Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Draw Mohammed Day, May 20th

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭0verblood

Meant to write mohammed oops! Too lazy to change it.

untitled-1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Haha, what kind of a moron fails to burn down a house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Zillah wrote: »
    Haha, what kind of a moron fails to burn down a house?

The same fools who get offended by drawings I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

Morlar wrote: »
    The artist has faced numerous threats over his 2007 sketch. Earlier this year, US investigators said Vilks was the target of an alleged murder plot involving Colleen LaRose, an American woman who dubbed herself "Jihad Jane," and who now faces life in prison. She has pleaded not guilty.

Interesting how these holy warriors always plead not guilty when actually caught, like reality suddenly comes crashing down around them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭pH

I wonder would a cartoon of a bear in a Mohamed costume be OK?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭mehfesto

Why can't you draw him though?
    The only thing I can find that's not a 'go back to yer own cuntry' piece is this article. It claims that it is not outlawed in the Quar'an.

It seems Saudi Wahabbism has claimed authority over Islam and is dictating what can and can't be done - irrespective of what the Quar'an doesn't say on the issue - and irrespective of who's doing it.

I'm open to correction!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

114171.GIF

I'm getting good at this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,363 ✭✭✭nozzferrahhtoo

mehfesto wrote: »
    Why can't you draw him though?

Most of the people who are against the drawing of mohammad do so based on the commandments from their god. Specifically the one about false idols etc.
    “Thou shalt have no other gods beside me. Thou shalt not make to thyself an idol, nor likeness of anything, whatever things are in the heaven above, and whatever are in the earth beneath, and whatever are in the waters under the earth. Thou shalt not bow down to them, nor serve them; for I am the Lord thy God, a jealous God, recompensing the sins of the fathers upon the children, to the third and fourth generation to them that hate me, and bestowing mercy on them that love me to thousands of them, and on them that keep my commandments.”

Much of Islam has chosen to interpret this as saying that Mohammad, who they presume is still alive and made it to heaven despite his penchant for performing obscene acts on small girls, is sacred enough to fall under this prohibition and hence any representation of him is against their faith.

Most of the people who are against the drawing of mohammad do so based on the commandments from their god. Specifically the one about false idols etc.

Much of Islam has chosen to interpret this as saying that Mohammad, who they presume is still alive and made it to heaven despite his penchant for performing obscene acts on small girls, is sacred enough to fall under this prohibition and hence any representation of him is against their faith.

Thanks.
    Under that interpretation then, can you not own pictures of a deceased love one either?
    Thou shalt not make to thyself an idol, nor likeness of anything, whatever things are in the heaven above, and whatever are in the earth beneath
    Im reading this as do not make idols or own any likeness of any thing that is in the heaven above? Right/Wrong?

Hehehe I have no idea :) Thats all I know about how and why they interprete the 2nd commandment in terms of depictions of their prophet. I have NO idea how this applies to deceased loved ones. You would have to go ask them.

You are aware there is a Muslim section on boards.ie? Why not go in and genuinely ask them (without arguing, just general inquiry) what their interpretation of the commandment is, how they reached it, and who and what it does/doesnt apply to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,779 ✭✭✭MrPudding

114171.GIF

I'm getting good at this.
    I your opinion...;)

MrP

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,587 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Much of Islam has chosen to interpret this as saying that Mohammad, who they presume is still alive and made it to heaven despite his penchant for performing obscene acts on small girls
    This thread is bad enough, imo, without going down this route.
    You are aware there is a Muslim section on boards.ie? Why not go in and genuinely ask them (without arguing, just general inquiry) what their interpretation of the commandment is, how they reached it, and who and what it does/doesnt apply to.
    Anyone going in there, please don't draw attention to this thread. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

I cant draw for **** and this was done on a laptop touchpad with paint so you know be forgiving of the quality as I think it portrays the message well.

fsmprotectsearthfrommo.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

MrPudding wrote: »
    I your opinion...;)

MrP

Look at his stance, the detail on the monobrow, its practically a photograph of mohammad, but photos are less realistic in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭axer

Dades wrote: »
    There's one of them coming...everybody down........ok.....the coast is clear....carry on!

