There's a certain "sneakiness" about the Irish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

True true OP. Shneaky indeed...

In similar fashion; The majority of people in this country are on some sort of dodge. Whether it's an entitlement or benefit scam, cash in hand work, nixers, having their shit in other people's names, raping company expense accounts, dodgy claims, etc etc. There's literally always some sort of bogey goings on behind closed doors.

The term "cute hoor" actually drives me up the wall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

pwd wrote: »
    The nationalities that have been named as being the most direct are from some of the countries with the highest proportions of protestants, (with the exception of France I think). Coincidence?

Source?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭philstar

lets not bring religion into this please

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

where did ma kitteh go? :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Darlughda

philstar wrote: »
    lets not bring religion into this please

:( you're no craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Barna77 wrote: »
    Going to work every morning is like a meeting with the CIA, Mossad, Mi5 or KGB.

Plus all the bitching

oh the joys of the irish workplace :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭ruthies

Oh my god i have seen it all now :rolleyes:
    The Irish are sneaky :confused: Is that just a matter of the people you are around op or is yerself you be talking about;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

I'd agree with this but since I'm not Irish (even though Irish people have agreed) I'm not allowed, whee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Bit racist for After Hours. Post reported.

Why bother telling people that you've reported a post? It's a bit smug and self-righteous, don't you think? I report posts all the time and never once thought of telling people about it. It's equivalent of saying 'I'm telling my mammy on you!'

Wait, what age are you?

Back on topic, yes we're sneaky, underhanded, backstabbing Chinese whisperers (for proof, just look at our boom/bust cycle).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭theboxer

liah wrote: »
    I'd agree with this but since I'm not Irish (even though Irish people have agreed) I'm not allowed, whee.

Bollix. Slate away, Liah.:)

You are Canadian so you may bitch :D Now does your Irish friends know how sneaky you are by talking about them on boards and saying they are sneaky :p

Bit racist for After Hours. Post reported.

Racist? This is an Irish board, how can Irish people be racist against themselves?:confused:

theboxer wrote: »
    Bollix. Slate away, Liah.:)

Traitor :mad: And that is not how you spell bollix :rolleyes::D

Liah, out of interest, which country do you prefer, Ireland or Canada, and why?

(You're allowed to say Canada!)

Confab wrote: »
    Liah, out of interest, which country do you prefer, Ireland or Canada, and why?

(You're allowed to say Canada!)

She is still here so she better say Ireland :p

ruthies wrote: »
    And that is not how you spell bollix :rolleyes::D

Bollix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

I've never thought of the Irish generally as sneaky,dysfunctional yes,but not sneaky.

Last time I tried saying a lot of the same stuff Irish themselves were saying I got completely slated and told to leave the country (here on boards), so I'm a bit wary this time around.

But there is definitely something a bit underhanded about socializing here. People can be very two-faced and due to the natural wit (which is normally a blessing) of the Irish, they can make some very brutal digs at you under the guise of "jokes."

It's just really funny to me sometimes, that's all. I had one girl tell me I was a whore/slut/to go back to Canada and a boatload of other varied insults and complete boldfaced lies (she thought I was hitting on a guy she fancied, he was a mate and I just gave him a hug, god forbid!), and then a few days later act completely sweet as pie and try to be friends again.. just to hear a few days later after that from my best friend that she was trying to sabotage our friendship and telling him how awful I was and that I was using him and all sorts of other total nonsense.

It's certainly not the only example of the attitude. There's so, so much gossiping and talking behind backs it makes it very taxing for someone like me. I'm much more used to being straightforward, open and honest with people and just laying everything on the table immediately, leaving me incredibly vulnerable here in Ireland whereas back home it never really was an issue.

It's also amazing the amount of storytelling that goes on, complete lies from the get-go that just develop and get totally out of control.

It's all just one big one-upmanship game. It seems very childish and a lot of the time it reminds me of highschool.

That said, I have an INCREDIBLE group of friends who all completely, totally break this stereotype, and I love them to bits. So I know not everyone's like that!

EDIT: For the Ireland vs. Canada thing, I couldn't tell ya. I like both places for different reasons. I love my home country's government and policies. I can't stand the Irish government, I truly can't. I also love Canada's varied landscape and overall laid-back attitude. But I love the natural wit of Ireland and its landscape, too, as it's very different to where I spent a lot of time growing up. And all of my best friends are here. So it's kind of a hard call.

Funnily enough had a dream about going home to Canada last night and woke up feeling like it would've been a horrible idea, so I suppose that tells you enough?

Wouldn't live out my days here in Ireland, though, unless the government has a drastic, drastic reform.

