If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Pamela Izevbekhai is still in Ireland! Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Even if she wasn't being funded (and she is, and has been, to the tune of hundreds of thousands) all these spurious cases still cost the State a fortune in public representatives, court time, judges wages etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

Excuse me. I inquired if a black player named Simon Zebo was the first black player to represent Ireland at Rugby. How is that racist exactly?

I said "racial". ;) You have played the race card in this thread already so there you go.

The media has gone very silent too. There was alot of publicity for her until they realised she was telling lies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

orourkeda wrote: »
    Would an Irishwoman in Nigeria be afforded the same right to take her case through the court system who pleaded the exact same case?

Probably not, which is why it's actually a good thing that we have a court system that lets people plead their case etc.

Of course some element of the public are going to abuse it, but every system is abused by a minority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭barrackali

TwoShedsJackson,

In the case of Pamela Izevbekhai we are dealing with a confirmed fraudster, she does not deserve to be here to continually plead her case.....her case is based on lies.

She should be jailed in between her frequent court appearances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

I'm aware of that, and I fully agree that this person's case has dragged on far too long and she should have been deported years ago, my point is that it is overall a good thing that we have a justice system like we do, as it generally provides a real benefit to society. Following from this though, is the fact that such a system will be abused by a small element of society.

It's still better to have this system and have it fail occassionally, than it would be to have a system that is entirely corrupt, or a system which didn't allow for anyone to plead their case because some small element were chancers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭barrackali

I agree it is good to have a court system, but obvious cases of fraud should be dealt with in a more expedient manner. Why are we waiting for 2 years for the new Immigration, Residence and Protection Bill, this new system would have deported chancers like Pamela very quicky, for a start they wouldn't be served with advance notice of their deportation, that is the main reason we have deported so few bogus asylum seekers from this country.

This case is just very frustrating, at this stage I'd stick her on a Con-Air style aircraft back to Nigeria.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,318 ✭✭✭Wompa1

So talking is fine, how could action be taken to correct things?...how many people pressurised the goverment into getting that worthless Kunle guy brought back?...maybe if the same or greater number of people come out in support of tighter restrictions on entering the country and possibly dealing with the cases of those seeking asylum here already.

I've always admired Australias hard nosed approach myself but my guess would be that it would not be implemented here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭Kashkai

Everyone in authority here is terrified of the "R" word and bends over backwards to accommodate asylum seekers. Ffs, we do not owe these people anything and if they cannot prove that they have a legitimate reason for claiming asylum at the point of entry, then ship them back out again.

Unless I'm mistaken we don't have direct links with Nigeria so why didn't she claim asylum at the first country she arrived in. How did she get as far as Ireland anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

Nevore wrote: »
    Even if she wasn't being funded (and she is, and has been, to the tune of hundreds of thousands) all these spurious cases still cost the State a fortune in public representatives, court time, judges wages etc.

Proof ?

The only way to obtain legal aid in a civil case is via the Legal Aid Board, which runs the Refugee legal Service.

They washed their hands of her before she got to the High Court AFAIK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭MikeC101

From http://www.tribune.ie/article/2010/feb/07/nigerian-mother-izevbekhais-document-is-another-fo/
    Mother-of-two Pamela Izevbekhai has enlisted a new lawyer to represent her in the Supreme Court on Thursday in a bid to prevent the deportation of her family. Through her new lawyer, also a Nigerian and her sixth set of legal representation, she has submitted new medical documents that purport she had a daughter who died from FGM in Nigeria.

Her sixth set of legal representation?

It raises the question, if she isn't receiving any state funding for this, who is footing the bill? And who is organising and paying for the fake doctors to perform interviews on RTE radio, obtaining the forged documents and so on?
    The tab the taxpayer has picked up for Izevbekhai's case has surpassed €1m.