Dades wrote: »

****e.
    Fixed it now though... please don't be angwwy!

ShooterSF wrote: »
    I cant draw for **** and this was done on a laptop touchpad with paint so you know be forgiving of the quality as I think it portrays the message well.

fsmprotectsearthfrommo.jpg

Why is mohammed holding the sword below the hilt? Is it because you're a bad artist? Or is mohammed just a bit of an eejit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

0verblood wrote: »
    Why is mohammed holding the sword below the hilt? Is it because you're a bad artist? Or is mohammed just a bit of an eejit?

The sword symbolizes freedom of speech. The fact that he is gripping it on the blade is a metaphor for the specific way Islam goes about attempting to crush freedom of speech and how that way is ultimately self defeating and will only end up hurting itself.....obviously.

axer wrote: »
    There's one of them coming...everybody down........ok.....the coast is clear....carry on!

You know I'm too lazy to check the facts, but I think the saying "The coast is clear" comes from the old spanish saying "No hay moros en la costa" which means "There are no muslims on the coast". It's from the times when the spanish were traipsing around the south mediterranean.

The response over on the Muslim board appears to be that what I quoted above is the Biblical second commandment which differs from the Quaran one. This may be so, I have never done a complete indepth comparison of the texts. However I am still of the opinion the belief the prophet should not be represented pictorially comes from this commandment at least in part.

However alas the only people who replied to the new thread have given no insight on where they think the prohibition comes from.

I do also know of this quote from the Hadith:

"Those who paint pictures would be punished on the Day of Resurrection and it would be said to them: Breathe soul into what you have created."

Political scientist As'ad AbuKhalil also thinks that:
    In the Holy Koran of Islam, the one sin unforgivable is that of polytheism. The prohibition is intended to protect the faithful from that sin. The fear was that intense reverence for the prophet might if unrestrained cross over into worship. In the 8th and the 9th centuries a general consensus banning such depictions arose among the clerics, but not all Muslims knew of it, paid attention, or obeyed.

I wonder if he would, or would not, consider the feeling of most Muslims towards the prophet as "worship" or not.

yeah. Im still confused

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

mehfesto wrote: »
    yeah. Im still confused

Basicall it's the same deal as with all vague religious texts written hundreds of years ago. Different people will interpret different parts, in their own ways, to coincide with their own beliefs or goals.

"Thou shalt not make to thyself an idol, nor likeness of anything, whatever things are in the heaven above, and whatever are in the earth beneath" -

I'm sure at some time in some place there was an Imam who always wanted to be the world greatest sculptor but got pissed off that all the local sluptors were way better than him and tried to push the interpretation that no one should ever sculpt anything, for any reason whatsoever.

Just like I'm sure there are Muslims that just take it to mean, "don't worship golden statues or paintings of cows instead of Allah".

That's religion for ye. If people just kept it to themselves there wouldn't be too much of a problem, it's when they start trying to impose their own particular slant on the texts on other people, for their own batsh1t crazy reasons, that most of the problemn arise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

I'm still waiting for something grossly offensive, ie Muhammed and a penis of some sort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,609 ✭✭✭Flamed Diving

Valmont wrote: »
    I'm still waiting for something grossly offensive, ie Muhammed and a penis of some sort.

No, that would be missing the point. Although it is inevitable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,850 ✭✭✭condra

What about this:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=clzx0hZ6DZQ&feature=related

?

I still have tears in my eyes :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Let's disguise various famous people as Mo. It can be a game where we have to guess who it is. I'll start with something easy:

MoDarwin.jpg

Darwin.

1183bcx.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,779 ✭✭✭MrPudding

Galvasean wrote: »
    Let's disguise various famous people as Mo. It can be a game where we have to guess who it is. I'll start with something easy:
    I'm too lazy, can someone put a beard on Pedobear and post it for me please? I take full responsibility.

MrP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭MikeC101

Just a google away! (might not be pedobear, but they all look the same to me)

MuhammadBear.jpg