyance is the norm rather then the exception so being satorialy 'loud' fits in.
    Excuse #2: I was a student, head in the clouds.
    Excuse #3: I was going through a phase.
    Excuse #4: Mrs.Goat was working in the shop that sold my ensamble hence discount prices.

I have no (surviving) photographs of me at my peak but over an outragous t-shirt from SkinToo (NSFW) I'd wear a jacket similar to this, complete with Chinese coin buttons. I'd (mis)match that up with...harem pants. I had a few pair of those, my shame has no bounds. Put that together with my leather satchel and ropesoled espadrils and I was fupping Garrgous. Did I mention that I kept my ponytail length hair hennaed too?
    Why she said Yes to me is still a complete mystery. :o

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I don't know. Anything I would consider "faux pas" now would have been in fashion back then. As with most of the answers here! So whatever here is an example of a lovely trousers/sneakers combo when I was a kid :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 675 ✭✭✭unichick

I used to have a pair of flared denim jeans with the Bros logo on them! They didn't fit me at all but I wore them religiously! Also had a denim jacket and ironed on a Bros match! Got some slagging from my school friends but still wore them! A big fashion faux pas!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Workingmom

Purple Dungarees need i say more, ok huge watch, big baggy top!!! it gets worse i also have on a Malcolm X fake leather beanie hat, but not showing that in pic, then ye would see me pretty face heheheheheheh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭thegoodgirl

Eh where do I start. There are so many to pick. But it would have to be a pair of multicoloured strippy leggings with a matching t shirt. I remember thinking how cool I was but looing back the state of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭DYLF

i had a step haircut when i was a kid :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Keea

'What is your worst Fashion Faux Pas?'

Mine has just occured over the weekend. I was in town on Saturday and wanted to buy a nice neutral handbag to use for work over the summer. (I work in an office). I went into a shop and low and behold the sales assistant pointed out this neutral coloured bag to me that had been reduced from €50 to €23. Instead of studying it I just thought, yep great bargain, I'll take it. Brought it home, took all tags etc off it and filled it with my bits. Showed it to my mother yesterday and this is when my worse fashion faux pas occured. She said 'its ok but it's for an older woman'......she wouldn't even use it. She actually said 'you can give it to a charity shop'. It was only then I really looked at it and she's right. Its a fashion disaster, its not me and I wasted €23 on it. Help, I need that €150 to treat myself after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭lynski

i recently bought a pair of bots online that looked a dull silver (i know i know, but i thought they would be good with jeans) anyway when i got them they are nasty shiny silver witha stiletto heel and pointy toes, oh so bad. bottom of wardrobe fo ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 TashaGirl

1997 - a black belly top type thing (very short!), i thought i was looking HOT until the guy i was seeing at the time asked me was it a bra? :eek:, i still cringe when i think of it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭D1976

Has to be the brown leather jacket with the Joan Collins shoulder pads and cream shirt, brown tie and cream chinos and slip on brown shoes, I got for my confirmation. I thought it was the business when I got it, i think I wore it about twice after the confirmation.

That's me on the right, and no that's not Kenneth Williams in the background but he does look an awful lot like him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

pretty much every outfit i ever wore as a child..
    - i had this LOVELY (:pac:) multicoloured top and culottes (how do you spell them? :confused:) outfit that i thought i looked GREAT in
    - the tying your tshirt to make it into a belly top trick :D twist the end and pull it down the front. so cool :cool:
    - ski pants, cycling shorts, etc

one outfit that sticks out is my junior cert night. i borrowed this lovely lilac dress from a friend, thought it was FAB. and think its actually might have been nice enough.. but instead of nice shoes i wore these awful black sketchers heeled sandal things with velcro straps. i dont know how to describe them.. really chunky wedge type things, looked very rubbery, black, and the lovely velcro straps that had a tendency to open. i shouldve known better at that age.

another school favourite was baby blue bootcut trousers, worn with everything, regardless of the colour. thought i was so cool in them.. :rolleyes:

PS. the site looks lovely, some gorgeous dresses on there! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭florawest

Hi ya,

Mine has to be my graduation one, a borrowed dress from my older sister and to really add style, i cut my own hair well the frindge all up and down i cringe when i see the pics,

florawest

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Oh I don't know :(. One that sticks out is the salmon pink shell suit I was fond of for quite a while :o. I thought it was really comfortable, so I'd wear it out and about quite a bit. This was in the mid-late 90's too, not the 80's!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭marymc

As a younger person, electric pink (even slightly metallic, if memory serves) skintight cycle shorts with a big 90s t-shirt tucked into them.

*shudder*

Gimme floaty pastels and florals any day, baby. Those cycle short pictures are long buried and if they ever resurface, I'm photoshopping a tree in front of me. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 dwalin

When I was 15 I lived in and thought I looked great in a pair of ridiculous BROWN leggings which I then paired with a blue checked waistcoat/ cardigan (it was so horrendous it couldn't even decide what it was!). Add to this ankle boots and frizzy mousy brown hair and you get the picture of how ridiculous the whole look was!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭dancingqueen

I think I was about 11 - I had a red chenille jumper which was mid-thigh length, black "ski" pants with the bit that goes around your foot, and the line down the front, red chenille slouch socks to match (Cringe!) and navy slip on shoes.... oh dear.

navy_leather_naturalizer_harpo_shoe_ec0213506.jpg