I'd like to see exactly what the Tribune is basing that figure on, but even if it's only half that, it's still a fairly shocking amount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,002 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

MikeC101 asks...
    It raises the question, if she isn't receiving any state funding for this, who is footing the bill? And who is organising and paying for the fake doctors to perform interviews on RTE radio, obtaining the forged documents and so on?

This is the core issue of Pamela Izevbekhai`s never ending quest.

Whilst the Irish Media and it`s assorted little helpers were all a-frenzied in their vocal support of a poor downtrodden African woman and her little children nobody asked what the background was.

Great credit must go to the Sunday Times for being the only Media element to set aside the damp hankie and actually ask some pertinent questions.

Once they tugged at the very obvious loose thread the entire scam unwravelled.

Pamela Izevbekhai is a valued customer of some as yet unknown human trafficker,most likely based in Nigeria,but equally likely to be a multi-national by now.

If Pamela succeeds in demolishing the resolve of the Irish Government to uphold it`s own laws then this secretive businessperson has scored a HUGE victory and will capatalize upon that to a virtually unlimited throng of watching customers.

For Mr Trafficker (Lagos Ltd) to be seen to have gotten Pamela Izevbekhai and her children into Ireland,turned them into media stars and then facilitated them to break the law and be feted for it HAS to be seen as a major commercial coup in the Trafficking business.

If any meaningful Asylum process is to be maintained in Ireland then Pamela Izevbekhai must be repatriated to Nigeria.

The Nigerian Government has already offered to investigate her many claims of intimidation and fear of persecution.

These guarantees were given at the highest diplomatic levels and as Nigeria IS a country which desires far greater acceptance and integration into the mainstream world of commerce and culture they should be tested and monitored by our own Government.

But that does not detract from the central point that,having been proven to be a fraudulent applicant,Pamela Izevbekhai and her family have to accept the consequences of her actions.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Pamela Izevbekhai is still in Ireland! Why?

Has anyone in this thread heard of the saying........... "Once you go black you never go back"
    Seems about right.

And you have the racist residents against racism crowd that will protest for the rights on any minority* and it doesn't matter if they're mass murders.

*Us Irish are the minority when compared to the likes of Nigeria and China.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Because were are a nation of P.C. twats. Now if she was an Irishwoman in Nigeria, she would have been stoned, hung, burnt, beheaded or shot.

And Blobby George replies...
    Have you been to Nigeria? I suggest you educate yourself before posting such ignorant bile.

I’d gather from that, what your saying is, that Nigeria is actually a safe constitutional democracy, and not the lawless dangerous place medicman2009 implies, right??

So what’s the problem with Pamela going home then?
    Is she lying about her children being in danger?

Surely not... :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

Africa Day thread gets locked and this gets bumped hmmmmmm.....

rovert wrote: »

there's an Africa day thread ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Always looking to stir shit, same in every forum you use.

Pathetic.

Always looking to stir shit, same in every forum you use.

Pathetic.

What?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭segaBOY

What?

I think he means that your assumption that thread is bumped due to the Africa Day thread being locked is flawed. As far as I can see marcsignal didn't even post in the Africa Day thread yet you are assuming this was only bumped because that thread was closed.

The Izevbekhai case is very important and legal proceedings are ongoing hence why I am not suprised it was bumped. It is probably the case which has most highlighted the failings of our Asylum system and the abuse it has encountered over the last few years.

The worst thing about this woman is that she and her supporters have damaged the good name of all genuine asylum seekers in Ireland permanently and will make it more difficult for future genuine asylum seekers to claim asylum here. It should be open for discussion as long as she remains in this country and continues to damage the good name of everyone who deservedly claims asylum here, whether you like it or not.

segaBOY wrote: »
    I think he means that your assumption that thread is bumped due to the Africa Day thread being locked is flawed. As far as I can see marcsignal didn't even post in the Africa Day thread yet you are assuming this was only bumped because that thread was closed.

That's what I figured.

I think it could be paranoia related to a psychiatric condition called N.U.T.S Syndrome.