Last time I tried saying a lot of the same stuff Irish themselves were saying I got completely slated and told to leave the country (here on boards), so I'm a bit wary this time around.

But there is definitely something a bit underhanded about socializing here. People can be very two-faced and due to the natural wit (which is normally a blessing) of the Irish, they can make some very brutal digs at you under the guise of "jokes."

It's just really funny to me sometimes, that's all. I had one girl tell me I was a whore/slut/to go back to Canada and a boatload of other varied insults and complete boldfaced lies (she thought I was hitting on a guy she fancied, he was a mate and I just gave him a hug, god forbid!), and then a few days later act completely sweet as pie and try to be friends again.. just to hear a few days later after that from my best friend that she was trying to sabotage our friendship and telling him how awful I was and that I was using him and all sorts of other total nonsense.

It's certainly not the only example of the attitude. There's so, so much gossiping and talking behind backs it makes it very taxing for someone like me. I'm much more used to being straightforward, open and honest with people and just laying everything on the table immediately, leaving me incredibly vulnerable here in Ireland whereas back home it never really was an issue.

It's also amazing the amount of storytelling that goes on, complete lies from the get-go that just develop and get totally out of control.

It's all just one big one-upmanship game. It seems very childish and a lot of the time it reminds me of highschool.

That said, I have an INCREDIBLE group of friends who all completely, totally break this stereotype, and I love them to bits. So I know not everyone's like that!

EDIT: For the Ireland vs. Canada thing, I couldn't tell ya. I like both places for different reasons. I love my home country's government and policies. I can't stand the Irish government, I truly can't. I also love Canada's varied landscape and overall laid-back attitude. But I love the natural wit of Ireland and its landscape, too, as it's very different to where I spent a lot of time growing up. And all of my best friends are here. So it's kind of a hard call.

Funnily enough had a dream about going home to Canada last night and woke up feeling like it would've been a horrible idea, so I suppose that tells you enough?

Wouldn't live out my days here in Ireland, though, unless the government has a drastic, drastic reform.

So therefore Not all Irish are sneaky and seen as majority of Irish i know (which is an awful lot) are not sneaky then that blows this thread completly out of the water.:p

I had once a Canadian friend not to have a go at you but she was so two faced about so many people right up her own arse.
    I had few friends from UK who were so two faced.
    I had friends from Spain who were so two faced.
    I had polish friends who were so two faced.
    I had Italian friends who were so two faced.
    I had dutch people who were so two faced.
    So it is tied to people in general not a country :D

Case closed :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

GO BACK TO CANADA!!!!!!

dubtom wrote: »
    I've never thought of the Irish generally as sneaky,dysfunctional yes,but not sneaky.

Still clannish behaviour :D

ruthies wrote: »
    So therefore Not all Irish are sneaky and seen as majority of Irish i know (which is an awful lot) are not sneaky then that blows this thread completly out of the water.:p

I had once a Canadian friend not to have a go at you but she was so two faced about so many people right up her own arse.
    I had few friends from UK who were so two faced.
    I had friends from Spain who were so two faced.
    I had polish friends who were so two faced.
    I had Italian friends who were so two faced.
    I had dutch people who were so two faced.
    So it is tied to people in general not a country :D

Case closed :cool:

But why would I notice it here on a much larger scale than when I was living in Canada, the US, and UK for extended periods of time?

What I provided was just an example, it's not like it's the only thing that's happened.

I'm just saying, I've been elsewhere and never has it bothered me as much as it has here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭Auldloon

Working abroad with a wide range of nationalities but mostly Irish and British the Irish guys are ALWAYS the guys with the best scams and ways of cutting corners, saving a few bob etc. I'm proud to say I would be fairly adept myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

That's aboot right.
    Mainly happens when you are oot for the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

Some can of worms opened up here
    No country likes to know or be told their flaws

amiable wrote: »
    Some can of worms opened up here
    No country likes to know or be told their flaws

Bah, we know our flaws, and if you've lived in another country for any length of time you can tell their flaws too. Personally I'm going to start saving to go to Canada.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 stvincent

I had one girl tell me I was a whore/slut/to go back to Canada and a boatload of other varied insults and complete boldfaced lies (she thought I was hitting on a guy she fancied, he was a mate and I just gave him a hug, god forbid!), and then a few days later act completely sweet as pie and try to be friends again.. just to hear a few days later after that from my best friend that she was trying to sabotage our friendship and telling him how awful I was and that I was using him and all sorts of other total nonsense... blah blah blah

That's just girls

Well you guys asked! :P

And you are meant to decline :p

see her auld cow bitching about us :mad:

:DJoke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭kiwi123

Ah i definitely think there's a tendency to act like someone's best friend for a bit of gossip!