The Izevbekhai case is very important and legal proceedings are ongoing hence why I am not suprised it was bumped. It is probably the case which has most highlighted the failings of our Asylum system and the abuse it has encountered over the last few years.

The worst thing about this woman is that she and her supporters have damaged the good name of all genuine asylum seekers in Ireland permanently and will make it more difficult for future genuine asylum seekers to claim asylum here. It should be open for discussion as long as she remains in this country and continues to damage the good name of everyone who deservedly claims asylum here, whether you like it or not.

This reply is a perfect demonstration of my point. Wee bit too defensive there. Likewise Makikomi's OTT reaction.

Sorry for ruining your fun lads.
    marcsignal wrote: »
    That's what I figured.

I think it could be paranoia related to a psychiatric condition called N.U.T.S Syndrome.

Out of all the paranoid people in this thread you choose me. lol

It is a pretty obvious statement to make about certion AHers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

She is giving out a poor image of asylum seekers economic migrants.

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭100gSoma

There is NO circumstance where someone can travel from Nigeria to Ireland and legally claim asylum. NONE! Unless they sail here direct on their own boat or swim. You must apply for asylum in the first safe country you land in outside your home country where the danger exists (under the 1951 act). There are no direct flights from Lagos to Dublin, therefore the people living in HSE houses paid for by your taxes are economic migrants and have decided to claim asylum here instead of Holland or the UK/France etc where they arrived from Nigeria.
    39 people applied for Asylum in Ireland in 1992. By 2000 this number was 11,000 people per year. I guess there was a big war in Nigeria? Speaking of Pamela's case "damaging the credibility of genuine asylum seekers"; I think that happened a long time ago. Probably when the Garda Bureau of Fraud Investigation discovered that Nigerian 'asylum seekers' were arriving here without passports and instead had a pamphlet about how to milk/defraud the social benefit system here in Ireland. The pamphlet described how to sign on at multiple welfare offices and attain multiple identity numbers etc etc.. yadda yadda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

The worst thing about this woman is that she and her supporters have damaged the good name of all genuine asylum seekers in Ireland permanently.

Indeed, I heard that both of them are distraught at her selfish behaviour :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,308 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

100gSoma wrote: »
    There is NO circumstance where someone can travel from Nigeria to Ireland and legally claim asylum.
    Some Dublin directive states that once you don't leave the airport, you don't enter the country, thus they can hop through multiple countries and still get apply for asylum in the first country they enter... that is, the first country that they leave through the exit of the airport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭100gSoma

the_syco wrote: »
    Some Dublin directive states that once you don't leave the airport, you don't enter the country, thus they can hop through multiple countries and still get apply for asylum in the first country they enter... that is, the first country that they leave through the exit of the airport.

I didn't know that. So why don't we use that to OUR advantage and put them right back on a flight to wherever they came from? Instead we spend 10,000s of euro per applicant on housing, legal fees, support, benefits, and integration. I suppose we can afford though; we only have 400,000 of our own on the dole.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Teh governemet shoulk dimpose a moratorium on any new asylum cases untill the economy is healthier.
    Andybody arriving to claim asylum can then be either deported at thier own expense or interned in camps untill they have worked up the airfare.

This idea that we're a soft touch for international chancers and criminals should be stood on its head..send the message out that we're not as thick as they think and they'll soon stopp coming.

Of course as long as the hippies and left-wing weird-beards have access to the media, cases like this will continue to cost the taxpayer dearly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

we're not as thick as they think
    Degsy wrote: »
    Teh governemet shoulk dimpose a moratorium on any new asylum cases untill the economy is healthier.
    Andybody arriving to claim asylum can then be either deported at thier own expense or interned in camps untill they have worked up the airfare.

This idea that we're a soft touch for international chancers and criminals should be stood on its head..send the message out that we're not as thick as they think and they'll soon stopp coming.

I dont know Degsy, it looks like they think correctly...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭theboxer

Bambi wrote: »
    Indeed, I heard that both of them are distraught at her selfish behaviour :pac:

Classic.:D